NAKIVO Backup & Replication Reviews

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About NAKIVO Backup & Replication

NAKIVO Backup & Replication is a reliable and affordable data protection solution for virtual, physical, cloud and SaaS environments.

Learn more about NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Showing 160 reviews

Pietro C.
Pietro C.
IT Manager
Machinery, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2021

"NAKIVO Backup & Replication"

Comments: I use Nakivo for backup and replication process in my datacenters.
The software is very stable, easy to configure, with a great price.

Pros: The system is easy to use and easy to implement. Backup jobs are easy to set up and have a large amount of options.
Price is very attractive.
Very appreciate the possibility to install directly on NAS appliance (Qnap in my case)

Cons: Missing support for EMC Unity storage appliance

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2021
Wenjie Z.
Assistant Manager (Infrastructure & Security)
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/07/2021

"Most bang for buck VM backup software with user friendly interface"

Pros: User friendly interface and ease of use. The work flow is easy to understand and it has worked wonders over the years. Ability to set up on multiple OS platforms is a plus.

Cons: It has been working well for me since it was implemented.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/07/2021
Verified Reviewer
IT Administrator
Legal Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2021

"Simple and easy to use backup solution"

Comments: We made excellent experiences with the software and had to recover twice since introduction of the packages. Nakivo did the job just fine and letter let us down. Great package for the money asked for!

Pros: Installation as well as updating is simple and straightforward. The web interface allows simple access to all functions. Backup and Restore works like a charm and the messaging in case of failures makes checking status a breeze. I like the excellent rates for data compression allowing to use backup repository far beyond actual capacity.

Cons: Weird product policy for features in the different versions of the package - We are working with edition "Essentials Pro", which does all it needs to do, but the calendar view is disabled. Absolutely understand, that functions are limited to higher editions of package, but a calendar view of your jobs?!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2021
Nadir M.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/05/2019

"The best choice"

Pros: This software is easy to setup and use. The price is competitive and can be afforded also in very little company or offices (SOHO) assuring security at low cost.
The availability of the transporter module with most of NAS system (also SOHO) let the company work also with low cost devices. The option to have a flash VM boot reduces the RTO and the forever incremental backups (very fast) reduces the RPO.

Cons: No availability for Citrix XEN and a full screen interface (the calendar would be more readable).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/05/2019
Stefan P.
Network Administrator
Government Relations, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2019

"Easiest backup/replication solution out there"

Comments: Nakivo is a real time saver. I scheduled backups of my vmware environment, and also replication to an off sight server. and all I do is monitor the nakivo email notifications sent after the job tasks. It's been a real load off my shoulders. Anyone looking for a simple, reliable backup and replication solution for vmware or hyper V, look no further.

Pros: Nakivo is incredibly simple to use. The interface is very user friendly and intuitive and it guides you through each tasks. It is quick and efficient. Support has been excellent, nakivo provides regular updates and they are regularly improving the software with new features. You are able to perform full vm backups, replication, restore individual files, mount hard disk from a vm backup to a running vm and browse full hard disk, and the list goes on.

Cons: No real cons with Nakivo, although realtime replication and the ability to perform file/folder level backup would be great.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2019
César S.
System Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/10/2021

"Nakivo is impressive"

Comments: Very good experience, already had to recover some backups, didn't had any issue.

Pros: I like the fact that is super easy to set it up and start backing up your data.
Also easy to do replicas and recover from backups.

Cons: From the 1st day until now I didn't had any issue with the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/10/2021
Luca V.
IT Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2019

"Great software for VM backup"

Pros: Nakivo is reliable, very simple to setup and easy to use. It can be implemented as virtual appliance, app for NAS envirolment and software. Work also with VSphere ESXi free!

Cons: I really don't know... It's really a complete and simple software so... None!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2019
James A.
Infrastructure Manager
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/06/2021

"Easy to use software with excellent support"

Pros: Very easy to install and configure the software. User friendly UI. Excellent technical support as and when required.

Cons: New features are constantly being added to the software, none that I feel are currently missing!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/06/2021
Moaaz E.
Moaaz E.
Use
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2020

"The most quality and the least expensive backup"

Comments: The support team is friendly and nice and has a very fast reaction and can help you with any problem you encounter while working in this program

Pros: 1: Speed ​​in performance and work perfectly
2: Backup is completely safe
3: The price is cheap compared to other programs
4: The interface of the program is elegant, easy, and of careful and excellent planning and you can implement the steps simply and quickly in carrying out the activities

Cons: You haven't had any problems yet

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2020
Ronnet P.
IT Manager
Retail, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2019

"Nakivo Easy to Setup and Manage"

Comments: Nakivo is helping us with Disaster recovery and Backups

Pros: Nakivo has helped our Latin america stores replicate Vmware servers including SQL server databases, Installation and setup can be up and running in a few hours you can have your replica offsite for DR

Cons: Easy to Manage with web based Interface without clutter

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
System Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2019

"Nakivo.... it just works."

Comments: Our organization used VMware VDP and we always had major issues with it. VDP would frequently break and ivolved days of wasted time on the phone with VMware to get it working. We switched to Nakivo and never looked back. We were up and running within minutes.

Pros: Absolutely the easiest VM backup software I've used. We installed the agent on our Synology unit and were doing backups by the end of the day.

Cons: The only nitpick I can think of is the Flash based interface. The UI can sometimes become sluggish due to our large VMware infrastructure.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2019
Shlomo F.
Founder
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/03/2021

"powerful and dependable with super intuitive interface"

Comments: During the last years, we had a situations where we wanted to spawn "test" computers and it was so quick and easy with Nakivo. We simply restored a clone, renamed and were up and running in 5 minutes.

Pros: Very easy to set up and use. Very robust in regards to creating multiple backup locations and schedules. The ability to kick off VMs directly from the backup location and then merge back changes in case of downtime is genius.

Cons: It would be great if Calendar and Branding were offered to all levels of license

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/03/2021
Daniel A.
System Administrator
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/11/2019

"Nakivo: A reliable and robust backup solution"

Comments: Great, support staff was responsive and helpful in assisting any and all issues we came across regarding some unexpected power outages to our environment and restoring our backups without issue.

Pros: Has multiple redundancies to ensure data is safely maintained, easy to schedule backups at a moments notice. Works very well with a VMware environment. WebUI is informative and simple to navigate. Easy to upgrade to new product versions as well.

Cons: The limit on the space of each storage repository. Being 20TB max can put a strain on having large VM systems with multiple monthly and daily backups.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/11/2019
Alex D.
TI
Computer Networking, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2019

"It's fantastic"

Comments: It is the best, excellent product, fantastic company and extraordinary support.

Pros: Product meets our expectations in both VMWare and Hyper-v environments. We use integrated with NFS, Iscsi and some NAS. The product does more than expected.

Cons: none, Excelent product and functions. There's nothing to complain about, just waiting for new features that increasingly surprise us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2019
Leon B.
Director
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2021

"Nakivo Version 10"

Comments: Easy to use and intuitive,

Pros: For me, the backups are the most reliable defense against of ransomware attack, it is the only guarantee expense that in a case of an attack could help you.

Cons: A mobile app o interface to manage the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2021
François D.
IT Manager
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/06/2021

"he does the job well"

Comments: Excellent

Pros: I like the reliability, ease of installation and administration

Cons: I don't like reclaiming free space on repositories which needs to be performed in separate job

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/06/2021
Verified Reviewer
IT Engineer
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2018

"This software just works. Backup/replication of EC2 instances. Very easy to use."

Comments: Easy EC2 backups in AWS

Pros: No constant fixing of backups as with other software. Can run on Linux. Not a lot of requirements to get/keep it working. Support & sales team is great.

Cons: I don't have anything bad to say about Nakivo. It's a breeze to recover an Ec2 instance. I came from internal backups environment using HP data protector which was a maintenance nightmare.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2018
Harry M.
Senior Consultant
Higher Education, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2019

"VMware Infrastructure Restore made Easy"

Comments: The main Benefit i experienced was, running Nakivo in a HW Appliance, (QNAP, Synology) i could very easily restore my complete VMware Environment.

Pros: I like to Install this Software on a QNAP oder Synology. In case of a Full Restore all i need is have the Appliance online and recovery can start.

Cons: Had no Problems so far, beside that sometimes the autoadd feature is not wanted.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2019
Andres E.
Business Processes Consultant
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/09/2021

"Nakivo is the best backup software we have used for Hyper-v virtual machines"

Comments: Everything runs smooth.
Few times i've needed to open a support ticket, but when i've needed it Nakivo has solved the problem fast

Pros: Easy to setup, easy to recover.
Installation in our synology NAS was very straightforward

Cons: I would have liked an option to use Azure's storage to create the backup repository

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/09/2021
Tommaso B.
Tommaso B.
Director
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2020

"The best"

Pros: The best backup software of all time. Easy to use and with a lot of usefull functions.

Cons: It's perfect! I've never had a problem...

Vendor Response

by NAKIVO on 02/03/2020

Thank you for your review, Tommaso. We really appreciate you being a loyal customer and helping to share the word about us. We're here for you anytime.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2020
Thomas B.
CEO
Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2020

"Great backup solution and easy to use"

Pros: Intuitive Web GUI, clear and easy
Support for Tape Library
Easy Install on Windows and VM
Value for money

Cons: Integration and Support for tape libraries in v9.2 taked a long time :(

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2020
Robin P.
Vertrieb
Computer Hardware, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2019

"Procurement and support"

Comments: Very friendly and competent contact persons and fast reactions. Receiving Product or key after payment, unusual in germany, normal paying after receiving goods.

Pros: n/a

Cons: n/a

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2019
Julien F.
CEO
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2021

"NAKIVO is an essential tool for our business"

Pros: What we like the most is the reliability of the product

Cons: What we like the least is the business model with licence per sock and the expensive price for licence update

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2021
Adrian P.
License System
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/12/2019

"General Review"

Comments: I am very pleased with this software

Pros: Easy use
Zero problem
Always i can restore backup without problems

Cons: I can't find in an easy mode the data of repository.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/12/2019
Michel S.
CEO
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/10/2019

"Best backup software ever ..."

Pros: Easy and very reliable software, the best backup software I had until now

Cons: Nothing to write negative about this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/10/2019