15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Reviews

About NAKIVO Backup & Replication

The NAKIVO backup and disaster recovery solution is designed to ensure data availability and integrity in different scenarios.

Learn more about NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Pros:

It runs on NAS devices (Synology ), the installations was very fast and the job configuration is very ease. Reporting, creating jobs etc. is easy and without the need for complex configurations.

Cons:

There are no real cons to mention. Sometimes we wish, that the logs in the UI would tell more details, when it comes to errors.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

NAKIVO Backup & Replication has an overall rating of 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 390 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used NAKIVO Backup & Replication before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (390)

Chris
Chris
DevOps engineer in Greece
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nakivo Backup Review

5.0 last month New

Pros:

The things i really like about nakivo is the ease of deployment, literally in Minutes and the reliability of VM backups. Also the ability to recover even files from backups give us the granularity we need. In addition in the latest version nakivo introduced indexing in recovery which makes it even easier to browse all files in your backup. Moreover, nakivo has a lot of deployment option and you can deploy it as a NAS appliance, VM, physical machine. Finally in a single pane of glass you have all the information you need which is very good for users that are not administrators and also the support team of nakivo is exceptional at problem solving

Cons:

The cons in nakivo is firstly the 365 backup is done only on premises and it takes a lot of time to finish if you have under 1Gbit fiber connection. It should have the ability to be done entirely on cloud without having to store the backups on prem. And the other thing is the recovery process as well as the backup verification take a lot of time to complete. Finally the monitoring system it provides doesnt worth it really as there are much better monitoring solutions available.

Mateusz
IT Specialist in Poland
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nakivo is my best backup solution.

4.0 last month New

Pros:

What appeals to me the most, besides the ease of configuration, is the transparency of notifications from the log system

Cons:

No support for KVM and Proxmox virtualization system

Giordano
IT Manager in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nakivo

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I use Nakivo to backup AWS istances from a region to another and works very well. It is easy to use and configure.

Cons:

Enable the possibility to restore guest file from a replicated istances to restore file deleted or damage

Sijin
IT Administrator in United Arab Emirates
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Fast and Reliable Backup Application

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: I like Nakivo application. It is the one of the fast backup job applications. And it is very easy to do restore.

Pros:

Backup storage space consuming by Nakivo is very less compared to other backup applications. Also, the backup repository remapping to a new backup is a wonderful feature i have used in Nakivo.

Cons:

Live Replication of Microsoft Hyper V is not yet released. Backup Storage attach and detach is difficult when it is scheduled.

Pavel
IT manager in Czechia
Printing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very good product with great support for affordable money

5.0 last month New

Comments: Fully satsfies our needs. Development is adding new useful features.

Pros:

- ease of use - easy upgrades - great support in case of any problems - great wizards for setting backups and restoring

Cons:

- not very intuitive use of tapes and recoverig from tapes backups

Mattia
Mattia
CEO in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Backup & Replication software

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Nakivo is the best cost-effective solution for Backup & Replication on the market. The installation and configuration is quick and easy: we connect and integrate our environment in a few clicks. The support is great, kind and fast. A really amazing alternative to Veeam.

Cons:

I have no significant issues with the product; it meets all my expectations and works flawlessly.

Andrea
IT in Italy
Wholesale, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

NAKIVO - The BEST

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Nakivo, unlike other competitors (Veeam) is much cheaper, easier to configure and monitor.
My user experience is extremely positive.
The support has always been impeccable too.

Pros:

The possibility of Immutable Backup ON AWS The Less Cost The Easyest of configuration

Cons:

None. I haven't find nothing to say. all i sok

Michał
IT Solutions Architect in Poland
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Affordable, yet robust and fast working backup appliance

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

It is running under linux, therefore you can deploy it really fast. The Director and Transporter paradigm makes it convinient to set up in different environments, from air gapped clusters, to edge servers and more.

Cons:

It does not support RBD as a storage repository out of the box, I am still waiting on that option to be available.

Maciej
Network Administrator in Poland
Museums & Institutions, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very good backup soluction

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

ease of use and intuitive configuration, ease of data recovery

Cons:

new subscription model, but now everyone is using it. As far as functionality is concerned, everything is fine.

Tomass
Tomass
IT Support in Latvia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Easy to start with minimal configuration needed. User friendly interface, fast configuration, reliable backup and recovery, good technical support, good price.

Cons:

When licenses expire there is no ability to do anything with backups

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Nakivo "The backbone to our virtualization infrastructure DR+BC Playbook.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: From sales to support, the attention has been top-notch. Very attentive and quick to respond with quotes and resolutions. The application performance has exceeded our previous backup systems.

Pros:

Rapid deployment: We use Synology NAS devices for backups. The ability to deploy the app directly on the NAS itself was a big win for us. We reduced the load on our hypervisors and have everything needed for recovery on one device.

Cons:

A web UI refresh would be nice but that is just a matter of personal preference. A mobile app would be great.

Ed
IT Manager in US
Airlines/Aviation, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great support and always new features being added that I need

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We got tired of the massive cost of renewals from our past backup software providers and decided to try Nakivo instead. They supported our need for Nutanix AHV, QNAP and Tape backups. I'm looking forward to trying the new PostgreSQL database option soon so that I can build my own reports.
Nakivo gets the job done and gets better with each version.

Pros:

- We really like being able to create a backup copy from our Windows Backup server to a QNAP NAS for immutable backups over our WAN to another site. - Synthetic full backups make daily backups fast. - I like how fast I can restore a VM to Hyper-V, even if the backup was from Nutanix, and even if the backup storage is on my QNAP NAS.

Cons:

- SQL Backups on Nutanix do not support hourly log backups like they do on Hyper-V, so we worked around that with an inexpensive tool called "SQL Backup Master". - No support for Microsoft SQL Server yet

Manuel
IT Technician in Italy
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Nakivo Backup & Replication TOP!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I use Nakivo Backup & Replication to backup 8 VMs which are distributed on 2 physical servers.
Daily backup is done on a different storage, I've do a restoration test of many files and these datas was restored without any problems.
It seems exceptional to me since I have had support from the technical team, something not seen in other products and this feature is UNIQUE!
The cost is also accessible and appropriate to the product, that is renewed year after year with new features and excellent user experience, always improved both in terms of speed and simplicity in its use.
Come on, go on like this!

Pros:

The best feature in Nakivo is the VM backup. The VM backup is simple to deploy and the maintenance is very little. Nakivo Backup & Replication is very easy to use and configure.

Cons:

Updates on Nakivo VA can do only via host but not via web GUI and in my case it was very slow. Could you please develop this thing?

Michael
Adminitrator in US
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Backup made easy

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall my experience has been great and when I do have a problem their support is there to immediately help solve the problem.

Pros:

The software ease of use is what really sold me on Nakivo. From day one it was easy to setup and within a few minutes I was backing up my first Esxi server. The VM replication is fast and I love the screenshot verification. Restoring a backup is just as easy and I've never had a backup restore job fail.

Cons:

Overall the software is as perfect as you can get. Its allows me to confidently backup my servers with no issues.

Nadir
CEO in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best choice

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This software is easy to setup and use. The price is competitive and can be afforded also in very little company or offices (SOHO) assuring security at low cost. The availability of the transporter module with most of NAS system (also SOHO) let the company work also with low cost devices. The option to have a flash VM boot reduces the RTO and the forever incremental backups (very fast) reduces the RPO.

Cons:

No availability for Citrix XEN and a full screen interface (the calendar would be more readable).

Jeff
Mangaing Director in UK
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Solid, reliable and well performing backup solution for VMware and Hyper-V virtual environments

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It has provided reliable backup system that has always restored successfully the few times it has needed to.

Pros:

It provides regular backups for all of our VMs both to onsite and offsite repositories giving us great peace of mind. It can be installed on NAS devices providing a singular backup and storage solution.

Cons:

Remote transporters often need to be manually updated when there is a version upgrade requiring some technical knowledge

Rohan
Operations Manager in Australia
Chemicals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

NAKIVO is a great all round solution that won't break the bank

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Excellent overall experience. The Pro's far outweight the Cons. Especially as all of the Cons were related to my understanding and techincal proficiency with Linux. We migrated to NAKIVO from VEEAM and are glad we did. Overall it's easier to use than VEEAM

Pros:

It's a low cost highly efficient backup of our VM server environment with file and disaster recovery. NAKIVO tech support is also excellent should you run into issues. As in they're fast to respond and their techs are highly efficient. In addition the later versions have a much more logical and intuitive GUI

Cons:

Did have some issues getting my head around how to deploy it with their "Transporters". And I needed tech support to add a Linux based NAS as the repository. However in fairness, I'm not very good with Linux administration.

Paul
Systems Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Nakivo Backup is a great value for any SMB

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Perpetual License, is my number 1 decisions to go with Nakivo. Nakivo does not require a lot of CPU/Memory and can be utilized on Synology backup solutions that do not include Active Backup for Business.

Pros:

Other competitors' products are all subscription-based, whereas Nakivo is perpetual and packed with features found in enterprise backup solutions. Nakivo supports Hyper-V and ESXi without additional fees, and the enterprise version of Nakivo allows you to back up desktop workstations, encrypt backups, compress, duplicate, and back up to the cloud (google archive, wasabi, azure, aws.) The UI is simple and straight forward best of all Nakivo assigns a technician to provide you with training without additional costs. The software is intuitive and simple to pick up.

Cons:

Downloading and applying the correct update for the system. I found it difficult and had to download multiple before landing on the correct update.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple and easy to use backup solution

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We made excellent experiences with the software and had to recover twice since introduction of the packages. Nakivo did the job just fine and letter let us down. Great package for the money asked for!

Pros:

Installation as well as updating is simple and straightforward. The web interface allows simple access to all functions. Backup and Restore works like a charm and the messaging in case of failures makes checking status a breeze. I like the excellent rates for data compression allowing to use backup repository far beyond actual capacity.

Cons:

Weird product policy for features in the different versions of the package - We are working with edition "Essentials Pro", which does all it needs to do, but the calendar view is disabled. Absolutely understand, that functions are limited to higher editions of package, but a calendar view of your jobs?!

Luca
System Enineering in Switzerland
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It's great to see with a quick glance if any backup jobs have had an errors, any that have failed, r even ones that have completed successfully. We are yet to run into any issues with corrupt backups, or any issues whatsoever with recovering a file, a folder, or even an entire system.

Cons:

The best feature in my opinion is the fact that Nakivo seems to handle an operating system, as well as any virtual desktops or servers whether vmWare or HyperV without so much as a hiccup. The fact that you can delve so much further into specific backups such as SQL servers / 0365 , where you can recover right down to the info your missing as opposed to entire databases is also a great feature.

Davide
CEO in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Flexible, easy to deploy and affordable.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I use Nakivo in the 95% of my customers. It's an excellent software.

Pros:

Nakivo is an amazing software, flexible and easy to deploy. We use it in a lot of our customers IT infrastructures. The price is affordable for features in a virtual environment. The linux-based environment for the server and the transporters grant availability, efficiency and cost reduction.

Cons:

Lack of some features, like surebackup with services check. The ETA is not accurate as well as the progress bar. Also the log and history can be improved.

Juan Pedro
CEO in Spain
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Nakivo, easy and useful

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Totally satisfied. From the first moment it satisfies its ease of installation, fulfilling all expectations

Pros:

Undoubtedly, the most remarkable thing is that being extremely simple to use, it more than covers all the needs of a company to ensure the continuity of its information systems. In addition, the ability to integrate with the most common database solutions makes it essential.

Cons:

It is extremely easy, covering all the needs of the company in terms, backup & replication for business continuity

Friedhelm
Manager in Germany
Insurance, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Small Insurance Broker users NAKIVO 9.0.0

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are a small privately owned insurance broker company and store our sensitive customer data in our own databases in our small WMWare server farm, which we operate on a physical standalone server. We operate 5 virtual machines, primarily a Windows Server 2016 Essentials domain controller including a file server, a Microsoft SQL server, an Ubuntu server and also two virtual Windows 10 PCs. We back up the virtual machines to a local Synology NAS using NAKIVO version 9.0.0. We save a NAKIVO backup copy to an external repository, which we temporarily integrate into the network. Once the data has been backed up, we store the external repository outside for disaster recovery reasons. Recovery tests were carried out successfully in a test environment. The solution can be operated by laypeople. We are satisfied with the price-performance ratio of the solution. With best regards Broker Service Friedhelm Jadischke, Sondershausen

Pros:

Easy to install and configure, reliable, could be operated by laypeople.

Cons:

Acqisition is a hassle, not relibale over WAN, no automated License Renewal

William
William
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

What to love about the Nakivo Enterprise Backup Appliance. From a seasoned network administrator

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: I learned about computers by custom building them back in 1994. Individually purchasing all the components, I needed, then assembling the system to my client’s wish’s. I was a big Microsoft Windows fan at that point. My how things have changed. I’m now a big open-source software fan. I don’t wish to delve into the advantages of open-source software vs Microsoft software at this point. You will eventually discover this on your own. What I do wish to discuss is an amazing enterprise backup solution I came across, while googling “best enterprise backup solutions” various reviews and recommendations appeared after my search. I filtered through the reviews and one product really stood out amongst the others. Now, let’s get to the “meat” of my point. Some of the other backup solutions would only function on a Microsoft operating system and not on an open-source OS. Strike One! Some of the other backup solutions did not offer any virtualization appliance installation options. Strike Two! And after downloading and importing Nakivo’s Backup appliance into VirtualBox and having it up and running in under 15 minutes! Strike Three! All others are out!

Pros:

It can run as a Virtual Appliance. The appliance is a Linux OS. Administrators can have it up and running and preforming backups in under 15 minutes. File level restore. Many other reasons to implement this backup solution in your environment. Install the free trial to discover for yourself.

Cons:

I actually could not find any short comings while using the Nakivo Backup Appliance. It certainly makes your life as a network administrator so much better! That's definitely NOT a Con! lol

Michael
CTO in US
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

NAKIVO rivals VEEM and others. We say NAKIVO wins

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We were introduced to NAKIVO 2 years ago when we were searching for a lower cost entry point for virtualization backup. we were pleasantly surprised with the NAKIVO product. Since then, the NAKIVO features have grown and we regularly find ourselves recommending our clients move from their current solutions like VEEM and Symantec vault, to NAKIVO saving a ton of money and giving a much easier to use interface to the end users. We highly recommend NAKIVO to our clients and recommend you take a moment to review as well Michael Stokes, CTO
stokesTechnologies, inc.

Pros:

same end results as using more expensive products like VEEM, price point significantly less, and the user interface much easier to understand. Flexible integration with other storage devices and operating systems

Cons:

they are continuing to add more features rivaling the bigger companies. I say they're just about there and I don't really have a negative thing to say about the product