15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Sync.com

Sync.com is a secure Dropbox replacement trusted by over 700,000 businesses and individuals worldwide.

Learn more about Sync.com

Pros:

It offers lots of options (adding or removing fields from your sync). I was able to use 'X-Api-Secret', 'X-Api-Partner-Id', and even a "tenant.id" easily.

Cons:

Numerous failures on individual files when using the browser interface. Need to try, try and try again.

Sync.com ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.1/10

Sync.com has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 45 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Sync.com before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (45)

Charles
Charles
Marketing Director in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Like having an external backup with sharing capabilities in one

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very happy.

Pros:

I love the way it's so easy to share any link and that I can easily remove someone's permission. Also, my colleague is having problems with her computer so Sync is really stopping her from losing some of those files and also it means I can access them on my computer or she can on another computer.

Cons:

I have no complaints. Although sometimes the only way I can access my colleagues' files in the shared folder on the desktop is by logging in on the online version or even her version. So if it was instantly there without, it would be better, but the fact I can still easily access and download the files makes it not much of a problem.

Kevin
Kevin
Senior Consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ditched Dropbox for Sync

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Sync gives me fast, easy, and private access to my files whenever I want and wherever I am: at home, at work, or on-the-go. I've been using Sync for 2 years and don't ever remember having a problem. I've never lost a file or had a file get corrupted. Their service has been great! I would highly recommend giving them a try. They offer a free tier with paid options available if you need more features.

Pros:

There are many file repository services available in the Cloud these days, but few have end-to-end encryption like Sync. That was the main reason I transferred all my personal files from Dropbox to Sync: to maintain maximum privacy. I'm the only one who holds the keys to my data.

Cons:

The web interface works fine on a monitor, but is somewhat hard to use on a mobile device. Sync has a mobile app that works well on modern devices, but there have been times when I've needed to access my Sync files on a mobile device that was too old to run the app.

Joshua
Studio Musician/Singer-Songwriter in Canada
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sync Does Not Work On My Year-Old Mac Silicon

2.0 last year

Comments: It was good at first - I had no problems using Windows as an OS, but as soon as I switched over to Mac, the app cannot function properly. I am very disappointed and quite frankly very frustrated that this is where my money is going.

Pros:

Everything was easy to setup and after that, it synchronizes your files automatically, within minutes of saving, and immediately following.

Cons:

Sync stopped synchronizing my files on several, extended occasions, and I've been (and currently am still) struggling for literal months at a time with support trying to get this problem fixed. I don't have anything against the staff, but this problem has persisted for far too long to be acceptable. I have very important files that are not being synchronized that I could lose forever if the app does not start doing what it's supposed to. Unfortunately I should not have to rely on other methods of storage when I am paying upwards of $120CAD per year for this service that should have this taken care of.

Roger
Niche Growth Facilitator in Canada
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great File Storage I Recommend!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This service easily solved my primary problem, where I needed to have files accessible across multiple devices, but not stored on those devices. Sync.com stores the files only in the cloud. In a nutshell, here's what I like:
Easy-to-use interface.
Excellent security.
Great customer service.
Great for privacy conscious people.
Files are not lost if a device breaks.

Pros:

One feature that's particularly useful is privacy. As your files are encrypted, they don't have the encryption key - A super feature in the event you want to keep your files available on other devices, but only available to you. Additionally, it's awesome to start working on a document (for example) stored on sync.com, then later to use another device and keep working on the same document. This makes life much easier! Also (I've run into this a few times), their clouded store save me a lot of work. Why? If my computer dies, I don't lose any of my important files, and can even access them using a mobile device, or another computer.

Cons:

The only significant downside I've run into, is that they don't have a Linux based application (they support Windows and Mac). You can still use a web browser to access sync.com on Linux, but it's not quite the same as a native application. Having said that, it's still a great solution.

Kira
Co-Owner Operator in US
Automotive, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Advanced features with high level security!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We realized the benefits of secure and reliable cloud storage with sync. We have really made progress and improved our reputation by using their wonderful file sharing feature.
We have improved our efficiency and organization along with our ability to work together and collaborate.

Pros:

So many pros! Sync is very professional and polished. Sync is secure and uses strong end to end encryption, not the reduced levels like other software (Google for example). I truly feel safe. Sync stores your data on their servers and they do not allow anyone else to access them. They also can not view your files. 10/10 on security. The file sharing is excellent and has advanced features not offered by other products! Sync also has the capability and capacity to meet the needs of specialized businesses. The pros certainly outweigh the cons.

Cons:

The only cons are price, and that at first it can be difficult to navigate. There are a lot of options and advanced features but that means it takes a while to learn how to use everything for some people.

Lynn
Attorney / Owner in US
Legal Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent Storage Option

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Sync.com has been excellent. I have relied on it for many years now, primarily as a means to back up my important documents, but also as a convenience to access documents from wherever I may be in an emergency. I am surprised by the low price (I think it has been $49/year for several years now), so it is a great service for the cost.

Pros:

Sync.com was very easy to implement and it runs almost flawlessly. I have had very little problems in the several years that I have relied on Sync.com for my cloud/back-up storage. Also, I can access my documents very easily from anywhere, including my phone. It is great and the price was about half that of dropbox.

Cons:

A couple of times I found that the back-up was not functioning. This may have been a result in a glitch in my computer that was interfering with the back-up, but when it did happen a couple of times, it caused quite a panic because I didn't know for how long things were not being backed-up. I also found it a little difficult to authorize someone else to have access to my documents, although I was able to figure it out after a while.

David
David
Director of Business Development in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

DO NOT MISS These Guys!!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I found SyncWith by accident when my Zapier 'zaps' weren't cutting the mustard any longer. MAN did I bark up the right tree!!! Not only was it quick to setup, easy to navigate, and fairly self-intuitive, but when it wasn't, their support staff was!!! NO LIE... must've been over 100 emails back and forth. Oh, and 99.999% of the issues I was emailing them about turned out to be... wait for it... 100% operator error!Thanks [SENSITIVE CONTENT]! The app, once set up properly BY THE USER (lol), worked perfectly! In fact, we were able to pinpoint some bad data coming from the data source! SyncWith connected easily to the API address, and brought the data back perfectly! You can even rename the [fields] before running the sync. I also had to use "X-Api-Secret", "X-Api-Partner-Id" and a "tennant.id". And even though I knew not what they were, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] got them set up in minutes!

Pros:

* It worked perfectly! * The support for when I got stuck was EXCELLENT! * It offers lots of options (adding or removing fields from your sync)! * I was able to use 'X-Api-Secret', 'X-Api-Partner-Id', and even a "tenant.id" easily!

Cons:

* Nothing that I could find! Seriously! Every time I got stuck (and by 'stuck' really I mean 'not slowing down and taking the time to figure simple things out!'), they were at the other end of that email... almost instantly, to walk me through what I had missed. And most of all, they were patient and kind in their responses... which there were A LOT of! lol (thx [SENSITIVE CONTENT]!)

Alexandra
Alexandra
CEO in Estonia
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Super secure but somehow unattractive to use

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Easy to set up, secure, and more free storage than dropbox. Down and uploading was difficult at some point, so now we only use it sporadically. Also, with proton and mega we find our needs are met better. Since we already use proton mail.

Pros:

Back in 2019 when proton mail did not have secure storage, this was the most secure document storage system in the cloud we could find. So we opened an account. It has 7 (plus 1 if you activate additional functions) GB of free storage, and beats dropbox in that as well. The file sharing works just as easy. It is a good software, essentially.

Cons:

Uploading and downloading can be a chore, and with proton mail having their own cloud now, and mega.nz offering even more free storage, we have now two options that suit us better. Also, the UI is pretty basic. I csnt quite put my finger at it, but I really disliked navigating it and now only rarely use it.

Brahm
President in Canada
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

After 1 year using Pro version of Dropbox and Sync, I now only use Sync.com

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Fast. Affordable. Secure. Intuitive. For half the price of Dropbox, plus the ability to recover old versions and deleted files. For business, teams are basically free, compare to Dropbox where an account with teams isan amount per user, sync is a small amount per user. Sync also has a vault feature, which is a nice for backup files and long term storage of files that you want to keep safe and don't need to work with everyday. Love that when you share folders with someone, the shared folders only count toward the original users quota. This makes it possible for a PRO user to share large files with free account users. With Dropbox, I couldn't share large folders with clients unless they had a paid Dropbox account.

Cons:

If you try to change too many file or folder names in too short a time, Sync starts to produce conflicting files, especially if you have two computers syncing to the cloud at the same time. Dropbox algorithms seem to resolve file conflicts better. There is not much customer support to speak of, just help boards and email.

Lisa
Communications Director in US
Religious Institutions, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Secure and affordable file sharing.

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We needed a file storage system that was more secure than Google Drive, and affordable. This fit the bill. I like that I feel more confident our files are now secure and that it isn't breaking the bank.

Pros:

We share files among a team and needed a solution that would allow us keep doing that in a user-friendly way. We also needed it to be secure. Sync.com works very well for us in these ways.

Cons:

There are a few quirks that are challenging - for example, you can't rename top-level folders for a whole team that are shared with a team, and that moving files breaks the link to those files. They are small things and wouldn't make us stop using it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Secure and Affordable Cloud Storage

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use Sync.com successfully to organize our large documents and files that we share with clients. Many times, clients have to send us very large media files. Instead of trying to send these through emails or through WeTransfer, it is so much more organized to send them an invitation to a shared folder and have them upload as much as they want into that folder. It saves everybody time, and it keeps things more organized. It also gives me peace of mind knowing that all of the data is encrypted and secure.

Pros:

This cloud storage service is simple, affordable, and secure. It does everything you need it to do. It is cheaper than alternatives, but it still has strong encryption and best security practices. The interface is easy to use, and it is easy to share folders with other users/collaborators. The desktop app works nicely to keep the folders on your computer in sync with any changes made by other users. When we do file sharing with clients, the interface is intuitive, so we never have to guide them through the process.

Cons:

It's not as ubiquitous, so we usually ask our client to create the free account with Sync.com first to start sharing their files with us. I was also not aware that the "Vault" service provided by Sync.com is not adequate to do a full backup of my hard drive. I found that out after trying and failing and dealing with the customer support until they finally realized that this wouldn't work because some of the cache files were changing too often in the background. Overall, the customer support was helpful throughout the process though.

Rhonda
Supervisor in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Protected and HIPAA compliant

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Sync is the only backup service that we actually had to "use". There was a tragic and unexpected event and we lost everything, I mean all of it. After this I logged into sync hoping the important things I had uploaded were still there. They were still there just as I had left them, and things from multiple computers that I had forgotten to backup were on there as well. We actually wound up losing very little thanks to Sync.com. If I had still been using another service I don't think there would have been such a happy ending.

Pros:

Sync.com is a safe place to keep any type of records and files, even protected health information. Sync is HIPAA compliant and protects your information very well. No settings have to be changed or enabled, the protection is already set up. The first 5GB is free, different plans to choose from for different needs and budgets.

Cons:

Sync is great but it's not the same as an EMR or cloud storage specialized for medical records. It would be great if Sync launched something like this, I think many organizations would use it including mine. Sync would be better if the customer service teams didn't have such long wait times.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Practice, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sync.com- for perfect sync

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: If you are basic Dropbox or One drive user, just switch on to the Sync.com for hassle-free cloud service with high-security measures and real-time protection. Just try it. Highly recommended.

Pros:

I was get interacted with sync.com during looking for an alternative for OneDrive. Highly recommended with security measures of Sync.com and we can keep our files with secure and 100% private. The file transferring speed is really quick when compared to the OneDrive for both downloading & Uploading. Still, we can manage our files with any of our devices and the mobile version is really helpful to keep our files up to date. We can share our files instantly and plans start with 5GB for free of charge. We can send our files with self-destruction features and password protection and even we can share our files to non-Sync.com users.

Cons:

It's really hard to find cons for this cloud service. Hope the subscriptions fees will be reduced in future in order to compete for cloud service kings such as Dropbox and Google Drive. The free plan should be more in future to attract newcomers.

John
Manager in UK
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy filesharing syncing and backup

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I use it to back up the companies Documents and share them across three computers. Always in sync. I also use it to share big files via links and email with customers. For personal use i use it to send HD big video and photo files to friends and family. So simple.

Pros:

It is so easy to use and never fails to do what it should. I much prefer it to onedrive or dropbox etc etc. You can try it out for free for ever as long as you want if you do not need too much storage space or too may concurrent links or too much history saving. I have hardly ever had to look at the help it is so intuitive. It gives you 5Gb free to start with but you can increase this to 15Gb if you recruit others to use it. Very secure, encrypted. A friend who worked for GCHQ reckoned they were the most secure of any of these systems.

Cons:

Nothing really. You cannot expect to get more than 15GB free which is what they offer if you recruit 10 more people.

Koon
CTO in New Zealand
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Started off great but have fallen fast

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: Started off as a good system for small businesses with one of two users. Once you have files (we are at 120GB of 2TB quota) and the system stops syncing across devices completely. The only support option is through a contact form, and support team takes 2-3 days to respond. As a premium member, this "priority" support is poor.

Pros:

Affordable pricing, easy to use system, supports multiple platform.

Cons:

Doesn't work for teams with lots of files. Syncing files between computers take days. Support is irresponsive. Premium members receiving "priority" support still gets a reply after 2-3 days.

David
Private Investigator in US
Security & Investigations, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

And the award goes to... Sync.com

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: When you hear secure cloud storage you may assume sharing a file will feel like pulling teeth, but Sync has managed to pair convenience and security. Quite the feat!

Pros:

Sync made their house out of brick when the others chose straw. The door to this house is sturdy and safe but still easily opened (meaning easy and safe to share if you didn't catch symbolism).Sync syncs lightning fast *provided device and connection are viable*. The price is right, surprisingly lower than expected. Getting started takes five minutes and the easy to navigate interface looks like it just dropped yesterday.

Cons:

Syncs performance varies by device more so than others. On a new, powerful computer it runs very fast. If I try it on an older or more lightweight device, it runs like molasses - slow.There is no Linux support, it's not a deal breaker for me anymore but it still lands on the cons list. The support options aren't anything to rave about, disappointing..

Sherri
IT Engineer in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Don't even think about these guys

1.0 5 years ago

Comments: I wanted to like these guys so badly. Now I just want to warn everyone to stay away. I have no idea how anyone uses this product. it is barely functional.
I am stuck with a 5 mbps download speed. Nice trap. It will take me most of this year to get my files off Sync and onto a better provider.

Pros:

I wish I had something to fill in here, but I don't. Every time I try to work with this product, it is just hours of frustration....

Cons:

Poor tech support. Download speed of 5mbps...seriously. Try to download terrabytes of data with that speed. Raw photography files are not supported for preview..We are talking a standard that is 12 years old now.. You want to find that picture of your summer vacation? You will have to download every file and browse it on your desktop. No version control. No ability to upload or download only. Sync across multiple platforms means everything gets deleted if you make a mistake. Uploading through the browser alters the metadata of the file. I have not had any positive interactions with their tech support since I opened my account with them

Callista
Office Manager in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Storage Solution

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

We chose this software mostly for the security features. We also like that we can have multiple computers in our office sync together, so any one of us can be working on any file and instantly we all have the updated versions of the files. We like that we can share folders with our clients, and clients can also securely upload files into shared folders.

Cons:

When the files are uploading/syncing across multiple machines, it does seem to slow our internet down significantly.

Eduardo
Eduardo
Software Tester in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy file sharing

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It's a good service overall, I have a 2TB paid plan. I've been using it to work with a remote team and it's been seamless most of the time. We work on different continents and time zones, as well as different file formats and I haven't encountered any major issues. The only downside I find is the conflicted files when two or more people are working on a document at the same time. Perhaps if there was a way to track changes and merge the files it would be better, but I guess that would be a different service.

Pros:

- Easy to set up an account. - Easy to install and use in your PC. - Real-time update of documents across machines, cloud, time zones and continents.

Cons:

- Sometimes due to connection trouble sync is lost and I had to do a manual pause > resume to make it work. - It's hard to go over the work on a conflicted file when two people had the same document open at the same time and saved changes to it.

Kent
Kent
Business & eCommerce Consulting in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy, Secure and Priced Right. What isn't there to like?

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I was looking for an alternative to Dropbox, Google and Microsoft's OneDrive and found it in Sync. I needed something inexpensive and easy for my clients to use. Most aren't tech savvy. They just want to set it and forget it. Another thing going for Sync is it is a secure storage system. They can't look at the file contents and no one else can either. It is encrypted end-to-end. With business plans from 1TB to 10TBs, there is something for any size business.

Cons:

The only one that comes to mind is, when a directory is shared between several users/computers, it can take a moment after opening a directory on the computer for it to be updated to show the new files in it. But just a few seconds so nothing major.

Michael
Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

From Europe, too slow to be useful

2.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have been on the lookout for an alternative to Backblaze. I have about 20TB of media files I want to back-up. The Sync pricing of one of its business packages compared to the equivalent Dropbox package made it worth trying. You get 5GB for free in the trial. Initially I tried uploading 400MB of files through the browser. The upload frequently hung and had to be restarted; files failed to upload the first time and had to be repeated. It took about an hour. Next I tried the downloadable Windows app. I uploaded about 700MB of files. None of the uploads via the app hung and none failed first time. However, the upload took 49 minutes. At that rate the 20TB of data will take 976 days to upload. This is from UK and my internet upload speeds are not great but for comparison I tried the same thing with Google Drive almost immediately after trying Sync. The 400MBs took 3 minutes and the 700MB 6minutes. With Backblaze my average upload speed over an extended period of time is around 100GB a day. Sync's pricing is attractive but these speeds make unworkable for me.

Pros:

Easy to install; easy to use; free to try

Cons:

Appalling slow upload speeds. Numerous failures on individual files when using the browser interface. Need to try, try and try again. Don't know how much better it is in US & Canada but from UK it's unusable

Marina
--- in UK
Research, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

No No No! This is the most terrible experience I made with clouds

1.0 5 years ago

Comments: No benefits, only problems and data lost.

Pros:

Nothing positive, only negative experience

Cons:

I am a private user with 500 GB storage paid for 1 year. 1. The desktop app (version 2.XX, the latest sync.com offeres) is NOT WORKING. Neither under Windows 7, nor under Windows 10 Enterprise. Even after many installations and deinstallations it just keeps indexing, freezing, not synchonising and uploading the data. Instead, it looses the files while the so-called "synchronisation process". 2. The data upload via the browser panel is just pure pain. Watching the upload progress from Europe to the sync.com servers in Canada makes me cry bloody tears: it is just so terribly slow, slooooooow. The browser panel is also not able to reconnect to the cloud once the Internet connection is lost. I do not even mention that while uploading a list of files, some files are not uploaded and I mostly have to restart the WHOLE process. After using the service only for a few days, I am already thinking to ask for the refund. Sync.com is definitely NOT an alternative for Box, Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive, etc. It is just pain in the ...s.

Jake
Vice President in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy Cloud Storage

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I ended up creating a sync account for my tech-challenged aunt who wanted to be a snow-bird but still be able to access all of the files on her desktop from her laptop (for business purposes). I got it setup on both devices, moved the pertinent files into her sync.com folder and it worked like magic. Never any hang-ups and plenty of free storage space for what she needs. I have used dropbox for years personally and in business, but I started her on sync.com because it offers 5 GB of free space (compared to Dropbox's intro offer of 2 GB). I also access sync.com through the web interface to use her files because we collaborate on a few of our clients and it is so easy to download and upload files (that part I prefer sync.com to dropbox) when needed. I've never had any glitches, the speed is incredible, and I have nothing bad to say about sync.

Pros:

I love the amount of free space and the speed of uploads and downloads.

Cons:

Nothing.

William
Sr. Proj. Manager in US
Architecture & Planning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic and so close to perfect.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's been great! Simply put.

Pros:

I love this software - it's fast and inexpensive. It's simple to use and there is an app!

Cons:

I realize you have to trade security for usability right? If this software would allow more use-ability (i.e. within MS Word, Excel, Autodesk, email plugins) then this would soar past Dropbox, Google Drive and OneDrive....

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great cloud storage backup for documents

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Simple, safe cloud backup for corporate documents

Pros:

I like sync.com because it allows us to backup our corporate files and documents, in addition to having local copies. Synchronization is seamless and it supports multiple users to access the files and folders. The storage space they offer is also huge for the premium version. It allows you to create links to access documents, with expiry option for external users.

Cons:

The cost can be considered high as compared to other cloud storage applications which offer similar features at no cost