15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About InEight

InEight Construction Estimating software helps you create more accurate and timely project estimates and improve the project ROI.

Learn more about InEight

Pros:

Flexibility and customization. Sorting, organizing, filtering, views.

Cons:

Since I came aboard, the company has grown from roughly 33 million to 45 million in gross revenue per year.

InEight ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.8
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

7.6/10

InEight has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 14 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used InEight before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (14)

Jeremy
Senior Estimator in US
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Estimating and Project Management Available

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Best in the game, hands down.

Pros:

Connected Data and Open API. Flexibility and customization. Sorting, organizing, filtering, views. All the things that drive me nuts about HeavyBid, InEight can do.

Cons:

The vast amount of customization can be overwhelming for some. Not me though. Chief estimators simply need to create relevant views and workflows to help estimators who want a more simplistic platform.

Chad
Chief Estimator in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The software is capable of a lot more than we will ever use it for.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I have been working with Hard Dollar for 10 years and it has been a very good tool to procure work in my industry. The software works great for large complicated projects, I believe we have been successful due to the Hard Dollar system. The corporation I work for is very pleased with the work we have procured using the software over the last two and a half years.

Cons:

It takes a long time to learn the program and get familiar with the actions when putting an estimate together. Because of the complexity of the system our firm was hesitant about continuing to use it shortly after I started working here. Once they saw the rewards of the work we procured they have since changed their minds. I believe smaller firms would be more apt to using the software if there was a less complex version that could be offered. Last thing I would say, the customer support was lacking two and a half years ago when I purchased the product. I used you-tube videos to help get the software set up properly but some of my questions could not be answered. it took some time but I ended up figuring it out well enough to bid work. Since I came aboard, the company has grown from roughly 33 million to 45 million in gross revenue per year.

Michael
Chief Estimator in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

frustrating

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: This type of software is one of the driving forces in the construction industry.

Pros:

the free form CBS structure that allows the estimate to be re-configured easily on the fly when a scope or idea changes

Cons:

it allows modification in fields/cells that should not be able to be changed in that location. You should have to go to a setup screen to make these type modifications

Deniel
Field Engineer in Canada
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

InEight Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: One source of truth for a large scale project instead of multiple side lists/sheets/data that need to be complied together.

Pros:

A good amount of well integrated features that interface with many different products such as SAP, Excel, P6 etc.

Cons:

Use of the plan feature in a large scale project causes the quantity tracking feature to slow down and not work as intended with certain commands

Mark
Federal Program Manager in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have used the product for 17 years and would not consider using another estimating software.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Consistent time savings while maintaining accuracy in bids.

Pros:

The thing that I like most is the ability to utilize the bid wizard for new job setup that allows copying resources, cost breakdown, account codes, etc. from an existing job to the new job. This cuts down substantially on the time it takes to set up a new estimate. Also, love the ability to export to scheduling and accounting software. Again, it substantially cuts down on the time to do it from scratch.

Cons:

I don't think that the customer support is as responsive as it was years ago. Often times the question is one that needs an immediate answer and sometimes it takes hours to get a response.

Joey
Senior Estimator in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User friendly

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The whole program is user friendly. The quote module is easy to use. The new alternate scenario has been a great add-on to do value engineering options for the client.

Cons:

There's nothing I don't like about the program. There's nothing I don't like about the program. There's.

THOMAS
gen manager in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

For construction management this is a great software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: This type of software will help propel the construction industry into the future

Pros:

I like the quote management at bid time and the ability to change numbers quickly at bid time also like the library feature being able to organize projects by region, country, and client allows us to correlate with prior projects

Cons:

I would say trying to get other programs to work with this software is a challenge for us

Gultasab
Lead Estimator in Saudi Arabia
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good Software for Construction Management

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: InEight software can play a vital rule if the users are highly trained and have good command on complex estimating application. However, employers planning to switch from other software must have a demo and training session prior to shift.

Pros:

Library feature is very impressive, the projects data can be organised region-wise, country-wise, client-wise. This feature allows to correlate the project with previously submitted project

Cons:

Developer must work to make it more user friendly, the interface is not that easy to adopt. People with less interaction of digital devices can have tough time to learn and adopt it.

Alec
Estimator in Canada
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

InEight Software Review

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Provides access to a database so as to provide comparisons against historical data.

Cons:

Lacks good reporting function/capability.

Kyle
Kyle
Civil Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Military, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

InEight Review

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Powerful tool for cost estimating projects. New format to be similar to excel makes it easier to use.

Cons:

Program has so many features that learning all of them can be cumbersome.

Michael
Chief Estimator\Senior Project Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I been using this soft ware from the time its was 3 cards and Grant and Stan did the training

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Quote Management at Bid time it great getting the best number we can get and the easy of changing our bid in s short keys stokes

Cons:

there are no con at this time..

James
Owner in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Exceptional Service

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It is like having a project manager who never eats' sleep's or takes a break. It is one of the best purchase we have made.

Cons:

It has never failed us. It works as it should and has never given us an issue.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

InEight Honest Review

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Estimate for Construction Services was the main challenge why we had to use InEight Estimates. The main benefit I had realized is that the milestones for revenue can be monitored using this software.

Pros:

Useful to construction service companies

Cons:

Minimal integration to other softwares.

Ron
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4.5 12 years ago

Comments: Been using the product for 4 plus years. We measure progress, forecast and estimate all of our projects. Cash flow, Earned Value and production performance are key metrics for our company. Hard Dollar provides us reports to collaborate with owners and other EPCM's. Support is very good. Product is very straight forward, especially if you came from Excel spreadsheets. Ties nicely in from a cost model to schedule to progress and into SAP which we utilize strongly.