15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About ChefMod

Service based online software solutions to help restaurant owners and chefs manage the entire purchasing lifecycle.

Learn more about ChefMod

Pros:

This is very user friendly; I never have issues trying to navigate my way around and its functionality is great.

Cons:

When ordering a new or global item, the item is added to lists. No way to add a comment.

ChefMod ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

ChefMod has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 65 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ChefMod before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (65)

Matt
Matt
Chef/Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Purchase Power

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with ChefMod has been excellent. The savings for my Buisness both with time and cash value are unmatched.

Pros:

From set up to our daily ordering to receiving product ChefMod has killed it every step of the way. Along with the great prices from the purchasing power to the easy use of the software makes ChefMod an easy and logical choice.

Cons:

I have nothing to add here, the software does everything we need it to do.

ChefMod Response

5 years ago

Matt, I couldn't have said it better myself :-) Professional Chefs with your experience aren't as common as people may think. We truly appreciate working with you and the talents you bring. Thank you for your support all these years. We appreciate YOU. John

Lisa
Business Mgr in US
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Platform!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great- All the support staff is so nice and accommodating. Every request is answered in no time and their assistance with many things that they could push on me but they do as a courtesy to make my life easier such as credit applications, lookups for items, etc. is a breath of fresh air that I don't see with most vendors we work with!

Pros:

Everything needed from accounting and ordering to analytics this software has helped us integrate. I no longer have to code invoices. It exports on my cue right to my accounting software. We do not have to deal with any pushy annoying sales people from the food companies OR their commissions which is a huge perk! My food costs went down tremendously since we started using this software and I am able to view all past current and future orders with a couple clicks at any workstation with internet. Anytime I have a question the support team has a very fast response time and does most all of the legwork to accommodate my requests making my life ALOT easier when we want to price things out or are having an issue of any kind. Chefmod has brought my BOH kitchen practices into this day and age instead of the more old school less efficient practices of the past that we used previously to get the job done.

Cons:

Because it was a big change in switching to this platform it took some convincing to get my kitchen team on board. All of our vendors changed so ironing out new delivery windows and what no had a little bit of a learning code but nothing that could not be addressed. My former food vendors were not pleased but it was definitely a wise business decision. If you have an old school kitchen department who is not comfortable using the computer this transition would take some time, but once trained and all the kinks are ironed out this is the way to go for sure.

ChefMod Response

5 years ago

Lisa, We are so happy that you are taking advantage of all of our system features. I would encourage the app whenever possible. It's available for Android and Apple devices. It's a great way to see numbers on the go and of course to place orders. I'll give you a hint, our next major desktop release will have a lot of the app functions there as well! Get excited! Thank you~ John

Alex
Chef in US
Restaurants, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A helpful tool, not foolproof, needs major QOL and UX improvements

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has helped us lower costs, but has also come with workflow changes that can be annoying at times. It basically finds the cheapest price for each item you're ordering across all of your vendors and orders it. The problem is that each of these vendors has a minimum order price to ship. What follows is a chefmod rep calling you telling you that your order doesn't make minimums for several different vendors and then you need to sit on the phone with them and move things around until you can get things to work out mathematically. They don't look at your order as a whole and try to find the cheapest possible way that would get you the order successfully, they just order the cheapest version of each item and hope that everything adds up to make a minimum or you're getting a phone call. What makes this even more frustrating is that you can't order from a specific vendor through the site to avoid this nuisance.
Overall, it's OK. It's lowered costs but not without headaches. There's some convenience to being able to order from some vendors online, and being notified about things like holiday delivery schedules. I can't be sure if I'd recommend it to someone who doesn't need it for their business, as I do not find it to be a luxury.

Pros:

Browsing inventory Order history referencing Customer service

Cons:

Interface needs improvement, a lot of un-intuitive design and layout decisions Does not currently have functionality that allows you to order from a specific vendor, so making a minimum order for a vendor can be frustrating and involves phone calls Search function is bizarrely bad

ChefMod Response

5 years ago

Alex, you are reading our minds. We have a lot of these (maybe all of them) addressed in our next release which is scheduled for 2020. We'll keep you posted as we get closer. John PS, we would love for you to join our Facebook group exclusive for members!

Mary
Sales in US
Hospitality, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Coastal Sunbelt Produce is Proud to Partner with ChefMod

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Coastal Sunbelt Produce has been proud to be a part of ChefMods growing success since its inception. We have worked closely together over the years with their many talented crew members as both of our businesses have expanded. We admire their dedication to their customers and vendors alike, always on the cusp of what is new in our industry. We look to a bright and successful future with the ChefMod Team.

Pros:

Coastal Sunbelt has had an overall excellent experience with this software. When a problem occurred we were able to remedy the situation quickly with the Help of ChefMod team members.

Cons:

Coastal Sunbelt has not experienced a major problem that was not remedied efficiently. Although no software is 100 per cent fail proof ChefMod is available to its customers and vendors for quick solutions

ChefMod Response

7 years ago

Mary, these systems always help to make the process on all sides more efficient. Thank you for being such a valued supplier. ~ChefMod

Dave
Partner in US
Restaurants, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Happy Customer

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: ChefMod has been wonderful, the staff I've interacted with are always polite and professional. The product we receive is always of the highest quality, and the digitizing of invoices makes accounting a breeze on our end. Overall I love it, I wish I had switched over sooner.

Pros:

Ease of use with this system is what I like best about it, not to mention the money saved

Cons:

Sometimes the wording on how products are named in the system doesn't make sense, but once you figure out how to search it's not a problem

ChefMod Response

5 years ago

Dave, thanks for the great review! Product naming conventions are an ongoing effort. This year alone we added more than 6,000 new items to the system. Keeping track of all the manufacturer and distributor updates is a full time job. We recently implemented a formal naming convention that addresses this very topic and have begun to routinely update current items as well as to manage new ones. Thank you for the feedback and of course your ongoing support.

Matilda
General Manager in US
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best ordering software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My experience is the greatest, the staff is always there to support you 100%. The execution of them resolving any issues is so on point, it makes my operations at the restaurant run that much smoother. They always check back to make sure you’re satisfy with products price and any inconvenience encounter during delivery.

Pros:

I love this software, is easy to navigate for ordering, entering sales and invoices. I like that I can go back and find old invoices instead of calling the office to make sure they were entered.

Cons:

Honestly there is nothing I don’t like about it.

ChefMod Response

5 years ago

Matilda, What can I say, members like you make every day a pleasure to come to work. Thank you for your support all these years. You truly are a power user! John

Jason
Office Manager in US
Restaurants, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Management Helpful

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Chefmod has been a extra helpful and simple system to reconcile invoices and keep track of the restaurant's costs and sales.

Pros:

Chefmod helps to reconcile invoices at a click of button and automatically marks for you any missing items on the invoice. Also, the way the system is designed helps in a great extent to verify all the details of the different business' costs and at the same time use those numbers to compare it to your sales in a daily, weekly, monthly or yearly basis, assisting management to balance their cost.

ChefMod Response

7 years ago

Thank you Jason... soon with our new Financials feature called CrossDoc you'll be able to scan invoices into the system too... ChefMod is going paperless! Thanks again!

Kathleen
Office Manager in US
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very User Friendly

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use ChefMod daily to enter my sales and invoices into our system, and it's very helpful where I can find or track certain information, if needed rather quickly, which is why I refer to it often throughout the day.

Pros:

This is very user friendly; I never have issues trying to navigate my way around and its functionality is great!

Cons:

I'm not sure I have an answer for that; I'm happy with it!

ChefMod Response

5 years ago

Kathy, Thank you for the great review! We recently invited you to our Facebook Community Group. Please join to participate in new feature reviews! Thank you!

Matilda
General Manager in US
Restaurants, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The company that helps your buissness run smooth!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Chefmod is everything you need in one place, from logging our sales to ordering and getting the best prices it doesn't get any better then this. When ever we have any issues the customer service is the best. They get back to you right away and 99% of the time the problem is resolved on the first call. They follow up making sure everything is ok and also keep us update with any changes that might interfere with ordering any product ahead of time so we can sub with another product. I cannot see running my restaurant as accurate as we do if it wasn't for chefmod. The staff is amazing friendly and always willing to take care of any problems we may encounter.

Pros:

Makes everything in the restaurant run smooth giving us the best product out there.

ChefMod Response

7 years ago

Thank you Matilda!

Jose
Cash manager/Bookkeeper in US
Restaurants, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Chef mod is easy to use and navigate including but not limited to their graphics and statistical information. Their reports are always detailed and spot on. Making it easy for anyone to understand the information and interpret it for their own use.
Customer support is always helpful and work in a timely fashion.

Pros:

Detailed statistical reports customer support is quick and easy

ChefMod Response

7 years ago

Jose, Strong reporting tools are important for anyone that has the responsibility to manage the numbers. We hope that you are loving the reconciliation tools as well. Thank you for the great review! John Oldweiler President

Michael
Executive Chef in US
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ChefMod for restaurants

1.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall savings is a great plus.
When the rep and the other manager (do not recall her name) were on staff, there was more feedback from the team that seams lacking. No one has come out to introduce themselves since in order to let us know they are the new point person.
The rep has been very helpful. Several of the staff are very responsive and able to trouble shoot. Unfortunately, a formal introduction of new management was never made.

Pros:

The service personnel attempt to accommodate most situations. They are always friendly and as helpful as possible. Being able to send orders at anytime without having to make phone calls is a great convenience and timesaver. Once the order guides are set up it is very efficient to place orders.

Cons:

The fact that there is no way to see where the products are coming from on the screen while ordering is very inconvenient. Often we do not make a minimum order and chefmod has to transfer merchandise. I would like to see where the lowest bid is coming from(or all bids for that matter) so I can ordr where it best suits my needs. Some vendors deliver early, some late - I want the knowledge of where they are coming from.

ChefMod Response

5 years ago

Michael, Thank you for your review and your kind words about our team and system strengths. More importantly, we respect the feedback on where we can improve. Our intention is to provide the most ease when placing orders, but we do also realize that for some, having more control is important. Our developers are working on a host of features which will give you exactly the insight to suppliers and pricing that you are asking about. This will be offered in an upcoming release which I will share more with you in person. I hope you enjoyed meeting with our Member Services Team Leader yesterday, and I look forward to reaching out to your personally to set up our next meet up! John

Dennis
Chef in US
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ChefMod- Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Chef Mod has contributed to my success at the meadowlands. Great professional service with excellent customer service skills .

Pros:

It’s a blessing to have quick and easy more time to other things .

Cons:

It’s all good , I really never had a issue with it

ChefMod Response

5 years ago

Chef Dennis, When we have great customers like you who understand more than most how important it is to have strong systems in place, it makes our focus clear. All of us here are in awe with your ability to manage so many concepts in one facility. We're glad that we can support your efforts and free your time to manage the countless responsibilities you have. Our [chef] hats are off to you my friend! John

Diane
General manager in US
Restaurants, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Back of house made easy!!!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have been working with Chefmod for many years. The system has simplified my BOH operations and food ordering for my Chef so we are able to be on the floor and be a part of our diners experience. If we ever have issues with vendors, products, invoices etc.. we make one phone call to them and they take care of everything. I have been working with the Chefmod team for so long that I would be lost without them.

Pros:

It's easy to navigate and very simple.

Cons:

Hmmmmm... that my favorite Chefmod people don't work 24 hours.

ChefMod Response

7 years ago

Thank you Diane. We are expanding to other time zones so we may have to clone a few of us! Thank you for the great review! ~ChefMod

Jaime
Chef in US
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Chefs life easier

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: This is my 8th year using ChefMod ever since I started it just keep getting better and better and it really helps with my food cost.

Pros:

I like the fact that I can find anything I wish for for less price.

Cons:

The fact sometimes I have to order items in advance but reasonable on certain items.

ChefMod Response

5 years ago

Chef Jaime, Thank you so much for your support for these last 8 years. You have been a great source of inspiration and support. Working with great chefs like you, encourages us to be our best every day. When we work with pros, it makes our job easier too! Thank you from all of us!

Pete
President in US
Food & Beverages, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent product

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have been using this software everyday for the past 8 years to receive thousands of orders. I can honestly say it makes my life so much easier and helps my business run more efficiently. I would recommend this software to anyone that needs to maximize their time during the work day.

Pros:

The fact that it's simple to use. I was able to successfully train my staff members to use without any issues.

Cons:

None come to mind

ChefMod Response

7 years ago

Pete, We are so happy that our solution can delivery more efficiency to your business. Thank you for being such a trusted supplier! ~ChefMod

Kathy
Office Manager in US
Restaurants, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

EASY BREEZY

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Working with Chef Mod greatly simplifies the daily task of entering the many invoices we receive daily (and there are many!)...also, the Staff is the best when it comes to responding to questions/requests in a timely manner...thank you, Chef Mod!

Pros:

It's quick and easy; very user friendly...I love that someone is always there to respond, no matter what time or what day of the week!

Cons:

I'm not sure there is one...I have no problems using it, and if I do, the staff is always there to answer my question...

ChefMod Response

7 years ago

Thank you very much!

dan
owner/chef in US
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Happy

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: easier than ordering separately from each company

Pros:

customer service is great mostly easy to use

Cons:

small inconveniences in use: i almost ALWAYS order through "order history" and wish it would automatically start me there prices are not always cheaper, especially when fee is included

ChefMod Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the review Dan! We're always looking at pricing. Operationally it's our #1 focus. Be sure to always look at the Alternatives for items. This is where you may get the most bang for the buck.

Wayne
President in US
Food & Beverages
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Service at its best

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Been a Chefmod customer since 2010! Centralized all of my purchasing power and saved big bucks! Chefmod's ability to negotiate with new vendors specifically for my own QSR brand to bring in new products was absolutely #1! I recommend Chefmod to all of my restaurant buddies in NYC!! Thanks

Pros:

Ease of use

Cons:

Can't add products as end user

ChefMod Response

7 years ago

Wayne, thanks to loyal members like you, we continue to grow our base which makes those deals even better! Thank you for your long time support and be sure to check out our app on iTunes and Google Play store! Be well. ~ Your friends at ChefMod.

Darvin
General Manager in US
Restaurants, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Chefmod is the way to go!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: software is very user friendly, keeps track of your invoices, and reconcile them at a click.
ordering your supplies is the best, create your own list of items you order weekly and just click on them to order them. shows you what you last order so you know what should be order next time around.

Pros:

ease of invoice entry, and making your orders

Cons:

have not found any yet!

ChefMod Response

7 years ago

Darvin, So glad that you're taking advantage of our one click invoice reconciliation. Such a simple thing saves our members thousands of hours a week! Thank you for the great review! ~ChefMod

Tim
Manager in US
Restaurants, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Key to Organization

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Chefmod has become an integral part of our operation, helping us keep accurate, reliable, easily accessible records of all invoices and payments.
From expense reports to ordering, we use Chefmod as a streamline platform to consolidate many of our essential functions into one easy-to-use, highly supported program.

ChefMod Response

7 years ago

Thank you Tim. I'm glad that we're able to save your hours every week by streamlining your opperation. Have a great day and thanks again for the review! ~ The ChefMod Team

John
Regional Manager in US
Food & Beverages, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My Chef Mod Experience

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: My experience with Chef Mod has taught me that they are tenacious when I comes to supporting their members. They have demonstrated to me that they will go to serious lengths to deliver the right products when the members require.

Pros:

Easy to use

Cons:

We haven't really had any issues yet.

ChefMod Response

7 years ago

John, it's great working with suppliers who are so committed to our member's needs. We appreciate all that you do, every day. From all of us here at ChefMod, and from our members... Thank you!

Raul
Corporate chef in US
Restaurants, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

great software, overall good time and money saver. its solves my product problems fast.

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: better and faster ordering

Pros:

easy to use, it make my ordering experience fast and reliable. does not make me rush and i could place my order anytime i want.

Cons:

purveyors fail sometimes to let us know on a timely manner of items they do not have in stock.

ChefMod Response

7 years ago

Thank you Raul for the awesome review. ChefMod is the only GPO with real time inventory updates with In-Network purveyors. This list grows every day!

Edgar
General Manager in US
Restaurants, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

user friendly

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: From my experience in Chefmod what it's most appreciated is that the purchasing software will satisfy all your needs. What ever it is that we order, it's what we are going to get in a simple and easy process.

Pros:

Satisfies all your needs. It's very simple to place an order. It also helps you get the best prices and quality products in the market.

ChefMod Response

7 years ago

Thank you very much!

Michael
GM in US
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ChefMod Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Saving time and
Money

Pros:

Consolidates all ordering as opposed to dealing with multiple vendors

Cons:

We are pretty happy with it, we probably don’t use all of its abilities

ChefMod Response

5 years ago

We're local in NYC, so please let me know when you would like to come by. We can give you a full feature update! Thanks for the great review!

Michele
AGM in US
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ChefMod Review

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We have formed great relationships with the customer support staff at ChefMod! They help to make our days easier!

Pros:

My items are always saved so I can just go to my guide and order my most common items.

Cons:

Sometimes items get locked for no reason and you have to call to gain access to them again.

ChefMod Response

7 years ago

Thank you Michele!