15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Shortcut

Shortcut is a fast project management platform built for today's software team. Free for teams up to 10 users.

Learn more about Shortcut

Pros:

Ve used more complex software for ticket management and simpler tools, and Shortcut is the right balance of features, cost and ease of use.

Cons:

Some technical bugs that come about (and no way to avoid upgrading versions) because it's a web app. Mobile app could also use some work.

Shortcut ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

Shortcut has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 362 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Shortcut before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (362)

Bryan
Bryan
Product Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The perfect tool for software projects using Kanban

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Clubhouse helps us manage agile software projects better than ever before. With other tools it feels like we are forcing it to try to accommodate our workflow, but with Clubhouse it feels like it was designed exactly for our use.

Pros:

Clubhouse brought us a new set of features and ways to organize stories and tasks that we didn't know we wanted/needed. We have always stuck with tools that were able to help improve our kanban based workflow rather than the simple project board tools like Trello that cater to everyone more than software/product development specifically. There are few tools out there that provide what we are looking for: the ability to organize and label stories with more granularity than a single label (estimates, types, project, priorities, epic, etc), and the ability to have reports like velocity and burndown charts.

Cons:

It is a very small thing, but it would be nice if we could adjust the color scheme of both things like labels beyond the default options, as well as adjust the overall interface colors.

Lee-ann
Director of Business Systems in US
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Shortcut (previously Clubhouse) has been a great improvement for us.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall our experience has been great. Less has been falling through the cracks, and we're able to actively manage & prioritize our development with ease. The application is enjoyed by both the development team & the management team, so everyone is benefitting from our switch to Shortcut.

Pros:

1. The app is very easy to configure & set up. 2. The user experience is seamless & functionality is very self-explanatory. 3. There are multiple ways to configure each component, so you can set up the app according to what works best for you & your company. (No "one size fits all" model.) 4. The ability to set up different workflows for different departments has been a huge help for us.

Cons:

1. It's a little hard to envision how each of the components should be set up for your organization when you're first getting in there (i.e., projects, workflows, milestones, epics, stories), so we ended up changing the setup as we went along after the initial configuration. This wasn't necessarily a bad thing, as it allowed us to improve the way we currently did things. 2. The biggest issue we have now, after using the app for a while, is that stories do not populate into the Gantt charts, only epics. This means if we have one-off tasks that are added as stories, those do not pull into the report we'd like. For that reason, we have to set up an entire epic just to set up a single story, for reporting purposes. I think it would be great if you had the option to pull the Gantt reports at the epic or story-level.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

While Clubhouse can do some things well, it is lacking in many areas

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: My experience with Clubhouse was not great to say the least. While the UI is promising, and the price per user is much lower than others, you get what you pay for. Like too many other project management apps, there is not enough focus on the time being tracked vs a budget for the project you are working on. The project layers overlap in a way that would be good if you were working on individual projects for a larger product, but not if you are working on individual projects geared towards individual clients.

Pros:

I think the best part of Clubhouse is the robust API that can allow a dev team to add or complement to the existing platform. Clubhouse seems designed for teams focusing on a product or a small portfolio of similar products or complimentary features. It does not seem designed for a consulting or agency style development shop.

Cons:

Clubhouse is lacking in a number of areas that should be expected features in agile project management software. Completion dates are buried, no project budgeting or hourly rates, no invoicing or adding expenses, time tracking, resource management, personal task lists, custom fields, dependencies. It also seemed overwhelming to get set up and running.

Thomas
Developer in US
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Shortcut (formerly Clubhouse) is a great task management tool for development teams

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Before switching to Shortcut, we used Jira. While Jira has plenty of features, we found it a bit cumbersome and the performance of the interface was atrocious (everything single task was incredibly slow, even the most basic activities had a noticeable delay). The first major benefit we saw with Shortcut was the speed of interaction - instead of waiting for the interface to catch up, we could just log in and get things done. The integrations with various source control platforms (we use the Gitlab integration) also helps keep task statuses up to date without even having to open the web interface. Overall the speed of the interface and the available integrations lead to a feeling that Shortcut never "gets in our way".

Cons:

We started out paying for Shortcut (when it was still called Clubhouse), but were soon switched to a free plan without even having to ask. Although this was a nice gesture on their part, they then released a beta of their new product called Write. This beta is only available for paying users, which is understandable, but having been moved to a free plan meant we couldn't access it. This isn't a major issue, but starting our subscription back up would require going through the approval process with our accounting department again so we've just stayed on the free plan without access to Write so far.

Justin
Co-Founder & CXO in US
Telecommunications, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Scaled for the complexity of JIRA, but with the best UX possible & no sysadmins needed

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Every org grows out of Github Issues, Trello, and Asana when they realize a) stories need relationships such as blocking/blocked; b) stories need task checklists; c) different groups have different workflows; d) stories are often mini-project briefs and need to read as such. However, once you find yourself in JIRA, which you've been told is the mature platform for mature orgs, you're operating a nuclear submarine, you need 3 sysadmins, nobody can find anything, and you want to throw your computer out the window. SC has the infrastructure but with the user-friendliness of everyday software. Think of how Mixpanel took what Omniture was doing and made it accessible to the everyday marketer. That's what Shortcut does for eng/prod teams. No sysadmin needed, everyone gets it. Their API is well-documented and incredible. We do tons with Zapier because of how much they expose. Their CS team is spectacular, inquisitive, friendly, helpful. They want their customers to succeed. They have a one-click signup link which has made our onboarding process much faster They have templated stories and checklists which we use across the org for everything from product launches through onboarding/offboarding hires.

Cons:

very few dislikes. it's amazing. if i have to force criticism: - If you work cross-departmentally, avoid multiple workflows, or you'll be having to look at multiple kanban boards daily - the "dashboard" (home) isn't as useful as it seems like it should be so we all either use iterations or stories view for our daily lens - shortcut and productboard both boast integration, but it's not great, and i think this is the fault of productboard but really these criticisms represent like 5% negative compared to 95% enthusiastic positive

Fredrik
CEO in Sweden
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Shortcut the Jira killer

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Easy to get started with. Easy to use. Nice diagrams and overviews.

Pros:

It is extremely easy to use. Quick to setup and understand. VERY cost effective! The team behind Shortcut delivers new and exciting functionality often that really makes a difference.

Cons:

I have not idea to be honest. There are really no bad parts of Shortcut for what it is doing! Nice integrations and easy to use, not really something you can dislike.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

shortcut lover!!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: totally changed my day to day for the best

Pros:

best project management software ive ever used, works for technical engineers and nontechnical marketing chaps like myself.

Cons:

wish there was a REALLY simple version for mobile that showed me a minimalistic view of my cards or something really creative to change my life there, if anyone could create the perfect on the go project management view, it would be you guys!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Powerful project planning

4.0 last year

Pros:

Shortcut is easy to use but very powerful, and has a clean, intuitive interface. It offers a wide range of features, including project planning, task management, and collaboration tools. The software integrates well with other tools, such as Slack.

Cons:

The per-user price is a bit steep if you need access to all of Shortcut's features.

Ezra
Ezra
Customer Support Engineer at Appointlet in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A visually pleasant alternative to Pivotal Tracker

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall my experience with Clubhouse has been great. It's got a nice UI and is intuitive.

Pros:

The biggest win for me personally in the switch to Clubhouse was simply having a nice user interface to look at when dealing with tickets.

Cons:

The only issue I've had so far has been that I'm not always aware when a ticket has been reviewed. As a customer success manager, I file ticket reports and sometimes they get closed without my being alerted. We've attempted to solve this with a slack integration but I'm not sure that it's working as expected. Also, it would be nice if they didn't use markdown when you uploaded an image to a ticket comment.

Kévin
Kévin
iOS Engineer in Austria
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Does its job!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Great tool for managing the team's tasks and it's especially good for teams working with Scrum. It offers a lot of customizability, thus, you can change it to tailor your needs.

Cons:

The learning curve for someone who never worked with it can be steep at the beginning. But after learning the basics it gets easy.

Ashok
Chief Product Officer in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect Balance Between Simplicity and Power

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Clubhouse has given us a great workflow which minimises the reliance on human input while maximising the oversight we have on the work we have in progress. For our team it strikes the perfect balance between the simplicity of Trello with the best bits of more powerful tools like Jira - minus all of the bloat. I would highly recommend it for the sake that because it's developer focused, our developers actually don't mind using it. At the end of the day, your tool is only going to be as good as the effort your team is willing to put into using it so this is definitely something that isn't to be overlooked.

Pros:

Unlike other agile management platforms, Clubhouse is setup that you can get a lot of value from the simple Kanban board with the option to go deeper and track more in depth insights into the progress of your work. We moved to Clubhouse from a setup of Trello with a ton of extensions to help manage the extra tracking we wanted to be doing, and I think the best analogy I can make is that Clubhouse is like Trello on steroids. But in saying that, it's far simpler and more effective than other bloated tracking software like Jira or Pivotal Tracker - which in my opinion try to please the managers who want a lot of fancy yet ultimately meaningless metrics at the expense of user experience for the development team who ultimately has to spend time keeping it up to date. The GitHub integration which automatically moves cards as they progress through pull requests is a great example of how Clubhouse has considered that the development team is ultimately the user of the platform, and should be designed around getting them to use it effectively rather than bloating it for the sake of what management think looks good.

Cons:

There isn't anything major that I would complain about, but there are some improvements like showing epic burn down charts by points instead of the number of stories that I've asked for a few times but haven't been implemented. The reporting functionality also has a few bugs, but nothing major that stops it from being valuable.

Cristian
CEO in US
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Exactly what we need

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is the best tool for our business given our current size. I would recommend it for small teams of designers and engineers. Its integration with GitHub and similar tools is best in class.

Pros:

Its interface is super fast compared to tools like Jira. I find the platform extremely easy to use and configure.

Cons:

The interface has changed recently and at times that can be jarring. But I have no major complaints.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Project/Product Management tool

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have personally used Clubhouse at 2 organizations, as well as other competing tools. Clubhouse has provided the best overall tool for ticketing and project management without a steep learning curve. Organization and searchability is key when managing several developers, stakeholders, teams, and business. Therefore, Clubhouse keeps me on top of stuff while prioritize and deprioritize easily and quickly.

Pros:

Flexibility and ease of the software - Clubhouse is extremely easy to learn and provides the ability to mold the software and functionality to your team's workflows. Additionally, the Clubhouse team is continuously adding new integration and features that are best practice for most modern and agile product & tech teams.

Cons:

Not necessarily a specific con to Clubhouse but in general for all project management tools. Given the need for detailed requirements, it is necessary to write a lot of content on tickets. As such, the mobile experience is not on part with the browser desktop experience. That being said, I tend to create shell tickets on the mobile app or mobile view, then complete the tickets on a desktop when I have full functionality and familiarity.

Paul
Software Specialist in Philippines
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Previously Clubhouse, Shortcut really did cut our processes shorter.

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

1) Easy to learn - Even our junior members got on-boarded quickly despite their absolute lack of familiarity to such tools. 2) Tons of tagging options - Tickets can get multiple labels and the long list of standard metadata for cross-posting and maximum searchability. 3) Powerful search box - We get lots of tickets using the same set of keywords yet the search function seems to algorithmically know exactly which one we are looking for!

Cons:

1) Comment formatting is not WYSIWYG 2) A bit pricey for smaller teams 3) Continuous development is great, but there's always a new key feature deployed quickly that will make you rethink your currently-established conventions. We found ourselves testing these, and even migrating to fully commit to using the new feature instead (e.g. milestone-centric vs iteration-centric). There's this unshakeable worry that there's a new feature yet again right around the corner and we may have to switch once more.

Benjamin
Sr. Product Manager in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Reliable, Scalable, Continuously Improved Product

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

As a product manager, I love the usability of Clubhouse (CH). Having come from competitive products such as JIRA, Rally, Pivotal Tracker, etc., CH feels far more intuitive and the user workflows well thought through. I greatly appreciate the ongoing development by the CH team. It's always a pleasure seeing regular alerts come in with rather material improvements.

Cons:

Greater attention to how cross-team and cross-account collaborate using the software is a gap for me. Our business has a 2 or 3 different CH accounts mainly due to security needs (limiting certain access for groups of individuals). Which leads me to an additional thought which is, the ability to configure more granular security levels within CH is limited. Especially for an organization working predominantly with enterprise customers, we tend to have highly regulated standards related to third-party approved solutions.

Wanja
Product owner in Germany
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Impressive

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

From usability and technical perspective this is really an amazing piece of software. The easiness to never having to save something is extremely impressive

Cons:

Moving stories between different Workflows is sometimes a bit annoying. Also it would be really awesome if you could apply your own prioritsation scheme and rank for it.

Tiffany
Head of QA in US
Retail, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Clubhouse at a growing company

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall we enjoy clubhouse. It is lean and less complex than other work tracking tools. Additional reporting would be a huge win, but as mentioned above, we have utilized Clubhouse's API to create our own custom metrics.

Pros:

Clubhouse makes it easy to view and organize work across projects. I like the ability to label things by Epic and create custom workspaces is super helpful. The Clubhouse API is useful for getting information about activity and creating our custom metric reporting.

Cons:

The reporting isn't very useful. I feel it is geared toward project management reporting and we don't use project management. I would like to be able to see quality related reports (how many bugs were created/resolved, projects with the most reported bugs, number of bugs created by epic/project. It would also be nice to have the ability to set a Release Date and Production/Testing field on cards so that we can track when features/projects go to production and whether bugs were released as well, or caught during testing.

Amy
Customer Support Manager in US
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

While it does the job, it's not easy to use for sorting or management

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am only a user, but I know that our Engineering manager will be switching us to a different product soon for ticket management with the reason that the new product will be much easier for everyone to use - especially for tracking their own tickets.

Pros:

Does what we need it to do - create bug tickets

Cons:

Not easy to filter, find or sort. Maybe I just don't know how to use the features, and I know I use them in a completely different fashion than Engineering does (we create tickets, they execute them), but each time someone says "just filter and find", I have no idea and can't figure it out. I also hear from their team about how hard it is to do what they need to do with the tickets once we create them. Not user friendly for sorting or tagging for projects.

Lagin
Account Executive in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

hot new social networking application

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall the experience is great! and I am excited to see it grow.

Pros:

I love it's exclusivity! Having to be invited by a member makes it just that much more desirable to get on. It's fun being able to directly interact with celebrities, movers and shakers, and influencers. The rooms are set up according to interest which is great as well.

Cons:

The thing I least like about it is the fact that it's invite only. It's kind of a love hate with that aspect. So many of my friends want to join and I know they would find the content useful but cant join due to limited inviting options.

Shortcut Response

4 years ago

Hi Lagin - We are a project management tool for software development teams, not the voice chat social app with the same name. While a 5-star review is nice, we can't claim the credit here :)

Jeff
Engineer in US
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A modern, useable JIRA

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It's relatively easy to use, and the Slack integration makes tickets relatively easy to create.

Cons:

It's not super opinionated on the workflow as opposed to Asana. I can understand why, though, given it's meant to model enterprise workflows.

Lauren
Lauren
Associate Product Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Shortcut is user- friendly and visually appealing

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It's easy to use and organize, and there are a lot of customizable features that the previous software I used did not have.

Cons:

I wish you could add blockers that aren't other stories, i.e. if I am blocked on something because I need to go confirm something with a Stakeholder, that's not easily indicated within Shortcut. We end up using a Workflow State for "Blocked" stories instead of using the Relationships feature.

Luke
Software Developer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simple and Easy To Use

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We switched from Jira to Clubhouse several months ago. The main pain point we had with Jira was how difficult it was to coordinate and view progress for a team that works on "separate" projects that interact with each other. In Jira, you can only view one project at a time. With Clubhouse, all stories are in one backlog, which is a little daunting at first glance, but really powerful when you combine the filter/facets on the left side of the stories view. I can filter the swim-lane view to only see the stories I care about. (e.g.: Create a label for a team's sprint and apply that label to those stories, then I can create a filter that only shows stories with that label, and now I have a sprint view.) The flexibility of Clubhouse is incredible. On top of that, it's a super fast and responsive web app. Also the REST API is really well documented and allows you to do pretty much anything you can do in the app, and we've used it successfully to create integrations with other tools that we use.

Pros:

Clubhouse is extremely simple and intutive. It doesn't force you into certain paradigms or organizing your workspace to their specific way. It's a really flexible tool that works really well and gets out of the way.

Cons:

Probably my least favorite part is that it doesn't have a concept of a sprint built-in to it, but this is not really a deal breaker. It's really easy to just create a label that defines your sprint and apply that label to all the stories that are in your sprint.

Anna
Software Engineer in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Shortcut helps my team to stay on track and deliver on time

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My engineering team uses Shortcut largely for task management, issue tracking and project planning. As a technical lead on multiple larger scale projects, I've found it essential to keeping the team on track.

Pros:

Compared to other similar systems, I've found Shortcut's UI to be welcoming and intuitive. Their feature releases are innovative, and their product team has built something that makes work feel more fun. I especially love the Git widget that makes it easy to copy suggested branch names.

Cons:

The GitHub integration seems to still be linking to CH- prefix tickets. But that is very minor.

Luis
VP Customer Success in UK
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Clubhouse is amazing for product and project management

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Amazing. It makes managing projects so much easier!

Pros:

It is very easy to use. I really like that it supports Google authentication and that other than simple cards you can create Milestones and Epics. We are very early adopters of Clubhouse (and even wrote a post about why we moved from Trello to Clobhouse) and it's incredible to see the amount of new features and integrations they have came up with in so short time.

Cons:

Nothing that I can think of. The experience on mobile was poor at some point, but it's been hugely improved in the past year or so.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Sporting Goods, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Clubhouse? More like ClubWOW!!!!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Clubhouse helps us manage individuals, teams, and projects. As a Product Manager, I integrated Clubhouse with Salesforce where we process support tickets and feature requests. Having the two synced together makes it easier for our engineers to efficiently process tickets. Being able to create multiple team spaces and "views" is really helpful is well. I never have to wonder about the progress of a project with Clubhouse.

Pros:

I like that they provide you with so many different views of projects. For example, I can easily track burn rate for projects, individual contributor process, story progress, etc. It is feature rich, yet lightweight. I have never found myself needing something that Clubhouse couldn't offer.

Cons:

As a negative person, I honestly can't think of anything!