15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About GitLab

GitLab DevSecOps platform enables software innovation by empowering development, security, and operations teams to build better softwar

Learn more about GitLab

Pros:

GitLab is easy to use and configure the code collaboration is also top notch with every commit being logged to review incase someone messes up the code.

Cons:

A bit confusing at the beginning, it's complex and has a steep learning curve. The user interface could do a make over.

GitLab ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

GitLab has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 1,101 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used GitLab before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,101)

Matt
Matt
Sr QA Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

So easy and enjoyable to use

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: As a fairly non-technical QA person, I have love how easy it is to create pipelines and deploy through environments.

Pros:

I like the clean, nice-looking interface and controls. I how it sets up pipelines, displays status of each deployment and allow me to re-run.

Cons:

It would be nice to be able to re-start a pipeline rather than having to create a new one, even a duplicate feature to create the same one again.

Tomasz
Tomasz
CTO in Poland
Verified LinkedIn User
Program Development, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to setup , use and manage devops platform

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: We needed a tool that we could integrate with Nexus and that could be installed and used on our own servers. GitLab was a perfect fit

Pros:

I like how easy it was to set up and configure. Adding runners (servers that build your code) was intuitive, CI/CD works fine. When you switch from GutHub, you must get used to the naming convention, but this requires only a couple of minutes to get used to.Overall I highly recommend GitLab for anyone who wants to set up such a platform on-premise.

Cons:

When you switch from other tools like GitHub you see features that are missing, mainly in CI/CD. You can't update a global variable from a job and must use workarounds. The pricing is a bit high, especially for the Ultimate plan.

Alternatives Considered: GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab: We needed something that we could use on our own servers. We build critical apps for our customers and we must be sure the source code stays at our own servers. GitHub Enterprise was not taken into account because of the price.

Justin
DevOps Engineer in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Beware of GitLab billing issues

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: Not long ago, I ordered some GitLab licenses since more people wanted to use it. I asked to go from 57 to 75 licenses. Instead, GitLab put the order in wrong and added 75 licenses, bringing us to 132 total. About this time, I was pulled to a critically-important project that was way behind schedule and told not to work on anything else. When I got enough breathing room to switch back, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] acted like she couldn't care less. The most I ever got was "I'll be sure to look into it" or "I'm still looking into it". The process dragged on for weeks. I had to nag her over and over again for updates until she finally told me that GitLab's billing department had decided... not to give me a refund because it had been too long. How convenient, especially after dragging out the process for so long. I complained about this, asked for a new account manager, and got what I requested. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] took my concerns to the GitLab crew again... and got told once again that not only would we not receive a refund, GitLab wasn't going to offer us any sort of compensation or credit whatsoever. We're a software company as well, and we would never treat loyal customers this way - especially not our power users. I've built my DevOps career around GitLab and encouraged others to do the same. That GitLab could be so tone-deaf over a problem that was clearly their fault speaks volumes to how the company has changed.

Pros:

GitLab does well as an all-in-one software development platform.

Cons:

If GitLab makes a billing problem, it may refuse to rectify the problem as they did with us.

Sharduli
Sharduli
SDE Intern in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best one for managing my pipelines!!!Loved It!!

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: My experience is very productive and ppositive with gitlab. It has so much features available easily in one platform to access. It has enhanced my productivity and code. Just loved the product.

Pros:

Its comprehensive and integrated DevOps toolchain, which helps to streamline the entire software lifecycle. Makes it so much easier for version controlling to CI/CD and project management. It has a robust access controls and also it s having detailed permission settings makes the security and collaboration very good. Also its GUI and big API support makes the automation very easy. This all-in-one GitLab simplifies the workflows and reduces need for switching to multiple tools and helping us to increase productivity.

Cons:

It's quite hard to find a con in this. Only thing I felt is the its GUI has a lot of features makes a new user's work challenging.

NOMPILO
Learner-ship in South Africa
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

GitLab Review

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: I enjoyed working with GitLab, although there were a few instances where I encountered challenges understanding certain aspects. With all of its features, it really makes teamwork easy, and I appreciate the security measures it provides. The use of merge requests ensures thorough code review before pushing changes to the main branch.

Pros:

GitLab's collaboration features, such as merge requests and issue boards foster efficient teamwork. GitLab places a strong emphasis on security and provides tools like role-based access control, Workflows and issue boards can be customized using the platform. The CI/CD pipelines at GitLab are strong. The ease of setting up and managing pipelines directly within the repository simplifies the development process.

Cons:

Navigating the platform and understanding all its capabilities might require a learning curve for individuals new to the tool.

BISWAMITRA
Teaching Assistant in India
Computer & Network Security, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

GitLab: Next gen Collaboration Tool

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Overall it is a 8.7 out of 10 experience, considering the average to be 5. It is better than some of the platforms in many terms, but till lagging some level of scalebility.

Pros:

It offers an all-in-one platform that includes version control, issue tracking, continuous integration, and more. It excels at managing Git repositories, allowing for easy branching, merging, and version control. It has robust access control features, allowing administrators to manage user roles, permissions, and project visibility.

Cons:

It is resource-intensive, especially for larger projects or organizations. It is hard to initially learn the tools and technologies. The UI/UX is less tempting.

Colin
IT Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A great solution for controlling your own source code.

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Overall, it's exactly what my old company needed, given that I was given zero budget and no attention.

Pros:

GitHub charges for company use, and my old company wouldn't have paid for SCM no matter how important it was to our department. Thankfully, GitLab installed just fine on a VM we spun up internally, and that was all we needed. Our Git repositories, client websites, and configuration files had a home. I can use the Git CLI, and there's a convenient web interface and hooks for everyone else (including me when I didn't want to use the CLI).

Cons:

Setting this up internally is a hassle. You need a VM and a valid SSL certificate, which is a fairly low bar for entry, but more than most products. Also, it does update fairly often, which I suppose is better than it not updating at all.

Alternatives Considered: GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab: My boss wouldn't pay for a GitHub business plan.

Hussain
Director of Engineering in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly flexible and powerful but with a slightly sluggish UI

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

I like the philosophy of the team that built GitLab and it reflects in the product. It is open, flexible, and powerful. The CI templates make it easy to setup continuous integration on new projects and that is a huge productivity boost.

Cons:

The UI feels sluggish sometimes. It just feels that everything takes a fraction of second longer and it adds up overall.

Samuel
Samuel
Founder and CEO in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

AI Powered Git Repository

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Free plan. Collaboration. Ease of setup.

Cons:

Have limits in free plan. No much community support like Github.

Alternatives Considered: GitHub

Andrew
IAM in Canada
Government Administration, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very useful

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Between GitHub and GitLab they are very useful to look up projects

Cons:

It can be overwhelming at first but GitLab is very useful once you get going

Alejandro
Alejandro
CTO & Co-Founder in Argentina
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best opensource tool for software engineering management

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We're hosting all of our private code repositories on gitlab.com, using the issue tracker, merge requests. We also run our continuos builds and deploy directly to our Google Cloud Kubernetes Engine workloads.

Pros:

It's opensource though provides a cloud based solution with a really good free tier. It allows integrating code repositories with issue tracking and continuos integration and continuos deployment

Cons:

User experience could be largely improved. Searching and filters are a bit clunky from the UX point of view. Also bulk actions are only allowed at project level.

Alternatives Considered: Jira

Reasons for Choosing GitLab: We wanted to have issue tracking, code repositories, merge requests and continuos integration/deployment all in the same tool.

Switched From: Trello , Drone and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab: It was the best alternative for our budget, and it allowed us to use our own Google Cloud Platform account to run Continuos Integration/Deployment jobs

Gábor
Gábor
Senior Programme Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

High performance at the facilities

4.0 last year

Comments: Previously, I was looking for an on-premises rather than a cloud-based Git management system, and I found it. Several Linux packages are distributed, installation is easy, and it was good that I could build the environment quickly.

Pros:

It is a great largest Git hosting service. Since the system can be deployed in the local on-premises environment, we are operating it experimentally. The CI function can also be evaluated as excellent. This is the best option if local demand exists. It is good not to have large amounts of components and libraries that confuse things.

Cons:

When running a large project, the response is usually slow. However, I had no problems with it myself. I am satisfied.

Alternatives Considered: Jenkins

Reasons for Choosing GitLab: It is an option like a others solutions cloud. The reason is that the secure and free on-premises operation with a concise user interface is a good alternative.

Switched From: GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab: You can freely operate on-premises for free. However, if there are no issues with the cloud (such as other products), I wouldn't be as picky about on-premises. Still, the advantages are advantages, and some areas may be essential regarding security standards.

Peter
Web Developer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Code repositories and version tracking

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: GitLab ensures our code is safe and secure, everything is version tracked, we can easily collaborate with other colleagues and allows for a good QA environment before launch.

Pros:

GitLab allows users to easily store their code projects and files in a safe and secure environment, allowing easy collaboration amongst users. You can import repositories from other Git tools (such as GitHub) with ease, GitLab also imports any version history and accompanying branches. The ability to make certain repositories private is excellent, most similar git systems charge extra for this service.

Cons:

The user-interface, though clean and responsive, can be hard to use and master. Especially for new users, training is definitely required. The integration with interfacing tools is lacking, most systems (such as GitKraken) require a premium license to connect with GitLab. User management can be complicated, as the user interface isn't particularly clear here, and the different levels of access aren't clearly identified.

Olivier
Software Architect in France
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A serious contender in the Self Host GIT space

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It's really nice to have it, and the fact they were the first to allow for free private repositories is a nice gesture

Pros:

For us, it was crucial to be able to self host an instance to have it totally off grid and Gitlab delivered beautifully

Cons:

A bit obscure to setup, and updates can be quite time consuming as we cannot do them as often as would be required by the project

Alternatives Considered: GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab: GIT has a much better workflow for managing branches

Switched From: Apache Subversion

Reasons for Switching to GitLab: Self hosting was key

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A must have tool for every development team

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Gitlab is simply the best version control and project management tool for any organisation, period! It has everything you need in a greatly priced package. It is my go to tool for my personal projects as well as used in every organisation I have worked with. I even tried to host their community version myself which was great. The documentation is well laid out, breaking changes are communicated well. Apart from this, the CI/CD functionality is easy to use, UI easy to navigate, reporting/labelling/tagging features are one of the easiest. The free plan for individuals or small team covers everything you need.

Cons:

None I can think of. I even like the new UI introduced recently.

Alternatives Considered: GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab: Availability of CI/CD before any other alternatives. Ease of use. Private repositories in free plan. Ease of working with in a team.

Matthew
Matthew
Software Engineer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Environmental Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An incredibly useful tool for version control and CI/CD

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Having migrated a number of Subversion repositories to GitLab, its extended functionality compared to the more simplistic approach of SVN has undoubtedly saved a significant amount of time.

Pros:

GitLab comes packed with a number of helpful facilities for managing continuous integration/deployment tasks. The option to self-host a GitLab instance is also appreciated.

Cons:

Comes with something of a learning curve and can take a while to fully introduce non-technical users to its functionality.

Alternatives Considered: GitHub and Git

Reasons for Choosing GitLab: Need for extended functionality, CI/CD support.

Switched From: Apache Subversion

Reasons for Switching to GitLab: CI/CD functionality.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Civic & Social Organization, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great software wit a minimal but efficient design but can definitely use improvements

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Best way to use it is to keep your gitlab organized is keeping pr's as functional as possible and not mashing 1000 changes into one pr. otherwise gitlab performance go down and so will the interest of the other people who review your merge request!! Setting up gitlab to manage your software projects is child's play, and although the UI is minimal in design it which gets the job done but could definitely use some enhancements and that would make it a top tier no nonsense go-to-software-management-product. Overall it is a great software. I am not aware of the quality of the customer service on the paid tier so can't comment on that. One can manage and maintain gitlab inhouse without needing any paid support. I would recommend it without reservations to any and all software developing companies.

Pros:

1. Free of cost 2. Highly efficient, does the job without uncertainty. 3. Never observed any downtime 4. Very frequent and proper updates to the software. 5. easy to maintain 6. can easily integrate with jenkins for Continuous Integration- Continuous Deployment. 7. Easy to setup and use, no support or setup or external teams required. Anybody with minimum computer skills can get this up and running. 8. easy integration with youtrack for issue tracking and merge requesting tracking

Cons:

These are not very big cons, but I find them annoying and could definitely use improvement: 1. The edit description on an open merge request also shows up on the history. So If somebody were to make a 10 different changes to the title while keeping the 2. The code formatting in the description box is not too good. It can take several tries before getting it right. 3. There is no way of searching for something based on a line of text. For example if you were looking for a commit or a merge request but you only remember the 4. sometimes very challenging to go back and undo merges which are quite complex. 5. on a given pr, it shows icons of all the participants but doesn't say which participant did what... for example if 5 people have just viewed a pr and done nothing else even then it shows all of them as participants. It would be nice to have a feature which will only show activity by participant on every pr. 6. text based Search via ui is practically no existent. So if you search for something using a text which is part of a commit message, chances are it will not show up 100%.

Arnold
Arnold
SAP External Consultant in Honduras
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A complete tool to store your projects and configure your CI/CD

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have great thoughts about GitLab my experience has been really good. I was really impressed when I started working with it and configured the first project there. I definitely recommend GitLab to anyone that wants to start a new project and doesn't want to use too many tools, GitLab has everything that you need to start.

Pros:

I started using GitLab for an external project and I like the following: 1) Easy to work with and auto explanatory. Creating/configuring a new repository is really easy. 2) Great CI/CD implementation. Having the repository with built-in CI/CD is really convenient, you can have everything related to the build and deployment process saved along with your code. I have used bamboo and I really appreciate this feature, it might have its problems but it is really useful. 3) Unlimited private docker registry, you can have your own private registry for free. I cannot express how useful this is. 4) In order to help with the CI/CD process it allows the creation of tokens with access restrictions (read only), so you can use these tokens to download your code or your docker containers without having to provide your personal credentials. 5) It has its own task manager 6) It has free agents that are in charge of executing your builds/deploys so you don't have to provide your own resources.

Cons:

1) Configuring build variables is really messy and it is not an ideal implementation. I haven't found a way to set different values for them depending on the branch, so configuring different environments is not too easy 2) Even though having your code with CI/CD is really convenient, it has some drawbacks. If you have an established continuous deployment process that you repeat in many projects and you want to change it (maybe a fix it or improve it) you will have to add that change to all your repositories and all the branches that you want to deploy. So it is a really good feature but it is not too flexible 3) The task manager is messy, and I didn't find a way to have a shared board. 4) It does not have too many software integrations, as I mentioned before I have used bamboo and I really like their integration with other software

Sachith
Software Engineer in Sri Lanka
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Best DevOps Platform

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, GitLab is an excellent program for freelancers. It's really simple to use, simple to administrate and offers all that users need for developing. And if users implement it in the correct way it will speed up their development effectively. Adding more to this, it provides excellent ways to manage git repositories on a centralized secure server.

Pros:

Project operation: Using GitLab provides the user with complete control over their projects. Users can easily follow up activities assigned to their respective partners. Additionally, the program gives you the advantage to have members across the borders as well, hence it is pretty useful and comes in handy when the work is beyond the borders. Easy to use: GitLab is easy to lean and very easy to use the software as it helps in creating a project by giving instructions from the beginning. The tutorial mode is extremely helpful and because of that no experience or expertise is required to exhaust all the features offered by GitLab.

Cons:

Contact Support: Although GitLab provides a good platform for its users, unfortunately, their contact section is poor. Users are unable to recover if they face any problem as the administration is limited. Administration can only be at your service if you own the premium version. Complicated: Although Gitlab is easy to learn when it comes to the menu users tend to feel as if they are lost in some sort of maze. The menu is pretty much clunky because of this some of its users are unable to use GitLab to its full potential. Additionally, the efficiency of users is reduced to a great extent when they wish to search for aspects because it consumes time and energy.

Andrei
Andrei
Lead game developer in Romania
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great free alternative to GitHub if you need large repos and teams

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: GitLab helped us solve all of our backup and collaboration needs for our large file projects. While we do have on-site physical backups just in case, GitLab is great at keeping the core files safe. On the physical backup we put big assets and on GitLab mostly the code. If it wasn't for GitLab we'd be using GitHub for some projects only as certain files surpass their limit.

Pros:

The biggest pro for us at JeFawk Games (me and my freelancing friends, not employees as stated) was the fact that it allowed for 1GB of space for free in private repos! Since we're working on games, we really needed the space and the privacy. This was from before GitHub was acquired by Microsoft and gave away unlimited free repos. Time forwarding a bit and GitHub is giving out free private repos of max 1GB with the option to use the Large File Storage thing, which in GitLab you don't need to bother with as you get it by default. It includes DevOps and a lot of other features that frankly we don't make use of. It's just the much bigger space by default and up to 3 collaborators. GitLab is great! Although it does have some cons....

Cons:

One of the biggest problem with GitLab is that their website is a bit laggy. You can wait 1 to 4 seconds for some pages to load. Another issue is that we actually use the GitHub Desktop application to handle GitLab repositories and the setup to connect the application to GitLab is kinda clunky, more like to allow GitLab to be grabbed as URL. Wouldn't wanna go through that again, hopefully they already streamlined it as last time I did it was about 2 years ago.

Arzu
Arzu
Digital Marketing Specialist in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, comprehensive, open-source tool for project management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have set up and customized GitLab on our own servers in order to manage a project where digital marketing, software, devops, human resources and many teams work together. This really relieved us of a great burden. Everyone's own project management area on GitLab was clear, besides, the issues and projects that they needed to work on were also very clear. We can follow many processes such as product development, project management, task tracking in a sustainable way. It also serves as a great archive for people who join the team later.

Pros:

GitLab is an easy to use and versatile project management tool. As a team, we use it not only for software development projects, but also for the follow-up of our other projects. It is really great that it is customizable, you can simplify your interface for your teammates who cannot use complex applications. This offers you a more user-friendly product.

Cons:

It's a little harder for people other than engineers to adapt. You shouldn't expect traditional drag-and-drop kanban boards. It's a bit of a technical product. But if we consider that the intended use of the product, this is really normal, not a big minus.

Alternatives Considered: Jira

Switched From: GitHub

Yurie Katri
Yurie Katri
DevOps Engineer in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A perfect place for program management

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Safe to use as SaaS. Easy to build even on-premises, but the SaaS version can be used with peace of mind thanks to strong security measures. Obtaining ISO/IEC 27001: 2013 certification, can be used with greater peace of mind, making it easier to approve the internal introduction request. If you are confident in the security, you can operate free of charge by creating a local server. When creating the request form to send to the internal IT department when submitting the SaaS version, there were some unclear points about security management in GitLab, but GitLab support took the trouble to conduct a remote meeting and was able to resolve all doubts.

Pros:

The source code can be managed anywhere as long as you are connected to the Internet. The editor also supports Once editing is finished, you can manage versions by connecting to the Internet and clicking, so you do not need to be connected to the Internet all the time. The source code editing software also supports this, so you can manage it with GUI button operation.

Cons:

There is issue management, but there is no task management feature. Therefore, we are forced to handle GitLab + Redmine. If you have a task management feature, you can consolidate with this, and work efficiency will increase.

Bill Laurel
Bill Laurel
Developer in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Gitlab review

4.0 last year

Comments: GitLab has been a great asset to my development toolbox, and I'm glad to have it.

Pros:

GitLab has been a great resource for me as a developer, providing a user-friendly interface and lots of documentation for assistance. I can collaborate with colleagues, keep track of code changes, set up repositories and branches easily, and track issues, bugs, and feature requests, all of which help me stay on top of my projects.

Cons:

Although GitLab is a great platform with many powerful features, it can be difficult to use and understand for those without much experience with version control systems. The UI can be confusing, and the language can be overwhelming. Additionally, there have been reports of bugs and other issues which can be disheartening. Ultimately, GitLab may not be the best choice for everyone.

David "Teddy"
Co-founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Value Suite of Software Development Tools

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Gitlab has an extremely robust free tier with tools that go far beyond simple source/version control. We use the Gitlab CI/CD pipeline runner extensively, allowing us to not only use Gitlab for source, but also for our deployment/build pipeline. Gitlab also has the ability to manage Kubernetes clusters from the suite, which is super helpful. We also extensively use the issue board for tracking scrum issues, which includes time estimates. Gitlab used to be most popular for offering free private repos, and it still does, but these other free features make it an absolute home run. We use Gitlab for every project because of how great it's been.

Cons:

The pipeline runner can occasionally be a bit buggy sometimes, but nothing critical. For example, if you prematurely stop one pipeline and immediately start another, it can take 10 minutes for the new pipeline to start for some reason. Also, the time tracking on the issue board does not automatically put the sum at the top of the column, which I find annoying - we built a small gitlab api integration to pull that info for us. They have been updating this feature recently, though, so it may be solved soon.

Alternatives Considered: GitHub and Bitbucket

Anthony
Anthony
IT Technical Project Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Hardware, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Makes Source Code and Project Management easy for your team

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: GitLab provides an excellent solution to our teams source code management and provides the tools we need to work with agile project management using boards to organise and schedule work for the project.

Pros:

I liked that it was possible to have GitLab installed on-premise rather than being forced to use the Cloud version, don't get me wrong Cloud services have their place but sometimes you just have to keep things local.The GUI is also something that I find intuitive to use and this helps to ensure that we use it to the best of it's ability in terms of project management.

Cons:

It can take some getting used to the workflow that GitLab likes to use if you have not used a tool like this before and I find that the structure of their tutorials is difficult to work with.Maybe I have missed something in their website, but they could improve the learning resources.