Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 /5
  • Customer Service
    4 /5

About xTuple

ERP / MRP / Inventory Management Solutions for growing manufacturers and distributors.

Learn more about xTuple

Showing 25 reviews of 116

John G.
Licensed Realtor
Real Estate, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019

"Excellent capabilities, complex to learn, more toward manufacturing and inventory but adaptable"

Comments: I originally started using Postbooks because I was looking for an accounting system that ran on Fedora Linux that was based on PostgreSQL database since I am a database DBA for Oracle, PostgreSQL, and MySQL (MariaDB). I use Postbooks to run my real estate business even though it is not an exact fit because of familiarity. Once learned, it becomes second nature. I do not use most of the capabilities that xTuple/Postbooks provides. But that is one of the fortes of the software; use what you need and leave the rest alone.

Pros: Free version - I use the Postbooks version since cost is a big factor for me and I don't need most of the features.
Adaptable - I used it in a previous business where I had inventory and did some creation of videos on DVDs. It tracked inventory from items used to create the finished DVDs and package, publish, and ship them. I now use it in my real estate business just for accounting.
Has many capabilities many of which I do not personally use, but they are there if you need them.

Cons: Complex - because it has so many capabilities, it is complex and can be hard to learn. Documentation can be a bit sparse.
Constrained - Forces a work flow which is great for larger business but can make a task tedious for a sole proprietor.
CRM - is designed for sales of products which is what this software is designed around. I am now a REALTOR® and the CRM does not fit the model a REALTOR® uses.
Too platform specific - It used to run on Fedora and other Linus flavors. Now it is limited to Ubuntu and tends to lag, as Ubuntu does, behind the security updates. It runs on Windows. I now run my database on Linux and have to use a Windows client since there is not a client that runs on Fedora. I suggested to the developers that xTuple/Postbooks should be developed on Linux as a Flatpak project but never heard anything back.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 07/02/2019

John - Thanks for reviewing our free PostBooks¿ product. This system was definitely built for manufacturing (and inventory-centric) companies, although plenty of professionals such as yourself have adapted the Accounting and CRM & Sales functionality to suit their needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
Operations Director
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/06/2018

"Generally good, but requires a skilled team to use"

Comments: When fully set up, it does a good job of running our multi-site,multi-currency manufacturing operation.

Pros: - Decent import system to load up your data
- Flexible system that allows a wide range of manufacturing and options
- Easy access to SQL tables which allow you to write your own tools if xTuple is missing something you need
- Under active development, and with a good user forum

Cons: - Despite the licensing being the single most expensive SW cost for our company, support is virtually non existent. It is an additional cost and the options are expensive, confusing and often rely on 'partners' who don't always know much about the system. Documentation does exist but is often hard to find on the xTuple website. A skilled technical team will be needed to implement and set up the complex options and work flows. - xTuple is putting lots of effort on eCommerce additions, but less on the fundamentals of the package. Silly issues make for large problems:
-- User permissions can only be added one at a time (no multi select)
-- Payments are still based on the idea of paper cheques with no shortcuts for cash/card payments. No simple export options for upload for wire processing)
-- The multi currency system is basic and has issues (silly rounding errors, Bank reconciliation and GL accounts don't match and can't be corrected, 'extra' currency transactions generated by some operations break AR balance)

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 09/02/2019

Thank you for taking the time to review. What version of xTuple are you using? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? Sounds like you might be missing some valuable help and ROI for your company. Feel free to contact us (we're here to help!): https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/06/2018
Verified Reviewer
Purchasing Manager
Cosmetics, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"Xtuple Review"

Pros: MRP is easy to use and inventory and purchasing functions help me get my job done efficiently.

Cons: Some times i need to export data to Excel to make it easier to work with.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 09/02/2019

Thank you for reviewing. What version of xTuple are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd always looking for stories on how companies are using the system, especially about MRP, to help other similar businesses. Feel free to contact us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Janine D.
CFO
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2018

"Overall the xTuple software has been wonderful. Easy to use and presents very professionally."

Comments: Functionality for our very unique type of business, and website integration are the top two benefits.

Pros: You can begin with a free version and if that version fulfills all of your needs you can continue with that, however for added functionality there are licencing fees for that functionality. It is easy to use (once the beginning numbers are in) and it makes a small company look larger due to the look and design of their forms (you can design your own as well). The functionality is incredible. The type of business we are in requires things that most software does not provide for which has made running our business quite a bit easier. We are a modification center and xTuple allows us to use different parts to make the same end product by using substitutions, this has been a tremendous help to us. It was nice to be able to start with the free version and see just what this amazing piece of software could do. They also have an "online university" where users can communicate with each other and xTuple themselves, that has proven to be extremely valuable. Many times the issue or question we have has already been dealt with through another customer and the answer sits right there accessible to us. Overall xTuple has been great for us. They also are now hosting our website and although there have been some rough patches, I don't think we would go anywhere else as they allow it to integrate with our software, a big help.

Cons: Their customer service is probably their weakest link. Although they make an appreciable effort to respond to the issues we bring up, from our end sometimes it doesn't seem to be taken care of as quickly as we would like, and we have to follow-up for resolve. The website integration has some bugs, but eventually the bugs get worked out. We have two very capable IT employees who sometimes can figure out the bugs before they do, which is a big plus for us, as we can correct the issues then pass on the fix to xTuple. We all agree that the issues with customer service are worth the extreme value that the software has brought to our company.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2018
Tom D.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"Very powerful software, but comes with a learning curve."

Comments: I think that xTuple is a great piece of software, but it is much more attuned to larger, more regimented businesses. For the small and flexible business, QuickBooks is much more suitable to the style of operation that I have experienced with smaller businesses.

Pros: I can quickly and accurately keep track of all aspects of business operations.

Cons: The fact that once you post something, you cannot change it. In a lot of smaller businesses, a managerial style of accounting is used. A lot of little mistakes happen or a customer requires an invoice to be worded a certain way, etc... With xTuple, I have to void the transaction and start over. Not always feasible. Also, the limited ability to customize line items without creating an item is extremely limiting for smaller businesses.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 09/02/2019

Thanks for your review, Tom. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to see what might be missing! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Today¿s ERP solutions clearly miss the mark for the vast majority of smaller ¿ (but AWESOME!) manufacturing businesses who metaphorically don¿t need a bus to drive to the train station! The elephant in the room is that ERP is the wrong solution for small business, especially those who've outgrown QuickBooks. Watch for xTuple to shake up a 40+ year old industry with a new option in September 2019!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Frederick S.
Owner/R&D Chairperson
Aviation & Aerospace, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"xTuple & PostBooks - CRM for small businesses to multi national corporations."

Comments: xTuple fits with the database back end that I use for many other functions. It has been a blessing in that it runs on multiple platforms and can be built from source code for the platforms that aren't supported in binary format from xTuple.

Pros: xTuple is very personable and easy to "get to know" It also allows one to tailor it to their specific business for the most part. There is plenty of support too. Both from purchased and community.

Cons: I really can't think of any right now.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 09/02/2019

Thank you for your glowing review, Frederick. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to help inform others who are in similar aviation businesses! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing Be sure to get the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Eric A.
IT Support Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018

"Good experience, Strong Customization Options"

Comments: All the benefits of an ERP and excellent customization.

Pros: I like the ability to customize and develop new screens, new reports and add functionality to current screens. We have used this to track material purchases for sales orders and project bookings for months ahead.

Cons: That it can sometimes be to obscure. No resources are readily available regarding some of the classes that are available. Especially in the toolbox and in the xtreewidget. Often times I have to search through existing scripts to see how some functions operate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018
Andrea K.
Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2017

"xTuple is a software that is very easy to use for the end user with minimal training. Intuitive"

Pros: 1. Ease of navigation through applications
2. Ease of upload of spreadsheets through csv utility
3. Developer tools for reports, metasql, screens and scripts are user friendly
4. Screen filters and export to excel
5. Intuitive for the end user and developer

Cons: As a developer, not all screens and scripts are available to make customized modifications to meet the needs of our clients and myself.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 12/02/2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your longtime use and investment in xTuple.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2017
Jacqueline B.
Director of Technology
Wholesale, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2019

"xTuple Honest Review"

Comments: System of record all in 1 software. In-house programmers plus xTuple independent consultants assist with customization. Their staff not really knowledgeable on customization assistance. More for the billable hours than quality product.

Pros: Open Source makes customizing easy for our programmers. Excellent price structure

Cons: The CORE functionality difficult to customize

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 15/02/2019

Thank you, Jacqueline, for your honest review and your investment in xTuple for Distribution. ERP is the heart and lungs of your organization. As you pointed out, xTuple's open platform helps make the system flexible for you. It's a powerful tool with many options for controlling your business.

Your success with xTuple relies on expert ERP consultants to help with your customization needs. (You've engaged a great consultant, too!)

Let us know how we can help with any frustrations or difficulties you may experience. Our mission is for customers to be happy, thriving businesses.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2019
James O.
CIO
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2018

"xTuple"

Pros: Overall ease of use and the rich feature set.

Cons: Initial setup was a hassle but you’re good once you figure it out.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 07/02/2019

Thanks for your very nice review. Are you using the most recent release of PostBooks®? Let's ensure you have an updated license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2018
Kenneth B.
Managing Partner
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018

"We have been trying to make xTuple work for us for 6 years we have finally decided to replace it."

Comments: It has been a problem from the beginning. We have used it for 7 years mainly due to the cost of replacement.

Pros: The orginal reason we purchase xTupel was the price and the list of feature and functionallity. It is loaded features. However quite a few of them really do not work the way you expect.

Cons: Support is the worst. The final answer is always "its a know bug" and good luck getting it fixed.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 02/08/2018

Ken, thanks for your time the other day. As I mentioned, there are some setup/configurations that need to be reviewed to ensure the features are utilized as intended. I'm glad to hear you¿re working with an xTuple solutions provider. As your account manager, I'm always available to assist with issues that may arise. Please keep me posted on your progress. xTuple really is a great product, and hopefully, after you upgrade from the older version, you will agree. -- Carolyn

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018
Javier C.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/02/2017

"All you need from an ERP system at an affordable price"

Comments: xTuple has most of the nice features of an expensive ERP at a very affordable price. All our departments work in tune and have full vision of what is going on on the day to day activities. Being able to use the client with different OS's (Linux/Windows/Mac) was very important for us, and now with the web enabled server it is even better. We run batch jobs like cost updates and MRP and have automated email sending for different events and reports that save us a lot of time. Bugs are constantly monitored and fixed so there are not many weak points to highlight. I would recommend having some knowledge of javascript and SQL in order to customize your client and reports the way your company needs. It's actually not really needed, but given the flexibility that xTuple offers to customized things it's totally worth it. Overall, we are very happy with the decision we took 5 years ago.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 12/02/2019

Thank you so much for your review and your investment in xTuple Manufacturing. Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to help inform others who are in similar businesses! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/02/2017
Brody B.
Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018

"Your software has come a long way from the original OpenMFG days."

Comments: A better look at inventory management than previous software

Pros: It is very flexible and adapts to small and large companies. Also, in an age where small business ERP software comes and goes all the time, you guys stuck with it and kept on building your product.

Cons: It took a lot of years to get to a place where it was bug free and truly usable. But I was a user when the code was still being written in the office next to me, so I saw the ugly broken beginnings.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 09/02/2019

Thank you for your review and investment in xTuple Manufacturing in the Cloud. Thanks for hanging in with us as a vital part of the xTuple Community as we built the software to meet the needs of our customers, small and large.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018
Claarence M.
Owner
Telecommunications, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"XTuple & My Business"

Comments: One of the biggest business problems that I had was switching to multiple software, CRM to accounting to inventory. XTuple solve that by offering everything in on package.

Pros: It's cloud based open source software that let me tackle all of my business needs from customer relation management to accounting.

Cons: It's an excellent software with superb features so if you do not need one feature there are many more that will fit your needs.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 06/02/2019

Thank you for your glowing review, Clarence. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to help inform others who are in similar businesses! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Anthony F.
Controller
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019

"Good value, but still buggy"

Pros: Pain-free implementation
Low price point
Ease of customization

Cons: Reporting
Business intelligence
Local-area support

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 07/02/2019

Thanks, Anthony, for reviewing your xTuple Manufacturing software. This system was built for companies just like yours. ERP is definitely not for the easily intimidated. You've used the system for quite a long time; if you're on an older version, there's a lot of functionality and features you're probably missing. Please reach back to us; our goal is your success!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019
Kristina B.
HR/Payroll/AP/AR
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2017

"Excellent, timely responses"

Comments: Whenever I submit any issues/bugs/incidents I know that I will get a response within the hour. Sometimes this response is through comments within my incident, and most times this response is with a phone call. In all my experiences the response has been very thorough, with the Xtuple contact asking many questions and offering many possible solutions. If they are not able to immediately correct my issue over the phone, I know upon hanging up that they will be checking into it and getting back to me asap.
Thank you for listening, being patient, and helping with even the "smallest" of issues!
Thank you!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2017
Verified Reviewer
Independent Business Owner
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2018

"Pretty good"

Pros: I like that this software is pretty user-friendly ... Not as user-friendly as some I've tried but still pretty good.

Cons: The price of the software could be a little cheaper ... Thats the one major con I have.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 07/02/2019

Thanks for your review. What edition and version are you using? In the cloud? Let's ensure you're getting all that you need out of xTuple. https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2018
Michael M.
CEO
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/09/2017

"Great support and a very sound technical foundation"

Pros: The best feature in my opinion is the team behind the software. They go out of their way to work with their users to give you the best experience possible. Everthing is kept in the open. The other, best feature is the technological base, the system uses PostgreSQL extensively. If you know your database you're right at home with xTuple.

Cons: Unfortunately xtuple software lacks some of the adjustements needed for the geographical area we are in.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/09/2017
Carl E.
VP Engineering
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018

"Sales/engineering involved with ERP use. Currently running 4.8.1. Previous system was MAS200."

Pros: Has a Mac based client. Has the option for on-site server or cloud server. Highly customizable reporting capabilities. A decent amount of customizing interface windows. We have several very custom reports and some interface changes that have been made by a 3rd party developer. A lot of features, some we're still learning to use in an optimal way.

Cons: The report editor is weak, at least up through 4.8.1. Text boxes don't auto-wrap making form design difficult. This is a challenge even for our 3rd party developer that uses it all the time. Not the most intuitive - interlinks between data sets is weak at best. Often we find ourselves needing to write somethings down from one inquiry to then go to the next, and the next to find what we need. MAS200 was much better in this regard. Several accounting features that I do not use are also reported to have similar limitations as compared to MAS200. No bug patches. Free updates while using the cloud sever are great, but any customization throws a slight wrench into that. Several bugs that we deal with have been fixed in newer versions but are not available as patches to our version. Since we have some significant customization, the actual upgrade cost keeps us from updating frequently.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 02/08/2018

RE: any difficulties you¿re experiencing with the OpenRPT report editor. If you need to learn more about building custom reports, we¿ve got some great classes and some free online resources at https://xTupleUniversity.com. Backporting bug fixes with patches can run you into all sorts of other problems related to required functionality that may not exist in older versions. It¿s like expecting to get an airbag in a `65 Mustang. Our best suggestion is let¿s help you upgrade to the latest version: https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services -- Carolyn

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Owner, President
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018

"For someone who is not an accountant, the learning curve was steep. But in time, it became great."

Comments: It forced me to learn true accounting principles, of which I still haven't mastered, but it's an ongoing experience. That, and the fact that it's free.

Pros: It's a true ERP/accounting software suite that covers all aspects of a business. There's no cheating when posting transactions. It forces you to get to know actual accounting principles and follow them. I also like that it is platform agnostic. I prefer Linux to Windows, and the software runs on both. This versatility also runs to the database back end; I'm using PostgreSQL on Linux, which is quick and clean for my needs. My accountant loves it, since it does what an accounting package is supposed to do, and not let me delete things if I screw up. The entry-level offering, PostBooks, is free. You can request a free license key for up to four (4) users, running concurrently, which for small businesses or startups is fantastic! The database engine runs on a small server (Windows or linux), and users run the self-contained user interfaces from their desktops - no real installation needed there. If you wish to increase your footprint, additional licensing is available. Forms and reports are fully customizable. With a little bit of time and motivation, you can create any form you wish and configure the environment exactly to your tastes.

Cons: It takes time to master the application if you are not familiar with accounting practices and principles. Being a small businessman who specializes in IT, I'm not accustomed to think in the ways of balancing buckets. It's not Quickbooks (whatever that means). Office managers and financial people continually ask me why I should use something that's off the beaten path with respect to small businesses. Of course, I give them the reasons above. Needless to say, the argument inevitably comes back, "Quickbooks is still easier to use." It's not easy to back out stupid mistakes. Again, this is an "operator issue". A non-accountant really needs to be trained properly to fully utilize the power of this application.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 09/02/2019

Thank you for your glowing review. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to help inform others who are in similar businesses! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing Be sure you've got the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018
Lance K.
President
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019

"review of ERP postqb rev 4.x"

Comments: goal was to handle sales pipeline and contract manufacturing; sales people didn't like to use it. Free version is good value, but paid version is expensive when compared to competitive products.

Pros: multi-platform
customizable: forms and reports
structured work flow: modules link together properly (from sales to purchasing to inventory to manufacturing to shipments etc)
has expected and comprehensive list of data: AP, AR, INV, WIP, PO, Sales, Customers, etc

Cons: poorly integrated extensions (eg time and expense)
data entry forms are clunky for bulk entry
UX forms not consistent (over time the UX standards have changed, older forms have not been updated to use newer UX)
automation of import/export is clunky (it works, but not intuitive to configure)
chart of accounts and posting are very traditional approach, so cumbersome to fix data entry mistakes.
need manufacturing edition if doing manufacturing; base model has too many key manufacturing features disabled.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 07/02/2019

Thanks for reviewing our free PostBooks¿ product, Lance. Sounds like you may be using an older version? Be sure to get the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration P.S. Let us know how we can help with increased functionality you need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
Director of I/T
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/02/2019

"xTuple ERP"

Comments: We have put all of our ordering/manufacturing/accounting/finance functions on xTuple, including some company-specific functions that we built ourselves without consulting. We've been running the system for 7 years with great success.

Pros: Cost-benefit is off the charts. A full, highly complex, highly customized install of xTuple can be achieved at about 1/3 the cost of other proprietary systems. The open-source environment allows a technically-inclined administrator with some programming experience to extend the software in business-specific ways without the use of high-cost consulting. Tech support is great, and bug fixes often arrive in a couple of days after reporting.

Cons: The documentation provided for scripting is too heavily geared towards an experienced C/Qt programmer rather than a SQL programmer. There aren't enough specific scripting examples, and too many references to class libraries which don't make much sense to someone with no C/Qt background.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 07/02/2019

Thank you for a great review. What version of xTuple are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd always looking for stories on how companies are using the system, especially about customizations, to help other similar businesses. We are also working on standing up a scripting library which might be of use to you. Feel free to contact us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/02/2019
Daniel E.
CEO
Sporting Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/06/2018

"x-tuple works for our integrated mfg company. We would like better reporting and true backlash capab"

Comments: good standard costing, supports all business functions from finance to inventory to production to sales orders and shipping.

Pros: open source, reasonable features for the price, relatively stable running on our internal servers. Handles wide range of functions from finance thru to manufacturing. We would like better interfaces with ARENA solutions and with Pro-ship and ship station as well as Zen desk.

Cons: API's are poor - would be nice to make it easier to integrate with other packages like e-commerce, Zen-desk, shipping programs etc.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 12/02/2019

Thank you for your review and investment in xTuple Manufacturing. I believe you may be on an older version? Upgrading often addresses most concerns. Please chat with xTuple¿s professional team, they can help you set the system up just as you want https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services. They may also recommend a class or direct you to some free online resources at https://xTupleUniversity.com.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/06/2018
Mike B.
COO
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/07/2018

"xTuple user since 2013...highly recommend for a small distribution business"

Pros: xTuple has proven reliable and highly adaptable to our evolving business model. We have been able to fully customize this ERP with little to no support (or billing) from xTuple.

Cons: You will need one superuser to customize and work with the xTuple support staff in order exploit the full functionality of this ERP.
xTuple needs to develop a smartphone app for warehouse functions.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 02/08/2018

Thank you for your great review and your customer testimonial at https://xtuple.com/products/xpress-distributor. If you're still on version 4.6, you might consider upgrading, and we're happy to help. Re: your suggestion to "develop a smartphone app for warehouse functions," our professional services team can help with that too! https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services -- Carolyn

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/07/2018
April M.
Purchasing Manager
Building Materials, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/02/2017

"Incredible company to work with!"

Comments: We have been utilizing xTuple ERP for 7 years and are extremely satisfied with the product, it's features, value and support. xTuple ERP is an extremely flexible and scaleable software that can be easily customized to fit your companies needs. We have added many features and customization over the years at a very reasonable price. xTuple is also easy to use, from report writing to every day use. The staff at xTuple are very knowledgable, approachable, quick to respond and generally just nice people to work with.

Pros: Ease of use, flexibility, easily customized, great price point

Cons: Limited CRM

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 12/02/2019

Thank you, April, for your review and your investment in xTuple Manufacturing in the Cloud. ERP is the heart and lungs of any organization. We especially appreciate your work with us to improve CRM for major version release 5.0!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/02/2017