Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Mixpanel

Powerful, self-serve product analytics to help you convert, engage, and retain more users.

Learn more about Mixpanel

Showing 92 reviews

Bhaumik S.
Product Manager
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2021

"All your product Analytics in One place"

Pros: Help us craft the best funnels to optimize product decisions

Cons: Saving dashboards and retriving them sometimes acts wierdly

Alternatives Considered: Amplitude

Reasons for Switching to Mixpanel: Start-up credits

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2021
Verified Reviewer
Advisory Board Member
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2018

"Data tool for more established companies"

Comments: When working Mixpanel is fantastic. It can help companies see their acquisition, activation, retention, revenue and referral. But I think the product is primarily for more mature companies that have used queries and excel sheets in the beginning to make their initial KPI's. Don't use this from the get go as a startup. But use once you know exactly what you want to track, and get somebody on your team to be the super user of Mixpanel (data scientist) and do the same on the development team.

Pros: Mixpanel can tell you a lot of things about your users. Especially the Signal feature is great – we've used it as a guideline instead of having a full time data scientist. You can also follow different cohorts of users and create funnels to see where these users fall of or not.

Cons: The dashboard function is not great. Besides that the system is pretty complex, so you really need to dive deep into the tutorials to understand how to use it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2018
Robson P.
CTO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/05/2021

"MixPanel the best Software Analytics Tool"

Comments: We use MixPanel to measure all the resources of our Software. With the collected data, we set up visualizations and dashboards to make decisions in our product, and in our sales proccess, because we use MixPanel to tracking our Free Trial.
For Product Analytics, I do not doubt that the MixPanel is The best choice, even more, than we are a Startup and we have been counting on the startups program for some time.

Pros: Mixpanel interface is excellent. For anyone who works with software as a service, this tool is essential!
Distinguished product teams use this tool.
MixPanel have too many resources, all you need when the subject is Product Analytics you can do with Mixpanel.
I'm CTO on [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and use at least once on a week MixPanel to taking product decisions.

Cons: The initial configuration of data tracking is a bit complicated, especially if you want to evaluate everything that is possible. You will take some time to setup the events, mainly the custom events of you product. Of course you need to evaluate the points the make sense to track, and if you love data like I, I'm sure that you will want to track everything.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/05/2021
Zeeshan A.
Fraud Analyst
Computer & Network Security, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2020

"Best Analytical tool"

Pros: Mixpanel provides you best analytics. You can easily integrate it in your app, website, member area etc. It also offers email campaigns and push notification. You can easily create segmentation and target the audience easily. You can automate the campaigns and push notifications with the help of funnel.

Cons: Pricing is too high. Should support dynamic dashboard support for reporting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2020
Verified Reviewer
Co-Founder
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2018

"Go-To Analytics"

Pros: Mixpanel is the cleanest, most accurate analytics tool our team has used. We've tried Google Analytics, and other free services that have consistently shown us messed up data. Mixpanel is super easy to set up, it gives you the data you need in a digestable format and allows you to make quick decisions.

Cons: To be honest, I used to be quite upset with the pricing of this software but they have recently lowered the monthly costs and it is on-par with what I would expect to pay. Good job Mixpanel.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2018
Tiago O.
Tiago O.
Inbound Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/08/2018

"Event tracking platform"

Comments: My product team is heavy user. Being in the Marketing team, I appreciate the reports we get from it, they really provide a deeper understanding of what our customers actually do with our product

Pros: It allows my product team to track the use and outcomes from each part of our platform. It's a must have for our product owners.

Cons: I can't really tell, as I'm not involved in the implementation, but my team says it could be made easier with a more intuitive set of features

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
Digital Marketing & UX Expert in Residence & Mentor
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2018

"Super powerful analytics"

Pros: I used to always use google analytics but have become a huge fan of Mixpanel. It's super easy to set up and to integrate into your workflow. It's easy to set up segmentations and flows so you can see how people move through your site or product. This has been hugely helpful in our ability to optimize conversion.

Cons: I'm curious how they can improve the collaboration abilities with teammates and allow for more streamlined experiments.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Co-Founder, Full-Stack Growth Marketer
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 23/12/2017

"Valuable Tool for Understanding Your Customer's Behaviours in Depth"

Pros: Mixpanel is an invaluable tool for every marketing & product team. We were able to learn very useful insights about how our customers using our product which helped us identify areas for product improvement.

Cons: To get the maximum value from Mixpanel, it pays off to have a data analyst on your team. This can be hard for early / growing stage startups as they typically rely on few people executing multiple jobs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 23/12/2017
Verified Reviewer
iOS Developer
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/04/2018

"Best analytics product there is but very expensive."

Comments: Great analytics but the pricing is no longer worth it.

Pros: Compared to others like Flurry and Amplitude there are much more features in Mixpanel. Lets you explore user profiles and see each users revenue and target push notifications to users with campaigns. Also lets you set properties on users so that you can enable features specific users and do A/B testing.

Cons: The pricing is way to high for anyone other then a large company they used to have a good free plan but the current free plan with its limits is useless for production apps.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Design Lead
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018

"Powerful tool if you can figure out how to use it"

Comments: See conversion through my site, visually.

Pros: It lets me see funnel conversion. Once funnels and events are set up, they're pretty easy to create and edit.

Cons: It's harder to use that it should be, should be easily used by non technical roles. Adding events to the site should be easily done without having to ask an engineer. Some simple things are hard i.e. "show me a a list of events that exist in our product"

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Head of Business Development
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2018

"Advanced analytical tool, yo can measure the most important KPIs"

Pros: If you need to measure something in your website, sure it will be possible with Mixpanel. We implemented in a customer where we needed to track user behaviour to show KPIs to their investor and, although at first it was a bit difficult to understand and handle, once you get used to the tool and the documentation, you will be quite surprise about the huge possibilities. Metrics like retention, acquisition, conversion or lifetime value are not a problem anymore with Mixpanel.

Cons: As commented in the Pros box, it is a bit complex to use. If you only need to track simple KPIs like visits, journey, conversions and so on... maybe it is better you start with another tool like Google Analytics. Mixpanel is a bit expensive and it is only worth it ir you need very advanced dashboards.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2018
Susanna D.
SEO Consultant
Online Media, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018

"We use Mixpanel to track mobile users and have been satisfied"

Pros: Nice tool with lot of features integrated in one place (push notification, email marketing, analytics)

Cons: Would be nice if the tool could help to define more clearly the ideal next steps to target different users (eg better to send email to user A and push notification to user B)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018
Joe S.
Joe S.
Customer Success Manager
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/12/2018

"Would like to see more features"

Pros: It's a place where we can store and view important data points.

Cons: It's not easy to see what you need to from the data. Lacks a lot of features and functions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/12/2018
Lorenzo F.
Marketing Analyst
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/01/2019

"Great customer service, helpful in several occasions"

Pros: We had some issues with duplicate contacts and need to decrease the number of registered users in order to fit our package payment. The customer service was always extremely reactive in helping us to find a quick solution to our problems

Cons: The don’t provide strong inside on the user actions after you sent email or push campaigns, thus you need additional software to develop strong analytics for that part

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/01/2019
Robin L.
CTO
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2018

"Good experience but expensive"

Pros: I love the messages functionality, the funnel the easy set up on any SDK (iPhone or Android), that was very easy

Cons: That is quite expensive, and the correlation functionality is not very easy to understand. Moreover you are quite limited on the free service

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2018
Nish G.
Product Owner
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2018
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2018
Aleksandr S.
Aleksandr S.
Principal Software Engineer
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2021

"There are a lot of analytics tools. This one does work."

Comments: Overall mixpanel is one of the best solutions on the market. It is realiably, offers wide range of tools and libraries to satisfy both administrators, marketologists, developers and managers.
It is somewhat costly and sometimes you would like mixpanel to think more about the edge cases.

Pros: Tracks both events and profiles. Collects wide specter of attributes, some of them automatically. Provides quite comprehensive documentation, including some obscure use cases.
Mixpanel supports mobile, web, server side analytic events, and for that offers a number of implementation for different languages and platforms, including JS, Ruby, Python, PHP etc.
Dashboard offers dictionary, event and field renaming, live events and profile updates stream, various graphs and insights.
Built-in visualizer uses mixpanel own query builder, it works perfectly and requires just a bit of reading.
Again. the documentation, examples and how-to's are very helpful.
Mixpanel does not lose updates in most of the cases, but they might be delayed.
Heat map is there but sometimes it works a bit strange and it is hard to tell whether it can be trusted.

Cons: Mixpanel does not document the whole protocol and this is VERY inconvenient when server-side events are to be implemented, or your application requires proxifiying to work around adblockers.
The protocol itself is not suitable for seamless proxifying.
Documentation may be slightly outdated. Some obscure moments in it are just there for like forever despite discussed numerous times on the internet.
Tech support is mostly useless. Most of the time it is possible to sort thing out without technical support, though, but still - this is something that could definitely be improved.
Until recently there was no reliable debug tool to check updates to profile. Now, though they are rendered as operations, it is still not exactly what is expected.
Latency sometimes is an issue.
Price is a bit too high.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2021
Hasin A.
Data Analyst
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2018

"One of the best web analytics tools"

Comments: - Web analytics
- Mobile Analytics
- Marketing Attribution

Pros: The best part about this app is that I able to track a mobile and web user of my application under the same umbrella.

Cons: The user interface is not the best for non-analytics or non-technical users but it is better over time with the new updates.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2018
Viktor G.
Co-founder, VP of Operations
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018

"Amazing platform perfect for data needs(specifically for eCommerce and phone applications)"

Comments: Incredibly strong application for assessing data and customer behaviour - perfect for serving notifications and emails to customers and this is often overlooked to Mailchimp and other strictly-email marketing competitors

Pros: -Incredible ability to send messages and emails with relatively no limitation
-Very robust reporting on success and outcome of particular events coded into platform
-AI and alerts activate on irregular activity
-Very, very secure in keeping data safe
-Many variables available to store and to track

Cons: -Somewhat difficult for new users and for trainees to use
-Very difficult to maintain parity between users and their account on other software through any changes(ie. wrong email address gets fixed)
-Reports are a bit tricky to create

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Full Stack Engineer
Real Estate, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/12/2019

"Sophisticated but pricey solution"

Comments: I really liked to use it and wish that it becomes more affordable at scale

Pros: - Quite easy to integrate Mixpanel event tracking in existing codebase
- Granular control is provided about when we want to start tracking a user's events and when do we want to destroy it

Cons: - For small number of users, the solution is quite affordable but even for a small SAAS, the costs scale up so quickly depending upon the number of customers that inevitably you are forced to either cough up the money or change to another tracking service which would then take months of efforts.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/12/2019
Antoine L.
Trafic Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2017

"Good tracking software"

Pros: It enables to track every customer on your platform and target them as you want. You can also have some insights and run campaign with a very precise and effective targeting.

Cons: Quite heavy to understand, not always very simple. Too much fonctionnality and no real segmentation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2017
Verified Reviewer
Customer Support Representative
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2018

"So much data and So little time"

Pros: The ability to track all the different users on our system and truly analyze their journey within our product. As a Support Rep, I use mixpanel primarily to track users, see if they're able to function properly within our mobile app, so mixpanel is fantastic in this function and am sure provides much more to our team.

Cons: The User interface within Mixpanel can be a lot for first time users. Even using the product for a couple of months now and I'm still not fully aware of how well to use it. I wish I had more time to figure out the different functions and learn the system more but that would be it's only drawback, that it's not for beginners.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
Deputy Director, Advocacy
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2019

"Mixpanel review"

Comments: We are an SaaS startup, and are trying to accomplish two things with Mixpanel: 1) understand for what and how our clients are using our system, so we can help them utilize ALL features; and 2) increase internal and external satisfaction by updating our knowledge base based on our Mixpanel data to reduce support tickets and increase client retention.

Pros: Mixpanel is awesome and really helps you make the most of your website or platform. Flows and funnels are key to better understanding how people use our site and what paths they take to complete various tasks that we could make easier for them.

Cons: So far, there's really nothing I've discovered that I don't like about Mixpanel.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Product Manager
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2018

"Great Analytics Tool"

Pros: Easy to use with lots of rich features. I especially like the AutoTrack tool that allows me to get the analytics of a GUI without having to tag it first.

Cons: Very limited date range (2 weeks) for user flows. Dashboard feature isn't able to accommodate all of the reports that I have.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2018
Alex N.
Cofounder and CEO
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2017

"Have used it for years on several projects"

Pros: They're way of handling user journeys and funnels are the best that I've seen. Build funnels in a few seconds.

Cons: Dashboards, one of their newer products, need a lot of work. Not at the point yet where it can replace dashboard-specific tools.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2017