15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Personio

A centralized HR platform that performs every core HR task key to every company's success: HRM, recruiting, payroll, and more.

Learn more about Personio

Pros:

Especially the integration of self service in combination with absence management has been a huge time saver for us.

Cons:

There is no App available yet but as I heard it will be issued soon.

Personio ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Personio has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 277 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Personio before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (277)

Dónall
Dónall
HR Administrator in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Streamlined our entire HR systems

5.0 last year

Pros:

What I love about Personio is that it is the one stop shop for all our HR information. As an SME we had been relying on SharePoint to store all our HR information and this was cumbersome and admin heavy, with Personio we can store all the relevant information in one location with no trouble accessing for individual employees. It is an easy to use platform and any new issuer will have no difficulty getting used to the using the system. My favourite feature is the ORG chart provided for all the employees in the organisation so you can know who's who.

Cons:

I have no major dislikes for the Platform - its a new platform, things take time. If you have an idea that would improve the system you are able to post in their Ideation forum to drive change. While Personio offers reporting features, the range of available reports is somewhat limited. This can make it difficult for companies that require more in-depth reporting and analysis for example companies with 100+ employees.

Alternatives Considered: Workday HCM and WorkCompass

Thomas
Thomas
Director HR in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A very good decision I am still proud of

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Difficult. I like it! Had some experience with Workdays in the company before and was at the beginning a kind of sad that little business has not the budget for such software.
But now I am even happier because Personio not only is quiete as good - it is even better for small business purpose because it's less complex and allowes to stremline processes better for our needs.

Pros:

It's HR Software with service for every employee, managers etc. - and so what I like most is, that nearly everybody likes to use it though we did not have much training effort. Big benefit (usualy) is as well, that Personio has an ongoing development nad gets even better every month.

Cons:

Some "improvements" - especially in design - are not really steps forward but seem to complicate work - but usually respective suggestions are heared and drawn into account.

Alternatives Considered: BambooHR

Reasons for Switching to Personio: Originally becasue Personio was the only Provider with servers lokated in Germany (it was the time of the new data protection rules). And it was real SAS while one of the other products (the European one) would have to be customized with big effort (and costs)...

Carina
Senior HR Project Manager - Learning Development in Ireland
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Personio is a all-in-one HR solution for companies

5.0 last month New

Comments: - Personio provides a unified system that encompasses a wide array of HR services, serving as the ideal all-in-one solution with its integration capabilities.
- By seamlessly communicating with other systems, Personio minimizes administrative workload, eliminating the need for redundant data entry across multiple tools.
- Its user-friendly interface simplifies usage for both employees and administrators, enhancing accessibility.
- Continual development and release of various features ensure ongoing improvement of the product and therefore the work of HR

Pros:

- Personio boasts exceptional user-friendliness and intuitive design. - Seamlessly integrating with various tools such as an LMS is effortless with Personio. - Its array of features includes document creation, Performance Reviews, and a comprehensive Payroll system. - Personio is committed to continuous improvement, frequently rolling out new features. - Prioritizing customer satisfaction, Personio emphasizes a robust customer success program. - Covering a wide spectrum of HR functions, Personio is a comprehensive HRIS solution, encompassing everything from recruitment to offboarding templates.

Cons:

So far, the target group of personio has mainly been small and medium sized companies and many of the functions and processes are geared towards this target group and therefore workaround solutions still have to be found for larger companies in some cases

Sebastian
Geschäftsführer in Germany
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Glorified database

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: This software was bought to help with payroll.
In the end, it just became a database to store employee information.
Payroll is much to susceptible to errors to be relied on. My pet peeve is that when one of many critical fields is not filled in, the employee is simply left out of the payroll without comment.

Pros:

-pretty design -comprehensive onboarding -friendly support team

Cons:

-missing sanity checks -convoluted layout -not customisable enough

Alternatives Considered: Salesforce Sales Cloud and Workday HCM

Reasons for Switching to Personio: I needed a customisable product that didn't need specialised consultants to set up

Javier
People Operations Specialist in Spain
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very user friendly and flexible HR Saas

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: We have been using Personio for almost 3 years, and it is the only HR data source (very reliable) and core tool for daily purposes. We have been able to develop and automate/scale many processes.
It has been developing in many ways although it exists better specific alternatives in certain aspects such as T&D, and payroll.
Finally, it has an excellent customer service, always supporting us solving queries and requests

Pros:

The tool is very user friendly and easy to configure, it covers pre-payroll, onboarding, documents management, employees data, offboarding. In addition, it has an extensive marketplace to connect with different apps and softwares via API

Cons:

Lack of expense management, full payroll engine, historical data not very visual, T&D tab need more development.

Alternatives Considered: Bizneo HR and Factorial

Switched From: Cegid Visualtime

Reasons for Switching to Personio: At the moment of the final decision, it was the best option for us in terms of development and future updates. ROI was also considered and it was as expected.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good for small to mid size companies

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Very user friendly, does not require to be an expert to handle the product. You can customise the reports you want to create easily and add different conditions.

Cons:

Would require some improvement to make it scalable for multiple locations. The tool is having very customisable fields but sometimes when you operate in a lot of different countries with central functions like HR analytics you require some local regulations features (13th month of salary, different working time, fields for local allowances). One big missing feature is the absence of some dynamic fields, having dynamic dropdown in the tool would really help a lot to avoid mistakes when someone is entering some data in the tool

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Venture Capital & Private Equity, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Strong tool for all things HR

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Really enjoy working with the tool! It easy to implement and employees outside of HR find it easy to use.

Pros:

One tool for almost all relevant HR topics

Cons:

The recruiting module could be stronger but it's still sufficient for small and mid-size companies

Alternatives Considered: Bob

Reasons for Switching to Personio: Better use experience and easy to set up.

Asnath
Assistant Projects Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Futuristic Human Resources Management Platform.

5.0 last month New

Comments: It is simple to engage and communicate with employees in real-time with Personio.

Pros:

I like how Personio automates daily human resources tasks thus eliminating manual and repetitive tasks.It is simple to recruit new employees with Personio.I like ease to track employees time with this tool.

Cons:

I haven't encountered anything that is unpleasant with Personio as it suits best my human resources management needs.

Anastassia
Recruiter in Germany
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good value for money

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I like that the usage is easy, quick to understand and that the talent management for recruiting pipelines has a nice overview. In addition, the support reaches out to you asap if you need help and have questions in general - hence, I am never left with doubts.

Cons:

Unfortunately KPI tracking (for recruiting) is not a strength and a lot of data has to be drawn manually or cannot be tracked at all. However, Personio is currently working on this issue which will be a major upgrade for the future.

Milind Dilipkumar
Optical Test Engineer in Germany
Research, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User friendly HR tool

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Interactive user graphical design, with new update important details can be seen from dashboard window.

Cons:

Personio mobile application is not very user friendly and to use it from mobile web is something i am sure no one likes.

Isabel
Human Resources Project Manager in Germany
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The one-stop solution for better HR

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our overall experience with Personio has been extremely positive. It has allowed us to digitize and streamline our processes and workflows in a way that has vastly increased our efficiency and the quality of our services as an HR department. Personio has enabled us to very quickly move all our core HR processes to the software and makes it possible for us to handle them in a much more efficient, user-friendly way. The software has also been a great help to our employees, who can take care of their HR tasks much easier now, as well as our team leaders and managers, who now have a better way of administrating and supervising their team and making sure all tasks are taken care of. Working together with Personio's implementation and key account managers, as well as their customer support team, has always been a great experience. Personio provides extensive support, guidance and best practices which help in further improving workflows and customizing the software for each individual company. Overall, with its variety of features, Personio has opened countless ways for us to optimize our processes and offer better services, and has enabled us as HR to transform from a department preoccupied by administrative tasks to a true strategic partner.

Pros:

We greatly appreciate all of the features Personio offers, and actively use the entire range of tools and features. In terms of core HR processes, one of the most instant and most significant benefits of using Personio was the easy administration of personnel data and the absence management. Everyone in our company, from employees to managers to members of the HR team, has benefitted tremendously from Personio's user-friendly absence management features, which all our employees use regularly. Both our HR and Accounting departments profit from the extensive reporting features, which we use to create monthly, quarterly or annual reports on all relevant personnel data. This function is also appreciated by our managers, who can gain quick overviews on key figures with just a few clicks. Apart from the administrative features, it is mainly Personio's recruiting tool which has impacted our HR processes in an extremely positive way. Creating and publishing job ads, managing applications and communicating with applicants has never been so easy, and is enabling us to manage our recruiting workflows in a way that is sure to leave a positive impression on applicants. All in all, Personio has greatly improved our HR processes and, along with this, improved the working lives of all internal stakeholders.

Cons:

Since we are a global company, our aim is to roll out Personio internationally to all our subsidiaries in different countries around the world. In this regard, we are doing a certain amount of pioneer work, as the system is not yet completely perfected for international use and some features or special configurations are not yet part of the software. Therefore, we need to align the requirements of our international subsidiaries with the features currently available in the software and, in some cases, find workarounds. Personio has provided great support in this process and has been able to provide solutions to the vast majority of topics we dealt with.

Lucy
Owner & CEO in Türkiye
Furniture, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The only HR tool you need for small-mid market operations

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: We couldn't be happier with the service that Personio provides. With it, we've been able to have a smooth functioning HR system from day one. You can use it to manage everyhing from attendance to payroll and ATS. It's the only tool you need for up to a couple hundred employees

Pros:

I love how simple the interface is for all the different modules. We started using it when we were much smaller, and it was a relief to be able to start using it confidently without having to spend hours upon hours trying to learn it.

Cons:

I think one of the biggest things it's missing is more comprehensive documentation like best practices or ideas for how you can use it better. Without it, in the beinning, we kinda had to figure everyhting out on our own

Alternatives Considered: BambooHR

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Clear recommendation for SMEs

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

- As we were one of the early adopters, we got personio for quite a cheap rate - There was no tool that was as comprehensive and could be used without GDPR issues - It saves a lot of time vs. our setup before, which was Excel

Cons:

- There are a few open requests from our side regarding more flexible reportings - There is an obvious bug in the dashboard that just doesn't get solved (always shows that "everyone is in the office today")

Alternatives Considered: HeavenHR

Lydia
HR Manager in Germany
Warehousing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Just perfect

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

What I like most about the operating system is that it contains a variety of functions, and as a result, covers the entire Personnel Department. From holiday requests to recruitment, every function is included. Since we have started using Personio, we have realised that we now spend more time on other HR tasks instead of a large chunk of our day being dedicated to administration tasks. I particularly like that our employees are required to work together with our department, and are automatically informed if they have failed to provide a doctor’s note for sick leave for example. Previously, we needed to constantly chase-up employees for documents such as these. Additionally, we now have a system that all employees from our Accounting and HR Departments can access, and no longer need to rely on confusing MS Excel spreadsheets.

Cons:

I would say that I like everything about Personio. What I sometimes wish for would be an instant messaging option that could be used to send messages directly to employees via Personio. Besides this, we are very satisfied with the operating system.

Faaiz
Software Engineer in Germany
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Hassle free Attendance and leave management.

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

It has really good modules of Attendance and Leave management. No need for hefty long emails to Managers or HR for leaves request.

Cons:

The user interface is a bit old. It needs improvement.

Monika
Head of HR in Norway
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Userfriendly

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Love it! The Sales Manager and Implementation Manager were very helpful

Pros:

The software is easy to use and all the most important aspects of HR can be portrayed in Personio. All employee data can be stored there safely. Also, Personio provides helpful webinars and lots of additional materials such as document templates, employee surveys, and best practices for any topics which are very helpful.

Cons:

The Recruiting part is maybe a bit less intuitive compared to other software that specialize in Recruiting

Rukmini
General Manager in Türkiye
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

An effective HR solution

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Personio's customer support team is responsive and helpful. They are always willing to answer our questions and help us to resolve any issues.I highly recommend Personio to any business looking for an effective HR software solution.

Pros:

Personio is an all-in-one HR and applicant management software that has helped my business to streamline our HR processes and improve our employee experience. I do like Personio being a cloud-based solution, so it is accessible from anywhere.

Cons:

The arrangement of certain elements in the interface can make it challenging for new employees to navigate.It also offers limited flexibility for making changes, which can disrupt the way things operate, especially if you require specific configurations.

Kathleen
OM, HR & EA in Germany
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

We love this product!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use Personio for daily HR tasks, payroll and recruiting. I find the tool fairly easy to navigate and I really like the recruitment feature. So, the tool itself is really good.
My favorite part about using Personio is the Customer Service/Technical Support Team. Any time I have a question or request, I normally get an immediate, friendly, very professional response. They are always helpful and when the CS representative I am speaking to cannot help me, they always connect me to someone who can.
I would say Personio's Customer Service/Technical Support Team is one of their greatest assets.
Keep up the excellent work!

Pros:

I love the recruiting and payroll features.

Cons:

It is difficult to understand how the tool calculates, e.g. vacation days. I have made the same mistake a few times with manually adjusting vacation days for on-call work.

Jon
VP Product in Germany
Information Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I could not give a clear recommendation, too buggy and weird to use

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: Negative, I wouldn't use this again if I was to choose.

Pros:

Friendly customer support, but this doesn't apply to the actual software at all. I wouldn't expect to need to ask support for help with the things I need an HR system for :D

Cons:

Seems to be full of bugs with bumpy workflows. I would expect this to be simple to use with very streamlined workflows - this is not the case.

Florian
Co-Founder & CEO in Germany
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best overall HR solution for growing and established companies

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Personio covers all key HR processes. No matter if it is recruiting, time tracking, vacations or payroll. We really like that everything is at one place and in order. As a growing company we need a coherent HR and recruiting process to reach our growth goal. Personio really helped us to set up and implement a processes based on their best practices. Great customer support. At the beginning we had some struggles setting up Personio. Their support and implementation team always were available and reached out proactively. I feel that they really care for their customers and want to help us improve our HR processes. Easy to use and well accepted by everyone in the company. The SSO was really helpful for that

Cons:

At the beginning we were sceptical about the time it needs to implement the software. However, the few phone calls/video conferences in which we set up Personio with their help proved to be key for us to adapt the software to our processes. A mobile app does not exist yet. Particularly for incoming applications, it would be great to access them mobile through an app

Dirk
CEO in Germany
Management Consulting, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Limited Functionality

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

One Stop Shop for HR, all data in one database, easy to use & state of the art GUI

Cons:

The Problems start when Your look into detail: search & filter functions are very limited, job applicants can only be linked to one open position - it is not possible to share good applicants, this makes the rights & roles (GDPR!) useless for our business ... the power of an HR database is not really used because the system (incl. support) is very unflexible: search criteria cannot be set (e.g. only "or" - no "and"), filters must be reset after every login, job applicants pictures cannot be uploaded, most data (e.g. evaluations) cannot be downloaded ...

Michael
Sales & Business Development in Germany
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use all in one solution for everything HR related

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It gave me as an employee so much transparency and control back as I did not have to have everything done by our HR team. It was very easy to use, understand and integrate into my day2day work. Additionally I think it also took a lot of extra work from my HR colleagues - at least that loved working with Personio! :)

Cons:

Some features are not yet comparable to standalone solution (e.g. the recruiting module) but Personio is shipping improvements and features regularly so that bugs and feature requests are taken into account!

Fabio
Human Resources Manager in Germany
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great HR tool that makes HR work easier

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: I love the customer service of this company. They manage to find solutions very fast and have always a user-friendly way of communication.

Pros:

Personio is easy to use and the user interface can be understood intuitively. Many things can be adapted to company-specific needs.

Cons:

Compared to other ATS, Personio does not offer a link to LinkedIn, which makes recruiting activities more complex.

Alessandra
Chapter Lead HR in Germany
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

holistic HR software for basic user needs

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

holistic HR software, many interfaces for data exchanges (payroll etc.) it's easy to use and adjustable for customers needs. You can drive the speed of implementation without customer support.

Cons:

It's covering basic functionalities, not enough reporting functions to visualize data history and changes or detailed recruiting KPIs(especially for personnel development and salary development). For some functions (for example data changes in the past) you need work arounds to insert data.

Veit
Veit
CEO in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Translation & Localization, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Personio

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I believe that Personio really helps us to become a better company on the operational side of things. Also, they really listen to what you have to say. Personio is under constant development and since it is a SaaS product, new and useful features will pop up all the time as part of your SaaS plan.

Pros:

I like the UI. Most of it is self-explanatory and specific topics can also be found by entering a search term, for instance "notification", into a Google type search window. Personio's implementation team has some really bright people who understand what your needs are. I think we had 6 video calls over a period of six weeks. They help companies with the implementation because a lot can go wrong: users getting to little or too many access rights, workflows not defined properly, data not imported correctly etc.

Cons:

Sometimes there are global system outages. Also, synchronisation with the Outlook calendar is a bit bumpy.