Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.8 /5

About Personio

Centralized HR platform that performs all core HR jobs that are key to every company's success: HRM, recruiting, payroll and more.

Learn more about Personio

Showing 113 reviews

Thomas K.
Director HR
Legal Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2019

"A very good decision I am still proud of"

Comments: Difficult. I like it! Had some experience with Workdays in the company before and was at the beginning a kind of sad that little business has not the budget for such software.
But now I am even happier because Personio not only is quiete as good - it is even better for small business purpose because it's less complex and allowes to stremline processes better for our needs.

Pros: It's HR Software with service for every employee, managers etc. - and so what I like most is, that nearly everybody likes to use it though we did not have much training effort.
Big benefit (usualy) is as well, that Personio has an ongoing development nad gets even better every month.

Cons: Some "improvements" - especially in design - are not really steps forward but seem to complicate work - but usually respective suggestions are heared and drawn into account.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2019
Leonie K.
HR Director
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/01/2021

"Very satisfied"

Comments: Just great. It makes our life so much easier.

Pros: It is easy to handle. Customer Service is excellent.

Cons: "Berichte" does not deliver everything we need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/01/2021
Christian S.
Manager Corporate Services
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2019

"Happy administrator feedback"

Comments: On the whole very satisfied. The tool covers our complex requirements very well. Feedback is processed quickly. Personio develops quickly which is mostly positive. Sometimes there are smaller obvious errors with releases. We use the SW over 3 countries. This works quite well. Partly one notices, that it was primarily developed for the German market (e.g. with withdrawals and holidays adaptations).
Otherwise, it is a great relief for us compared to the many manual processes we had before. It requires relatively little to no instruction effort for the employees. We have only adapted the presentation of Personio and handed it over to the employees and this works well. Many things can be configured so that you also have control over the data that is captured.

Pros: It can be easily configured. The fast implementation. Good and fast customer service. All inquiries are answered within 24 hours (weekdays) and 80% of inquiries are resolved within 24 hours. Usually within 6 hours. The software is constantly evolving and is becoming even more customer-friendly.

Cons: Partly the red thread through the SW is missing. For example, the date can only be recorded with 24/12/2019 at one location while it must be recorded with 24.12.2019 at another location. There are newer reports, especially in recruiting, where the figures are not correct. Further input fields do not always correspond to the same logic. So you have to be careful in the salary area if you overwrite a number in the salary field, an additional "0" is added. Just some small things.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2019
Florian E.
CFO
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2019

"Game Changer in our HR Efficiency"

Comments: Actually, as a fast-growing company 2 years ago, we were just looking for a recruiting solution and found Personio. Already during the two-week test phase we had all our employees with many individual attributes live on their own and only on the basis of the educational Videos. We now have a vast variety of templates so we can do a lot of manual work more efficiently through Personio and focus on strategic HR topics. And this, although we do not use some features because they do not fit our processes, such as Performance or payroll.

Pros: Ease of use
Excellent UI
Great flexibility with templating, Attributes etc.
Automatisation of the Recruiting Process
Highly efficient

Cons: No Datev interface
Many of our suggestions were received as feature requests, without feedback and without implementation
Many new developments, especially in recruiting, have not led to an improvement, but have taken the clarity

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2019
Max H.
CFO
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2019

"Great one-stop HR solution"

Comments: It is a great tool if you are looking for a one-stop solution to deal with your HR IT needs. Helps you a lot to stay in compliance with process frameworks and legal restrictions. Great support.

Pros: Holistic HR solution (no need to transfer data from one system to another)
Very good customer support
Can be set up as easy-to-use self-service platform for employees
Ensures process (e.g. ISO 9001) and legal (e.g. employment law) compliance in HR
GDPR compliant platform
Price/value is great

Cons: Report section can be improved on the recruiting side
Edge-cases in user rights management need to be improved
UI/UX is better than traditional software but can still be refined

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2019
Verena L.
Head of HRM
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/01/2020

"Overall an easy to use and good HR software"

Comments: We are currently using personio to file all employee data, track onboarding and absence periods. It helps us a lot to quickly access and generate reports and also easily maintain our customer data base.

Pros: Easy implementation
Continuous improvement of the most important HR functionalities
Good reports
Very friendly and quick customer support

Cons: FTE report grouped by Cost Center would be very helpful

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/01/2020
Sebastian S.
Founder
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2019

"Best one-stop solution for HR and Recruiting"

Pros: Personio really is the HR operating system. All the personal data of an employee have to be filled in only once and can then be used for different services. Users can participate in recruiting and manage their data and documents. In addition, with the integration of Personio Payroll, you do not have to communicate with tax consultants anymore to get your payroll done.

Cons: Due to the many features and the customization that is possible with Personio, some users might find it a bit complex in the beginning.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2019
Natalie E.
Head of HR
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/07/2019

"Flexibel Tool with great functions"

Pros: - its very flexibel and you can add various fields e.g. training data
- you can send out reminders to the departments and supervisors
- we included our on- and offboarding process also in the tool
- very friedly and helpful team

Cons: - some little bugs but nothing serious.. :)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/07/2019
Annemarie C.
HR Manager
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2019

"Great usability that covers our company's needs"

Comments: Great customer service, always helpful, friendly and professional. They go above and beyond.

Pros: Usability
Customer service
Logical Interface

Cons: sometimes you have to build a feature/rule/ process (onboarding/offboarding) from scratch yourself with different bricks, takes some time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2019
Moritz D.
DIRECTOR COMMUNICATION, STRATEGY & TECHNOLOGY
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2019

"Personio was the basement for change."

Comments: For us it was the best basement to start with home office, flex times and regulations for over hours. Without Personio this would have end up in paperwork mess. Next step is to do our monthly payment automated over Personio.

Pros: How easy the implementation was and how fast all colleagues started using and loving it.

Cons: Here and there it needs improvement but hey... its a start up and they are on the best way possible.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2019
Selina D.
HR Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2019

"Great and easy to use software"

Comments: I liked that it did not take me long to understand the software and that i was able to just start working with it. The support of Personio is really great, if i need anything i can just call them and they always have a solution for my problem. There are some features that are still missing in the software, but they always take my advice in consideration and sometimes they are already working on a new feature regarding my problem.

Pros: The software is easy to use and self-explanatory. It makes my daily work as a HR Manager easier

Cons: Some features, like talent pool are not available yet

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2019
Sebastian B.
Geschäftsführer
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2020

"Glorified database"

Comments: This software was bought to help with payroll.
In the end, it just became a database to store employee information.
Payroll is much to susceptible to errors to be relied on. My pet peeve is that when one of many critical fields is not filled in, the employee is simply left out of the payroll without comment.

Pros: -pretty design
-comprehensive onboarding
-friendly support team

Cons: -missing sanity checks
-convoluted layout
-not customisable enough

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2020
Carina M.
People & Organization Manager
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2019

"Easy to use and flexible set up"

Pros: - Interface
- Flexibility
- Different roles
- Automatization

Cons: - Reporting (Recruiting KPIs, Self designed reports)
- Payroll

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2019
Christian F.
Co-Founder & COO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2019

"Great help in everyday HR work."

Pros: - We at ORDA use Personio over one and a half years now and by now this tool has become an essential part of all of our HR processes. Therefore we can highly recommend the product.

Cons: - In the beginning there were some usability issues which are mostly resolved by now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2019
Bozana S.
HR Manager
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2017

"all in all a good general software solution for small and mid size companies"

Pros: easy to use, good for small and mid size companies because it offers a lot of functions and it is easy to handle and organize the employee data etc .
For us data security is an important point, that was one of the reasons for choosing personio
user friendly
very good value for the money
nice features
very friendly and fast customer support

Cons: it is a general solutions, so some features part could be still improved e.g be more detailed

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2017
Jenny P.
HR Generalist
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2019

"A great software with a great support!"

Pros: - easy to use
- covers many topics in the HR area
- great customer support
- constant advancement

Cons: there are no big cons, only small things and they improve these things constantly and they are always open to suggestions

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2019
Stefanie S.
HR Manager
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2017

"Great tool, quick support, steady development and nice communication"

Comments: One tool for a lot of HRM fields, especially easing of Recruiting and HR administration

Pros: - broad functionality and coverage for a lot of areas in HRM
- permanent development and frequent implemention of new functions
- German product with legally considered functions

Cons: - sometimes not intuitive enough, especially if you don't use it daily
- report function still has some bugs, that make it sometimes kind of useless/not correct enough

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2017
Rebecca V.
Head of Customer Care
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2018

"Amazing Tool"

Comments: It gives us, as a young business the overview that we need. Of people. working and absence periods, as well as employee growth and fluctuations and other great tools for tracking performance- on an individual basis, as well as for the entire business.

Pros: Easy to use, very intuitive and self explanatory. Additionally, nearly EVERYTHING is adjustable to suit your individual needs and even unusual company set ups. Great reporting functions. Implementation process was clear and super pleasant,our rep did a fantastic and very patient job!

Cons: Cannot currently be linked to Datev, a software for calculating wages.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2018
Fabio T.
Human Resources Manager
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2019

"A great HR tool that makes HR work easier"

Comments: I love the customer service of this company. They manage to find solutions very fast and have always a user-friendly way of communication.

Pros: Personio is easy to use and the user interface can be understood intuitively. Many things can be adapted to company-specific needs.

Cons: Compared to other ATS, Personio does not offer a link to LinkedIn, which makes recruiting activities more complex.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2019
Anja T.
Head of HR
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2019

"Exactly what we needed as a software company with 40 employees"

Comments: Excellent product and very dedicated people behind Personio! Would recommend it regardless to others. Thank you!

Pros: All data in one view; the reporting is great to give immediate feedback to executive board; no excel files anymore

Cons: the orgchart needs some further development

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2019
Jelena K.
Director Human Relations
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2018

"Excellent Customer Service and very structured onboarding, good quality and user friendly surface."

Comments: Time

Pros: Absolutely user friendly surface, very easy to start with, cloud based and usable from everywhere, easy to use statistics.

Cons: Unfortunately not flexibel on special time tracking (e.g. Shift workers) and missing "Blog-Feature" means individual news-feed not available.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2018
Florian P.
Founder
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2019

"Formidable all-in-one HR solution"

Pros: Customizable access rights, comprehensive feature set, exceptional support and content

Cons: Partially the UX/UI can be improved: If not parametrized properly, it can be a bit confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
Product Manager
Internet, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/08/2018

"Great usability. Customer support was very helpful and responded immediately to questions asked."

Pros: Offers a great overview over all things relating to HR. Makes it easy to schedule holidays and provides a lot of great functionality for the user.

Cons: Takes some time to get used to, but is easily learnable with the great onboarding by the company itself

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/08/2018
Anna Z.
Junior Finance Managerq
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/09/2019

"Great tool for monitoring all your HR related tasks"

Comments: We have saved a lot of time preparing the pay rolls for our employees as we had to do it all manually before and now it's just a couple of clicks. We also use their documents storage and each employee knows where to find their important information instead asking the HR manager or look for it on google docs.
The benefits and time saving definitely outweigh the costs of this app.

Pros: The support is great. Everyone I have talked to on the phone was aways super nice and helpful.
I also like the fact that they take your feedback seriously and suggest the things you mentioned to their product team and might implement solutions that will make the tool even better for you and your team.

Cons: It's not easy to set up because it's very detailed- that's why you have an implementation manager to help you with that.
I also have to use their support quite often when I want to change something, because I'm afraid that it'll adjust things I didn't want to change.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/09/2019
Elena L.
Head of People & Culture
Computer Games, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019

"One of the best HRIS in Germany"

Pros: It's the best HRIS that I've tried so far. It has tons of features, attributes and process that we can customize according to our needs. The support is very fast, helpful and friendly.

Cons: Sometimes it is a bit complicated to use, but it comes with all the features and configuration possibilities. I am missing a couple of features, like an overview of the employee's promotions/titles and reports indicating promotions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2019