15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

United Kingdom Local product

XTM Cloud Reviews

3.9 (11) Write a Review! United Kingdom Local product

About XTM Cloud

The leading cloud-based enterprise Translation Management with an integrated CAT tool, designed to be scalable, flexible and agile.

Learn more about XTM Cloud

Pros:

I believe the only thing we like about XTM is that it´s free to use. To be clear, our clients pay for a license pool and then sublet the licenses to third parties like us.

Cons:

It doesn't work with the speech recognition software I usually use - which is no big issue for smaller project, but a bit annoying for longer ones.

XTM Cloud ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Service
3.2
Features
3.5
Value for Money
3.4

Likelihood to recommend

5.5/10

XTM Cloud has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5 stars based on 11 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (11)

Sort by

Have you used XTM Cloud before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (11)

Umit
Umit
General Manager in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Translation & Localization, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Efficiency boost

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Awesome.

Pros:

Easy to use, frequent updates, workflow, QA, translation, POs, MT all in one platform. Our project managers save up to 80% on project management effort. Automation of workflows allow us meet customer demand on agility. In-context translation of indesign and html is a huge plus.

Cons:

I would love to have the possibility to merge source segments.

Samuel
Software in US
Telecommunications, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great tool to centralize all translations

5.0 last year

Pros:

I used XTM client with a client, it is very useful because it centralizes all translations task on the same app, and allow all the team to work together.

Cons:

Since the tool works only online, I couldn't work on my tasks without internet access.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Translation & Localization, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of XTM

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: XTM slows down our productivity, prompting us to charge our clients higher prices. If at all, XTM is a solution for small and recurrent Continuous Localization projects.

Pros:

I believe the only thing we like about XTM is that it´s free to use. To be clear, our clients pay for a license pool and then sublet the licenses to third parties like us.

Cons:

XTM has a portal for project managers, who buy translations from freelance translators. We don´t know this portal. We only know the translator portal and it is full of product design flaws: 1. Integration with MS Word spell checker does not work properly 2. The propagation of cross-file repetitions does not work 3. The QA module has very limited functionality and is very slow and cumbersome; in fact, most agencies are asking us to export to Xbench 4. The UI is not self-explanatory 5. The tool is online only - there is no offline editor 6. 100% matches are not being pulled into files automatically 7. It is not possible to filter/block segments you are not paid for, such as locked segments 8. When clients send a project with 10 files, you cannot merge these 10 files into 1. If you want to change apples into oranges in 10 files, you need to open each file individually. 9. Not all the content is displayed on-screen. If the project has 10.000 words, XTM may display them on 10 pages, 1000 words each. If you need to fix a recurring issue at the end of the translation, you will need to bring up each of the 10 pages individually (and wait until it loads). 10. XTM is like a point-and-shoot camera, making it impossible to load personal assets such as TM and glossary, which might be useful for the translation process.

XTM International Response

2 years ago

Dear XTM Cloud user, I'm so sorry to hear you're not happy with our solution! Let me see if I help with some of the issues you are experiencing. It seems some of the points you raised are configuration options that your client can tailor to meet your needs. With that in mind, it may be beneficial to work with your client to agree on the project configurations that work best for you both? Also, although it is not yet possible to open and manage all project files within one session, it is possible to run a Find & Replace operation across all files. You would simply need to expand the "Options" in the Find and replace dialog and find the "Include segments from all files" option. When it comes to being complex and not easy to use, I wonder if some training webinars would be beneficial? You can find a lot of content on our platform XTM On Demand. Or, you can contact us about training or raise a support ticket if anything isn't working as it should. I hope this helps! Melissa

Kim
owner in Poland
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Perfect all in one translation management solution

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Easy to start - it is possible to start to work immediately after Nice induction training and good support Flexible - great to handle different projects ( games - website - documentation ...) Good price for money Nice to have the mobile app!! I used XTM for all my project cause it is a perfect all in one translation management solution.

Cons:

it is packed with many features it takes sometimes to know all of them - the mobile app is getting better

ELIAS
TRANSLATOR in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It's the best Cat tool I have ever used. It makes my job much easier, as it should be!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It makes my job flow easily.

Pros:

Very simple and easy to use, without those cluttered interface and features (you barely use or need) that you find in most Cat tools. I don't have to worry about back-ups. Everything is saved there! I don't have to pay for updates or upgrades. Excellent technical support.

Cons:

There should be a way to eliminate the tags automatically. (I know most Cat tools don't have do that either.)

Jacobus
Freelancer in Sweden
Translation & Localization, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Not build by translators

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: This is not built by translators, period. It is clunky, it keeps closing down "for security reasons" (who invented that!?) and it is just super slow to work with. This software costs me a fortune in lost production time. I prefer any other option online and prefer to spend the money on reliable software like Trados. I have a client that is only working with this software, but I am thinking of ditching the client because this software is just an outright nightmare.

Pros:

I don't see any pros compared to actual professional software in the industry.

Cons:

Crashes all the time. All quality control options are clunky and too much hassle. Quality control can be shut down per segment, however, as soon as you run an overall QC it switches back on. It is just not build by someone who has any idea about what a translator needs and wants.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Translation & Localization, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Love it

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

One of the translation agencies I work for asked me to use this cloud-based tool for one of their regular clients. I was afraid I had to learn to use yet another complicated tool, but XTM is super easy to use and intuitive! I can use the licence provided by the client and easily work online. It has a simple and straightforward interface, with everything a translator may need.

Cons:

It doesn't work with the speech recognition software I usually use - which is no big issue for smaller project, but a bit annoying for longer ones.

XTM International Response

2 years ago

Thank you for your review - we really appreciate it! I'm glad to hear you found the tool easy to use and intuitive! I'm sorry to hear it doesn't have all the features you need yet, but we're always improving our solution and adding new functionality to XTM Cloud - in fact, if you submit an idea via our Wish List (accessible here: https://xtm.cloud/ondemand/xtm-productboard/), it may get added to the roadmap! Melissa at XTM International

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Translation & Localization, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Professional feel

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use it when I work for an agency.

Pros:

It's a powerful tool, very well suited for a work chain with well-established processes.

Cons:

The size of the font is very small, you can scale it up, but not much.

Marieken
Translator in Spain
Translation & Localization, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Not easy to use CAT

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

This software makes I work longer then normal on assignments

Cons:

It's complex, slow and not intuitive, not easy to use

XTM International Response

2 years ago

Dear XTM Cloud User, Oh no! Sounds like you're not happy with our product, which is a shame. I'm really sorry to hear that - but I'd like to help! Would some training be helpful? We are aware our UI needs a little refresh, which is in progress, but we can help you make the best of XTM Cloud in the meantime! Just let us know :) You can contact us here: https://xtm.cloud/contact/ Melissa at XTM International

Valentina
Translator in France
Translation & Localization, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Basic CAT-tool

3.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It's an easy to use software, available only if you have an Internet connection.

Cons:

I think that it's very basic, it provides a few features and it's not so flexible as other CAT-tools. The fact that it is only available with an Internet connection limits its use because sometimes you have no Internet availability (for example when on journey).

Shahzad
CTO in Pakistan
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Support team is worst. Sale team is great

1.0 5 years ago

Comments: Worst

Pros:

I was doing trial because of their low price. Their sales team is great. And she demonstrated me for their software. Software is great overall except a few things

Cons:

The support team is worst both on LIve chat and ticket support. Attaching herewith screenshot of my ticket which has no reply since a long time even after doing follow up message The ticket is pending for 14 days https://www.awesomescreenshot.com/image/3999869/ef8528116c3b22509bee7119ed1bc89a