15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About JANUS

Winner of the 2017 Finance Online User Experience & Rising Star Award. JANUS is pound for pound the best cost control software.

Learn more about JANUS

Pros:

Not Available

Cons:

Not Available

JANUS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.8
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

JANUS has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 10 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (10)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Countries

Countries

Sort by

Have you used JANUS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (10)

Dr. Orlando
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Review of Janus software

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I reviewed Janus software from the view of a project controls professional with over 40 years of experience in designing, implementing and utilizing project controls software on major domestic and international projects. Janus was designed by project controls professionals with experience in many different industries with a diversified client base. I contains a very strong master equipment list module that is essential for developing a meaningful baseline budget. In addition, the software contains Management of Change modules, contingency drawdown (build up / build down), actual costs and forecast by both cost and revenue. The software also contains capability to adjust risk and confidence based on class A through D estimates. You can also adjust on labor adjustment factors as well as historical factors. Manpower budgets, actuals, and forecasts are particularly robust, allowing for a more detailed analysis as one drills down into the data. The interface is consistent between modules, consistent and clear graphics are used throughout. That approach will be extremely valuable for Clients as they roll this out to their user base.

Pros:

Comprehensive cost control software, linked to schedule, includes original budget from the estimate, through actual costs, forecasts and management of change. There is consistent interface between modules. Modules include a master equipment list, contingency drawdown, manpower, forecasts for cost and revenue, and features for risk and confidence, and labor adjustment factors. It is quite advanced for a project control system.

Cons:

I would love to see some way to link to resource and cost loaded schedules even though across industries they are not even done well.

Matt
Consultant in US
Oil & Energy, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Janus Review Matt Sawa

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have used MANY different project management systems: complex ones from SAP and Oracle, specialized ones like Primavera, as well as sundry retail and in-house systems for costing, budget tracking, and risk management and I like Janus the best. Janus is well thought out from the user perspective. It is a PM centered program, not an IT centered program. By that I mean that the interfaces are intuitive, as are the reports. Janus is very scalable as well It works great with big systems and simple spreadsheets too. For this reason it is a good fit for companies trying to implement project systems and controls as well as a great system for those who already have it. For those of us who have worked in organizations with little project discipline and focus this is a great tool to introduce to your company/ client. It is not overwhelming to use or install. This is a very well thought out, well rounded product. Another great thing about Janus is the support and the knowledge level of the support. Janus has been developed by a team of career project management people who have brought to the market the tool that we have been asking for.

Pros:

I love the usability compared to others on the market.

Cons:

I have not had any yet exactly.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Cost control

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Cost control engineer , civil work gbvfdfvg

Pros:

Accuracy in action What did you like least about this software?

Cons:

Nothing What did you like least about this software

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Drap and Drop

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Use it everyday for displaying content in our kitchens on displays showcasing company announcements.

Pros:

Very easy to use. Similar to PowerPoint or Publisher. Simple and powerful.

Cons:

Not as many features maybe as other software platforms - but they make up for that in stability and ease of use.

Jaime
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Just Right!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Janus is a wonderful tool to utilize. There are several reasons why I personally like Janus. The main reason is its user friendly format. I do not have to be computer savvy to understand and utilize the software. I do not have to have a costly personal trainer to train me on how to use the functions. This leads me to my second like; the simplicity of it. I have everything I need right in front of me and do not have to have a lot of different t-codes to learn and try to remember as I do with a software such SAP. I prefer and enjoy the ability to be able to download the reports/information to excel and have the capability to turn this to a PDF right there on the spot! The deal sealer to me is the invoicing. I am highly attracted to the capability JANUS has to send the invoice to the customer's email and the customer is able to approve from their end and I am able to track all of the movements from my side; minimizing the risk of loss invoices and lessening the payment turnaround. JANUS is just right. Not too much and definitely not too little.

Cameron
Maintenance and Reliability Engineering Manager in US
Chemicals, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

First of its kind...

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: The JANUS product allows its users to quickly, efficiently, and accurately manage project costs. In a previous project I found myself close to being over budget and edging closer to the critical path. Through the ease of the JANUS solution, I was able to target the problem areas and bring the project back on budget. The speed of JANUS allows for large projects to be entered with ease along with standard features that allow for seamless reporting and integration into excel. This product was clearly designed with the cost/project controls professional in mind.

Pros:

Speed, ease of use, and overall functionality.

Cons:

I wish it was available sooner.

Wilma
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Janus Cost Software New Technology

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Since working in Janus, I find the cost software package is a remarkable tool. It is very user friendly. The system is easy to navigate, easy to input, edit and delete information as needed. The system moves fast with little to no wait time once information has been inputted. All the information you need to keep account of your cost is all in the same area. There is no need to go to different software applications to gather information. Once you log into Janus you will see all the information you need. There are drop down tabs by title; there are subtitles that will allow you to input the information you need from (MOC's, Master Equipment List, Man Power and etc.) This program better analyzes company's cost to improve their operations and efficiency.

Samir
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Solution for Cost Control

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Janus is the cost control solution that organizations will benefit from. It takes the complexities of total cost control management and simplifies it. I have not come across a software that moves from module to module as quickly as Janus. Janus is essential to project controls and it is the most robust software I've used. Organizations now tend to rely heavily on excel spreadsheets which can be cumbersome. Janus will help you save time, increase productivity, and efficiency so that you can make better recommendations to management.

Irina
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Excellent! Fast

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: A great experience, fast and excellent in use. All users are encouraged to buy. One of the best products I have ever ordered.

Chris
Senior Manager in US
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Cost Control Made Easy

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Great product, easy to use and excellent visual management in an area that has been lacking. A large change from the traditional spreadsheet management.

Pros:

Ease of use, visual management, get away from spreadsheets, lack of true competitor

Cons:

No one knows about it.