15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Chartbeat

Web intelligence suite that helps analyze content and deliver real-time insights for digital publishing to enhance readership.

Learn more about Chartbeat

Pros:

I love how easy it's been to integrate this into our website and use it to do a/b testing on pieces even after they're published.

Cons:

I find the archival features a little difficult to get to grips with, whereas current content is simpler to harness.

Chartbeat ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

Chartbeat has an overall rating of 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 15 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (15)

Sort by

Have you used Chartbeat before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (15)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best real-time Web Analytics period

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We use chartbeat for real-time traffic analysis. It helps us understand what assets we're wining on, which need to be improved and even helps us determine more content to write based off what does well.

Pros:

The ease of use and segmentation in real-time help us truly understand our audience, reach and when it's time to freshen articles.

Cons:

I can't find much to complain about. It's a bit costly and some of our teams can't afford it.

William
Digital Content Producer in US
Online Media, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Chartbeat in the news

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, we're able to see how well stories are doing on our news site and it helps the digital team to understand what might do well and should be a higher priority.

Pros:

Analytics on where traffic is coming from and how much. It's helpful to see that a story is gaining traction to know to get a video in there before it airs on TV. The ability to look at other news stations in our company across the state, region and even the country is a great asset to fin trending topics.

Cons:

Not much to say here. It does however seem that when there are multiple authors on a story/post, Chartbeat doesn't factor them into the individual's overall views. Nothing major, just a bit of a nuisance some days.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy, powerful A/B testing

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I love how easy it's been to integrate this into our website and use it to do a/b testing on pieces even after they're published. The testing widget is very intuitive and supports a large number of variants.

Cons:

It'd be amazing if we could eliminate CERTAIN variants while they're testing without canceling the entire test. That way the remaining, stronger variants can finish faster. Adding variants mid-test could be nice too potentially but is probably a lot trickier to do/get good results for.

Cameron
sr. director in US
Sports, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Chartbeat beats ahead of Google Analytics

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This overall experience with Chartbeat has taken us off Google Analytics (not completely but close).

Pros:

The real-time dashboard is far superior to GA and also the reporting structure sent to my email on my frequency of choice on a per-author basis is the best feature it has

Cons:

The understanding of the differences to Google Analytics was difficult at first but the description and new FAQ answers helped assist that – nothing I don't like!

John
Vice President, Digital in US
Broadcast Media, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Chartbeat is an essential tool for any digital publisher

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have never been disappointed by Chartbeat. Any technical issues are quickly disclosed and resolved. Customer support is responsive, and the product is fairly priced for smaller publishers.

Pros:

Chartbeat is extremely easy to deploy, reliable and frankly indispensable. And the smartphone app is killer.

Cons:

The number and type of alerts I can set are limited, so I would like to have more options for alerting me to various trends.

Cyrus
Digital Publishing Editor in UK
Publishing, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I've always enjoyed working with Chartbeat and find their team and software to be of a high quality

Pros:

The HUD and in particular headline testing are invaluable tools in our day-to-day publishing operations

Cons:

I would love a heatmap feature which could track when and where people drop out of the page as they scroll down.

Ese
Communications Manager in US
Fund-Raising, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very helpful tool

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I like that the tool functions in real-time.

Cons:

There is no way to freeze the data as far as I can tell. It can be a bit hard on the eyes with the data constantly changing. I know this contradicts what I enjoy most, but having the option to stop the data at a given point in time would be helpful.

Mark
Business and politics editor in US
Newspapers, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My review of Chartbeat

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Chartbeat helps me understand what stories are doing well on the website and which are not. That knowledge helps me in evaluating staff and in planning future news coverage.

Pros:

It's easy to use and clearly readable. It's a great snapshot.

Cons:

I have no complaints. It does the job that I expect it to do.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

So easy a sheep could use it

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Excellent!

Pros:

It's user-friendly, easy to navigate and the data I need is very simple to see/access throughout the day.

Cons:

I can't go back and track how one particular item did on our site.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Broadcast Media, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Essential resource for digital reporters

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: As a digital reporter, Chartbeat is an essential part of my daily workflow. I use it to check the engagement on my stories from the day before, to test multiple headline options, and to see how my posts fare over the course of the day.

Pros:

Daily reports with statistics on engagement on all of my articles; real-time statistical tracking; headline testing;

Cons:

The search capabilities for past data could be a little more user-friendly

Jane
Managing editor of digital content in US
Broadcast Media, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Part of my daily workflow

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Our company uses Chartbeat and it has made such a big difference in our daily editorial content planning since we implemented it.

Cons:

I need to learn to tweak the Chartbeat alerts to only see spike alerts over a certain threshold.

Leah
Digital Producer in US
Broadcast Media, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Chartbeat is the best option for understanding web analytics

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: 10/10 would reccommend!

Pros:

I like that I can see real time data that allows me to then determine the best course of action for distribution of content.

Cons:

I wish there were more demographic categories of users.

Gareth
Content Editor in UK
Media Production, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Indispensable tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I use it every day, and it's a brilliant piece of software for my industry.

Pros:

Ease of use, at-a-glance analytics, instant data

Cons:

Can be clunky to use on occasion, would like more shortcuts

Kaley
Sustainability reporter in US
Online Media, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Here's Looking at Chartbeat

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Happy with how it's bolstered my online content and story generation. It's also critical to know how users are gained, so I can plan out my sharing on social media, etc.

Pros:

Gleaming graphics and simplified format make it easy to check (very very often) on how stories are performing.

Cons:

Jumping in and out of historical pages or author segments can be a bit full of friction.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Broadcast Media, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Chartbeat critical to digital success

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very positive overall experience and we can adapt nimbly thanks to real-time analysis

Pros:

Easy to use and integrate among the team

Cons:

I find the archival features a little difficult to get to grips with, whereas current content is simpler to harness