15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Kahoot!

Create, play and share fun learning games in minutes - for any subject, any language, any device, all ages.

Learn more about Kahoot!

Pros:

Inexpensive software and perfect for kids in school.

Cons:

For example, if students press a wrong answer by mistake while playing the game, they are not able to go back and change it before the time is up.

Kahoot! ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

Kahoot! has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 2,865 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Kahoot! before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (2,865)

César José
César José
Software Developer in Peru
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Didactic and easy to use

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It is a very well built software, which allows you to easily create content for any level of learning and present it in an easy and didactic way, which can be understood by any user, without the need for prior knowledge. In addition, the software allows you to create content from the beginning, making the learning curve short.

Cons:

Integration with other products can be a bit tricky, but it's a minor detail that can be quickly and easily overcome. In addition, the software requires a good internet quality for proper operation.

Robert
Head of IT and Deputy Head of Secondary in Uganda
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

What you want is to Kahoot!

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: For the times I have used it, I have found it appropriate and keeps students engaged. Additionally as a teacher I still have full control of the quizzes and can provide feedback with statistics to the students.

Pros:

One of the few things that the students really enjoy and for that reason I am drawn to it. That said, I have found it very easy to use and setup.

Cons:

It takes time to customise and setup the quizzes and while it has a question bank, it is always better to set up your own questions and this takes time.

Josh
Teacher in US
E-Learning, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Standard Gamification/Engagement Platform

3.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Kahoot! is a solid platform for creating excitement around content. It is easy to use, but very limited unless an upgrade is purchased. There are other platforms that allow more options, creativity, and accessible content, but Kahoot! users will not be disappointed in what they get with this program.

Pros:

Kahoot! does an excellent job of making assessment and learning exciting and fun. Simply by adding a few small features (and competition!), participants become engaged in and excited by the content. The existing library of pre-made games makes getting started a breeze; just with a quick search, users can find games that align with desired content and a game can be initiated quickly. If a user desires, Kahoot! can quickly create an account, find games, and get things started for their participants.

Cons:

Kahoot! is very limited if the premium account is not quickly purchased. If a user is willing to upgrade, Kahoot! becomes infinitely more versatile and usable. Obviously the company is looking to make a profit, but there isn't much in the way of the slow build up to the desire to upgrade. It's very "all-or-nothing" feeling.

Maggie
Account Executive in US
Broadcast Media, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Perfect for my sales role!

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Kahoot has been an absolute game-changer for me in my sales role! Its dynamic platform not only engages my clients but also makes presentations interactive and memorable. With Kahoot's extensive range of customizable quizzes and surveys, I can tailor my pitches to suit each client's needs effortlessly. The multiplayer feature adds an element of fun and competitiveness to meetings, keeping clients actively involved throughout. Furthermore, the real-time feedback feature allows me to adapt my strategies on the spot, ensuring that I address any concerns or questions immediately. In short, Kahoot has revolutionized the way I engage with clients, making every interaction impactful and effective.

Cons:

While Kahoot is an incredible tool overall, if I had to pinpoint a dislike, it would be the occasional technical glitches during high-traffic times. These hiccups can disrupt the flow of presentations or meetings, causing frustration for both myself and my clients. Though these instances are rare, they can still be inconvenient, especially when trying to make a strong impression. However, I've found that Kahoot's customer support team is responsive and works diligently to resolve any issues promptly. Despite this minor drawback, the benefits of Kahoot far outweigh this occasional inconvenience, and I continue to rely on it for engaging and impactful sales interactions.

Alina
Teacher in Romania
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kahoot - teachers like it, students love it

5.0 last week New

Comments: I love Kahoot, even a small kid can use it. It’s fun for teachers and students. Students can be more competitive specially when they have a count down

Pros:

It’s very easy to use for kids and grown ups also. As a teacher I can go for quizzes that students can easily complete specially when they use phones, laptops or computers

Cons:

Doesn’t load that quickly, sometimes requires more time to run the log ins for everyone

Henry
Waste Coordinator in UK
Civil Engineering, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic App

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall Kahoot is great, it makes learning and quizzes a lot more fun and engaging.

Pros:

This is a great app to make learning more fun, it really helps to get a group of students engaged in learning.

Cons:

I have had no problems or negatives come from using Kahoot.

Ram
Software Engineer in US
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kahoot makes learning fun

4.0 last month New

Pros:

Kahoot makes it easy to design Q&A style quizzes for easy learning for the audience. It helps to customize the questions and answers. Easy to use and prepare a quiz.

Cons:

the quiz is sometimes slow when taken under a slow internet connection. Kahoot can intelligently remove all those fancy animations and heavy graphics when taking if it finds that the user has slow internet connection speed.

Erica
Media specialist in US
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fun and engaging

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

That is kept the students engaged and competitive

Cons:

It can be hard to upload some images to the question answers.

Jenna
Teacher in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kahoot It!

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Kahoot is so easy to use as the creator and player.

Pros:

Kahoot is so engaging and fun for students! This can be used for fun, for formative assessments, and for review.

Cons:

Nothing!!! This is an amazing and useful app for my classroom.

David
Operations Manager in Ireland
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A really fun way to stay engaged with colleagues when working remotely

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Its been a real success for us. Staff love joining the monthly . Its extremely popular way to interacting now that we dont always spend time in the office

Pros:

We started using Kahoot during Covid to run team building exercises remotely and its been a firm favourite ever since. We love the variety of options available

Cons:

Nothing negative to say, its all been a very positive experience to date

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kahoot Explored

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Kahoot has brought listener response to the next level as users are hooked with its interactive display and game mode setting. Users and administrators love it because it gives instant feedback from listeners.

Pros:

Kahoot is a highly interactive way to assess knowledge using a game format. It brings out excitement with its users as the users feel they are playing a game rather than reviewing essential material. It is very easy to use, and allows the users to get immediate responses and feedback from their intended audience. The software allows the user to build a question and offer four possible answers. the user can assign a certain amount of time to each question. Students, or users get to earn points based on their correct answers and the speed at which they answered it.

Cons:

There is not o function to measure open response questions. The software is limited to only multiple choice or true and false. Also, sometimes those interacting with it aim for speed over right answers.

Miss
Student in US
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Learning Tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I absolutely love Kahoot because it is a highly interactive platform that allows for learning to be fun. It keeps students interested in learning and also allows for the teachers to be able to create reviews in an easy and effective way. Kahoot is easy to use and definitely a great value for the money. Overall, a great experience.

Pros:

Kahoot is a platform with a friendly user interface, which makes it extremely fun to use. I use this program in a lot of my classes, as it is definitely a fan favorite. Students are more engaged when it comes to learning due to how interactive a platform Kahoot is. After inputting questions based on the unit covered in class, Kahoot generates a pin that students are able to enter into the Kahoot website in order to join the game. While the game is in session, they are able to choose a color that corresponds to the answer choices on the board. Students get really excited because everyone wants to be on the leaderboard at the end of the game. Doing review questions in class without Kahoot is a hassle because nobody wants to answer the questions in fear of being wrong. However, with Kahoot, everyone is able to participate and it makes the classroom setting more lively. I especially love how Kahoot provides a graph of the student answers after they are submitted because teachers can see if how many students had trouble understanding a certain concept. This allows the teacher to explain the question further for not only the students who are having difficulty with it but also for the rest of the students in the class. Kahoot also allows students to be at different places, but still, be able to play the game which is extremely helpful during this pandemic because most students are engaged in online learning.

Cons:

While there was little to dislike about this platform, it definitely has room for improvement. For example, if students press a wrong answer by mistake while playing the game, they are not able to go back and change it before the time is up. Additionally, a feature allowing for players to submit text answers rather than just multiple choice would be extremely helpful.

Edgar
Marketing Supervisor in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Instant Fun and Functionality

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: As doing a lot of school marketing, my focus on giving the students what they enjoy and think is "cool" is important to me. Constant games of Kahoot! gave me create ideas and information on how to plan and help with our homecoming week! It keeps students interested and gives them a good time, and I get to work behind the scenes to give out school the best image in the area.

Pros:

It is so easy to create Kahoot! games, however big or detailed you want to make the game. There are plenty of options to customize your creations, and can creatively be put to use. This software is a very effective tool in polling the students of a high school, and collecting useful data from them about decisions we make marketing in the school. Obviously, there is a great use in the software for playing fun and educational games too.

Cons:

Kahoot moves fast, and the dropout rate from games is limiting in having consistent data. A lot of players can slow down the games trying to load.

Teddy
Teacher in US
Higher Education, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Student Engagement is Key

5.0 last year

Comments: My experience with kahoot has been excellent in practice in the classroom. I will continue to use kahoot in the near future

Pros:

It gives students a chance to participate in the classroom regardless of whether they are introverts or extroverts. At the end, students love using kahoot, particularly for the gaming aspect from the lesson plan

Cons:

One thing that I do not particularly like is the part that student do not use their real names while playing kahoot. As a result, it makes it difficult to track that child's progress.

ROHIT
MARKETING MANAGER in India
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

FOR QUIZ USE KAHOOT

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall experience is good ,make learning awesome

Pros:

Very easy to make quizzes, quiz are very engaging, questions are very relevant

Cons:

Software is very slow, require a high capacity RAM to load

Ryan
Ryan
Assistant Professor of Instruction in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great classroom interactivity booster

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: While Kahoot! may be one of those things that instructors might get tired of quickly, students almost always seem to enjoy using it--and there has been at least one academic study that confirms students never seem to get tired of the competition aspect of Kahoot! It almost always gets positive reviews in my classes, and so I will continue to rely on it as long as it remains free.

Pros:

If you are looking for a way to liven up classroom discussions and participations, and you haven't given Kahoot! a try, you really do owe it to yourself to test it out. Students really seem to enjoy the competitive aspect of the system, and using their smartphones as "buzzers" to answer questions. The gameplay itself can be highly customized (they recently added a number of updates and new features, including new music choices to play while students are thinking); I have used Kahoot! to facilitate exam reviews, and colleagues have used it to run reinforcement "drills" for topics ranging from bivariate correlation to identifying bacteria.

Cons:

Using your smartphone as an answering device takes some getting used to, as you have to match shapes (e.g., tap on a button with a circle to choose an answer marked with a circle) to choose your answer instead of a more "traditional" choice like A/B/C/D. Some instructors also don't care for the fact that students can choose their own username and anything goes, which can make it challenging to figure out who is responding/winning. There is also the tiniest learning curve when it comes to customization, but after a couple of uses, it's quite easy to configure.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to Use

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It works well for educational settings and you can't beat free! I prefer other products for a more professional look (but they are limited to 40 responses for free) and use another similar product instead now due to answer choices appearing on student devices and ability to create lessons.

Pros:

Kahoot is easy for anyone to use and set up everything from Review sessions to birthday quizzes.

Cons:

Having to view the choices on main screen and then select them on personal devices was awkward.

Dhanwanth
Product Reviewer in US
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kahoot: A Fun and Engaging Way to Assess Engagement and Learn

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, Kahoot is a popular and well-regarded game-based learning platform that can be a useful tool for educators and trainers looking to engage and motivate their students or employees. It should be used for quick learning and assessment as it doesn't have the most complex features to analyze user data.

Pros:

Kahoot is a fun and engaging way to review and learn, which can make it more appealing to students than traditional methods of learning. The platform is easy to use and has a user-friendly interface, making it accessible to educators and students of all ages. Kahoot allows users to create and customize their own quizzes and games, which can help make learning more personalized and relevant. Kahoot can be used in a variety of settings, including classrooms, meetings, and events, making it a versatile tool for educators and trainers.

Cons:

Kahoot requires an internet connection to use, which may be a limitation in some settings. The platform can be slow to load or experience performance issues. Kahoot is not always suitable for more advanced or complex learning content, as the focus is more on review and reinforcement rather than in-depth exploration.

Chelsea
Graphic Designer in Canada
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kahoot: one of my favourite ways to learn, teach and have fun

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: To sum up, this software is a great way to have fun and play games, but it also fosters great learning opportunities. Apart from a few glitches in the system from time to time, this software is perfect. Moreover, the fact that Kahoot is not only a website, but is also an app, makes it perfect to take on the go and have on you at all times (which is such a helpful aspect).

Pros:

The thing that I love most about this software is that users are able to create polls with different types of answers for free. I believe that it is a great way to enhance the learning process. A lot of my teachers in high school, as well as college, have used Kahoot as a way to keep us students engaged. It is a great asset to use in the method of interactive learning. Apart from using it in school, I have also used it to have fun with friends. I have created many quizzes that pertain to me and my friend group specifically which always leaves us having a good time. This leads me to the next thing that I absolutely love about this website/app: it is entirely customizable. I am able to create a quiz based on any topic I like. I also love that there is a search bar where I am able to look up any topic and find quizzes based on that topic (and these are all quizzes made by other users which I think is fantastic).

Cons:

I think the thing that I like least about this software is that it does glitch from time to time. For example, when I am answering a quiz live and I have answered a question correctly and within the allocated time given, the system will tell me that I answered the question incorrectly. However, these glitches don't happen very often which is something I am very thankful for.

Shane
Shane
Instructional Technology Facilitator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Educator - middle school science and Instructional Technology Facilitator

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Kahoot is definitely a fun way to engage your kids in questions that relate to your content. It's easy and quick to use. There's a database with tons of question sets created by other teachers, and it's simple to access these sets and use that game in your class. If you can't find what you're looking for, you can also create your own which takes very little time. It's easy for students to get into the game - no hoops to jump through. It's also a reliable webpage and interface. I've never had students stalled from accessing their website, so that's definitely helpful. Kahoot also provides you with formative data. Obviously, you wouldn't use the scores as a test grade, but it gives you an idea about student strengths, weaknesses, and gaps in knowledge. You can then use this information moving forward. The environment that's created in your class is just great, but you use it wisely. You can't play Kahoot right before kids are expected to walk quietly in the hallway or read quietly and independently. :)

Cons:

Due to the game-like environment it creates, you can't extensively rely on the data gathered from the assessment. Nor can you track individual growth over periods of time. But there are other tools designed for that, so just use Kahoot appropriately.

Dale
business development manager in UK
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A lifesaver for the educating and assessing of learners and collegues.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with kahoot has been invaluable while assessing learners prior knowledge and experience. The software is fun, inventive and engaging with everyone that uses it. The learners always enjoy doing a kahoot quiz, and is a big tick in the box when it comes to assessing and showing that you are testing learners for prior knowledge because advancing to further teaching outside of the quiz. The best forms of knowledge icebreakers I find can be easily solved with a basic quiz from kahoot, and the fact you can be up and running with pre-made quizzes around your chosen topic is so helpful and timely.

Pros:

The fact this software is free and that it offers 'pro' and 'paid' features that are just not present in other types of quiz generation software. Its all web based so no downloading required, unless you use the app with learners. Incredibily easy to setup your own quiz and equally as useful in duplicating ready made quizzes by other teachers/mentors.

Cons:

Sometimes the use of the colour/shapes to distinguish the answers chosen has been reportedly a bit confusing when the learners are trying to chose the answers and compete with each other for the best /fastest score. Its a minor observation but one that has come up a few times.

Tara
Teacher in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Engaging Review Game

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, Kahoot is a very easy review game and anyone can use it - even a substitute teacher! It’s such a compatible format! I like how it shows encouragement on the screen when students have “streaks” of correct answers, as well as when they get an answer incorrect. I like that the program can be played as an individual, or with teams. I also adore the “discover” tab that allows you to pick Kahoots that other people have created, and save and tweak them to use as you want. You can create your own quizzes to review material, or even as a fun get-to-know you activity. I like that you can duplicate others’ quizzes and favorite them to use as needed. It really is a great program for the education world. Did I mention that quizzes and games can be assigned and played during virtual teaching as well? Students can play from their homes. This really has it all!

Pros:

I adore Kahoot! because it engages my students with reviewing material through a digital interactive platform. They love the concept of “racing” each other, and I like that they also have to option to share a device and work as a team on Kahoot!. The program also lets them pick team names, which they adore.

Cons:

I don’t like that if a student accidentally logs out of Kahoot, they cannot rejoin the game like they can in other platforms.

Lisa
Instructional Technology Coach in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Kahoot - Fast Paced Fun in the Classroom

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Kahoot! allows you to review material in a fun and interactive way that works across learning platforms and helps connect virtual an in person learners.

Pros:

My students love Kahoot! They yell and cheer when I announce a Kahoot! Kahoot! offers a fun and engaging way to involve all learners (in person and remote). Students don't even know that they are learning! It is easy to search available Kahoots or to make your own. Kahoot! also makes it easy to share lessons among users in your district. Kahoot! makes it easy to import image, video, and sound files to perk up your Kahoot!

Cons:

For what it is, I do find it pricey. There are other game based programs that are cheaper, but I like Kahoot! the best.

Rafael
Rafael
Undergraduate Finalist Student in Portugal
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great quiz tool

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, my experience with Kahoot! is good and it is my favorite platform to host quizzes for my friends and family!
Despite the 10-player limit, the features of Kahoot! are endless and it has a lot of potential.
The overall experience is great, both as a user and as creator.
The platform is pretty intuitive and easy to use. I can easily recommend it to anyone!

Pros:

What I like the most about Kahoot! is its ease to use and the practical User Interface (UI). As a user, I enjoy the quizzes hosted on this software, because they are both fun and pedagogic. There are also a lot of features on the app I really appreciate, such as the library of played kahoots and their reports, the possibility to challenge other players and the emoticons are also a great add-on. As a creator, it is very easy, intuitive and fast to create a quiz and there are a lot of features and options to select when doing so.

Cons:

What I like the least about this software is the 10-player limit on the free version of Kahoot. I think it is a very low player limit, even to host a quiz for my peers and closed family. Other than that, I have no other negative point to mention. I also never faced any problem whatsoever with this software, neither did I need to contact its support team.

Roberta
technology integration specialist in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excited Learning

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My experience and the experience of my teachers who tried Kahoot has been very positive. The children really love the program, it is easy to get them into a secure setting with a code and the multiple choice format and the speed of the game really keeps them focused and having a great time. If you like fast paced, this is the program to use especially with middle school. The younger children below grade 4 were quickly frustrated as they take longer to process the questions and responses. The older children could not have enjoyed this more.

Pros:

The students can not get enough of this program. We have it installed on the iPads and the children beg to compete with each other and don't even realize they are reviewing their classwork! The excitement in the classroom is above and beyond what I experienced at their ages. Easy to use, a wealth of pre-made Kahoots to choose from, or make up your own and save for later, this program is a program to experience. The children suggested Kahoots be used as quizzes.

Cons:

I never had enough time to sit and make up my own Kahoots. With the daily routine of in class instruction I needed a lot of time to compose and save my work which I did not always have. Younger children below grade 4 could become frustrated with the speed of the game.