About HighQ

Switch on powerful workflows for legal professionals with Thomson Reuters® HighQ.

Learn more about HighQ

Pros:

I and our Firm have used HighQ Collaborate since the fall of 2014 and have found it and the support team behind it to be consistently exceptional.

Cons:

These unfortunately have to be entered individually and manually.

HighQ ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

HighQ has an overall rating of 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 16 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (16)

Sort by

Have you used HighQ before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (16)

Abigail
Associate in US
Legal Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

HighQ

5.0 last month New

Comments: I really like HighQ and it saves me time and makes working easier.

Pros:

I really like the document and email management.

Cons:

A bit hard to learn at first. I would prefer easier to learn.

Thomson Reuters Response

last month

Hi Abigail, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for HighQ! We're so happy you like the document and email management and will work on improving our onboarding for quicker learning. Your continued business with Thomson Reuters is appreciated.

David S
Sr. Business Analyst in US
Legal Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

HighQ Collaborate-Exceptional for Internal and External Team Collaboration

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: I can only provide high praise for the solution - which is simple, robust and elegant - and for support and client success representatives that we work with.

Pros:

I and our Firm have used HighQ Collaborate since the fall of 2014 and have found it and the support team behind it to be consistently exceptional. There just isn't any other solution out there that truly measures up for administrators and end-users alike. It is both robust and user friendly. We rarely have to provide end-user training for this solution and have not sacrificed but only gained functionality. Few software solutions measure up to this one.

Cons:

I promise that I am just a client and am not on the payroll for TR/HighQ. This solution has very few flaws and TR/HighQ support does a fantastic job of listening to their clients and providing regular updates that are based on user community recommendations. They have excellent systems for this which include an online dev community and a solid knowledgebase that can be searched and referenced. That being said - there is one thing that I still wish they would get right... When creating a "choice list" for an iSheet there isn't an easy way to add a long list of items (something that SharePoint lists do exceptionally well). This would be beneficial if you wanted to create a list of 50 states for a choice list or if you had a client that had 100's of facilities that you wanted to make available in a choice list drop menu. These unfortunately have to be entered individually and manually. Also when adding a new entry (e.g. if a client acquires a new facility) the admin has to add it to the bottom of the list and then manually sort it up to its proper alpha-order spot in the long choice list. These tasks can be time consuming but are usually rare and one-off activities. While they are annoying - they are miniscule concerns and the massive benefits of this tool far outshine these small burrs.

Thomson Reuters Response

7 months ago

Hi David - Thank you for your positive review of HighQ! It's great to hear that our solution is intuitive for your end-users to reduce the need for training. We will pass along your helpful feedback for a more simplified iSheet "choice list" experience to the product team. We appreciate your continued partnership and for being a valued Thomson Reuters HighQ customer.

Abaan
Apprentice Paralagel in UK
Legal Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Important

4.0 last month New

Comments: Good, price and other aspects can improve.

Pros:

Convenience, easy to use, easy to collaborate

Cons:

Problems incurred when offline, pricing is high

Thomson Reuters Response

last month

Hi Abaan, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for HighQ! Your continued business with Thomson Reuters is appreciated.

Emily
Program Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Can't live without it!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our overall experience has been hugely valuable to our department. It has saved our team hundreds and hundreds of hours over the years and we can't imagine going back to the way we worked before.

Pros:

We use this software to automate client intake and to generate Official Rules for game promotions. It has enabled our team to handle our large workload in a faster, more efficient, and streamlined way than ever before. We love being able to have a plain-language, easy to understand, questionnaire that still gets us the information we need to populate legal documentation and our clients love it too! Utilizing business rules for different templates allows us to calibrate and spot higher-risk legal issues and ensure we are spending our time on higher business value programs.

Cons:

We have had a great experience with Contract Express and there really aren't many negatives. To new users, I would say that the coding can take some time to learn if you are going to do it yourself. There are also some limitations in the design/flow/customization of the questionnaire but it's things that would be more "nice to have" and are not a requirement to using this software successfully.

Thomson Reuters Response

3 years ago

Dear Ms. Peck, Thank you or your glowing review of Contract Express! We are elated to hear the software has enabled greater efficiency for you internally and for your clients as well. Thank you for being a valued Contract Express customer!

Maria
Senior Paralegal in US
Internet, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great software!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Digital River has very complicated contracts. This tool has helped us and our sales team more easily, efficiently, and quickly generate their own contracts, with all of the right reviews and approvals to ensure full compliance.

Pros:

The ability to (1) easily generate complex contracts; (2) the negotiation feature to ensure all changes are caught and accounted for; (3) the manner in which generated contracts are able to be routed for approval to different individuals/teams, if/when it is required; and (4) the great help and support from their customer service team.

Cons:

It is a little difficult to learn how to create contract templates without some training.

Thomson Reuters Response

3 years ago

Hello Ms. Kouchis, Thank you very much for your positive review of Contract Express. We are delighted to hear it's been instrumental in self service contract creation while ensuring compliance as well! Thank you for being a valued customer!

Rachael
Associate General Counsel in US
Consumer Goods, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Worth it for small law departments

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very positive experience! We are doing work of a senior paralegal/junior attorney through automation and administration by a legal assistant. Highly efficient and once heavy lifting on automation was complete, easy to implement with users as very user friendly.

Pros:

I know that the contracts being signed are done properly without attorney oversight. I can spend my time doing actual drafting work vs. more administrative customization work. Made contracting more self-service to the business and will continue to implement this more over time. High version control and easy to update standard language and know the next contract to be signed will include it without version control issues and training the business.

Cons:

Wish there were more contract management features for organizing and managing existing executed agreements. Had to complete work around through Datasheets.

Thomson Reuters Response

3 years ago

Hi Rachael, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for Contract Express! It's fantastic to hear that document automation is freeing up your time for higher value activities and standardizing your document creation process. Thank you for giving the software a try and for being a valued customer! Best Regards.

Marya
Director of Innovation Technology in US
Law Practice, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

HighQ is Easy to Use and Very Versatile

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: We are building client-centered sites for all of our company clients. We also plan to use this as our intranet and extranet.

Pros:

Super easy to use and feature rich. Good customer support. Versatile, no-code software.

Cons:

We'd like to see better integration with our legal document management system, more versatility in the dta visualizations.

Thomson Reuters Response

5 months ago

Hi Marya - Thank you for your great HighQ review! We're pleased to hear that the solution is versatile and easy to use. We will pass along your helpful feedback regarding better legal document management system integration to the product team. We appreciate your continued partnership and for being a valued Thomson Reuters HighQ customer.

Robert
IT Director in US
Law Practice, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Contract Express - Best Document Automation Out There

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We're capable of generating estate planning document packages that can contain up to 15 documents and total more than 200 pages, and they're all driven by a single questionnaire within Contract Express. The days of manually assembling complex documents are over.

Pros:

Contract Express makes it very easy to automate documents. You can program small, simple documents in a very short amount of time. It's so intuitive that your average power user could learn how to automate a document in 20 minutes, so not every project requires someone with programming experience. However, the software is also capable of scaling up to handle complex, multi-document packages with complex branching logic as well.

Cons:

This is a minor quibble, but the documentation at the time (back in 2016) was somewhat lacking. While their training and support teams were amazing and responsive, we sometimes just wanted to dive in and read a manual and learn for ourselves, but we had a tough time finding the answers we needed without getting a person on the phone.

Thomson Reuters Response

3 years ago

Dear Mr. Sawyer, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a favorable review for Contract Express. It's great to know that you've successfully scaled the software to suit your needs and have experienced major efficiency gains as a result. We are thrilled to hear you call it the best document automation out there! Thank you for being a valued Contract Express customer!

Adelina
Trainee Solicitor in UK
Law Practice, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 2 days ago New

Comments: Great experience

Pros:

Accessibility; it is also very intuitive to use

Cons:

It crashed once but this may be an end user problem rather than a system wide issue

Anna
Attorney in US
Law Practice, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Decide

5.0 last month New

Comments: Pretty good, no complaints

Pros:

Integration is easy. I think it works well

Cons:

Understanding is difficult. It can be hard to figure out

Prasun
IT PM in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cisco Legal’s go to tool for templates

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very happy with the tool as we use this with our home grown solution to serve Legal community for various use cases.

Pros:

Ease of use, setup, flexibility, cost & available features

Cons:

Need UX improvement and more robust workflow and repository management

Thomson Reuters Response

3 years ago

Dear Mr. Kumar, Thank you for your positive review of Contract Express. We are happy to hear that it's been a great solution serving the legal community in our organization. Thank you for being a valued customer for Contract Express!

Jason
Senior Shareholder in US
Legal Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A must have technology

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

This software is a must have for any law firm or in-house legal department. It is well designed, functions without material flaw, and continues to be improved. It materially increases the speed and accuracy of contract deployment and that is just the begining.

Cons:

The written knowledge base/manual could and should be improved.

Thomson Reuters Response

3 years ago

Dear Mr. Stone, Thank you very much for your positive review of Contract Express. We are elated to hear you refer to it as "must have software". I will pass along your request for a better knowledge base user manual to the product team. Thank you for being a valued customer! Best Regards.

Chris
Senior Paralegal in US
Investment Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

HighQ Review

4.0 7 months ago

Pros:

We developed our HighQ program almost 2 years ago and we have found it extremely valuable as we transitioned to a remote work environment. It allows our department to enter tasks and assign them to specific individuals and to follow the workflow. We also have set up Templates/Forms and that has been very useful.

Cons:

The creation/implementation process was frustrating at times.

Amelia
Legal Editor and Document Automation Specialist in US
Legal Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

So far, so great!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have only been using ContractExpress for about 2 months, but it has been extremely beneficial in helping our customers streamline creating forms for their clients. Looking forward to many more months!

Pros:

The customer service has always been second to none. I've sent over a handful of questions, and I always get a response back the same day!

Cons:

Using this software was a steep learning curve for me, but with only a couple of hours of training, I caught on very quickly.

Thomson Reuters Response

3 years ago

Hello Ms. Finch, Thank you for your review of Contract Express. We are delighted to hear out customer service has been great and that you've been able to learn how to use the software quickly. Thank you for being a valued Contract Express customer!

Steve
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Excellent Product

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: In terms of bang for the buck, this product, can't be beat. It is easy to use, has timely and relevant information and on the rare occasion that we need support, the customer service has been extremely helpful.

Chris
attorney in US
Law Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Decent product

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: It takes a while to learn to use

Pros:

Has some advantages, but overall it has a learning curve.

Cons:

It can be pricy for what you get, but you need to use all features for the price.