Veeam Backup & Replication Reviews

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Veeam Backup & Replication

Comprehensive enterprise backup solution for all workloads, combining data protection for backups, replicas, storage snapshots and CDP.

Learn more about Veeam Backup & Replication

Showing 34 reviews

Chris C.
Chris C.
Systems Engineer
Law Practice, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018

"Great Backup & DR Software for the Datacenter"

Comments: A great backup system that allows us to recover data when needed and required. It allows us to retain backups on-site and offsite for recovery including replicated jobs.

Pros: The current software - Version 9.5 Update 3 covers the needs for any user of the software. You can use the Windows/Linux Agents for physical boxes and manage them directly from the Console now, which includes updating, installing and rebooting of the endpoint. The software is easy to navigate and set up. While true it is mainly for virtual environments they are making strides to cover physical as well. Storage Integration is a great plus with vendors like HPE Nimble, IBM, and Infinidat but requires the Enterprise Plus license. When deployed with Proxy Servers you can cut down backup times drastically. What would take more than 10+ hours can be reduced to 4-5 depending on your environment. The ability to restore to Active Directory, SQL, Exchange is very easy with the software as well as Replication and Recovery Testing with SureBackup. Be sure to review the licensing models to pick what is best for your organization as they even have a Free Edition with limitations. Support is top notch with this product and very responsive. Never had a ticket opened that could not be solved or take a long time to resolution.

Cons: The user interface could use some updating to something more modern like some Windows 10 applications.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018
Verified Reviewer
Administrador de sistemas y Desarollo de Software
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019

"The complete backup to keep data"

Pros: This is the ultimate software, have many features including orchestator.

Cons: The learning curve is slow because the software have many ways to solve one problem, in our case we did 3 variants to store an virtual machine in amazon s3.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019
David K.
David K.
System Engineer
Computer Hardware, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2019

"Veeam availability suite"

Comments: Backup and restore made easy

Pros: easy to deploy
Creating backup jobs in few clicks
Easy to operate -dose not require deep understanding of backup

Cons: i haven't seen any negative about this backup suite

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2019
Joshua H.
Joshua H.
Lead Systems Administrator
Media Production, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/07/2021

"Great Administration Controls and Improved Linux Operation in Backup & Replication v11"

Comments: I use this to manage backups of office-facing and production servers in a non-profit business. We have less than 10 servers to care for and the free Community Edition is perfect. I have found the features and reporting to be robust. Practicing restores is no trouble. I have never needed vendor support to operate or configure this Veeam Backup & Replication - it works well and has good documentation!

Pros: Before version 11 the features available to manage Linux backups were a subset of the features available to manage Windows backups. Windows only allowed one backup job per Linux Infrastructure Object and I found myself configuring the backup settings from the Linux command line. Now I can make two backup jobs for the Linux box that are completely managed from the Veeam server interface. Many other features are also available now. I have not used the CDP feature for virtual operating systems, yet it is promising.

Cons: There is a module to export a backup and the wizard doesn't let the operator specify the destination of the export. It is sent to the backup repository on which the backups are made for the job. I would like to specify the location during the wizard.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/07/2021
Matthew G.
IT Systems Supervisor
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2021

"Veeam Backup & Replication Suite is the best backup tool I have ever used hands-down!"

Comments: This is an excellent backup solution. We struggled before this product and are thankful that we found something that is so easy to manage and maintain.

Pros: Veeam is so intuitive, I don't know how to express how simple it is to set up backup jobs that run on a regular basis and GFS backups are now super easy to create and impliment.

Cons: Some of the errors that we get are cryptic from Veeam and I wish that they made a little more sense off the bat when you see them to clearly understand what went wrong, but support is fantastic from veeam, so I can't complain too much here.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2021
Adrian M.
Adrian M.
Senior Storage Engineer
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2018

"I'm an architect using veeam"

Comments: proper backups on time

Pros: Veeam provides highly configurable total backups that integrate into VMware seamlessly, also provides the ability to replicate whole VMs back to our central data center has both web based and Windows desktop clients. and integration with the major enterprise storage in the market

Cons: So far I don't have any complain with the tool, if you setup well it will work as a charm, even updating is so easy

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Consultor Senior en Telecomunicaciones
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2018

"The Best Backup Solution for Virtualization"

Pros: Best Features, Tape Integration, many ways to restore backups, Replications and Disaster Recovery option, Easy to install and configure.

Cons: The Physical Backup Solution is not integratedwith the Suite yet, and is some difficult to use, dosn't exists P2V conversion too

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
System Administrator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/12/2017

"Best VM backup software I have used so far."

Pros: It's easy to use, quick. Has native support for many storage solutions. Very good technical support. Since version 8 it's very stable software.

Cons: Some strange behaviors on the gui console with scrolls. Not many possibilities to customize the console.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/12/2017
Grant B.
IT Manager
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017

"Backups for virtual machines made simple and effective"

Pros: Intelligent and automated installation. Detected NAS/SAN device without intervention. Backup setup easy and straightforward.

Cons: Their agent software (for backup loads that are not VM's) can use the same storage, but are managed on each endpoint. Also, there is no way to backup NAS devices that are shared on multiple standalone servers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017
Patrick M.
IT Application Developer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017

"Veeam Review"

Pros: It just works, literally. Veeam integrates very well with existent system architecture. Clean and simple user interface.

Cons: Veeam does not support BTRF file systems. Light sensing model could get a little expensive or overpriced.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017
Rajesh K.
Rajesh K.
SYSTEM Administrator
Computer & Network Security, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2021

"Perfect application for backup and DR replication"

Pros: Baremetal replication of server and easy to recover in case of failure

Cons: Reporting and dashboard to keep regular monitoring

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2021
Suleyman A.
N/A
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2017

"Excellent backup tool"

Pros: Ease of use and offers a tremendous amount of flexibility when it comes to backup media.Recoverability, knowledge base, support, etc are all in very high level.

Cons: There isn't much to dislike, it's a solid product.Although, The support used to be an issue but recently seems to be much improved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2017
Verified Reviewer
IT Support
Printing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2021

"Best Backup Solution for VMware Environment"

Comments: Great product that does not require a lot of maintenance. As long as the backup repository is available and there is enough disk space, you won't usually run into any issues.

Pros: It is very user friendly and easy to learn. It is great in taking full backups and incremental backups of the virtual machines whether servers or desktops. It has a lot of features that are very useful including being able to restore from different applications and databases.

Cons: No complaints really with Veeam. It works perfectly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2021
Johannes R.
Sysadmin
Computer Networking, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019

"I can finally sleep well again"

Comments: Having used several products in the past (NTBackup, Windows Backup, Backup Exec, Acronis, vRanger, Networker) I never really had the feeling that one of these products really is there for me when things get really worse. With Veeam I have a feeling that they got my back. I can finally sleep well again when I think about my clients and my data.

Pros: I like very much that Veeam just works. Even when you install it without applying any further configuration (except what you really need, remote server and credentials) you end up with a proper backup. One of the best features is that the backup files are self contained. Even if you recover them from a broken backup server, or if your configuration is not working/readable/available again, you will be able to recover your stuff.
The support is also great. While it could be a bit quicker in responses (for not very important tickets), they are doing a good job. I never had to escalate a ticket, every rep was very capable.

Cons: It is quite bloated. The download has several gigabytes, which is quite big for a backup software in my opinion.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019
Mike J.
IT Support Administrator
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2017

"Fast and easy to use. Quick to set up. Update processes are quick and painless."

Comments: Perfect solution for backing up locally, to tape, to DR, and to Amazon GS.

Pros: Tech team is knowledgeable and friendly. Quick to respond. Will follow-up on all cases. Software works well, and easy to manage. Clients can be installed for even further management and monitoring capability. Really easy to get a job configured and running.

Cons: About the only issue I have found thus far is how difficult it can be to stop jobs should they ever become stuck. Have to stop the Veeam service, then start it again. Stopping "Gracefully" or "Immediately" will not do anything.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2017
Verified Reviewer
Director of Information Technology
Public Safety, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2020

"Has lots of capabilities"

Comments: The Suite of products from Veeam are great and work well. As we've migrated from mostly in-premise to the cloud, we have continued to use other products in the suite for business continuity and disaster recovery. Veeam has always worked well with multiple products.

Pros: Can backup Office365, Azure, and AWS instances. Very easy to use and setup. Restores are quick and easy to schedule.

Cons: Can only use limited types of storage on the backend. Can be difficult to do the inisital backups, especially if you have a lot of data in the cloud already.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2020
Brandon M.
System Administrator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2018

"A competent VMWare focused backup suite"

Comments: Veeam is an excellent DR tool with good native understanding of application specific backup items. Works great for backups with no more than 60 or so copies.

Pros: First party tools for native understanding of application items, such as exchange, active directory, SQL, SharePoint, etc. These work very well
Backups are reliable and simple to setup.

Cons: No legal/compliance copies.
Not a great tool for long term archival, really works better with shorter retention times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2018
Verified Reviewer
System Administrator
Logistics & Supply Chain, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2018

"Single Pane of Glass"

Comments: Having no issues so far with anything Veeam has to offer.

Pros: The single pane of glass aspect of having One and B&R.

Cons: Pricing is a bit of a jab in your side once they changed to a per core model.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2018
James H.
Supervisor of Information Technology
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2021

"Veeam exceeded my expectations"

Comments: Veeam was easy to setup, it's easy to use, and restoring entire Virtual Machines or even restoring things at the file level is very fast and easy to do.

Pros: Veeam is so easy to use that even things that seem abstract or complex are actually fairly simple to setup. I'm using a plugin to interface my Veeam appliance to my physical storage to orchestrate backups, site-to-site replication and also have a virtual tape library setup. I implemented all of this within one day and my backups kicked off and ran flawlessly on the first night.

Cons: It was a bit complicated to emulate an "air gapped" backup process. Using a virtual tape library and unmounting the tapes when done was the best approximation I could implement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2021
Daniel G.
Platform Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/08/2021

"Rock solid backup product"

Pros: Veeam is an excellent product for managing backups. It's easy to use with a robust feature set. There's a bit of a learning curve, but once you master it, it's critical for supporting your business. Every customer service interaction I have had with them has been professional and productive. We backup thousands of vms daily and have only ever had a handful of issues.

Cons: Error messages can be a bit unintuitive to track down and mediate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/08/2021
Verified Reviewer
Customer Success Manager
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2021

"Reliable cloud backup system"

Comments: After suffering from losing information that was in various local backup systems, it was decided to use this excellent solution in the cloud, which generated significant cost savings and allowed us to recover information when we need it without inconvenience or delay.

Pros: The best thing about the Veem Back Up system in the cloud is that it allows access to them from any device and at any time, only with internet access. In addition, it generates significant cost savings, because local servers with their corresponding maintenance are not required.

Cons: The disadvantage that I can mention is that it does not have a system that optimizes the time necessary for the first data migration. If you have a lot of information, it takes a lot of time. But this is very common in this type of service.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2021
Dan D.
Systems Administrator
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2017

"Veeam is nothing short of excellent"

Comments: It is extremely easy to work with once you get terminology and settings down. Some of the major benefits I can think of are Outlook email recovery, File Recovery, backups (both local and cloud), easy to read reports, stellar support team.

Pros: The interface is easy to navigate.
You can get stats on all of your backup jobs.
You can integrate with cloud providers.
You can test your backups with SureBackup.
You can do File Level Restores to restore individual files.
Their support team is top notch. We recently had a SAN outage and they saved our bacon by being able to get a DC backup functioning again after jumping through multiple hoops.

Cons: Things can be a bit overwhelming as far as the options for backups.
Does take a bit of learning to understand terminology, though they provide training :)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2017
Christopher S.
Network Engineer
Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2017

"Veeam has a been a very great addition to our team. Very easy to setup and use."

Comments: Easy to perform backups. Easy to restore from backups. Easy to implement software and servers. My old backup system was hard to restore from and would take awhile. Veeam is quick to restore from backup.

Pros: Very easy to one click and spin up a backup if a server dies. I also love how if you need more space you can very simply attach storage.

Cons: some updates are not as easy to preform as stated. Sometimes when running updates its not as straight forward as they said.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2017
Alex V.
Senior Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/01/2018

"The only complete backup & replication solution"

Pros: Complete backup & replication solution, with the possibility to backup storage snapshots. SO backup will be done thru the VEEAM console. Replication between sites and it comes with Veeam ONE monitoring.

Cons: It is not the most cheap solution, but for Enterprise business with enterprise storage this is the product to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
SYSTEM ENGINEER
Banking, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2019

"Great Backup and Replication application"

Pros: Extremely excellent application in terms of ease of use.

Cons: I can not say very well for corporate firms as performance.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2019