Veeam Backup & Replication Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.9 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.8 /5

About Veeam Backup & Replication

Comprehensive enterprise backup solution for all workloads, combining data protection for backups, replicas, storage snapshots and CDP.

Learn more about Veeam Backup & Replication

Showing 27 reviews

Emil H.
Head of IT
Facilities Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2017

"Excellent backup solution for any SMB"

Comments: Very fast recovery time for any DR solution.

Pros: The biggest pros of this backup solution is its diversity of platform which it can backup. Based on the license bought you can backup any VmWare or Hyper-V virtual machine but it also features a client that can be installed on any platform and can do the file level backup. The coolest feature is the restore where you can using the client do the restore within the machine itself and go back to all available restore points and have many version of the same file that you want to restore. It supports the backup of the SQL databases within the VM itself and it is also prefer for the backup of Microsoft Exchange as it can pull out for example only the desired email from any specific mailbox which is a big plus.

Cons: The solution it self is not cheap but it is justified with the professional support who, except contacting you via the email, also gives you a phone call if they dont get the replay from you any time soon. Other con is that it really requires a lot of HDD space, but then it is an enterprise level backup solution so this is self understandable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2017
Verified Reviewer
Implementation & Support Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/02/2021

"Monitor your application servers"

Pros: with this tool, we ensured the availability and performance of our application servers.

Cons: it requires more feature upgrades and needs to upgrade its UI for a better user experience.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/02/2021
Brenten L.
Freelancer
Online Media, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/01/2021

"Simply the Best"

Comments: It has a lot of functionality beyond just backing up like creating virtual labs that you can run experiments on. Every time I needed to get back up and running it did a great job and was seamless. I really like instant restore feature.

Pros: I don’t know where to start, it has amazing tools for gettin files and putting them back whether on exchange or in the directory. The real power is in being able to start up servers/ PCs and run off of them while recovering. Additionally the offsite backup functionality is really impressive. This software can do it all and it never let me down once.

Cons: It’s a little expensive up front for small companies. It’s also a little hard to do offsite backups without enterprise.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/01/2021
Luke K.
Server Administrator/ RMM Technician
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2018

"Veeam Availability Suite is a useful software package for Backups and DR that works well."

Comments: Security and peace of mind for security and retention of data.

Pros: The ease of installation and use, easy configuration and minimal setup time makes this software our choice for MSP customers. We have found it to be reliable and consistent, with many different customers all using the software in different setups. Recovery from the file/folder level all the way up to the Entire VM restoration is easy to understand and perform.

Cons: Price tag is a little hefty for some customers, but overall is usually on par with other similar software. However there are options out there from Veeam to help mitigate the cost if needed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2018
Bjarke V.
Head of IT while doing Network Security Engineer / Systems administrator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2018

"Top shelf enterprise backup and recovery solution"

Pros: The ease of use of this product suite is OUTSTANDING. By far the quickest to learn and use of any of the many different solution we have tried out over the years. This one is the keeper.
Scheduling and chaining of jobs works like a charm. So little overhead in managing the backups and recovery.

Cons: If I were to point to anything it would be the lack of integration with Dell SAN systems, but I'm sure that will be sorted in a future release.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2018
Tim T.
System Administrator
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2017

"Worry-free backups that function and do not break at random!"

Pros: We are able to backup our VMs (and copy to the cloud) without trouble. Once the backups are configured, it has run flawlessly every single time. Our previous backup software would just break for no discernible reason at random, and its support could never figure it out. Veeam consistently works without issue.

Cons: No backup for physical servers as part of the base product. You can purchase it separately, though...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2017
Nuno O.
IT Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2017

"Top of the tops backup tool"

Pros: Excellent support by Veeam. Simple and intuitive interface. With few clicks the backup job is done. Full reports from the jobs. Recoverability is really quick and effective.

Cons: The price is a little high if you have a big structure implemented but for a solution that has all you need i can complain

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2017
Jannifer T.
Senior Marketing Specialist
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2019

"World renowned product with tons of benefits"

Comments: Overall data backup efficiency of this product is favorable for any type of company and also it’s a great tool that balances my workflow by different ways.

Pros: For me this application is a great blessing that totally backups all my integral files and folders within just few clicks. Furthermore, it offers excellent reporting features that are effective to update me about the present condition of my workflow.

Cons: Each and every feature of this product is highly beneficial. I failed to find any drawback in it. So there is not anything to be like least about it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2019
Miguel angel J.
SE
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2018

"Very good to only virtualized enviroments"

Pros: fast and reliable scalability at your fingertips for all VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V VMs, individual files and application elements, offering low recovery point objectives (RTOs)

Cons: RTOs and RPOs are only short for 100% consolidated and virtualized environments, and there is no integration with OVM, Linux Redhat or Nutanix

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2018
Chris C.
Systems Engineer
Law Practice, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018

"Great Backup & DR Software for the Datacenter"

Comments: A great backup system that allows us to recover data when needed and required. It allows us to retain backups on-site and offsite for recovery including replicated jobs.

Pros: The current software - Version 9.5 Update 3 covers the needs for any user of the software. You can use the Windows/Linux Agents for physical boxes and manage them directly from the Console now, which includes updating, installing and rebooting of the endpoint. The software is easy to navigate and set up. While true it is mainly for virtual environments they are making strides to cover physical as well. Storage Integration is a great plus with vendors like HPE Nimble, IBM, and Infinidat but requires the Enterprise Plus license. When deployed with Proxy Servers you can cut down backup times drastically. What would take more than 10+ hours can be reduced to 4-5 depending on your environment. The ability to restore to Active Directory, SQL, Exchange is very easy with the software as well as Replication and Recovery Testing with SureBackup. Be sure to review the licensing models to pick what is best for your organization as they even have a Free Edition with limitations. Support is top notch with this product and very responsive. Never had a ticket opened that could not be solved or take a long time to resolution.

Cons: The user interface could use some updating to something more modern like some Windows 10 applications.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018
Verified Reviewer
Administrador de sistemas y Desarollo de Software
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019

"The complete backup to keep data"

Pros: This is the ultimate software, have many features including orchestator.

Cons: The learning curve is slow because the software have many ways to solve one problem, in our case we did 3 variants to store an virtual machine in amazon s3.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019
David K.
System Engineer
Computer Hardware, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2019

"Veeam availability suite"

Comments: Backup and restore made easy

Pros: easy to deploy
Creating backup jobs in few clicks
Easy to operate -dose not require deep understanding of backup

Cons: i haven't seen any negative about this backup suite

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2019
Dan D.
Systems Administrator
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2017

"Veeam is nothing short of excellent"

Comments: It is extremely easy to work with once you get terminology and settings down. Some of the major benefits I can think of are Outlook email recovery, File Recovery, backups (both local and cloud), easy to read reports, stellar support team.

Pros: The interface is easy to navigate.
You can get stats on all of your backup jobs.
You can integrate with cloud providers.
You can test your backups with SureBackup.
You can do File Level Restores to restore individual files.
Their support team is top notch. We recently had a SAN outage and they saved our bacon by being able to get a DC backup functioning again after jumping through multiple hoops.

Cons: Things can be a bit overwhelming as far as the options for backups.
Does take a bit of learning to understand terminology, though they provide training :)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2017
Christopher S.
Network Engineer
Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2017

"Veeam has a been a very great addition to our team. Very easy to setup and use."

Comments: Easy to perform backups. Easy to restore from backups. Easy to implement software and servers. My old backup system was hard to restore from and would take awhile. Veeam is quick to restore from backup.

Pros: Very easy to one click and spin up a backup if a server dies. I also love how if you need more space you can very simply attach storage.

Cons: some updates are not as easy to preform as stated. Sometimes when running updates its not as straight forward as they said.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2017
Alex V.
Senior Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/01/2018

"The only complete backup & replication solution"

Pros: Complete backup & replication solution, with the possibility to backup storage snapshots. SO backup will be done thru the VEEAM console. Replication between sites and it comes with Veeam ONE monitoring.

Cons: It is not the most cheap solution, but for Enterprise business with enterprise storage this is the product to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
SYSTEM ENGINEER
Banking, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2019

"Great Backup and Replication application"

Pros: Extremely excellent application in terms of ease of use.

Cons: I can not say very well for corporate firms as performance.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2019
Suleyman A.
N/A
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2017

"Excellent backup tool"

Pros: Ease of use and offers a tremendous amount of flexibility when it comes to backup media.Recoverability, knowledge base, support, etc are all in very high level.

Cons: There isn't much to dislike, it's a solid product.Although, The support used to be an issue but recently seems to be much improved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2017
Verified Reviewer
Director of Information Technology
Public Safety, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2020

"Has lots of capabilities"

Comments: The Suite of products from Veeam are great and work well. As we've migrated from mostly in-premise to the cloud, we have continued to use other products in the suite for business continuity and disaster recovery. Veeam has always worked well with multiple products.

Pros: Can backup Office365, Azure, and AWS instances. Very easy to use and setup. Restores are quick and easy to schedule.

Cons: Can only use limited types of storage on the backend. Can be difficult to do the inisital backups, especially if you have a lot of data in the cloud already.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2020
Johannes R.
Sysadmin
Computer Networking, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019

"I can finally sleep well again"

Comments: Having used several products in the past (NTBackup, Windows Backup, Backup Exec, Acronis, vRanger, Networker) I never really had the feeling that one of these products really is there for me when things get really worse. With Veeam I have a feeling that they got my back. I can finally sleep well again when I think about my clients and my data.

Pros: I like very much that Veeam just works. Even when you install it without applying any further configuration (except what you really need, remote server and credentials) you end up with a proper backup. One of the best features is that the backup files are self contained. Even if you recover them from a broken backup server, or if your configuration is not working/readable/available again, you will be able to recover your stuff.
The support is also great. While it could be a bit quicker in responses (for not very important tickets), they are doing a good job. I never had to escalate a ticket, every rep was very capable.

Cons: It is quite bloated. The download has several gigabytes, which is quite big for a backup software in my opinion.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019
Mike J.
IT Support Administrator
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2017

"Fast and easy to use. Quick to set up. Update processes are quick and painless."

Comments: Perfect solution for backing up locally, to tape, to DR, and to Amazon GS.

Pros: Tech team is knowledgeable and friendly. Quick to respond. Will follow-up on all cases. Software works well, and easy to manage. Clients can be installed for even further management and monitoring capability. Really easy to get a job configured and running.

Cons: About the only issue I have found thus far is how difficult it can be to stop jobs should they ever become stuck. Have to stop the Veeam service, then start it again. Stopping "Gracefully" or "Immediately" will not do anything.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2017
Brandon M.
System Administrator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2018

"A competent VMWare focused backup suite"

Comments: Veeam is an excellent DR tool with good native understanding of application specific backup items. Works great for backups with no more than 60 or so copies.

Pros: First party tools for native understanding of application items, such as exchange, active directory, SQL, SharePoint, etc. These work very well
Backups are reliable and simple to setup.

Cons: No legal/compliance copies.
Not a great tool for long term archival, really works better with shorter retention times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2018
Verified Reviewer
System Administrator
Logistics & Supply Chain, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2018

"Single Pane of Glass"

Comments: Having no issues so far with anything Veeam has to offer.

Pros: The single pane of glass aspect of having One and B&R.

Cons: Pricing is a bit of a jab in your side once they changed to a per core model.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2018
Adrian M.
Senior Storage Engineer
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2018

"I'm an architect using veeam"

Comments: proper backups on time

Pros: Veeam provides highly configurable total backups that integrate into VMware seamlessly, also provides the ability to replicate whole VMs back to our central data center has both web based and Windows desktop clients. and integration with the major enterprise storage in the market

Cons: So far I don't have any complain with the tool, if you setup well it will work as a charm, even updating is so easy

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Consultor Senior en Telecomunicaciones
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2018

"The Best Backup Solution for Virtualization"

Pros: Best Features, Tape Integration, many ways to restore backups, Replications and Disaster Recovery option, Easy to install and configure.

Cons: The Physical Backup Solution is not integratedwith the Suite yet, and is some difficult to use, dosn't exists P2V conversion too

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
System Administrator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/12/2017

"Best VM backup software I have used so far."

Pros: It's easy to use, quick. Has native support for many storage solutions. Very good technical support. Since version 8 it's very stable software.

Cons: Some strange behaviors on the gui console with scrolls. Not many possibilities to customize the console.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/12/2017