Veeam Backup & Replication Reviews

4.9 (44) Write a Review!

About Veeam Backup & Replication

Comprehensive enterprise backup solution for all workloads, combining data protection for backups, replicas, storage snapshots and CDP.

Learn more about Veeam Backup & Replication

Pros:

Can backup Office365, Azure, and AWS instances. Very easy to use and setup.

Cons:

The new licensing model is difficult to migrate to for those customers on STD and ENT existing agreements.

Veeam Backup & Replication ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.8
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

Veeam Backup & Replication has an overall rating of 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 44 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Veeam Backup & Replication before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (44)

Chandra K.
Chandra K.
Data Management Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Secure and fast data backup.

5.0 last month New

Comments: The best protection experience is obtained in Veeam Backup & Replication, it is unmatched by other alternatives on the market, we know how to use it and the protection is automated.

Pros:

We know that to have a security and disaster protection system you need Veeam, it is so easy to use that it only needs to be installed and Veeam's automated functions take care of backing up information from different endpoints on Windows and Linux. The ability to protect against ransomware is phenomenal, although it is not the only disaster protection software we use but I can say that it is the most robust, to finish I want to mention that the configuration is also simple.

Cons:

I have no complaints to mention about Veeam Backup & Replication, with this software everything has always been perfect, it is not our only alternative but it is the one that best suits our protection needs.

Taryn F.
Taryn F.
Software Licensing Specialist in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Veeam Backup & Replication is our still our go-to backup software in the SMB/SMC customer base.

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Veeam local support for new business is outstanding.
Renewal support is not local, but is sufficient.
Overall, VBR is a great product, and used in the majority of our customer base.

Pros:

Veeam Ent Plus licensing is an end-to-end solution. Very easy to install, setup and use. Excellent local support.

Cons:

The new licensing model is difficult to migrate to for those customers on STD and ENT existing agreements. Pricing has increased drastically for the "Per VM" model. No agent licensing for small sites with standalone servers.

Verified Reviewer
Assistant Manager IT Systems in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Backup for Virtualize Envoirement

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: I am using Veeam software for long as it is the one of the best and user friendly backup software available in market. We can modify and customize too much with its built-in option and features.
it has almost all modern features which is required by System Administrator so it suits the best.
I face only issue in troubleshooting as Veeam support is not much good as i faced multiple delays and if you want to search for a random error at forum, then you have to also open a case.

Pros:

Full + incremental backup with compression User Friendly Easy to configure Supports all kind of Virtual Environment. Services based backup which analyze the data and compress/backup accordingly so the data can be restored. Replication.

Cons:

Veeam support is not much good as i faced multiple delays and if you want to search for a random error at forum, then you have to also open a case. Although it is not much issue to open case but why we should go for a case for minor errors. It should be easily available on forums. Also its error troubleshooting is complicated.

Suleyman A.
N/A in Azerbaijan
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent backup tool

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use and offers a tremendous amount of flexibility when it comes to backup media.Recoverability, knowledge base, support, etc are all in very high level.

Cons:

There isn't much to dislike, it's a solid product.Although, The support used to be an issue but recently seems to be much improved.

Craig R.
CIO in US
Accounting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

I resisted for a long time... not sure why

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: The pricing (much to my surprise, which is why I resisted for a while) was very good and even better that competitors. I have the "Essentials" licensing pack, which is limited to 50 backup nodes but is very affordable if you can fit within that limitation.

Pros:

It work well, is flexible, and offers lots of features

Cons:

There are only very small things that I'd like to see changed.

David H.
David H.
Software Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Semiconductors, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Robust and optimal data backup

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

Allows backup without any interruption. It successfully simplifies the data recovery process. It has excellent replication, which allows data to be moved and sent from one directory to another. Allows you to compress data while backing up saves time and storage space.

Cons:

The initial configuration takes a considerable time, it is necessary to incorporate more documentation to speed up this process. Your license is considerably expensive.

Alessandro M.
System administrator senior in Italy
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Veeam is my favourite backup system

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Veeam is very friendly, simple and intuitive interface, always available help, many kb present, comprehensive messages and overall reliable system

Pros:

For the virtual infrastructure Veaam is the best because it integrates perfectly with the virtual system and you can backup and restore entire virtual machine with one click or restore a single file or folder in the easiest way

Cons:

There is nothing that I don't like in Veeam

Wil S.
System Admin in US
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Veeam is Exceptional

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Has helped us from restoring corrupted VMs to restoring files or emails. Overall this has saved us many times

Pros:

Support is great and helpful. The software is easy to use and upgrades are easy. The pricing makes this very easy to present as an options to companies of all sizes.

Cons:

None at this time, support has been very helpful when I’ve hit issues

Conrad B.
Sr. Sys Admin in US
Business Supplies & Equipment, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tried and True Local Backup

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Veeam worked as expected and did its job flawlessly. It is a bit of an older paradigm, but it works. If you need a straight-forward solution for on-prem backups, Veeam is great.

Pros:

Worked seamlessly with VMWare integration. The ability to do file-level recovery on backup snapshots was superb.

Cons:

The UI is a bit dated and clunky. I would suggest a new UI/UX redesign from Veeam.

John C.
Network Admin in US
Packaging & Containers, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Backup option

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

It is a very popular backup software for virtual machines and it works great!

Cons:

At this moment, I have not found any complains from my admins.

Chris C.
Chris C.
Systems Engineer in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Backup & DR Software for the Datacenter

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: A great backup system that allows us to recover data when needed and required. It allows us to retain backups on-site and offsite for recovery including replicated jobs.

Pros:

The current software - Version 9.5 Update 3 covers the needs for any user of the software. You can use the Windows/Linux Agents for physical boxes and manage them directly from the Console now, which includes updating, installing and rebooting of the endpoint. The software is easy to navigate and set up. While true it is mainly for virtual environments they are making strides to cover physical as well. Storage Integration is a great plus with vendors like HPE Nimble, IBM, and Infinidat but requires the Enterprise Plus license. When deployed with Proxy Servers you can cut down backup times drastically. What would take more than 10+ hours can be reduced to 4-5 depending on your environment. The ability to restore to Active Directory, SQL, Exchange is very easy with the software as well as Replication and Recovery Testing with SureBackup. Be sure to review the licensing models to pick what is best for your organization as they even have a Free Edition with limitations. Support is top notch with this product and very responsive. Never had a ticket opened that could not be solved or take a long time to resolution.

Cons:

The user interface could use some updating to something more modern like some Windows 10 applications.

Joshua H.
Joshua H.
Lead Systems Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Administration Controls and Improved Linux Operation in Backup & Replication v11

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: I use this to manage backups of office-facing and production servers in a non-profit business. We have less than 10 servers to care for and the free Community Edition is perfect. I have found the features and reporting to be robust. Practicing restores is no trouble. I have never needed vendor support to operate or configure this Veeam Backup & Replication - it works well and has good documentation!

Pros:

Before version 11 the features available to manage Linux backups were a subset of the features available to manage Windows backups. Windows only allowed one backup job per Linux Infrastructure Object and I found myself configuring the backup settings from the Linux command line. Now I can make two backup jobs for the Linux box that are completely managed from the Veeam server interface. Many other features are also available now. I have not used the CDP feature for virtual operating systems, yet it is promising.

Cons:

There is a module to export a backup and the wizard doesn't let the operator specify the destination of the export. It is sent to the backup repository on which the backups are made for the job. I would like to specify the location during the wizard.

Emil H.
Head of IT in Croatia
Facilities Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent backup solution for any SMB

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very fast recovery time for any DR solution.

Pros:

The biggest pros of this backup solution is its diversity of platform which it can backup. Based on the license bought you can backup any VmWare or Hyper-V virtual machine but it also features a client that can be installed on any platform and can do the file level backup. The coolest feature is the restore where you can using the client do the restore within the machine itself and go back to all available restore points and have many version of the same file that you want to restore. It supports the backup of the SQL databases within the VM itself and it is also prefer for the backup of Microsoft Exchange as it can pull out for example only the desired email from any specific mailbox which is a big plus.

Cons:

The solution it self is not cheap but it is justified with the professional support who, except contacting you via the email, also gives you a phone call if they dont get the replay from you any time soon. Other con is that it really requires a lot of HDD space, but then it is an enterprise level backup solution so this is self understandable.

James H.
Supervisor of Information Technology in US
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Veeam exceeded my expectations

5.0 last year

Comments: Veeam was easy to setup, it's easy to use, and restoring entire Virtual Machines or even restoring things at the file level is very fast and easy to do.

Pros:

Veeam is so easy to use that even things that seem abstract or complex are actually fairly simple to setup. I'm using a plugin to interface my Veeam appliance to my physical storage to orchestrate backups, site-to-site replication and also have a virtual tape library setup. I implemented all of this within one day and my backups kicked off and ran flawlessly on the first night.

Cons:

It was a bit complicated to emulate an "air gapped" backup process. Using a virtual tape library and unmounting the tapes when done was the best approximation I could implement.

Brenten L.
Freelancer in US
Online Media, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simply the Best

5.0 last year

Comments: It has a lot of functionality beyond just backing up like creating virtual labs that you can run experiments on. Every time I needed to get back up and running it did a great job and was seamless. I really like instant restore feature.

Pros:

I don’t know where to start, it has amazing tools for gettin files and putting them back whether on exchange or in the directory. The real power is in being able to start up servers/ PCs and run off of them while recovering. Additionally the offsite backup functionality is really impressive. This software can do it all and it never let me down once.

Cons:

It’s a little expensive up front for small companies. It’s also a little hard to do offsite backups without enterprise.

Johannes R.
Sysadmin in
Computer Networking, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I can finally sleep well again

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Having used several products in the past (NTBackup, Windows Backup, Backup Exec, Acronis, vRanger, Networker) I never really had the feeling that one of these products really is there for me when things get really worse. With Veeam I have a feeling that they got my back. I can finally sleep well again when I think about my clients and my data.

Pros:

I like very much that Veeam just works. Even when you install it without applying any further configuration (except what you really need, remote server and credentials) you end up with a proper backup. One of the best features is that the backup files are self contained. Even if you recover them from a broken backup server, or if your configuration is not working/readable/available again, you will be able to recover your stuff. The support is also great. While it could be a bit quicker in responses (for not very important tickets), they are doing a good job. I never had to escalate a ticket, every rep was very capable.

Cons:

It is quite bloated. The download has several gigabytes, which is quite big for a backup software in my opinion.

Verified Reviewer
Customer Success Manager in Argentina
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Reliable cloud backup system

5.0 last year

Comments: After suffering from losing information that was in various local backup systems, it was decided to use this excellent solution in the cloud, which generated significant cost savings and allowed us to recover information when we need it without inconvenience or delay.

Pros:

The best thing about the Veem Back Up system in the cloud is that it allows access to them from any device and at any time, only with internet access. In addition, it generates significant cost savings, because local servers with their corresponding maintenance are not required.

Cons:

The disadvantage that I can mention is that it does not have a system that optimizes the time necessary for the first data migration. If you have a lot of information, it takes a lot of time. But this is very common in this type of service.

Luke K.
Luke K.
Server Administrator/ RMM Technician in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Veeam Availability Suite is a useful software package for Backups and DR that works well.

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Security and peace of mind for security and retention of data.

Pros:

The ease of installation and use, easy configuration and minimal setup time makes this software our choice for MSP customers. We have found it to be reliable and consistent, with many different customers all using the software in different setups. Recovery from the file/folder level all the way up to the Entire VM restoration is easy to understand and perform.

Cons:

Price tag is a little hefty for some customers, but overall is usually on par with other similar software. However there are options out there from Veeam to help mitigate the cost if needed.

Mike J.
IT Support Administrator in US
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fast and easy to use. Quick to set up. Update processes are quick and painless.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Perfect solution for backing up locally, to tape, to DR, and to Amazon GS.

Pros:

Tech team is knowledgeable and friendly. Quick to respond. Will follow-up on all cases. Software works well, and easy to manage. Clients can be installed for even further management and monitoring capability. Really easy to get a job configured and running.

Cons:

About the only issue I have found thus far is how difficult it can be to stop jobs should they ever become stuck. Have to stop the Veeam service, then start it again. Stopping "Gracefully" or "Immediately" will not do anything.

Verified Reviewer
Director of Information Technology in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Public Safety, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Has lots of capabilities

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: The Suite of products from Veeam are great and work well. As we've migrated from mostly in-premise to the cloud, we have continued to use other products in the suite for business continuity and disaster recovery. Veeam has always worked well with multiple products.

Pros:

Can backup Office365, Azure, and AWS instances. Very easy to use and setup. Restores are quick and easy to schedule.

Cons:

Can only use limited types of storage on the backend. Can be difficult to do the inisital backups, especially if you have a lot of data in the cloud already.

Matthew G.
IT Systems Supervisor in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Veeam Backup & Replication Suite is the best backup tool I have ever used hands-down!

5.0 last year

Comments: This is an excellent backup solution. We struggled before this product and are thankful that we found something that is so easy to manage and maintain.

Pros:

Veeam is so intuitive, I don't know how to express how simple it is to set up backup jobs that run on a regular basis and GFS backups are now super easy to create and impliment.

Cons:

Some of the errors that we get are cryptic from Veeam and I wish that they made a little more sense off the bat when you see them to clearly understand what went wrong, but support is fantastic from veeam, so I can't complain too much here.

Bjarke V.
Head of IT while doing Network Security Engineer / Systems administrator in Luxembourg
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Top shelf enterprise backup and recovery solution

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The ease of use of this product suite is OUTSTANDING. By far the quickest to learn and use of any of the many different solution we have tried out over the years. This one is the keeper. Scheduling and chaining of jobs works like a charm. So little overhead in managing the backups and recovery.

Cons:

If I were to point to anything it would be the lack of integration with Dell SAN systems, but I'm sure that will be sorted in a future release.

Brandon M.
System Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A competent VMWare focused backup suite

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Veeam is an excellent DR tool with good native understanding of application specific backup items. Works great for backups with no more than 60 or so copies.

Pros:

First party tools for native understanding of application items, such as exchange, active directory, SQL, SharePoint, etc. These work very well Backups are reliable and simple to setup.

Cons:

No legal/compliance copies. Not a great tool for long term archival, really works better with shorter retention times.

Dan D.
Systems Administrator in US
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Veeam is nothing short of excellent

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It is extremely easy to work with once you get terminology and settings down. Some of the major benefits I can think of are Outlook email recovery, File Recovery, backups (both local and cloud), easy to read reports, stellar support team.

Pros:

The interface is easy to navigate. You can get stats on all of your backup jobs. You can integrate with cloud providers. You can test your backups with SureBackup. You can do File Level Restores to restore individual files. Their support team is top notch. We recently had a SAN outage and they saved our bacon by being able to get a DC backup functioning again after jumping through multiple hoops.

Cons:

Things can be a bit overwhelming as far as the options for backups. Does take a bit of learning to understand terminology, though they provide training :)

Verified Reviewer
IT Support in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Printing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Backup Solution for VMware Environment

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: Great product that does not require a lot of maintenance. As long as the backup repository is available and there is enough disk space, you won't usually run into any issues.

Pros:

It is very user friendly and easy to learn. It is great in taking full backups and incremental backups of the virtual machines whether servers or desktops. It has a lot of features that are very useful including being able to restore from different applications and databases.

Cons:

No complaints really with Veeam. It works perfectly.