OneStream's Ease of Use

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Robert K.
International Accountant
Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The things that we wanted in a consolidation platform is ease of use, a company that takes initiative to update the product, and something that will help with our consolidation/reporting. OneStream solves all these problems and we are very happy with our investment in OneStream.

Pros: The thing that I like most about the software is that it is very easy to get data out of the system. You can use quickviews, cubeviews, dashboards, books, the options are endless. Once you have these items set up, it takes seconds to produce your monthly financials or inquire on data.

Cons: The thing that I liked least about the software was the difficulty of dashboards. I spent a good while trying to figure out an Executive homepage in the older versions. With v5.0 and going forward, it looks like this will be simple from the presentations at Splash.

OneStream exceeds expectations

Reviewed on 03/08/2016
Scott L.
Assistant Controller
Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Dril-Quip reviewed several different products over a 2.5 year period to analyze the best product to suit the Company's current requirements and the ability to be fluid as it grows. OneStream's ability to provide one solution for consolidations, eliminations, reporting, forecasting, budgeting, complex data analytics, and various other items without having to manage data integration between multiple products and data points was a key driver in Dril-Quip's decision to move from an Excel environment to OneStream. The software also provides these functions at half the cost of some of it's competitors. The design and implementation were relatively pain-free and enabled us to meet a quick 6 month go-live target. Any instances in which road blocks were encountered were well handled and a work around provided in a timely manner. OneStream's Customer Support team routinely answered questions within 24 hours of asking a question and in most cases within the hour. The software itself is easy to use such that the end user training was taught by Dril-Quip's administrator and back-up over a 3 day period of train the trainer. Users were a combination of individuals that had never used a similar product and those that had used market leaders. The users caught on quickly to the software due to its ease of use and step by step intuitive processes such that they were uploading, validating, and certifying data by the end of the first day of training. OneStream's training for Administrators and end users is thorough where little assistance if any assistance is needed after go-live. Further, there are extensions of the product such as people planning and account reconciliations that OneStream provides as part of the single license fee which reduce the need for additional software to perform those tasks. Reducing that need enables the Company to be lean in both IT and Finance functions as it is creating more efficient processes. Dril-Quip has been very pleased with the overall quality of the product.

Pros: -Ease of Use
-Managing the metadata is intuitive
-Multiple uses for the application without bolting on additional applications and data integration points
-Good controls and audit trails

OneStream software - Conversion From Hyperion HFM/FDM/Planning

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Keith C.
BI / Financial systems Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We were forced to make a platform decision by ORACLE, timing was not good from an operational standpoint. We are 6 months in to an 11 month project to go live replacing our Hyperion environment.We are extremely pleased so far with the quality of the product, the quality and speed of support and relatively low overhead to support. All projects this size have pain involved with change management, but thankfully, the software we chose is helping ease that pain, not enhance it.

Pros: -Ease and simplicity of software architecture implementation and design
-One Product for multiple purposes.
-Long term expansion capability on one platform
-Win10 app access
-There is no comparison with the amount of time, effort and money it took to support and maintain the Hyperion environment. Install took less than 2 hrs. Comparable Hyperion install took weeks to get working

Cons: - Dashboarding can be simplified a bit - powerful, but a bit cumbersome to get started and understand

The next generation of CPM software

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Stephen T.
VP Corporate Controller & CAO
Oil & Energy, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Primarily driving consistency and accuracy across the company on financial reporting, budgeting and forecasting and eliminating all the shortfalls of maintaining those processes in MS Excel. Future vision to implement Account Reconciliations, People Planning, Capital Planning, Sales Planning and Task Manager.

Pros: The software really is simple to use, user adoption is very fast and for one price you get for multiple products (consolidations, planning/forecasting, account recs, capital planning, etc...)

Cons: I have not found anything currently that I do not like about the software.

Planning Implemenation

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Oksana D.
Financial Planning Supervisor
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The experience had been one of learning and embracing the new solution.

Pros: The software is a unified CPM platform and it's up to the customer to implement the variety of solutions which are included. The features, functionalities and cost structure (overall cost and licenses) were the main advantages for us and why we moved forward with OneStream. At the current moment we have only implemented the Planning solution, along with a daily revenue solution and a profitability solution. The customer service from the OneStream support team cannot be matched. The upgrade process is seamless and requires little or no work on our part (we are in the cloud).

Cons: It was a learning experience and took time for us to get used to the differences between Hyperion and OneStream. We were used to the various excel functionalities in SmartView which the OneStream Addin did not offer when we first started the implementation. But we were happy to see that OneStream listened to our suggestions for improvements and included them in upcoming releases. Overall, we are happy with our decision and look forward to implementing other solutions. In addition, we partnered with Archetype Consulting and they have been wonderful in guiding us through the implementation, transition and training processes.

A complete software suite to help drive your organization!

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Rob G.
Director, FP&A
Automotive, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: As a user for just under two years, the overall experience I've had with the software and the team has been exceptional. And this extends to the user community as well -- it was amazing the number of times I heard "welcome to the family!" during the user-conference, but I definitely felt that way! While focused primarily on consolidations and part profitability, we have big plans to further expand OneStream to allow stronger analytics in guiding us towards future growth and profitability.

Pros: The software is very intuitive and easy-to-use, but the ability to expand into different organizational "needs" is facilitated by a company that is willing to listen to the needs of their customers, and respond quickly to put those needs into production! From basic consolidations, tracking of capital expenditures & headcount, and strategic planning modules (among many others!), OneStream XF gives users the ability to address their immediate needs while giving them capabilities for future expansion.

Cons: As more of an "end user" on the financial side (not I.T.), the only issue I faced was the speed of consolidating data. But note that this is based on a previous version of the software, with the newest release (based on the Splash! user-conference in May 2019) having addressed some of this issue. Another example of the company's willingness to listen and respond!

Excellent multi-currency financial consolidation software

Reviewed on 01/08/2016
Jamie C.
Director of Accounting
Automotive
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We were looking to replace a legacy system that was no longer going to be supported by its giant software company owner. Based on the experience we had we that company, we knew we did not want to use another of their packages. We chose OneStream based on functionality, product demonstration, price, references and pedigree of its developers.

Pros: It does so much. Every time I think I can't do something in OneStream, the consultants figure out how to get it done. It does more than I can possibly conceive.
I do not spend a lot of time and money maintaining OneStream. The software upgrades are very fast (about a half an hour) and usually do not require any consultant time.
I also like that if I do have a problem or a question, I can submit a support ticket and receive a quick response. Their customer service is far superior to what I'm used to with the giant software company that I dealt with before.

Cons: Because it's different from any software I've ever used, it took some getting used to. Definitely not an issue now.

OneStream XF for Consolidations

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Brian C.
Financial Systems Manager
Financial Services, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We replaced our Hyperion Enterprise system with OneStream. It was a huge win, adding workflow and validation checks to the system that we never had in the past. Data quality is improved and the system itself is rock-solid. Zero down time. Upgrades have never taken more than 2 hours. Support, when you have a question, is very, very fast. Partnering with OneStream was a great move for JLL.

Pros: Ease of use. This product requires minimal training for end users and the end user training can be embedded in the application, so they can watch a video of how to perform a task and then execute the task. Because workflow is built into the product, again, the end user simply goes through the workflow to complete their work. The Excel Add-in is again, easy to use. Because our users were familiar with Hyperion HPVAL formulas in Excel, the transition to OneStream's add-in was seamless.

Cons: This is a tough question because there is not anything I can think of that the software is unable to do or does not do well. The one thing that would be a nice to have is the ability to lock down exchange rates to prevent anyone from accidentally changing a rate.

One application that does it all

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Kathryn C.
Lead Systems Analyst
Insurance, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: OneStream is the most flexible platform I've worked with that enables customers to extend it for an infinite number of uses. The number of solutions that can be built using the platform is unlimited, and the MarketPlace is growing with new solutions all the time. We have a large number of niche applications, each performing a specific purpose, but with OneStream we are already seeing that we can migrate from those other niche software systems to one unified and integrated platform. We are excited to see where we'll go with OneStream XF, and we're especially excited for the new BI dashboarding tools that are currently in development.

Cons: The only downside to OneStream XF that I've encountered is with scheduling - reports, integrations, etc. While a couple of solutions are available (Postal Service, Powershell scripts) it would be nice to have an integrated scheduling tool accessible within the app via a frontend dashboard or other page so we could manage the scheduling and distribution of reports. The option to push data versus pull data is a big requirement for us; our software users prefer not to have to go looking for data, and the Powershell scripts that we currently use to schedule integrations and file loads are not user friendly.

OneStream XF

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Nathan W.
Manager - Global Consolidations & Reporting
Chemicals, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall, OneStream has provided a significant benefit to our company. It's a simple, dynamic tool that provides a good end-user experience. It has helped us to speed up our close process and provides great analytical tools for users.

Pros: From an administrator point of view, the software is extremely flexible and for the most part does not require computer language skills. Almost any report can be created and shown in different ways. The software is extremely dynamic and provides a positive end-user experience if built out correctly.

Cons: There have been a few minor bugs(Account Reconciliation Manager). While the end-user experience is great for most users, it is difficult to implement on a large scale (100+ users, frequent turnover) due to training. Every application is different, so general training documents are not always applicable. Pulling activity instead of balances is possible, but seems to have caused a few headaches as it's not common.

OneStream is second to none

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Diane T.
Senior Financial Analyst
Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Going into my Administrator role, I did not have a background in IT or systems administration but rather experience in Finance and Accounting. OneStream is designed with not only the end user in mind but the Administrator. There isn't a heavy reliance on SQL/VB.Net unless there are significant changes or requests from the business. The reference guide and Knowledge Based articles are also very helpful in teaching me about the system. The customer support is second to none in that they reply within an hour and are helpful in resolving issues and/or answering questions.

Cons: I would say a simplification in managing security would be helpful. In addition, there should be a way to implement security to prevent system administrators from seeing sensitive information in People Planning.

OneStream is AWESOME!!

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Phillip O.
Accounting Systems Manager
Building Materials, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Consolidations. Intercompany is a breeze compared to Hyperion.

Pros: All your data is in one place and you add programs on to the initial installation. For instance, setup OneStream for Actuals and Consolidations and adding Account Reconciliation is just add an app from the store. No separate set of licenses or copying data from one program to another.

Cons: More training offered. I'm not able to find much of any classes offered locally for reporting or calculations. Most of the training has to be done at headquarters and I haven't found a reporting training class anywhere.

Onestream is the future of CPM

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
James K.
Financial Systems Analyst
Real Estate, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Great and responsive service, with lots of offerings that you can add to increase the ROI (task manager, reconciliations) at no extra cost. They are consistently improving the product, not resting on the fact that they already have an outstanding product.

Pros: I really like how easy the software is to use. The customization options are endless, the organization of formulas on members makes it easy to know why a number is the way it is.

Cons: Onestream does a good job of documenting the software, although sometimes the features offered aren’t fully explained, especially in dashboarding. But it’s a small complaint.

Confie Uses OneStream

Reviewed on 01/08/2016
Jeffrey M.
Sr. Vice President
Insurance, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We implemented this software from start to finish in 6 months. Within 30 days of implementing the company acquired additional companies requiring a restatement of historical results. These companies were integrated within a month. The software is flexible enough that we are able to report based on the latest whims of management. Since implementation, we have redesigned the software more than once due to changes internally, and have accomplished those redesigns quickly.

Pros: Easy to use, great support

Cons: Not much

AFL - Experience with OneStream

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Tonya C.
Financial Planning & Reporting Analyst
Telecommunications, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: In my personal experience, the greatest advantages we have realized from moving to OneStream have been 1) increased accountability within our business units for financial data, and 2) streamlined processes by having our trial balances, planning, account reconciliations, etc in one place and fully integrated.

Cons: No real notable disadvantages or problems experienced.

Truly integrated Consolidation and Financial Planning

Reviewed on 04/08/2016
Nicky W.
Finance Systems
Consumer Goods
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: An Analyse & Design phase confirmed our project teams decision to implement OneStream and our application build commenced during summer 2015. We are consolidating in a lot more detail in OneStream and the decision to load a full prior year of data at this level has added time to our data validation stage.
Our consolidation and reporting phase is going live August month end following parallel runs and we will then commence the planning functionality design.
OneStream is intuitive and user friendly and the OneStream team are always there to support you plus willing to listen to users improvement ideas which they often implement.
We have no regrets.

Pros: This is a truly integrated consolidation and financial planning tool, one piece of software, one set of metadata, one set of data, one set of reports.

Cons: The lack of customers using it in the UK!

The future is OneStream

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Christopher W.
Manager, Financial Analysis
Financial Services, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I love the forward-looking approach that OneStream has taken with the software. Rather than standing pat on what is already a solid foundation, the team is constantly seeking out the next challenge they can tackle with enhancements.

Cons: I found there was a steep learning curve on the implementation work I performed with OneStream. There is not a lot of widely-available information on how to develop in the tool beyond the company's own documentation. A broader community would make it easier for tech-savvy users to better support their own implementations.

OneStream

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Jonathan D.
Senior Analyst - Tax Technologies
Building Materials, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: What I like most is the ability to build the software to our specifications and unique situations. The consistency and standard work produced across all entities allows for control over a process and bringing on new users. As well as the reporting that is generated from the system for management.

Cons: There is not any one thing that I don't like about the software. There are a lot of features and it just takes time to implement them. Not having more features in our system that are available is what I like least.

OS for APC

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Kevin J.
Finance Manager
Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: GREAT FOR MONTHLY CLOSE AND CREATING ADHOC REPORTS

Pros: FLEXIBILITY, EASE OF USE, LOTS OF TIE OUTS / DOUBLE CHECKS BUILT IN

Cons: SOMETIMES TOO MANY OPTIONS - CAN BE CONFUSING TO MAKE CHANGES

Relatively new user, getting to know OneStream

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Alyssa M.
Manager of Financial Reporting
Sporting Goods, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The software is easy to use and is basically capable of anything you need it to be. The Customer support is very responsive to requests for help, as well as ideas for functionality.

Cons: Since I came in after my company implemented, I feel a little behind on the curve on the admin design side (creating cube views, dashboards, etc), so those are a little overwhelming and complex to me, but I feel with training materials available and some practice, it will come easier.

OneStream Review by current client

Reviewed on 02/08/2016
Rahul N.
Manager, Financial Systems
Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Former user of Hyperion product... so able to compare to OneStream. OneStream has successfully included features of other products in a seamless way and has included functionality that was lacking in other products I've used.

Pros: Ease of use. Bug free.

Cons: Nothing so far.

OneStream XF

Reviewed on 01/08/2016
Linda H.
Corporate Controller
Consumer Goods
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It has been a great experience, from the review of the capabilities through to improvements we've made since implementation. It is one of the best business decisions I have made.

Pros: It's flexibility and ease of use.

One stop shop

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Karrie S.
Manager, Financial Systems & Processes
Mining & Metals, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We are currently migrating over from a Hyperion environment with 3 HFM applications and 2 planning applications - we have gone live with our new fiscal year plan and will be live with actuals in August for our new fiscal year to close the books.

Pros: Consolations, planning , account rec etc all with one source of metadata management

Cons: Planning side could use some more enhancements

Great asset to our company

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Susan B.
Controller
Oil & Energy, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: As a user, it has been extremely positive all the way around.

Pros: Ease of use. Single platform. Best user acceptance of any software product we have implemented.

Cons: I miss Smartview , but perhaps I just need to get more familiar with the OS excel tool

OneStreamXF

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Cynthia S.
Financial Systems Analyst
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: My overall experience with OneStream has been very positive. The customer service is outstanding and OS is always working on improving the product based on customer feedback and needs.

Pros: The ease of use and entirely customizable platform is what I like most about this software.

Cons: There really aren't much cons related to this software, it all comes down to how you design the product to fit your corporate needs when implementing.