15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

United Kingdom Local product

Idea Drop Reviews

4.6 (29) Write a Review! United Kingdom Local product

About Idea Drop

Share challenges, capture ideas, evaluate and execute them at scale on the leading global idea management platform.

Learn more about Idea Drop

Pros:

Easy and interesting to use, great way to collect information, thoughts and ideas, we've been trying out some new tools and Idea Drop is definitely a favorite.

Cons:

It's a bit busy and at the beginning a bit hard to navigate.

Idea Drop ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

Idea Drop has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 29 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Idea Drop before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (29)

Bob
Bob
Solutions Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A great platform with all of the basic functionality that a new ideation strategy needs.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Excellent engagement with employees, participation by team members and superb quality of discussions and ideas created as a result of implementation.

Pros:

Great customer support and communication from the IdeaDrop team. Software is simple and easy to use.

Cons:

Some of the filtering tools are a bit clumsy, but the team there is working diligently to upgrade them and I forsee some great changes in that department in the near future (bumping up my easy of use and functionality ratings in doing so!)

Simon
Managing Director in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Idea Drop has transformed the way we collect and action ideas across our business

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: We quickly saw the benefits of Idea Drop as teams throughout the business began collaborating, communicating and sharing ideas in ways we hadn't seen before with our existing tech stack. Idea Drop's fresh interface and intuitive social features made it quick to onboard our teams and we now rely on it to capture, enrich and action new ideas across the business on an ongoing basis.

Pros:

Fast to onboard team members; very low training costs; highly intuitive design and user experience. The mobile apps are a big plus for us too as a number of our team members are rarely at their desk. Particularly like the status tool, which enables us to align our workflow with ideas and keep everyone in tune with what we're doing with the ideas they share. Cloaking is popular too enabling staff to hide their identities when sharing ideas.

Cons:

Would love to see wider integrations with other elements of our tech stack such as Slack and Office 365.

Roxanne
Project Coordinator in Isle of Man
Entertainment, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Microgaming

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Positive experience and the staff are really helpful even after post launch. Turnaround on issues is resolved in good time

Pros:

Easy to use and fit for purpose. Optimized for mobile. The score system is great

Cons:

There are a few restrictions on reports, manually having to request monthly innovation score reports. Branding is restricted. Doesn't allow you to upload videos. You don't get notified every time a new idea comes through unless you follow that person, difficult with on a huge scale.

Idea Drop Response

5 years ago

Dear Roxanne, Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. We are very glad to hear you enjoy using Idea Drop and that you find it well optimised for purpose which is to effectively drive innovation in Microgaming. Just wanted to clarify that even though we don't support native videos yet, it is possible to add Youtube and Vimeo videos to enrich your ideas and challenges. Thank you once again for your feedback. We are constantly improving our platform as well as adding new features. An improved reporting possibilities and notification system is already in our roadmap and will be available for you to use very soon. Best wishes, Idea Drop team

Darren
Engineering Director in Germany
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great tool for ideas capture and for driving innovation

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Expert network connection and input to technical issues

Pros:

Being able to connect to people I don't know Ability to create challenges to get inputs and ideas submitted to specific problems Ability to see other challenges and contribute ideas to them Interaction with global network over different time zones Removes organisational hierarchy barriers

Cons:

Could be more intuitive in user interface - minor point Software is web based so is not loaded as part of daily pc start-up - needs positive action to engage

John
Mechanism in US
Automotive, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mechanism

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Amazed

Pros:

Design and customer service representative

Cons:

Takes far to long to get things accompanied

Joern
Product Owner in Germany
Wholesale
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ideadrop is based on a motivated team which considers agile values and provides innovation spirit.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

- Modern and intuitive user interface and user experience. - Social features facilitate communication around ideas. - Transparency for everyone in the organisation. - Accompanying ideas from origination until its implementation.

Cons:

Currently it is the performance. Due to the amount of ideas we experience long page loads within the main functionalities. Also there is some space for user interface optimisation.

Melissa
Project Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Idea Drop- great system for innovation, collaboration and fun!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Fantastic experience. Idea Drop is vested in our success!

Pros:

Idea Drop is very intuitive and easy to use. The features and functionality are robust and allow one to post ideas, challenges, share results and access the best ideas via dashboards and reports. There is a lot of collaboration and application for Idea Drop in our healthcare organization. The Idea Drop team is phenomenal and has helped us every step of the way. Idea Drop provides great planning and training tools/resources and is customizable.

Cons:

We love Idea Drop and the Idea Drop team. We would like if Idea Drop had more robust capabilities to link multiple departments and employees together (for posting challenges/ideas). Other than this, everything is great!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great team and product. Worked hard to engage with us and win our trust.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Ability to gather ideas and opinions from a wide range of our user communities. Being able to 'cloak' ideas means that some of our more reluctant users can contribute without feeling too exposed.

Pros:

The solution is intuitive, well presented and can be picked up easily by users. We are currently in the pilot phase and found that all of our team could very quickly familiarise themselves with IdeaDrop. They were able to contribute ideas and discussion points very quickly.

Cons:

Cost of additional Consulting services could be more competitive. We would be keen to engage if the price was lower.

Colleen
MSS in US
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

As I see it

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: As I mentioned above - I really am happy to see something finally come in to play to use as a platform for ideas!

Pros:

That a platform like this is available. One central place - on line - no paper work needed. Many eyes can view this and can possibly be implemented a lot quicker than the paper trail or sending to a general box. Can watch the progress.

Cons:

It's a bit busy and at the beginning a bit hard to navigate. The help is great but a more in depth tutorial would be very helpful. With more practice it will get easier to work with the program.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My experience has been good with Idea Drop

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It is easy to use as an end user and is similar to twitter. You can post ideas in short words and you don't have to fill a lot of info to submit idea, which is a plus for the user as it will not turn them away from dropping new ideas to the portal.

Cons:

Limited reporting features but this being a niche company, I'm sure they will add more reporting capabilities.

Chad
Dispatch coordinator
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Idea Drop gives us platform that enables me to capture the best and brightest ideas from just about every person from everywhere. The software us take out complicated spreadsheets, outdated intranets tools, and time-intensive surveys and feedback from t

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: On top of that, Idea Drop is capable of gathering and capturing ideas from anyone from anywhere in the world. This makes it a perfect ideation and innovation management platform for our team and office. With Idea Drop, everyone in our organization can submit ideas anonymously via a cloaking functionality.

Pros:

Idea Drop is intuitive, removes hierarchical barriers, and makes it faster to get help and support across the business. Idea Drop allows gathering insight and ideas from across teams, departments and offices globally. It brings our entire business into a central innovation flow, engaging everyone from front-line staff to C-Level execs.

Muhammad
Credit Manager in France
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Encorage Innovation & Collabaration

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, it's a great platform for any organisation to improve the process and achieve their transformation objectives. It also encourages staff communication & motivation.

Pros:

Easy to use Visible to everyone Staff motivation Encourage innovation/process improvement

Cons:

Tagging system is not explained Inbox would be more useful to keep track of ideas as old ideas go down bottom the list.

Stephen
Operations Director in UK
Oil & Energy, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A great tool for encouraging collaborative innovation

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Lots of new ideas but more importantly , excellent collaboration between employees

Pros:

Easy to use and encourages interaction on ideas that are raised within the company. It automatically does the job of reviewing and filtering out the best (and most relevant) ideas It doubles up as a communication tool

Cons:

Can sometimes appear to want to do too much i.e. be all things at once. Its key benefit is creating a platform to share and filter ideas - need to be careful it doesn't become a platform for trying to run an entire business

Harry
COO in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Intuitive and easy to use software that gives people the confidence to put their ideas forward

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It really is straightforward and even the Luddites on your team will be able to use it from the outset without a lengthy on-boarding process. Our members don't want to receive hundreds of emails so by putting forward challenges and ideas on Idea Drop they're able to access all the information they need without clogging up their inboxes. They can then come back to us with feedback and new ideas which allows for a more collaborative process.

Roland
Managing Director in UK
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great software. Designed thoughfully with the user in mind.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Idea drop has a really nicely designed and intuitive interface with several novel features and functionality.

Cons:

The main challenge is around the ability to brand or customise the platform for our clients requirements.

Trina
Trina
Research and development professional in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Effective journey of ideas in the organization

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The success in implement innovation for any organization is the effective communication and discussion of ideas at all levels. I consider this tool one of the best in market for that purpose.

Cons:

I do not find deficiencies in the software, it has everything necessary to implement innovation in any company.

Feli
Innovation & Project Manager in Germany
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool to manage/collect the idears of your employees

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use not too complicated and stuffed with features UX similar to most social tools, therefore the handling is quite familiar even tough you never used the tool before

Cons:

- App slightly buggy - More Text editing features would be good (Bold, Tabs, etc.) - More functions would be great

Rob
Police Officer in UK
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

This is fantastic for engagement with big teams

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

ease of use, the algorithms, videos; the support and flexibility and enthusiasm of the team. It is a great package that is easy and fun to use that anyone can access

Cons:

sometimes it is not clear when you have posted - so you can end up doing it multiple times. It can take a while to navigate around

Zoe
CSO in UK
Accounting, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Idea Drop

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Excellent. Idea drop are easy to do business with, are responsive and collaborative.

Pros:

The software is so easy to use, it is intuitive which drives early adoption and engagement.

Cons:

It is important to get the taxonomy right from the start to ensure that you benefit from the reporting tools.

Dil
Co-Founder in UK
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The easiest way to curate, and explore, the best ideas, for any business!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

How it simplifies a common problem for any business - managing your ideas! Through Idea Drop, we can share and curate ideas across our entire team, developing them and enhancing them, all in one platform. Sticky notes and countless email threads are long gone!

Ashley
Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Idea Drop for Internal Corporate Initiative

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The platform is easy to use and the dashboard is clear and well organized.

Cons:

Some functionality that is useful to a big corporation is not yet implemented (i.e. syncing DLs with Outlook)

Ainhoa
Producer in UK
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

It's a fun and easy to use.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Great way for anyone in the company to share thoughts, new ideas and to propose initiatives. Awesome!

Cons:

It would be good if it could be integrated in one of the software we already use, instead of being a separate app.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

I reached out to Idea Drop for a Customer Demo and they really went all out!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Idea Drop was really easy to use. One of the key benefits is also that it is so easy to configure, and is very well presented.

Cons:

The price, when converted with a South African exchange rate is not ideal. That being said, the comparison between Idea Drop and other Innovation Platform Providers and their pricing is very similar.

Emily
ASAI in US
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I like that the company has opened up Idea Drop to all of the employees. There are some ideas shared that have been implemented, and others that are just simply complaints without a solution. The users should understand that there needs to be an ideal solution to their complaints.

Pros:

This software is pretty easy to use. I like that you can answer anonymously, or with your name associated.

Cons:

I can't really say anything I like least.

Benoit
Benoit
Head of Rental Solutions UK in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good way to start generating ideas

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Collaborative, actual, simple to use for users

Cons:

Reporting not great Missing an idea management functionality to be able to follow ideas through