15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About FitSW

FitSW personal training software helps trainers easily build workouts, plan diets, track client progress, manage schedules, and more.

Learn more about FitSW

Pros:

From the integrated timer to the graphs and workout selections, I highly recommend it.

Cons:

Some of the videos cause you to exit the app and open to youtube...it's difficult to try and figure out where you left off after watching the youtube video.

FitSW ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

FitSW has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 198 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used FitSW before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (198)

John
John
Personal Trainer/Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

It's simplicity makes it perfect!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: This is a straight up app to give my clients work outs on that they can easily maneuver and manipulate as they need to. Each exercise has a video or if you put your own in, you can add a link for your clients to watch. Also, it keeps track of how much weight was lifted on specific dates. HUGE time saver!

Pros:

No extra fluff Simple to use for myself AND my clients It's quick to get in and out of Not overly complicated

Cons:

Nothing. This is really a simplistic program that doesn't try to be everything under the sun and appeal to every person out there. A lot of programs tey to be everything to everyone and it doesn't work.

Alex
Owner in UK
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Complete and Affordable PT Software.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Has been a very useful tool to have whilst growing my business. To be able to adjust workouts and create custom templates that can be transferred between clients and tweaked has been very helpful. Would like to see some more slightly lesser known exercises added to the video demos, without having to film and add my own. Any issue that I've had so far have been responded to via support and addressed very swiftly. Have been recommending to anyone that had been asking about PT Software.

Pros:

The software is very user friendly. Creating workout plans and daily tasks is very easy and efficient. My clients love that every exercise comes with a video demonstration, and I am able to attach detailed notes and descriptions to each exercise. Everything can be updated immediately. I offer my clients anytime adjustments so this is a very helpful feature to have. I like that I can see when a client has completed their workouts.

Cons:

The nutrition side can be a bit overwhelming for clients. There are so many options for food items and sometimes the portion sizes are not in UK standard measurements, it would be nice to be able to select what measurement system to use. E. G. Metric/imperial. Have not really had a use for the tracking feature as it does feel slightly redundant as a PT who offers weekly feedback with the client.

FitSW Response

3 years ago

Thank you for the feedback! We will be adding new nutrition features next month and plan to include unit options. Thank you for the feedback. Let us know if you have any other feedback.

Jabulani
Personal Training in South Africa
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Work in progress

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: I'm reaching out to my clients without being there physically... I like that, now not all clients enjoy that but those who can actually work with me smoothly.

Pros:

The library has a lot of exercises demonstrated mostly well. I like that you can set the rest between sets, the time in which your client is expected to finish that particular workout. Love the copy and edit feature, love the fact that you can either publish your workout program so your clients can see them or you can just keep the as drafts and only make them available on the day the should train.

Cons:

It has glitches, I gave up on the software because it firstly shuffles the workouts if you make them a superset and also it would give me an error message even when I'm not using it (and that was after purchasing the subscription). Used the website version and it was all good until the beginning of this month where it just stopped working altogether. Now I'm back to the software, suffering through it.

Channéll
Business Owner, Fitness Trainer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Custom App & Gym Owner Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Nothing short of the highest value and service, customer service is kind, prompt and always looking to quickly resolve any issues that may arise. I can’t say enough good things about FITSW!

Pros:

I love that this software provides multiple components of wellness. I also love the real-time feedback every time a client completes a task, nutrition log or workout! The app chat and progress tracking is a life saver for managing multiple clients with each and providing customization.

Cons:

The nutrition data base and layout could use some love with a credentialed nutritionist. I’d also love to see better ease of adding exercises across trainer and a yoga section!

FitSW Response

4 years ago

Thank you so much for your feedback Channell!

Joshua
Personal Trainer in US
Professional Training & Coaching, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Perfect for me!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: So far I have had nothing but positive experiences with using FitSw. The one issue I had was resolved in a timely manner. It has also helped me manage my clients in a more productive way.

Pros:

I used to send each client an excel sheet with their workouts. I would have to describe each exercise in detail. Doing this for each exercise and client was very time consuming. Not to mention, I never new if they actually did the workout. Having FitSw has really helped keep everything in one place. Having videos demonstrating the exercises helps assure that my clients are doing the proper exercises as well as saves on time. I love being able to see my clients activity and compliance with their workouts.

Cons:

One issue is the process to set up programs. You have to navigate back and forth between the Workout, task, and program page to set them up for each client. It would be nice to customize the workouts and tasks all from the clients page with out having to jump back in forth between the pages. This is certainly not a deal breaker but I mild annoyance.

FitSW Response

3 years ago

Thank you for the feedback! We are working on making it more seamless to navigate through programs and an update will be released in June. Let us know if you have any other input.

Shannon
Personal Trainer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Fitsw pros and cons

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I love that I can include demos for each exercise. It also saves me time to be able to copy workouts between clients. My clients also report that it us easy to use on their side.

Cons:

I do not like that I can't superset cardio exercises with anything, makes it difficult to create circuits. It also appears to have bugs in it that frustrate me. If I make any changes to a workout on my phone, it changes exercises or changes the order of them. I can only make changes from my laptop.

Trevor
Personal Trainer in UK
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Decent software to use.

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Simple to use, it largely does what is needed.

Cons:

I find differences in the platform, some clients find the recording hard to find and it can be a pain to use. Some features could be made easier to use.

FitSW Response

3 years ago

Thank you very much for your feedback! For the recording, we have a release with improvements planned later this month. If you would like to beta test or send additional requests please reach out.

Jean
Personal Trainer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

User friendly and easy to create workouts and upload new exercises into library simultaneously

Cons:

The personal website to send clients could have a more professional and polished design. Would be nice to have clients be able to see workout list and preview of video demonstration simultaneously.

Magda
Magda
Gym Owner in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great App to use, my customers love it!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It makes my Gym unique in my area, We are the only ones that have an app available for our customers!

Pros:

I only needed a platform to do meal plans and exercise plans without all the other add-on's that cost a lot of money from other developers. Simple and easy, especially if you are just a start-up business that wants the bells and whistles without breaking the bank.

Cons:

If the developers would provide quality video's from the FitSW crew it would look more professional. I would also hire attractive model's for the video shoots as people can be quite shallow in that regard and love looking at pretty things! :) The videos from FitSW crew is within the perfect time frame (20 - 40 seconds) which is perfect for me, as I don't want to waste my clients time on the floor. The other video links from other youtubers is too long, I often replace them with shorter videos. Don't ever take away the functionality of replacing the link with your own, there is a lot of exercises out there like Pilates exercises that I like to add to my exercise program. This is such a fantastic feauture to your product and one of the reasons I am using it.

Andrius
Andrius
Personal Trainer / Fitness & HIITSTEP Instructor in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

highly recommend this software to everyone

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am very happy this app and I always recommend it to my friends or clients. The tech support and whole FitSw team is your friends. They react very quick in all your queries, small or big.

Pros:

easy to create workouts to your clients, and even if they not use this software they can get it by email. Which is very useful. Easy to print workout table. Track your measurements, progress, goals.

Cons:

All these nutrition side I do not think is useful, because I use and recommend clients use MyFitnessPal. Not really like video classes, I like the idea and where its leads, but need more updates. There is issue with rotating camera as I use phone/tablet. Also need feature to be able to play music from the same device I run the class (phone/tablet)

FitSW Response

4 years ago

Thank you for the feedback!

Sarah
Personal Trainer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Software for Client Programming

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The customer service has been great. I have only had a couple of issues in the length of time I’ve been paying for this service. My issues have been handled timely and professionally. This is a great program and software.

Pros:

I love how easy it is to get started. Videos were pre-loaded to allow me to program. It is easy for me to add new exercises in, customize exercises, and change videos. It is easy for my clients to use, especially those who are not great with tech. I love the addition of the program feature, making it extremely easy to put programs together for clients.

Cons:

I dislike how when I remove a client who is currently not paying, all of their data disappears. I wish there was some way to “archive” clients so they don’t take up space for my paid client availability, but still won’t be able to access their regular profile. Often I get returning customers, and I have to start fresh each time and unless they take screenshots of their data, it is lost.

Tina
Personal Trainer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Versatile Tool for Trainers

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Easily track and manage all of my clients and their workouts, progress, and goals.

Pros:

I love being able to put together workouts for an individual client, but also being able to share it with other clients, if I need to. The tracking feature is great, I love being able to easily show my clients their progress.

Cons:

Having to add emails to each client and then the software was automatically sending the workouts that I created to them. I did voice this concern to customer service and they have made that feature optional now.

FitSW Response

3 years ago

Thank you for the feedback! Yes absolutely thank you for your input, you can control any automated messages or push notifications from your settings page.

Kieran
PT in UK
Professional Training & Coaching, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Latest update

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I’ve been a user for over 6 months and currently deliver over 40 sessions a week, safe too say I’m a daily user haha. But I do really love the ease of use of the app when creating programmes as it can become very monotonous making programmes on a daily, but this makes it much more enjoyable and professional.

Pros:

I really like the ease of use when adding clients and having them access there programmes immediately. I also love including demo videos too help them use there programmes.

Cons:

The latest update has caused some problems for me. When I’m updating a programme and I may finish the programme, once saved it will load both the new programme as well as some of the old programme into one which is very frustrating. Also sometimes when removing a superset it will keep one of the exercises existed as a superset which is then stuck there and cannot been removed causing me too having too make a whole new programme. I hope you can get this sorted ASAP.

Helene
Personal trainer in South Africa
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Personal training

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It really saves alot of time. Before the app I made a ebook every month for each client, created their training program and looked for photos that showed how to do the movement. It was very time consuming. Now everything is so fast and easy.

Pros:

I love this app, it is affordable and easy to use. The customer service is fantastic.. My clients all love the app. I can highly recommend thos for all personal trainers that want to take their business to the next level.

Cons:

I would like to see more different types of fitness training on the app to use in my programs. Yoga, more stretching, ballet bar, crossfit ext

FitSW Response

3 years ago

Thank you for the feedback! We are working to expand our exercise library for things like yoga and crossfit exercises and hope to have another batch out next month.

Bryant
Personal Trainer & Business Owner in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for me

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I had issues with connectivity with my app at first but I haven't had any issues since.

Pros:

I'm picky about what I use, and I needed something that would give me the functionality that I need along with business branding. The app and online software is easy to use. From the integrated timer to the graphs and workout selections, I highly recommend it.

Cons:

There are no cons for me otherwise I'd switch to another product.

FitSW Response

3 years ago

Thank you for the feedback Bryant! Let me know if you need anything.

Kekoa
Online Coach in US
Sports, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good App

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Excellent

Pros:

That it is easy and offers a good amount f fitness and nutritional selections. However, I would like to see more fitness exercises and nutritional options added to the selections more often!

Cons:

Sometimes it isnt working properly and you have to email support and wait for them to fix the issue leaving your clients in the clouds about their plans

Jennifer
Owner in US
Professional Training & Coaching, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Has made my training business much easier

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Has really help me manage my business

Pros:

Easy to use and helps me keep track of all my clients. Really like being able to use the schedule to keep track of everything. Like that you guys added a photo section

Cons:

It be nice if you guys updated some of the exercise list. This would help us trainers to come up with new and exciting workout ideas

Jenna
Personal Trainer in Bahrain
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great tool for online trainers

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall this software is great. As an online trainer/coach, my clients love the user friendly app. They appreciate the video tools that go along with the exercises and also the spot that I can give them notes.

Pros:

Easy to use and very user friendly. I also like being able to add my own exercises to the library.

Cons:

Sometimes I am not able to "copy" some workouts to some clients and have to upload everything manually at least twice.

Abhishek
Tech incharge in India
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Mixed Reviews on FitSW

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: The way i had thought that i will get an increase in business with a mobile app, it didnt happen in that manner, hence switching to some other service provider

Pros:

Ease of implementation, and changing with trend

Cons:

High cost of customization and unable to integrate with payment gateways of different countries

Traci
Office Admin in US
Government Administration, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: This is great with keeping up with my workouts via my trainer. I've been motivated to see my progress and keep going. Its definitely helped me to reach my fitness goals and stay motivated.

Pros:

I like how easy it is to see my workouts as well as the demonstrations of them. My trainer or even I can edit my workouts fast and record my progress. The mobile platform is definitely better on Android than it is iOS and I've used both. I also like how easy I can record my weight and such.

Cons:

I wish inputting my progress was a bit faster? It definitely is a lot more simply laid out on android than iOS. I can get to where I want faster in the android app than the iOS one. This is more a functionality thing than anything else.

FitSW Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback! We have now updated the iOS progress entry to be like the Android progress entry. Please let us know what you think and if you would like to see any other improvements. You can contact us at [email protected]

Angela
Personal Trainer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Fitness Software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great Software to make my work easier and keep all my info for my clients in one place.

Pros:

- Ease of use for programming for clients. - Able to keep assessment data and goals for the month. - includes video for the client to use when they do their homework and they are not with me.

Cons:

Wish their was a section just for setting goals.

Ashley
Personal Trainer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Awesome Program!!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I didn't have to print out everyones plans, I could just use it on my tablet, then send the plans to the clients via email.

Pros:

The thing I love the most about this app is that there are demos for all the exercises, so in case your client forgets, you can easily send them the demo.

Cons:

The only thing I would change, is that, while there is a large bank of exercises, it doesn't have them all, I think they should expand on that. Different variations of exercises and whatnot.

Preston
Trainer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent Software.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Ease of use.

Pros:

Very good software for a trainer. Works very well. Occasionally there are a few bugs, but it is addressed fast. I hate the fact that they raised the price from 1.99 to 4.99 a month.

Cons:

The price changed and I did not like that at all. Please lower the price for us. Other than that it is a good product.

Craig
Independent Personal Trainer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great for Trainers

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great app, and would love to explore more uses of the app.

Pros:

Awesome app to keep clients accountable! Create workouts easily and very helpful when you can be with a client.

Cons:

The workout cap is tough when I want to track excercise progress with multiple clients. I find myself having to search and delete workouts that aren't too relevant to the client goals and progress.

FitSW Response

3 years ago

Thank you for the feedback!

Patrick
Trainer in US
Sports, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My Review

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The software is very easy to use. My clients enjoy using it. Workouts are easy to build and it allows you to look at past workouts. They even offer customization.

Cons:

There isn’t anything that I don’t like. It is really good.

FitSW Response

3 years ago

Thank you very much for the feedback!