Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.4 /5

About Quicken

Rental property and personal finances management solution with tenant information tracking, income management, and expense tracking.

Learn more about Quicken

Showing 25 reviews of 271

Fernando G.
Manager
Events Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020

"I like it. I just don't like monthly fees or having to upgrade to be able to connect bank accounts"

Comments: Great experience. The technology is great. Just hard to keep up with the monthly fees for a small business.

Pros: I like it. I just don't like monthly fees or having to upgrade to be able to connect bank accounts for automatic upgraded on my financial statements.

Cons: Good software. Easy to use and practical. Helps you accomplish accounting needs in an easy way. Connecting directly to your banks helps you get things done faster.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020
James D.
Director
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2018

"Lack of availability for Mac"

Comments: I cannot say more than I already have. I’ve had to save information on my Mac and then pick it up on my PC just to send an invoice. This is inconvenient. It takes time that could be better off spend doing other things. Please, Quicken, bring Home and Business to Mac. Also, allow the ability to edit previous entries. I’ve noticed issues in the past that could have been easily fixed with an edit button, but you cannot. This should be fixed. As the leader in accounting software, it should have more features available than it does.

Pros: Quicken seems to be the go-to accounting software in the industry, so naturally we went with it. We were very happy with Quicken, as it is easy to teach to our new employees. I also really like the seamlessness of the program between a Mac and a PC. My laptop is a Mac while my home computer is a PC, and I find that the program itself is very similar on both platforms, and thus very easy to use. However, we initially intended to purchase Quicken for Home and Business, but it is not available for Mac, so we had to take a step back and purchase Quicken Premier. This was more than slightly annoying, but we managed to make it work.

Cons: The lack of availability of Home and Business for Mac is a big con for me. The Home and Business program allows for custom invoices, which would look really good for our small business. We also wanted the ability to track our profit and loss, so we purchased it for my home computer. We can still send out the custom invoices on our PCs, but it would be a lot easier if it were available for Mac. Hopefully, there will be an option to purchase Home and Business in the future for Mac.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2018
Michael C.
Owner
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2017

"Quicken"

Comments: Still one of the easier desktop bookkeeping software to use.
Too bad no one else can create a competitive desktop bookkeeping software for the general public.
Many competitors created only an online version which can be Useless if something happens to your PC or you don't have power or an internet connection!
Worse, there's a monthly fee for their online versions!

Pros: Relatively simple to use as the basic program is basically an electronic version of a check register.
Many financial institutions have a Quicken export function for its online banking feature making bank reconciliation a bit easier.

Cons: Don't need to use other features like investment tracker which is essentially useless for most other people
Intuit FORCES people to set up an ONLINE account to link the program to, mainly for tracking and marketing purposes which is complete BS!
Update function has moved over the years that it's not as simple to just click 'update' anymore JUST to update Quicken and NOTHING else!
Be careful about importing information as it may not import 100% of the banking information, similar to QB.
Intuit keeps marketing you to join its other financial services!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2017
Jeff S.
SVP/CISO
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019

"Great product if you need a simple to use, yet powerful features product."

Comments: We own a variety of rental properties and having the ability to manage different types of property like monthly rentals which has standard monthly rent, as well as manage vacation rentals which payments and rental dates fluctuate. QRPM handles all the scenarios with ease and great reporting.

Pros: Have used Quicken products for over 30 years and for the cost you cannot beat the features and ease of use. Have used Rental Manager for past 5 years to manage 7+ rental properties and ability to track and manage payments and track expenses into a ledger with the greatest of ease is priceless for someone that doesn't need a full blown accounting system with GL#, etc.

Cons: Rare that you ever need to call support, but if you do, calling Intuit support has always been a frustrating experience. Just reaching someone knowledgeable to help was always challenging, but i have heard it's improved over past few years as have not had to use support but 2-3 times in life of product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019
Mariana M.
Project Coordinator
Industrial Automation, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2018

"All about your finances and assets"

Comments: Quicken is a very nice domestic software to control your personnel finances. The app version was recently updated and it is easier to navigate now.

Pros: You can access your database through several devices.
You can create different types of accounts, such as checkings, savings, assets.
You can create different budgets.
Added your invoices and receivings, you will have a cash flow.
You can create categories to classify your expenses and earnings.

Cons: You can not do a transfer using your the app on your cell phone.
To categorize a transaction split in two or more categories is a little trick.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2018
David H.
Realtor
Real Estate, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2019

"Have purchased many generations of Quicken"

Comments: Excellent. I will be redundant, but if you have checking, savings, mutual funds and stock accounts, it performs great. I also count on the cash basis easy statements

Pros: When I first started with Quicken years and years ago I used it to print my checks and that was replaced with e-banking. Always for maintaining account information, investments and even reconciling statements. Super easy to back up to a thumb drive or DVD

Cons: If you get screwed up with an investment account's info it is a pain to get it back on track and correct

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2019
Dennis S.
owner
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2020

"Quicken is very comprehensive but difficult to navigate at times"

Comments: Overall it is a very comprehensive expense and income record keeping checkbook register but it is also very expensive as they have gone to a subscription based platform. Not happy about that.

Pros: One of the better features of this software is the ability to create and assign categories to each accounting entry, which makes life easier at the end of the tax year.

Cons: It is somewhat difficult to create categories as it seems to be a multi step process as you can easily mis identify as an expense or income

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2020
Steve M.
Economist
Industrial Automation, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2018

"Quicken for Home and Business"

Pros: Ability to maintain household records and part-time consulting business records in the same program. Ability to issue invoices and maintain accounts receivable. Maintain customer and vendor database. Maintain records of business related vehicle expense. Integrates easily with Turbotax.

Cons: The chart of accounts is difficult to maintain. It does not follow usual accounting conventions.It is difficult to save recurring reports. Printing reports is often confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2018
Anne F.
Chief Philanthropy Officer
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/01/2021

"An excellent software to manage your finances!"

Comments: Overall, my experience is excellent. It helps with tax preparation but most important for keeping a handle on personal finances. An elegant software!

Pros: I have used Quicken for almost two decades, to keep our family's personal finances on track. It is excellent, dependable, easy to use even if you are not a tech-genius.

Cons: There are some challenges in linking to a personal bank account, probably to do with security; but it does make some downloads a little challenging.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/01/2021
Randy L.
Owner
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2018

"Great product unless you need customer service."

Pros: The product is easy to use, accurate, and blends with banking protocols and apps. I like the fact that it helps you plan and budget your money and see exactly where you’re spending is going.

Cons: You must be very careful to categorize your spending accurately so that the app can help you budget your spending. If you need customer service, the number of times I have called them fortunately has been few because they are little or no help

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2018
Susan S.
Attorney
Legal Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2017

"Use for Personal and Busines"

Comments: Wonderful program for personal and small business bookkeeping

Pros: It is very easy to use and reports are easy to pull from the software. It is a very powerful software for the price. You can use an app like Dropbox or OneDrive to keep your data available from anywhere.

Cons: Support/help was unable to assist with creating a report that was complex - probably needed to use Quick Books instead of Quicken for this type of report

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2017
Tuan N.
Bookkeeper
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2019

"Good for small size business"

Pros: The price is reasonable compares to Quickbooks, and it is easy to use. If you do not need multi users function, Quicken is a good option for bookkeeping job.

Cons: The software sometimes crashes for no reason especially working with big files. In addition, my version (2017) does not have multi users function, which is a limitation of the Quicken. Make sure you do back up file every single time because when the Quicken files getting bigger, it's easier to crash.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2019
Christopher V.
Managing Parnter
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2018

"Overall This Product Does Its Job Well"

Pros: It is a great and effective tool that allows small and medium sized rental managers to keep their rental finances separated from their personal finances in a familiar and easy to use interface.

Cons: The subscription cycle is a bit tedious . I would like to see a longer support cycle for specific versions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2018
Seth G.
Accountant
Construction, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2019

"Quicken"

Comments: Quicken has simplified my budgeting process and makes it easier to keep track of my current financial situation.

Pros: - Almost too many categories for budgeting and tracking transactions.
- Excellent integration with online accounts (ex. banking, credit card, loans)
- Multiple options to create a custom dashboard for a quick picture of your current financial situation.
- Automatic transaction downloads and Quicken recognizes and assigns most transactions to specific categories.

Cons: - Almost too many categories for budgeting and tracking transactions. This can be overwhelming when trying to set up a simple budget. Thankfully there are options for managing how categories are assigned, it just takes a little bit of time and trial and error.
- More advanced features such as loan pay off planning are not as intuitive or automatic as the basic banking features and require some prior knowledge or a good google search to figure out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2019
Anthony H.
Director
Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2018

"Fulfilling"

Comments: It is a very easy to use and friendly to those with basic account knowledge

Pros: Easy to in put and set up accounts and reports. it save automatically the work. Anybody can used it.

Cons: That reports need to be transfer to excel to be edited. You cannot print a final report with it directly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2018
Patrick S.
Sr. Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2020

"Great tool for personal wealth tracking"

Pros: If you are looking for something to manage your personal finances, Quicken is a good choice. You can use as few or as many of the features as you are comfortable with to begin. As your life and your finances become more complicated and more diverse, Quicken is right there with you to grow as you grow.

Cons: The synchronization feature of Quicken can be flaky. Most of the time it works well, but if a financial institution changes their login process, Quicken can hit a wall and stop updating. The online forums are a great place to help you get through most problem situations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2020
Simon O.
Marketing Analyst
Accounting, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2018

"Great Financial Management Application"

Pros: This software help me to monitor the performance of my investment at my convenience which helps to make effective financial decisions personally and for others.

Cons: Its difficult to use by big financial organizations with huge data. I think it should be improve for every organization to use it because the features are very good and would be useful for every financial firm.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2018
Hilary G.
Marketing Director
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/03/2018

"Family finances tackled at last!"

Pros: I love that we can consolidate all of our banking, savings, business and credit card accounts into one location to categorize every expense. It downloads automatically at sign on so it's really limited on the amount of effort needed.

Cons: The memorized transaction function is a bit tricky to get used to. The software attempts to memorize transactions so you don't have to re-enter info on future transactions if similar type or same vedor so I do think it important to reverie ever transaction individually when accepting them into your register.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/03/2018
Reggie R.
Manager
Commercial Real Estate, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2017

"Excellent Property Management Product"

Pros: Ease of use, uncluttered with a basic app for recording transactions on the fly. Generating reports foe tax preparation is a breeze.

Cons: It's everything we need it to be however it appears that since it is A local installation, we might not be able to have a second computer installation for shared management responsibility.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2017
Delmar P.
IT Manager
Accounting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4.5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2016

"I like it. Helps me keep track of my money"

Pros: Easy to enter/edit transactions and run thorough reports. I love how I can do invoices (customizable too) and receive payments for projects/services.

Cons: UI could be modernized a bit more but that's not a big deal. The biggest thing is probably that it doesn't have all the Canadian banks to sync transactions with so I've never used that function. However, they might have updated that on a later version already.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2016
Tiffani B.
Owner
Real Estate
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2016

"Quicken Gets the Job Done"

Pros: As both the owner and manager of my rental properties, Quicken fits all of my business needs. One thing I especially like about Quicken is the quality of the reports that I am able to generate.

Cons: While Quicken is great, I wish it had a feature that would allow me to be able to log on to a web-based version so I could make simultaneous updates with my assistant manager.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2016
James T.
IT Director
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2017

"Solid recommendation for Quicken."

Comments: Used it for the past few years. Cannot live without it.

Pros: Solid functionality. Ease of use. Nice reporting.

Cons: Customer support

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2017
Tim P.
Owner
Real Estate, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/12/2017

"Quicken 2018 release is the worst software ever!"

Comments: Someone had best get control of the QA of the software. I would really hate to see this product die after all these years.

Pros: It used to be easy to use and very helpful. It can track your personal bills as well as track rental expenses.

Cons: Extremely buggy. Features that used to work are broken or just removed entirely. There used to be a cool interface showing what bills were coming up - that's been removed and replaced with a simple list. Linking to bill accounts just blows up the whole program and it crashes. Some of the totals don't appear to update when you make changes. All of this, and they've changed to a subscription model, so you can still pay full price, but just receive a year's worth of buggy mess.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/12/2017
Sergio M.
Coach
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2018

"Quicken is the best software to manage your money, create budgets, manage your rental properties."

Comments: I was able to get out of debt using their budget features and keep track of all my bank transactions.

Pros: I used to be very bad with my money, my father told me that Quicken would help me create a budget, follow it and save some money. I was able to get out of debt using it. If you have rental properties you will be able to manage them all. I like that you can download transactions from your bank, pay your bills and even keep track of your investments.

Cons: Quicken has been around for like 30 years but it seems like there are many bugs, specially downloading transactions, I don't know if it's related to my banks or quicken's. the good thing is that Quicken's customer support is really good.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2018
Maria E.
Property Manager
Real Estate
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2016

"A Rental Management Software Easy to Use"

Pros: I have been using this product since it was added to Quicken. I like the product because it is easy to use. You can generate reports that anyone can understand, and yet it is perfect for accountants as well.

Cons: I would like to be able to save the reports I generate into a format that can be saved and opened easily in a document file.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2016