Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.9 /5

About BrightHR

Cloud-based HR software to manage holidays, rotas & absence anytime, anywhere + free clocking in and expenses apps.

Learn more about BrightHR

Showing 25 reviews of 60

Stoyan K.
Director
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2020

"Feedback"

Comments: Really simple and straight forward. I am satisfied with the level of training received today.

Pros: The employee section is really useful as well as uploading documents.

Cons: I need to use it a little bit to notice some cons.

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 21/07/2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Great to hear your feedback!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2020
Verified Reviewer
Business Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2019

"Excellent product and customer service"

Comments: No requirement for physical calendar which is prone to errors, staff can access planner anytime and anywhere, approvals for annual leave are straight forward and managed more effectively

Pros: Very easy to use, straight forward setup, very quick to answer queries, customer support has been excellent so far - definitely the way forward to outsource HR for small businesses!

Cons: Some areas needed a bit more explanation and guidance on how best to use

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! If you need any more support in the future just get in touch.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
Head of Reservations
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2018

"Keeps all your HR info in one place"

Pros: I love the request holidays function, that you can store files such as employment contracts on Bright HR and that you can view the calendar for your whole company/department - all this is one place!

Cons: This nothing I don't like about this software!

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

Fantastic! Thank you for this wonderful feedback, just get in touch if you need any support in the future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2018
Maria T.
Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/12/2019

"Very good, Saves alot of paperwork and it is all together."

Pros: I can keep track of everything in 1 place, Its is so easy to use.

Cons: Nothing, It is so easy to use, It is a perfect tool for a small company like ours.

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/07/2020

Great to hear BrightHR is helping you manage your business! Thank you for your review.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/12/2019
Amy M.
licencee
Hospitality, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2019

"excellent costomer service"

Comments: we have only just started using the system but it is already showing benefits in logging absences and storing documents.

Pros: has every thing we would need. I especially like the folders to save sensitive documents. it will help keep everything in an easy to find and access place.

Cons: the set up of employees is time consuming but obviously I understand why this is.

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/07/2020

Thank you for your review, it's great to hear what you like most about BrightHR!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2019
Des H.
Managing Director
International Trade & Development, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2019

"New User"

Comments: Had considered alternative products but Bright HR was highly recommeded by an associate organisation. The experience thus far has been exceptional from the initial contact up to where we are now.

Pros: Ease of use, but more importantly the level of professionalism which which the product has been offered, implemented and supported.

Cons: Nothing to dislike as yet - will keep you informed

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

This is fantastic to hear! Glad to hear about your positive experience with BrightHR.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2019
Abigail M.
Managing Director
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2019

"[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was a great help"

Pros: I am really enjoying using BrightHR so far. I had an induction call with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and was really impressed with her knowledge and patience!! Thank you :)

Cons: Cons: What did you like least about this software?

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/07/2020

Thank you for your great review! Please reach out to us if you need any more support in the future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2019
Emilia D.
Business Manager
Human Resources, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/03/2019

"User Friendly"

Comments: quick and easy to set up, really helpful support and account management

Pros: a straightforward system and simple to use

Cons: we've not gone live yet so the proof will be in the pudding!

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

Fantastic to hear about your positive experience with BrightHR, just get in touch if you need any support in the future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/03/2019
Aaron O.
Finacial Director
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019

"Great System"

Comments: It has helped streamline or holiday system as it has often been troublesome trying to organise them around each other when you've to keep a minimum number of staff

Pros: It keeps all of the information in an easy to use space and helps reduce the amount of paper needed for records. The leave request system is great and being able to notify staff when you've uploaded documents removes the hassle of ensuring everyone receives the information.

Cons: The rota system is a little clunky. It would be great if you could copy a previous published rota or have some way to save the shift times so as you don't have to enter the start and finish time for each staff member on every day. You should also be able to change staff between fixed and variable shifts.

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

Thank you for your review! We're always looking at how we can improve what we do so keep an eye out for updates to the rota.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019
Courtney S.
Site Coordinator
Plastics, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/03/2020

"Getting Started with the System"

Comments: So far we have just set up the system and are to see how it goes but we already would say our experience has been easy and run very smoothly. We have had the support in setting up over 100 workers and also some great training and support from [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] in how the system works etc.

Pros: What we like most about this system since using it is how easy it is to use. It puts everything we need in one place and helps us track a lot easier.

Cons: Nothing at the minute as we have only just set up.

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/07/2020

Thank you for your review! Lovely to hear what a great start you've had with the BrightHR software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/03/2020
Geraldine F.
Manager
Individual & Family Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/02/2019

"Dun Laoghaire Rathdown Community Addiction Team"

Comments: My experience so far has Been positive. The setting up was very straight forward

Pros: So user friendly ease in navigating through the system.

Cons: Nothing so far the support i received in setting it up was excellent

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

Great to hear you're finding the software useful! Just let us know if you need any more support in the future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/02/2019
Brienna S.
Business Manager
Automotive, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2019

"Bright HR is simple and user friendly"

Comments: It's a great communicative platform for employees and admin. It is extremely user friendly (big buttons and simple text). It's fun to use.

Pros: It is extremely easy to use and track employee absences and information.

Cons: I can't say I've found any flaws yet! It's not free...

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

This is great to hear! Thank you for all your positive feedback about BrightHR!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2019
Dina R.
Financial Controller
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/04/2020

"K&R"

Comments: My experience with customer service has been outstanding, training and response issues have been handled with maximum efficiency.

Pros: I am starting to use this software, but from the first experience, it looks very user friendly.

Cons: Can't tell at this stage, as have not enouogh experience.

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/07/2020

Thank you for your 5* review!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/04/2020
Alison F.
Director
Individual & Family Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2019

"Prompt"

Comments: I have yet to use BrightHR but from what I have seen it will be an asset to my company

Pros: Ease of use and everything is in one place

Cons: There was nothing I did not like as I think everything will be useful

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

Great to hear this positive feedback! Thank you for taking the time to post your 5* review.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2019
Catherine K.
Office manager
Furniture, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/01/2019

"Bright HR"

Comments: I find up until now we are stumbling int eh dark to try and wrap our head around the package but i'm confident going forward after today's training it will be good.

Pros: I feel once we get up and running it will be very beneficial

Cons: Trying to get my head around the software but after the training phone call today it should be a lot easier to use

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

Thank you for your review! Just get in touch with us if you need any support in the future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/01/2019
Joanne L.
General manager
Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/07/2019

"Move from HR Online"

Comments: We have requested to cancel our contract and go back to HR online which we felt was a much better platform for our needs.

Pros: Nothing.
There is nothig that me or any of my 75 employees like about this app

Cons: Everything - there is much less functionalitiy than we had with HR Online and this is supposed to be an 'upgrade'
• User interface is complicated and too many clicks needed.
• TOIL must be logged by Managers and not employees.
• Approval notifications can only be ‘all’ or ‘no one’.
• The notes section is not as detailed & does not retain historical information.
• The Managers cant see the notes.
• The salary section does not retain historical information.
• The roster is time-consuming and cumbersome.
• The reports are not as concise as they were and we have less options.
• Leave requests do not seem to take account of the weekends or public holidays as they did on HR Online.
• The app is not downloadable on ALL android phones.

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

Sorry to hear this. We've contacted you directly to get this resolved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/07/2019
Kevin B.
H.R Manager
Cosmetics, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/07/2020

"Great Support"

Comments: If your stuck on anything or unsure how to operate it, the Bright HR team are always on hand to take your call to support you. They are always happy to talk to you, it feels personal.

Pros: its very easy to use, and the dashboard helps you navigate through the platform

Cons: All the features are easy to use and keeps all holidays etc all in one place

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 29/07/2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! Great to hear this wonderful feedback.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/07/2020
Roz C.
Corporate Services Officer
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2020

"Abertay Housing Association"

Comments: It is a little too early to say but I am hoping that the reporting system will be most useful. The rota system will also assist with one of our Managers who has to juggle staff members with locations.

Pros: Ease of use for staff, mobile app is so helpful and the ease with which information can be updated.

Cons: There are features which I had with HR Online which don't appear on Bright HR which were extremely useful. I understand that they are being considered moving forward and therefore if they are introduced the system will be second to none.

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/07/2020

Thank you for your feedback! We're always working on improving what we do.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2020
Stuart S.
Electronic Design Engineer
Automotive, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2019

"Modern, user-friendly HR management software"

Comments: As an employee using BrightHR, it has been a positive experience. I can't speak to the admin features, but my manager appears to be able to do everything he needs to without escalating further, and the user-side is well-designed and lays out key information simply. Everything works that way you think it should and it stores a range of useful data.

Pros: Clean, mostly well-laid out web interface makes most operations simple. A range of useful information including holiday allocation/remaining, details of your time at the company, a calendar of holidays and absences in your team.
All functions can also be carried out using the mobile app which works without problems.

Cons: No major complaints. As a user I have been able to find all information and features that I have needed to manage my HR account (mostly annual leave-related).

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/07/2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! Glad to hear you like the app too, let us know if you need any support in the future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2019
Victoria D.
HR Manager
Translation & Localization, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2018

"Great support"

Pros: It's HR all in one place - great for employees, rota and payrol

Cons: If you don't wish to subscribe any longer your a bit lost with all your data.

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we do have a whole host of reports available to export your data. If you need any support with these just get in touch.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2018
Gemma B.
Operations Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2019

"Very Easy to Use"

Comments: Very smooth. From start to finish it was very easy to use, with great assistance!

Pros: It is very easy to use, I was able to set it up with ease. Any questions that I had and was unable to find answers to my account manager was very helpful and had answers for all my queries.

Cons: There are a few things which would be great to be included, for example blocking certain periods of holiday out (ie our peak trading times).

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your 5* review.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2019
Dan A.
Managing director
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/01/2019

"Welcome call"

Pros: Customer support was very friendly and talked me through everything I needed to know. Use of the site is really easy and accessible which is what I need for my teams.

Cons: Too early to tell so far, but I really cannot see any cons to the software. It’s quick and simple and allows me to focus on what I need to do.

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

This is wonderful to hear! Thank you for taking the time to post your 5* review.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/01/2019
Richard B.
Operations Supervisor
Civil Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2019

"Bright HR"

Comments: Bright HR has brought a whole new professional image to our company and as we have grown this is exactly what we needed.

Pros: So easy for my members of staff to book their holidays and see all of their HR files in one place.

Cons: no real cons as is 100 times better then our previous system.

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

This is brilliant to hear! We're glad you're enjoying to software, just let us know if you need any support in the future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2019
Rachel O.
Centre Manager
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019

"Really easy to use system"

Pros: Everything is so intuitive and easy to navigate around. I love the idea of moving to a paperless system for my employees. Customer support is excellent - very helpful and approachable.

Cons: I can't think of anything that I dislike.

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

Thank you for your 5* review! Wonderful to hear about your positive experience with BrightHR.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019
Chris L.
FD
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2017

"It is fine but limited"

Pros: It is cloud based and has a mobile app

Cons: Your receipts don't have your VAT number on - how hard can it be?
I want to be able to export all data so that I can see what fields are missing for which employees

Vendor Response

by Bright HR on 09/11/2020

Thank you for your feedback, we're always looking at ways to improve what we do and will pass this feedback onto our development team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2017