15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Unit Trac

Unit Trac is a cloud-based self storage management solution for owner/operators. Manage your facility from anywhere at anytime.

Learn more about Unit Trac

Pros:

Integrates a website that is easy to make changes to.

Cons:

I don't like that it doesn't recognize when a customer makes a partial payment. It only recognizes payments in month increments.

Unit Trac ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

Unit Trac has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 69 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Unit Trac before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (69)

Greg
Greg
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Unit trac mini storage software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It makes renting and collecting rent so easy and keeping track of what is happening as well. Taking credit cards with auto deposit and auto filling in what needs to be showing payments. It is effortless.

Pros:

The soft ware was easy to use and not only that the person that sold it to me was so kind, understanding and helpful. It does everything I can think you would possibly want it to do.

Cons:

Can't think of any bad to tell. Maybe just a little tricky, but not really with the helper) to set up the first lease. Nichole was there and with a smile on her face and so pleasant to help me through until I learned and could do it without her. I had a small business and most people stayed and didn't need much maintenance.

Unit Trac Response

5 years ago

Thanks Greg! We love helping our clients and we know that you are a very busy small business owner (like most of our clients) and need software to be simple and effortless since you have many responsibilities!

David
Facility Manager in US
Consumer Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Smiplest, Easiest, and Cheapest Self-Storage Management Software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I took over my facility in September of 2018. At that time, every aspect of the business was pen and paper. Physical contracts/leases, pen and paper payment recording, no advertising, cash/check only, etc. I began searching for software to convert this ancient business practice into something modern. I came across other software platforms that were clunky and difficult to operate. Unit Trac stuck out to me primarily because of simplicity. There aren't any frilly extras or ads for their partners. However, while simple, they have loads of features and are continually working on new features.

Unit Trac allowed me to implement acceptance of credit cards through Stripe including automatic payment processing. Converting from Paper to Unit Trac was time consuming, but only becuase I chose to include past payments in the software. You could input tenant information and move on.

My only gripe is there is currently no way for customers to get a notification prior to their due date. A good portion of my customers are set up with automatic credit card payments, but those that don't tend to forget payments, as usual. Unit Trac has the information available to implement an automatic text/email messaging system to notify tenants of upcoming due dates. Addition of this feature would make a world of difference.

Pros:

Easy to implement, cost-effective, great customer service, website hosting built-in.

Cons:

No automated customer notification of due dates.

Alternatives Considered: WebSelfStorage and storEDGE Management Software

Reasons for Switching to Unit Trac: In the end, Unit Trac is a straightforward software that provides the features that you want without the fluff that you don't. I can log in from anywhere with internet access, and manage leases, payments, or customers within seconds. Also, the ability to enable a feature that lets prospective tenants begin their own lease is invaluable to me.

Unit Trac Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the positive review David! You're operating an efficient facility and we are glad that you chose Unit Trac. Our development team is working on improvements to automatic notifications - stay tuned.

michael
Owner Operator in Canada
Warehousing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Unaccommodating Software-contract terms and payments

1.0 3 months ago

Comments: Total waste of time if the customers experience isn't seamless.

Pros:

The reporting and site map aspects are what initially attracted us but the software is very flawed.

Cons:

We were shocked to realize the system's inability to allow for multiple term and payment options. She explains that there is currently not an option to offer customers visiting the website to choose and pay for any term other than a 6 month term and at the 6 month rate. As she explains it, there is no ability for a customer to be able to choose either a 6 month term or a 12 month term and pay the applicable price for each respective service term.

Meredith
Owner & Operator in US
Warehousing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I am extremely satisfied with Unittrac, they have gone above and beyond to keep me a happy customer!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Quick, seamless software for the organization and operation of our storage facility business.

Pros:

Customer service is exceptional and obviously a high priority to them. The software design is very user friendly for our self storage facility, the features are easy to navigate. As a new owner of our storage facility, I needed a software package that could quickly get my business up and running, Unittrac was everything I was looking for. I began with the free trial and within 24 hours, I had my customer based entered and organized, and had the gist of the system figured out. It's by far the best valued software out there for self storage facilities. I highly recommend! My favorite software feature is the site map builder, and the fact that the storage units show availability in "real time" to the customer via the in house website feature. Using the provided website, my addition media outlets, Facebook and Twitter buttons can be easily found. Customers can apply online, download the rental application, select a unit, make online payments, and receive automated email invoicing following a payment. In a competitive storage market, Unittrac has organized my business and mainstreamed all the information to my customer base.

Cons:

I would love to see the ability to enter and track external business and operating expenses, or have a spreadsheet for tax preparation statements with income and expenses balanced. Although there are a variety of financial reports available to run, none include all the true facts and figures of running the business, only the income.

Unit Trac Response

7 years ago

Meredith - we are delighted that you chose Unit Trac and are happy to help you easily manage your facility. Stay tuned for new features rolling out to address your accounting needs. Your questions and comments about the software are always welcomed!

Rob
Owner in US
Insurance, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Unit Trac Usability

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Billing is easy, no more real needs to meet with potential customers (most everything is done with my smart phone). I have been in meetings and received an application for a unit and sent the customer everything they have needed to get it started! Love the freedom and release from pressure of having to meet with the customer.

Pros:

-how it interacts with my ability to start, stop, and renew leases on the fly. Ease of use for the end user (my customers) has been awesome. The support I got to set up my website was amazing! The staff at Unit Trac is always very helpful with some complicated transactions that we may need help with from time to time. The truth is after talking with the staff and them walking me through things it wasn't complicated at all!

Cons:

Initial set up and getting the muscle memory down as to where to find things. Its just the way it is with anything new. Staff worked well with me on this.

Unit Trac Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the positive response Rob! You provide excellent service to your customers and we are glad that Unit Trac helps makes managing the business easier.

Margot
Owner in US
Warehousing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Unit Trac is a Great Fit for Our Facility!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It is easy to use for both us and for our customers. My customers are impressed that they can rent up online and have autopay enabled free of charge. I like it because it draws the right customers, those with decent credit, to our facility. Unit Trac automatically records their payments, which is also a time saver I like.

Pros:

More customers would rather sign up online than stop in because they are busy. This allows them to sign up on their schedule and get things taken care of before move-in day. So units can be rented up even while I am out of the office or after business hours.

Cons:

I have asked for a way to automatically send an email payment reminder to customers that request it. I was told this would be implemented last year. Has it been done and have I just missed seeing it?

Unit Trac Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the review Margot! Online rentals are a great way to have your website on your behalf and customers enjoy how easy it is. The automatic receipt generation is in place - which allows customers to receive an email that payment was received and remind them of their upcoming payment. Our team will reach out because it doesn't look like that is enabled with your account currently - but it's just a click and it will be turned on.

Margot
Owner in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My Customers Love Unit Trac !

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I started with Unit Trac almost a year ago and am SO glad I did! It's like having a "Personal Assistant" enter the payments for me and send receipts out, I don't have to do a thing. So far, my customers have given very positive feedback about the convenience and I feel more professional, offering my customers more options. Customers feel more in control, being able to access their account through their phone or PC anytime to make payments, print receipts and view their payment history. I am able to get far more customers to set up Auto Pay since they can track the charges themselves (which I really like). One of the rep at Unit Trac and she is super friendly and helpful getting it set up. Five stars all the way!!!

Cons:

I can't really think of anything, it is very easy to use. But I am hoping they will come up with a way to send an automated payment reminder email for those customers that don't want to sign up with auto-pay.

Unit Trac Response

6 years ago

We are glad that you starting using Unit Trac Margot! We are equally as happy that your customers love Unit Trac too. Thanks for the feedback on the automated emails. We recognize this feature as something that will make managing the facility even easier - stay tuned.

Jack
Owner/operator in US
Architecture & Planning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Awesome system! Unit Trac allows me to run my business with ease. Customer support is exceptional!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: It's so easy to run and track my business with this system, it saves me hours and hours every week

Pros:

I think it's so good, it's hard to know where to begin... Setup was a breeze. The user interface it excellent--very intuitive. Web interface made it possible to set up our own, very functional and professional website in a matter of hours. Invoicing and payment processing/recording is easy. Customers (and we) love the customer portal and ability to do automatic billing. We are in a very rural, mountain area with no full-time onsite presence, eSig lease capability makes it easy to onboard new customers without having to be there. Customer support is GREAT!!! We could go on and on... www.littlekingdomstorage.com

Cons:

I can't really say there is anything I don't like about it, but here are a couple thoughts... - It would be great if there was a way to set up a new lease (to be activated at a later date) for a unit whose lease has not ended yet. - I have a few customers who have multiple units/leases. It would be good to combine onto one invoice. I haven't figured out if that is possible, or how to do it if it is - Can't wait till you release expense tracking!!

Unit Trac Response

7 years ago

We are delighted that Unit Trac has been such a benefit to you and your customers! The time savings is substantial and exactly what the software was designed to do for you - make it easier to manage your facility. Great feedback on the ability to post date a lease and stay tuned for the accounting update coming soon.

Steve
Steve
Owner in US
Packaging & Containers, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sorry I waited to try out this software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Unbelievable support. Have given several suggestions for wording changes and new features and they ALL show up in a month or two. Makes life simpler for me as I got rid of the spread sheets!

Pros:

Does everything I need. Can work from home or at the office. Provides annual reports. Credit cards processed at a lower rate than previous.

Cons:

Takes a while to find features that aren't used often.

Unit Trac Response

4 years ago

Thanks so much for the positive review Steve! We are grateful for your suggestions for improving Unit Trac. Glad that the software is making life easier - that is exactly what it was intended to do for storage businesses.

Bryan
Bryan
Project Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Unit Trac is great!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to use and great customer service.

Cons:

Deposit refunds aren't easily done. I can't send receipts.

Unit Trac Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the feedback Bryan! We enjoy working with you and the team. The update coming will allow refund receipts to easily be sent. It's been great to watch your business grow from being a brand new facility to great occupancy. Keep up the great work...we are happy to support you.

Justin
Director in Australia
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good value for what you get

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Really Good program, but needs more work

Pros:

The price for this software is considerably lower than other Australian based Self Storage software systems.

Cons:

The Map interface is easy to read but not as detailed as it could be. When hovering on the sitemap there is not enough information that might be able to speed up the process of a larger complex, this also becomes painfully obvious when a customer is waiting in your office and you need to go through multiple screens to find information you need fast. Also, in Australia there is a very large lag when you save or update something from the time you press the buton to the time the browser actually starts to recognise you want to save. I have requested GST tax considerations to be made easier but this is not a function at this time. Other things which would be a massive improvement: 1. There should be a selection so you can email ALL customers at the same time to update them of changes which amy affect ALL customers. At this time other than CSV file there is no easy way to acheive a bulk email. 2. The Send an Email option should be a HTML text editor interface and not just a text field, this way you can change fonts, add H tags or highlight important information in your email.

Unit Trac Response

5 years ago

We appreciate your honest feedback Justin. Our team is working to make updates to the software that will improve usability. Your input is exactly what is needed to make the program better.

Linzie
Owner in US
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Makes my job easier and my customers happy!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: First time storage facility owner, I had idea what to expect but once I got into Unittrac, it made it so easy and like I said, customer service is #1.

Pros:

First and foremost, my contact guru at Unittrac is [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], amazing just does not describe her at all! I love that she is just a phone call away,. Being new to the business, I had lots of questions and she is ALWAYS so pleasant and patient to deal with. Love the reports page, I can pull all the info I need. The e-sign is a great asset, customer love it!

Cons:

Wow. I have yet to figure that out! No complaints here.

Unit Trac Response

3 years ago

Thanks so much for the positive review Linzie! Always happy to help - anytime.

David
Director in New Zealand
Security & Investigations, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

the truth

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: unitrac staff are very good communicators and each time ive had an issue they have sorted it very quickly, but more importantly if i ask for them to call me (im in New Zealand) they do so im old school and sometimes you just cant beat a phone call to get something across.

Pros:

this software is easy to use but complicated enough in the back ground to provide a awesome simple outcome that takes very little management time

Cons:

some functions can not be done on apple ipad

Unit Trac Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the feedback Dave! Our team also appreciates your suggestions for feature improvements as we are committed to making Unit Trac - you've had some great suggestions! Our team will follow-up about the functionality on the iPad as everything should work on any device.

Drew
Manager/Owner in US
Warehousing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Storage Software on the Market

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I like Unit-Trac. I have thought about and have almost gone with other Storage Software companies but once I try out there system, I seem to gravitate back to Unit-Trac. They are a great Storage Software system. I like how easy the software is to use and my customers seem to like using the system to make there payments.

Pros:

I like Unit Trac because it is Easy to Navigate and very User Friendly.

Cons:

Some of the things I do like about it now which I am sure will be greatly improved over time. Unit Trac is a young Storage Software Company. 1. Statement Generator 2. Bundling Customers when they might have multiple units.

Unit Trac Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the feedback Drew! I know that you'll enjoy the accounting updates that will be rolling out soon. Thanks for your patience. Customers who have multiple units can have one invoice - making it easier to see the customer's total balance due.

robert
Mgr. in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fort Knox Climate Control Storage Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Excellent! Easy, simple, fast, (except Site Map) and very user friendly !
The Very Best Customer service with the team !!! 10 STAR for them!!
Thank You
Bob Malle

Pros:

Very Easy to learn and use! Saves you time when you are renting a unit and the accounting reports are a big help for my accountant.

Cons:

Map Loads very slow! Edit the map should be able to be done from the Availability screen. Payment up date and recording could be improved. Would be nice if it was Quick Books compatible! To allow me to have easier access to a P&L on a daily or weekly schedule with out having to make the sales entry manually.

Unit Trac Response

5 years ago

Thanks Bob! We enjoy working with you and glad to have Fort Knox Climate Storage operating efficiently from since you opened for business. It's been exciting to watch your business lease-up. We will figure out why the map loads slower than normal. Confident our team can resolve that for you.

Todd
Owner Operator in US
Warehousing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great for our small facility

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

1. Easy to use, very intuitive. 2. Can be accessed from any device. 3. Very affordable, especially for a smaller facility. 4. Everything needed for a new customer can be entered in one screen. (Customer, Lease, Credit Card, Initial Payment, Recurring Payments, and Customer Portal)

Cons:

This is a very simple software package that does about 95 percent of what I would expect. A couple features that I believe are missing at the moment. 1. Automatically email invoices x number of days before the next payment is due as a reminder. 2. Simple way to email a select group of leases/customers. 3. A way to combine invoices for customers that rent multiple units.

Unit Trac Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the feedback Todd! You'll be happy to know that an accounting update is coming soon and next up - improved communications.

Jim
Owner in US
Commercial Real Estate, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Small facility review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: A small learning curve but now no problem getting to where I need to go in the program.

Pros:

I like the ease with which to take payments and view current status of all tenants. It keeps track of monthly income and can be used when auctioning units by utilizing the store function.

Cons:

I would like to be able to send all late tenants emails at the same time rather than having to open each account to send the emails one at a time. Seems like this would be an easy fix . The map edit screen seems to be very slow. The unit Box covers up other units so you have to click somewhere else to view the unit you want to select next.

Unit Trac Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the feedback Jim! Our team will look into the responsiveness of the map. We are working to improve communications. Stay tuned for updates.

Derek
Owner in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Company

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are able to run multiple facilities from one office. Even looking at adding our Rental Properties on Unit Trac.

Pros:

Easy to use. Very affordable. We started with one small 40 unit facility and have grown to over 500 doors. Unit Trac has made the transitions easy and are always their to help!

Cons:

Would like auto emails to be send to customers with Invoice, and when card is declined.

Unit Trac Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the positive review Derek! It's been great to see your business grow. You are doing great work. We have some updates coming that you will be happy with...thanks for your patience. It's only going to get better from here.

Margot
Co-owner in US
Warehousing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I love this software! I had used another online software before, but I am SO GLAD I switched!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I really like the home page that shows you who is delinquent and how far behind they are. With my old software, I would have to go through my customer list one-by-one, very time-consuming! This software is also very easy to use. The site map was also very easy to set up and is very helpful to see who is renting a particular unit and gives a nice overview of what is available instantly. I like the flexibility to make changes myself when needed. Payments are easy to record and send out receipts. My customers love being able to make payments themselves. I feel much more professional and on top of things with UnitTrac!

Cons:

I would like to be able to have automatic reminders sent by email or by text to my habitually late customers or anyone else who would like invoice reminders sent to them.

Unit Trac Response

7 years ago

We are glad that you switched to Unit Trac too! Delighted that Unit Trac has been able to save you time and make you feel professional - and make your customers happy. Thank you for the automated messaging feature request. Our development team is working on that functionality. Stayed tuned.

sandy
owner in US
Real Estate, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Unit Trac

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Have been really happy with the customer service aspect. The software developers are in the self storage business themselves and really thought their product through. I have had a lot of questions for first time situations that I wasn't sure how to handle and they have been great. We have had a lot of compliments from our renters on the ease of going through the lease process.

Pros:

Really like the Unit Trac software. The ease of using the software is great for a newcomer to the business. All the important information is easy to get to and it generates useful reports. Integrates a website that is easy to make changes to.

Cons:

Would love to see it be able to integrate with my Quickbooks software or have an area in their software to handle the expense side of the business. Right now, I manually enter my deposits and merchant fees into Quickbooks to get a complete financial picture.

Unit Trac Response

3 years ago

Thanks Sandy! We enjoy helping new facility owners that they have...we've been there before too. Our team will reach out about the eLease - we've heard it's simple with info, sign and pay. We are open to feedback.

Craig
Owner in Canada
Commercial Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Product

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Keeps my storage facility running efficiently and requires little time to learn. Support staff [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is second to none. Unreal for helping set up.

Pros:

I have a large RV storage facility and use it to run the daily business operations. Easily able to find and track my customers info, payments due and renewal dates.

Cons:

Unable to easily send a mass email to active customers

Unit Trac Response

3 years ago

Your business is booming Craig and we are happy to help you as you grow. More improvements coming soon to make it easier to communicate with your customers. We are excited to share the most recent update that allows mass emailing to customers! Committed to making Unit Trac better and we appreciate your input.

Doris
Office Manager in US
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Simplifies Life!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall experience is EXCELLENT! I love that I can run credit cards, set up portals, send emails, etc out of this one resource! Saves a lot of time and energy! So glad we found this system!

Pros:

It easily shows how many of each size unit is available at a given time. We don't have to tell people that we don't have specific units available...they can easily see that on our website.

Cons:

If there was a way to connect to our Quickbooks, that would help!

Unit Trac Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the positive review Doris and we are glad that you found Unit Trac too. We appreciate you feedback regarding Quickbook integration - with the revenue report - we hope that you find there isn't a need for duplicate entry.

Amanda
Owner in US
Commercial Real Estate, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Unit trac review

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The customer service is amazing. They always respond immediately with any questions or concerns oh, and I always go the extra mile to help.

Cons:

No problems. It has really helped my business

Unit Trac Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the positive review Amanda! We enjoy working with you. Castleton Self Storage operates very efficiently - great work!

Jeff
Pres in US
Semiconductors, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Unittrac

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been very helpful and goes out of her way to help me!!!

Pros:

Keeps up with rentals, income and reports

Cons:

No way to charge a Daily rate. Also have trouble going back in and changing sites around so I have to delete them and create new ones.

Unit Trac Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the feedback Jeff! We are always happy to help. Next time you need to change the site around - let us know and we can help so that you need to delete and re-create the spaces.

Tony
Owner in US
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Storage Facility Software; hands down.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Supurb customer service.

Pros:

Easily track unit availability, accounting, pricing, layout. Everything. Price is great.

Cons:

No cons. It is just the right software for the industry.

Unit Trac Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the kind words Tony! We enjoy working with you too.