Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Hive

We help teams move faster. Hive is the world's first democratic project management platform. That means that our product is built by us

Learn more about Hive

Showing 145 reviews

Shane F.
Content Team Lead
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2021

"The Best Workflow and Product Management Software We've Found"

Pros: After trying 3 or more programs for workflow and product management, none of them have the sophistication and intuitive features that Hive does. It has helped our project management and workflow process tremendously!

Cons: Because Hive offers such in-depth customization, it can be difficult to set everything up to run at maximum efficiency. We have a person in our company that was able to put everything together in such a way that made everything run very smoothly. So it may be a little difficult to set up to your needs, but once it's there your productivity will soar.

Vendor Response

by Hive Technology on 14/09/2021

Thank you for this kind review, Shane! We are so happy to have you as part of the Hive community. If you ever have any feature requests or want to see what others are suggesting, head over to our feedback platform on Canny. We'd love to hear your thoughts!

https://hiveteams.canny.io/feature-requests

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2021
Christopher K.
Owner
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2020

"Love Hive!!"

Comments: Organization, costing, task management. The Hive app and mobile are also awesome!

Pros: We are a small digital marketing firm. We had tried other programs, but Hive had the best package of support, collaboration and work flow!

Cons: Time tracking needs some work, but that is eclipsed by the wonders of version control and mark up of assets prior to approval.

Alternatives Considered: Rodeo, Accelo and monday.com

Reasons for Choosing Hive: Trello was getting expensive. We get more with Hive.

Switched From: Trello

Reasons for Switching to Hive: Best package of features for the price. The collaboration tool and markup of assets thru the approval process sold us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2020
Melvin L.
Melvin L.
Media Activation Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2019

"Great for productivity and task tracking at mass"

Comments: Overall, Hive was a great addition to the team. We used to do daily catchups with the stakeholders, which honestly wasted a lot of time in total for the whole team. With Hive, not only are we able to streamline work, it is also accountable and saves times by reducing needs for constant catchups on a daily basis. Anytime a stakeholder needs an idea of where the project is going, all that needs to be done is to login to Hive.

Pros: Easy to use, many different views and ways to personalize the UI to suit each person's needs.
Notifications are great to also help track tasks and ensure completion of tasks amongst the team is done well.
Hive is great for small teams with large, repetitive tasks that needs to be tracked on multiple steps, which is what exactly my team has been using it for. All in all good experience, has helped cut down the need or daily catchups as all stakeholders can easily see project status and update project details quickly as well

Cons: No way to track version history.
We have a rouge person who keeps randomly deleting our templates in the organisation. Hive has no way to track things like these however.
Also, I have used other project management softwares, and a lack of a desktop app or a addon (meaning you have to always open a tab to get the notifications) is a bit of a bummer

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2019
Jim C.
Cofounder, Operations Director
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/09/2017

"Comprehensive Collaboration Feature Set"

Comments: Hive brings our entire team into one collaborative workspace, allowing us to replace most emails with chat & task management. Samepage.io is also worth reviewing - haven't tried it but seems to also have a strong feature set at a similar or lower price, and includes video chat.

Pros: * Ability to view work by project, but team members all in one view, and then filter tasks to everything assigned to me across multiple projects
* Chat
* Responsiveness of customer service team via in app Intercom

Cons: * Threaded chat would be nice. This was recently added to Slack, but Workplace by Facebook does it even better
* Filter out actions that have not hit their start date yet, AND tasks that have an unmet dependency. Goal is to focus attention toward work which can be done now, and minimize extra human manual filtering.
* Needs FILTER BY DATE COMPLETED: We're most interested in seeing this available on the "My team" view, but could also make sense elsewhere. While we can filter status view by assignees, projects and status complete, just need this additional ability
* Should be a way to AUTOMATICALLY MOVE URGENT ACTIONS TO TOP: Automatically sort tasks marked "urgent" to top of each respective status list when "Sort Type" "Sort by Priority" has been selected in the project navigator so users don't have to hunt them down and pull them up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/09/2017
Crystal M.
Project / Office Support
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2019

"Great Experience So Far!"

Comments: I am enjoying my time with Hive so far, very efficient and easy to use. Always updating their features, which is fun to learn about and implement into my work. Awesome product!

Pros: The ability to create actions and sub-actions for a project / event, adding due dates. Different views, news feed section, ability to change text design.

Cons: Being able to print off selections / parts exel sheets and not all together.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
Project Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/08/2019

"Hive is a very good Project Management software tool, only lacking on budget / reporting."

Comments: Hive is a good project management tool when you focus on the projects. If you want to track the budget along with the project progress, it is lacking several features that would make that possible.

Pros: Hive allows for a few different method of project management for both agile and waterfall projects. It has built in time tracking and you can invite clients without having to pay a fee for them to be in your system. The forecasting tools are helpful and has most of everything you would expect to see in a project management system.

Cons: There are two things missing from this software that would make it a great tool. The first of which is an individual users task list that can be prioritized. Each of our employees wants to see what they are responsible for across all projects and then set priority without having to use a separate program (like Asana). Also, Hive does not do much to address the budgeting side of project management, so there is not a lot of insight to how the budget is being used or reporting back to the client on budget over time of the project, let alone any type of portfolio management.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/08/2019
Krystie B.
Production Manager
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2020

"Hive is the Bee's Knees!"

Comments: Overall, Hive is a great tool to not only organize your daily tasks but to keep communication open throughout the office. We love using Hive!

Pros: This software helped us increase our communication with each other throughout the office. Before using Hive we emailed everything and our communication was severely lacking. Now, using Hive, we communicate more frequently!

Cons: At first, it took a little to get used to the task manager. Once I figured it out it was really easy to use and everything seemed to flow much more easily.

Vendor Response

by Hive Technology on 13/08/2020

Hi Krystie,

Thanks so much for your kind words. We're thrilled to hear that Hive has cut down on emails back and forth. If you ever need anything from us, feel free to reach out to [email protected]

Best,
The Hive Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2020
Jess M.
Jess M.
Graphic Designer
Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/09/2019

"They actually listen to their users!"

Pros: I think the best thing about Hive is they take your feedback seriously. I suggested a feature that really impacts my day-to-day use of Hive and they actually implemented it. They even reached out to me after it was pushed live to let me know that they implemented it. It was so nice to be heard and to have my feedback appreciated and implemented.

Cons: I still have some issues with notifications. I find the differences between "My notifications" and "Activity feed" to be very confusing and arbitrarily segmented.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/09/2019
Umut M.
Umut M.
Founder/Manager
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/01/2019

"Trello and Slack combined in a single app.."

Comments: We were looking for a team communication app that had a Kanban Board so that we wouldn't be using 2 different apps for communication and project management. Hive was just we needed and it delivered as expected. The app works flawlessly, fast and no surprises. We are very happy with it.

Pros: - Kanban Board and team communication in a single view
- Google Drive and Dropbox integrations
- Ease of use
- Clean UI
- Simple to advanced project view options.

Cons: - Its keyboard shortcuts are not perfect. Yet, improving.
- Lack of favicon and browser title notifications

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/01/2019
Michell B.
Director of Partnership Development
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020

"Hive Review - Fight CRC"

Pros: The email integration and being able to create templates that can be re-​used - helpful when adding sponsorship details.

Cons: At times it runs a little slow with loading IM's and documents. At times, editing options are not av when you are proofing/editing a docum​ent in the proof section of a card.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020
Arym H.
Graphic Designer
Architecture & Planning, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2019

"Hive as an employee"

Pros: The company I work for recently started implementing Hive as a project management tool for all departments and organization has improved significantly. Hive is easy to use and he UI is very straight to the point, it keeps your daily tasks at hand and helps bridge the gap between departments.

Cons: The desktop versión takes a while to load on some computers, which can be annoying when in a hurry.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2019
Amanda B.
Project Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2020

"Hive"

Pros: Hive does a great job connecting all the pieces needed for a project in one place. It helps keep everyone on the same page and connects them to the resources, links, comments, and next steps.

Cons: It is easy to jump right in and start using Hive, most basic features are intuitive. However, it was very helpful to have the Hive team guide us through the first set-ups and still help us with more complicated projects, they are constantly updating and adding new features, which are great, but I don't always take the time to read and learn about how to use them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2020
Jonathan V.
Jonathan V.
Social and Digital Content Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2019

"Tracks your productivity easily"

Pros: Besides the tasks management being perfect, it has a time tracker so i can easily check how much time i spent on my work.

Cons: Honestly, i think is perfect. The costumer support is great at resolving any problems found while using Hive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2019
Deneb C.
Sales Account Executive
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/11/2020

"Neutral"

Pros: Hard to comment. I found this software quite confusing.

Cons: I've been experiencing some issues with the notifications. I don't receive my colleagues' notifications right on time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/11/2020
Sarah N.
Consultant
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2020

"Cheaper alternative to other PM tools"

Comments: May not be as intuitive as some other tools out there but it's a good option for the price. Just make sure your team is fully trained in using all of its functions to the fullest.

Pros: This tool is a good bang for your buck if you are a small business in need of a project management tool, as a lot of the other tools out there can get pretty pricey. It has a variety of uses and layouts for projects such as Gantt charts, status view, etc.

Cons: It really slowed my computer down, whether I used the desktop application or the web version so not sure what the issue was there... My team also did not find it very intuitive, and we had quite a hard time getting the hang of making the best use of the tool's features. So the tool is not for everyone.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2020
Andrew Z.
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2016

"Awesome teamwork tool"

Comments: I've been using Hive now for many months, and it has only made collaboration with the teams I work with easy and efficient. It's very customizable, and their team continues to improve the product on a consistent basis. I've only had positive experiences with this product.

Pros: -Easy to use
-Powerful organization
-Has everything in one place-files, task management, messaging, integration

Cons: Not enough people know about it!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2016
Verified Reviewer
Marketing Strategist
Automotive, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2018

"Excellent tool to keep you focus on the task at hand."

Pros: Keeps me organized. I love how there are templates for actions so I never miss a step.

Cons: White font on actions makes it hard to read. Not enough colors for projects.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
Administrative Assistant
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2019

"Gets the job done"

Pros: It's like Trello but better. Very easy to collab with team members.

Cons: Occasionally I run into login issues. Also I will leave my workspace for a short period of time only to come back and find that I've been logged out

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2019
Katie K.
Account Manager
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020

"Hive review"

Pros: Able to display multiple tasks at once and clearly see items that need action.

Cons: Notifications or follow up requests can get lost after read and can be difficult to find.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2020
Mark V.
Owner
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/06/2021

"Great product very easy to use"

Comments: Didn’t like the integration wasn’t too goodIt was a very pleasant experience overall

Pros: My favorite is the project management Aspect

Cons: Didn’t like the integration wasn’t too good

Vendor Response

by Hive Technology on 14/09/2021

Thank you for your review, Mark! As part of the Hive community, we'd love to hear your feedback. Visit our Canny page to request and vote on the new features you'd like to see in Hive -- we'd love to hear your ideas!

https://hiveteams.canny.io/feature-requests

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/06/2021
Jacob B.
Project management
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019

"Hive review"

Pros: Organization and schedule. I also love the Google linking capability

Cons: Nothing. Everything is great. I have not complaints.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019
Allie B.
Project Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2018

"Want to jumpstart your teams' productivity? GET HIVE!"

Pros: The personalized customer support is phenomenal and made us feel like we were the only customers! Our team loves having the chat bar right inside of Hive to minimize​ the need to switch windows.

Cons: The software needs to have a dashboard where it pulls data from the individual projects and gives you a dashboard of all project status in one view.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2018
Beckah R.
Operations Manager
Insurance, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2018

"A excellent solution to organize everything our company does!"

Pros: Being able to organize, label and prioritize tasks in one place has helped the efficiency of our business. The in app chat feature is very helpful too!

Cons: We don't have anything negative to report yet!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2018
Sneha S.
Graduate Assistant
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2020

"Hive user"

Pros: It’s very convenient to use as a team and for all tasks and can be coordinated between teams very well.

Cons: I like everything about the software including team user friendly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2020
Ceecee C.
Project Associate
Real Estate, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2018

"Hive has the best UX"

Comments: Hive made team collaboration and project management possible

Pros: Hive syncs with all of the apps I use seamlessly. If I want to click and drag a module, it allows me to, and it's very intuitive

Cons: It is an additional add on. In this new age of constant new apps or signing up for another gig, it seems extraneous, but Hive really is worth it!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2018