Cornerstone LMS Reviews

by Cornerstone OnDemand

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 /5
  • Customer Service
    4 /5

About Cornerstone LMS

Develop a skilled workforce by delivering modern, prescriptive and mobile-ready training to every employee.

Learn more about Cornerstone LMS

Showing 143 reviews

Amy S.
Owner & CEO
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2017

"Adding and tracking attendance for our training courses is easy to maintain with Cornerstone."

Comments: The main benefits are being able to track on report on which customers attend our courses and how they evaluated our courses.

Pros: What I like most about Cornerstone is that I can add and track our courses and customers who have attended our courses. A majority of our courses are offered virtually so being able to effectively track attendance for these courses in a simplified way is very beneficial to us. We also have advanced courses that our customers need and since we do not allow customers to take an advanced course with the pre-requisite course is extremely valuable to us. We do not want out customers to get frustrated when they attend a training that overwhelms then when they should have take a introductory course first. Cornerstone makes this easy to implement our protocol. I also like they customer can easily receive email confirmation when they locate and register for the course. They also can get in their email the Student Manual for the course and also integrate the date/time of the course in the email application.

Cons: Sometimes, our customer don't know exactly where to go to launch a course they are scheduled to attend. They have to go to their User Profile and look at their transcript. Although most customers to locate this, some can not. We wish it could be easier so that our customer attendance is high and we can continue educating our customers on the products we offer.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2017
Lin V.
IT Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2020

"Top notch Learning System For Our Premium Needs"

Comments: Cornerstone Learning has been firmly a part of training and development workflow for as long as I have been a art of this organization, and it has served us well. The UI is easy to the train for both our end users and administrators/educators. Yet, we have just only cracked the surface with the modules that we have employed.

Pros: Cornerstone Learning is intuitive to learn with a mostly clean interface. Some newer systems have more modern and updated features, but Cornerstone does the job for us. I love how relatively easy it has been to engage our users and deliver quality learning objects.

Cons: The content development tools are growing, but find external authoring applications is still essential.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2020
Franz V.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2015

"CSOD Client Services Structure Is Great!"

Comments: Cornerstone OnDemand's Learning Cloud is a robust LMS that provides all of the necessary functions to properly administer an organizations training operations. Our training department manages hundreds of simultaneous training sessions every week, from self-paced elearning and webinars to ILT sessions and third party vendor training, CSOD has helped us keep accurate training records and produce valuable reporting data integral to our business strategy. There are many helpful functions within the Learning Cloud, but one in particular that has been a time-saver is the Test Engine. The Test Engine within CSOD has helped us reduce the cost of administering and maintaining tests. We constantly test our employees for job proficiency. After much thought and planning, although we had the option of building tests using authoring software like Adobe Captivate or Articulate Quizmaker and then uploading them to the Learning Cloud, we instead decided to use the Test Engine. The Test Engine allows us to build a database of test questions and categorize them. This makes organizing, updating and create new tests simple and faster than using authoring software. In addition to the useful functionality within the Learning Cloud, CSOD's client support team has been outstanding. I can't rave enough of how valuable it is for any company it is to have a DIRECT relationship with their LMS vendor. CSOD provides us with a dedicated client support representative and a whole team of troubleshooting partners that are available to answer questions or resolve issues. CSOD's client support is amazing. In addition to having actual people you can talk to over the phone, CSOD hosts several live webinars that touch upon different functionality within the software. There are even office hours where a CSOD specialist is available for discussions about LMS administration or strategy. With so many useful features and an absolutely fantastic client support structure, CSOD should definitely be in the conversation when discussing the top five enterprise level LMS applications in the market today.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2015
Kevin M.
Quality Manager
Warehousing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/01/2020

"Cornerstone provides a User friendly Fail-safe system to elevate business training"

Comments: Well developed and supported LMS. Could not be more pleased with the Cornerstone offering. No prior administration or IT experience was necessary.

Pros: Easy to use. Very intuitive and provides a very reliable way to process training needs in a fail-safe way. The need for outside assistance from IT resources is not necessary due to the thoughtful way it was developed and implemented.

Cons: I can't think of a real obstacle to receiving immediate value from the Cornerstone product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/01/2020
Julio G.
HR Director
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2016

"Great HCM with great innovations to execute the HR Strategy"

Comments: Cornerstone HCM is a very powerful for a company who wants to improve the talent management strategy and want to align the business goals with the HR strategy, this a software that is designed base in the best practice and the latest trend of human resource, so are always get push to innovate and connect all dots of the HR strategy, is a tool to unified the whole HR strategy, linking recruiting, learning, performance, compensation, succession and something very cool that their big data module use information from all the clouds, in my experience we are getting our employees faster to their level of competency, we are improving the communication with the employees since the beginning and we are more transparent in what we want them to achieve and how we want them to achieve what we want., is very user friendly and every 4 month you have a great deals of new functionalities.

Pros: Very user friendly, you can unified your whole talent strategy in one system and is a system that empower HR to manage and use it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2016
Casey C.
Learning Specialist
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2015

"Cornerstone LMS"

Comments: Our experience with Cornerstone has been rough to say the least. From our initial sales meetings and implementation there have been things that have just not gone as promoted. As a regulated medical device manufacturing company we have very specific expectations out of our LMS and Cornerstone claimed to be able to support those expectations and has fallen short in some areas. That being said, they have improved over the years and are much better with being transparent with us then in the past. We struggle with using a cloud based LMS for two reasons. One because our requested enhancements are usually denied or go into the black hole of a system that uses votes from other clients to assess other clients interests. As I mentioned we have very specific needs which aren't likely to receive a large number of votes. And second, when changes are pushed to our portal automatically we then have to retrain our global admins and users. It sometimes feels like you have to ask the same questions over and over to receive help. On the pro side I'd say the user interface is a big pro. The users seem to like the look and feel of cornerstone much better than our previous LMS. If we had to do it all over again would we cornerstone in the first place, maybe not, but as I mentioned previously there has been some improvement over the years and we will continue to voice our requests until it exceeds our requirements.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2015
Verified Reviewer
Training & HR Systems Specialist
Farming, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/08/2019

"Cornerstone Review"

Comments: Cornerstone is great. They let everyone know the new features and do their best to get regional groups together to discuss their products.

Pros: Ease of use from an admin point of view. I also like how creative you can get with custom pages

Cons: End users complain that it is too big and too hard for them to navigate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/08/2019
Jilyne T.
Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition & Inclusion
Consumer Goods, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2019

"Good Ongoing Updates"

Pros: There are so many things that can be customized, and the user interface is easy to use and configure. Cornerstone continues to make positive updates to the system functionality to make things more intuitive for employees.

Cons: There are some areas of the system that require a few too many clicks to get to, and to push communications out of the system it must be done manually and there is no function to have "mailing lists" for certain user groups.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2019
Abbey D.
Talent Specialist
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2015

"Love Cornerstone - Highly Recommend!"

Comments: I personally have had a great experience with Cornerstone, from both a end user perspective and also from a system administrator perspective. Currently, we use the Core, Learning, Performance and Succession modules and each has impacted our workforce and internal workflow processes in their own ways. The thing I love about Cornerstone most is that their releases are filled with extremely relevant and useful upgrades. Other technologies that we use will upgrade their product just as regularly but there will be very little that we would actually consider implementing. Cornerstone listens to their user base and structures their releases in a way to meet the needs of the most request items. They are also very good about the overall user interface to ensure the technology is engaging for users. Cornerstone Support has always provided great direction from major configuration questions to best practice recommendations. When you submit a Care Ticket you typically get a response back within 24 hours and the feedback that is given is clear and concise. The only con really is that it is hard for us to keep up with all the upgrades that are made, but that is a problem that I am willing to have if it means the product is getting better and better!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2015
Verified Reviewer
Human Resources Business Partner
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2018

"Great LMS system - easy to use and track"

Pros: It's easy to create new training modules and load them into the system, as well as assign tasks to team members. Great reporting for training compliance as well.

Cons: The system can be quirky at times. There are certain ways that things have to be done, and taking shortcuts won't complete a task.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2018
Joshua P.
Owner
Restaurants, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/06/2020

"The worst experience I have ever had with a software or company!!!!"

Comments: Terrible. Never once did they take ownership for this not working for us. They instead said, too bad you're on a 3 year contract and we will sue you if you don't pay. We have over 5 months of implementation and the software does absolutely nothing for us.

Pros: Nothing. The sales person misled us and it does not work for our use of a restaurant group.

Cons: It does not integrate with ADP like we were assured of. We were ripped off.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/06/2020
Bert S.
PM/LMS Adminstrator
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/11/2015

"Learning Cloud"

Comments: I've been using the Learning Cloud from CSOD for 3 years and have had many pro's and con's with it. I've enjoyed the ability to upload online classes and all sorts of different materials that best suites my company. We've created numerous Curriculums that have all sorts of LO's inside and have assigned them to many different departments across our organization. We've also utilized the ILT section of learning to give our instructors and webinars an easier look and registering process. Cons:
-There is a lot to learn to get everything the way you'd like it.
-Support can be hit and miss in GPS as well as time to fix issues
-Configuration can be a chore if implementation is a challenge
-Things can go wrong if all checklists aren't met prior assigning something (be very picky about what you deploy)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/11/2015
Mike K.
Learning Specialist II
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2015

"Cornerstone LMS"

Comments: As a system, Cornerstone can do many things and is absolutely one of the premier Learning Management System's out there. The one big issue I have is with the support structure and how they handle incidents with their clients. Once a ticket is raised with global product support it seems like it goes in a black hole and for the most part you have to rely on your CSM for updates to tickets and to get any traction on getting the issue resolved. Another problem I have is with the Client Success Center and "Suggestion City" I cant even begin to tell you how many suggestions we have made only to just sit out there in suggestion city with no actions taken. It would be helpful if they showed a direct correlation between changes in releases to requests made by clients.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2015
Rebecca H.
Elearning Instructional Design Specialist
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2015

"Cornerstone LMS is our Choice"

Comments: We have been using Cornerstone for our LMS for 3 years. We had investigated several different LMS providers and settled on Cornerstone because of the features, the support offered, and their reputation. The implementation went very smooth. We are impressed with the responsiveness of the CSOD team members. They listen to us, the clients, and do their best to continue to make the product what we need for it to do. The quarterly updates have been managed and presented in such a way that we have plenty of time to test and choose when to implement the new features. From our perspective, we have been very pleased with the enhancements and new features that continue to be added to this already robust platform.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2015
Grace S.
Elevate Coordinator
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2015

"Can be tricky to use; Very customizable for our needs"

Comments: Our company has been successfully using the LMS for about 4 years and have always been able to address our training needs with this tool. The emails that come from the system can be customized in any number of ways - which nice but can be tricky. Some of the back end buttons and boxes are not always intuitive and user friendly (which makes it tricky), but the Global Product Support team has always been patient and helpful with my questions. In addition, they are in the process of revamping the user interface of the entire learning cloud. This has done wonders to make the back end setting options easier to navigate. Overall, I would say it meets our LMS needs very well!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2015
Melissa F.
Talent Development Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/03/2016

"We are new to Cornerstone but I have been very impressed with what I have seen so far."

Comments: We recently purchased basically the entire Cornerstone suite of modules and are starting with implementation of the LMS. I have worked on other platforms before and by far Cornerstone is the most intuitive and easiest to use as an administrator. I don't need to be an expert in html or xml in order to have the system do what I need it to do, which I love. And if there is something that I DO need help with, the customer support from Cornerstone is OUTSTANDING. I cannot say enough about it. Friendly, available, and intelligent, I know that the answer to just about any question is just a quick phone call away!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/03/2016
Mandi W.
Training Coordinator
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2015

"Cornerstone LMS - well worth looking at"

Comments: The organization I work for has used Cornerstone for many years. The customer service is excellent and the engagement they encourage clients to have with other Cornerstone users shows the company walks their talk! At times the LMS can seem cumbersome; however, the initial time investment has helped us become more efficient in our learning and training goals over time. Again, their customer service is top notch and I have definitely utilized our client support specialist a number of times to help me through moments of challenge and frustration. Overall, I highly recommend all to consider Cornerstone!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2015
John C.
Training Manager
Retail, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2017

"Good but outdated"

Comments: Cornerstone has several LMS systems out in the market and as one of the biggest players offers a lot of variety in terms of utilization as an LMS. However, because of this they mainly cater to larger organizations, and those who can generally provide an LMS admin. This is due to how long they have been in the market. Although they are creating new platforms for the emerging market *gamification, tracking, social media, etc* this has made it daunting for them to have support for their other platforms.

Pros: One of the largest players so a lot of experience.
Knows the inside and out to creating a learning platform.
Great for organizations that have been around for a few years.

Cons: Not much of a learning curve takes time to effective manage
Require an LMS admin that most new LMS do not
Very expensive, not good for small organizations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2017
Adam S.
Talent Management System Analyst
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2015

"CSOD LMS"

Comments: The overall of this system is that it can do almost anything. The choices are limitless. We are able to track our employees' required training, certifications, other classes they have attended etc. It is highly functional, and helps us to support this daily. The only con if you will, is there is so much to learn that we feel sometimes we aren't maximizing the system due to the fact we just need to get things live.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2015
Kay W.
Technical Training Design Specialist
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/11/2015

"Awesome Mobile Experience"

Comments: I recently had the opportunity to try out the mobile feature of the Learning Cloud platform and loved it. The initial reason I tried out the mobile app was to see if I could sign into a session roster from my mobile device. Unfortunately, this is not an available feature yet but I am looking for it to become a viable feature in the future.
Thanks for the innovative ideas.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/11/2015
Guy M.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2016

"Good LMS solution"

Comments: A good LMS with deep customization options. Downside is the UI - a bit outdated and using the system isn't always straight forward. Nonetheless, a good solution fit for many organizations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2016
Daniel U.
Analyst
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2018

"Nice, simple training tool"

Pros: I like that it's basic. Training should be easy to accomplish. This program has the bare essentials and it's easy to navigate to your content.

Cons: The UI could look a little cleaner. This may be due to my companies instance of it, though. Other than that I love it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2018
Verified Reviewer
Independent Contractor
Restaurants, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2018

"The Black Hole LMS"

Pros: The look and layout seems contemporary and like it could be easy to use

Cons: When not managed appropriately, this LMS becomes a disorganized free-for-all for operations to land anything and everything they feel appropriate. Anyone using this software must have a designated HRIS - LMS team member to keep things organized.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Senior Communications Manager
Human Resources, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2019

"Average LMS system"

Pros: The system itself is generally easy to navigate.

Cons: I've experienced a lot of downtime with the software, as well as slow-moving courses and sometimes even the courses timing out. There have been several times I've had to restart a course.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
Talent admin
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2020

"Not very user friendly"

Pros: It’s very customizable and saves time when you get it right

Cons: It’s not very user friendly. It can be finicky when creating assignments everything has to be exactly right or it won’t work

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2020