15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About django CMS

Open-source project, written in programming language Python and based on the Django web framework.

Learn more about django CMS

Pros:

I am a developer and had to integrate into an existing site. The process was well documented and quite easy for someone with my skillset.

Cons:

No user management support for Admin/Editor/content writer. No extended plugins to get more features compare to other CMS system.

django CMS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

7.9/10

django CMS has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 24 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used django CMS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (24)

Janne
Janne
Technical Product Manager in Finland
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

For lean-agile development of mid-sized projects, the best CMS on the market

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I would whole-heartedly recommend django CMS for anyone looking for an easy to setup CMS platform for a small to mid-sized project.

Pros:

Django has a free open source version available for anyone to download. Additional support functions can be bought with money for highly available deployments. Django has a huge userbase, any type of help is easy to find on the internet and it's based on Python instead of other either more convoluted or less secure languages. There's lot to like.

Cons:

Building geo-redundant HA setups is relatively difficult task with Django. So for most mission critical deployments, potentially some other CMS is the way to go.

Nabin
Nabin
CEO in Nepal
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Secure CMS with frontend editing capabilities

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: With the django CMS, we are able to quickly develop small websites that are secure, scalable, and easy to customize.

Pros:

django CMS is written in Python programming language making it more secure, reliable, and scalable. With it, you can quickly develop a website that can be customized from the front-end. Comes with an integrated language translation feature. A great alternative to WordPress CMS.

Cons:

As django CMS is written in Python, you will need good coding skills in Python to extend, scale or integrate with other systems. Finding and hiring a Django developer can be expensive compared to a PHP developer. Small community and plugins ecosystem.

django CMS Response

3 years ago

Thank you for you great review Nabin!

Silvio
Silvio
software developer in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good CMS option for Django

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: Is useful for very barebone pages in which content might change often but not the format.

Pros:

I like that it is pretty simple to operate and fill the information even for a non "tecky" user, which is the very point of using a CMS in my opinion.

Cons:

It is somewhat problematic to integrate with other parts of Django. I don't like the fact that makes hard to track modifications to the pages. Very often the dependencies are not updated, I get that is an Open Source projects but still that is a problem.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Django CMS is the go to solution for fast deploying a Django website.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I find it a very good all around solution. I will continue to use it.

Pros:

It allows to fast deploy a python/Django project and customize it to your needs. Many times Django CMS has been my choice solution as base for my clients websites.

Cons:

This is now a newbie software that allows to generate magically a website, this requires extent knowledge as python programmers.

Filip
Big Data Developer II in Serbia
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great framework for dynamic web apps

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Really satisfied with Django CMS, took me a while to go through some learning material, but once you grasp the basics, Django has a lot to offer.

Pros:

Django has great features that are already implemented and has a large and well explained documentation on how to use those features. Using Models is a great way of handling your needs when it comes to web apps.

Cons:

Complexity for a beginners could be a bitter pill to swallow, but once you break the learning curve, you'll see all the great things Django has to offer.

Dan
Dan
Web Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Python base for getting projects up quicky

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

If you need basic content management, Django is a great tool for getting your prototype up quickly with the features you need. The admin is pretty customizable (within reason), and the number of free plugins and extensions out there makes development quick.

Cons:

Scaling can be a bit of a hassle after a certain period, as is optimization. The building-block nature of things means that getting to MVP is easy, but iterating from there can be tricky if you need to change the blocks around. Also, getting into moderate customization often involves a significant amount of writing substantial pieces of the admin from scratch.

lahiru
lahiru
software enginner in Sri Lanka
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

best python framework ever

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: i use this application to develop python based applications. this is the best python based framework ever

Pros:

i use this application for develop few python based applications. this is based on MVC architecture. It was very easy to work with this. no need any additional training to get started with this

Cons:

it was little bit hard to understand routes. no other weak points i found. actually its simple as well as user friendly

Logendher
Logendher
Founder in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Python based Open Source CMS Platform

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Easy Installation and Setup within a minutes to start the work, Django is Python base Platform easy to learn and having a great commuity support.

Cons:

File Structure sometime confuse the app and main project. have to clear cache memory every single changes in Django after deployment for instent output.

Elissa
Product Support Lead in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Keeps information neat and accessible

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

My experience with Django is strictly with the admin UI, which is clean, simple, and easy to use. Visually, information is displayed neatly and compactly, as minimal as possible. Even as someone who had never used similar software before, I was able to understand the navigation and structure very quickly.

David
David
IT Technician in Mauritius
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

David's Django CMS Review

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: A descent Content Management System.

Pros:

Its pretty easy to use this software. The user interface is good and navigation is also simple when using This CMS. These enable us to develop quick and efficient solutions and products.

Cons:

The major problem of this CMS is its difficulty with integrations and lack of proper file structure.

Arpan
System engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

What are the important features that is provided by django for a we development project.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have merged two technologies with django i have work on a sports based website where I merged django with reactJs for front end part and mangoDb for the backend part.

Pros:

Django provide a pre built in packages that comes with some files so developer no need to create and built the project from scratch.and the connection between these files are already build at the backend.django provide user authentication validation for the log in security of a web api project. Django provide a models.py package where developer can write the code in python and django convert that into query language. So it is easier for a python developer to operate with django. Django can be used a bridge between two technologies like backend and for frontend to link or merged.django provide a builtin administrator UI page to manage the database .

Cons:

As django have builtin files in it so sometimes it is very haptic for a new user who wants to make a small project in it. Although you are building a small statics web page you have to deal with lots of builtin files in it so user should confused while dealing with lots of files.

Jennifer
software engineer in US
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best django tool for development

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It is the best tool for Django development I used so far. It has a very detailed tutorial and guider for a new beginner. I recommend this tool for anyone just starts to use the Django framework.

Cons:

I still have difficulties to apply other web technique into Django CMS such as Javascrip, Jquery.

Jeremy
Operations Manager in US
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great way to structure our site map

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Very logical and powerful for developers to use to structure the site. The framework that powers our successful startup.

Cons:

Can be a little clunky speed wise and takes a bit of getting used to for non engineers.

Bastián
Bastián
Industrial Engenieer in Chile
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A quick overview of Django CMS

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I learned Django CMS thanks to a friend from university who set the goal of designing our own website, to have this knowledge when graduating from university. Although I had a background in python programming, using Django was a challenge that I am proud to say I overcame.

Pros:

What I like the most is the ease with which it allows you to create a website that adapts to almost any company or organization. In addition, its language is simple and its file management sophisticated and simple at the same time, which allows you to streamline operations without sacrificing design.

Cons:

Personally my biggest problem was the lack of information that existed regarding its installation, I did not know about the alternative of creating a virtual environment. Currently the information is more accessible, however, I think that a user manual with start-up videos would be good for new users.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great go-to solution for every CRUD web application

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Data modeling and database migration work out of the box, just define your models and every future change creates an auto-migration of the database schema. Simple modification of all object instances in the Django administration view is great for prototypes, because you don't need to write boilerplate code for every model again.

Cons:

Major version upgrades are a litte bit of work, although the changes / deprecation notices are well written.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Option for Python Developers

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Being built on django makes it an inexpensive package to use and also for spinning up a very fast content management site.

Cons:

In terms of theming, It could be quite complicated for a new user. Would be best to follow a WordPress approach. A default theme would be helpful

Michael
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Engineering Student

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: As an engineering student, I used Django in my first (and only) web-design class. The available tutorials were helpful, and the learning curve was relatively short (even for someone who had no web-design experience).

Darren
Darren
Co-Founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I integrated Django CMS into my site and couldn't be happier

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The ease of integration was incredible. I am a developer and had to integrate into an existing site. The process was well documented and quite easy for someone with my skillset.

Cons:

Don't try to integrate this if you aren't a developer! If you aren't a developer, hire a good one to do it right!

Gustavo
Gustavo
Software and Web Developer in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Powerful but complex

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Django-cms is a very powerful tool that will allow you to have a CMS up and running in minutes, it's also powered by an awsome framework.

Cons:

I do not recommend using this CMS to users with low experience on Django, it can be easy to get up and running but hard to customize.

Tanay
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Django for web development

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: I used django for web development at my startup. It's very powerful and had a lot of functionality but difficult to use.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Django for Python lovers

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It's based on python this is the main pro of this software.

Cons:

There is so much documentation that sometimes one can get lost

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Django CMS Review

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Most Suitable for Python Web Applications. It's free with great support. Just a few minutes to design API to get content. Stable compare to other CMS system. Multiple Language support. Support most of the operating systems like Windows, MAC OS and Linux.

Cons:

No support for Oracle Sql Database. No user management support for Admin/Editor/content writer. No extended plugins to get more features compare to other CMS system.

Adebayo
HelpDesk Support in Nigeria
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

One of the best CMS tool out there.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, django CMS makes content management easy and fun filled, with the ability to extend the features via plugins

Pros:

django CMS makes managing content for blogs and other static site very easy, it comes with basic features required for creating, editing and publishing contents on a website.

Cons:

You need to be well vast with the Django web framework to be able to fully grasp the functionality of Django CMS.

koffi Évariste
koffi Évariste
Web matser in Côte d’Ivoire
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

django un cms de python

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: j'ai utiliser pour créer un site internet d'un client

Pros:

permet de créer les site internet sophistique , dynamique

Cons:

maitrise les mode de commander cmd , et python a la base