Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Workato

Workato is a next-gen iPaaS with 1,000+ pre-built connectors to help automate the most complex workflows across your organization

Learn more about Workato

Filter reviews (31)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Usage

Sort by

Have you used Workato before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (31)

Paul M.
Paul M.
Project Manager/Content Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Has Potential to be Amazing!

4 3 years ago

Comments: I think Workato has great potential. It seems like their needs to be better guides and walkthroughs for each App integration.

Pros:

The recipes allowed a huge assortment of customizations to the automated "bots". Workato also supports most of the popular apps like sheets, slack, smartsheet, jira, etc... It is great for us that have a developer background as we can make changes to the code to update recipes.

Cons:

I had many issues getting the apps to connect properly so they could be used. It was not intuitive to figure out how to make a recipe as well.

Isabelle S.
Isabelle S.
UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Workato - great automation and workflow tool

5 4 years ago

Pros:

Workato offers a broad range of "out of the box" solutions as well as plenty of customisable features. It's ready to use connections are it's real strength for teams who don't have developer capacity and/or the budget to make unique integrations themselves. You can really build complex and robust workflows that automate business processes.

Cons:

The help documentation around Workato is reasonably brief and not hugely wide-ranging. You can contact help services and they are excellent at replying quickly and providing great support, but I would like better documentation around the product in the first place to avoid annoying and basic errors in recipes, without needing to generate a support case. A small con, but reasonably time consuming!!!

Jose m. S.
Head of IT Support in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Easy wasy to integrate applications

4 3 years ago

Pros:

Very intuitive user interface, creating a new recipe takes just a few steps. And in case you need some help or have any doubts, Workato consultants are always there to assist.

Cons:

Documentation is sometimes not enough to get the information you need. In case of issues it´s not easy to find what´s happening.

Verified Reviewer
IT and Salesforce Admin in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

One of the best integration tools I've used.

5 4 years ago

Pros:

The ability to create my own integrations without the need of any developer. Very intuitive and straightforward to use.

Cons:

There is a lot of community recipes available to choose from. It can get pretty overwhelming so having a system to sort more would be great.

Daniel C.
Daniel C.
Co-Director in
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Very Powerful Tool

5 6 years ago

Comments: Great custumer support, the team has been great. Still a lot of apps missing but time will fix that. In terms of costumization, the sky is the limit .

Cons:

Please add unbounce.com and app.sendgrid.com/

Brad E.
Brad E.
Verified LinkedIn User
Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

An essential part of any business' systems

5 5 years ago

Comments: My company is a contracting business in the energy efficiency industry with 20+ employees and $2-3M in annual revenue. Workato has transformed how our business operates by enabling us to automate what once was time-consuming, error-prone manual processes. Using the automation of Workato recipes has enabled us to save money by getting more production out of the staff we have and prevented us from having to hire new employees or contractors as the company has grown. Those costs savings have greatly exceeded the cost of Workato.

Pros:

The feature set and robustness of Workato is second to none. The breadth of customization that Workato allows in such a simple UI is truly remarkable and let's business operators without coding experience create complex integrations that would have cost us tens of thousands of dollars in custom development work. Workato blows other out-of-the-box integrations out of the water.

Cons:

Getting our Workato recipes running with the level of detail and granularity of our business processes required a steep learning curve. The basics of the software are easy to learn, but learning how to use formulas and other more complex features required a good amount of trial and error. When errors occur withing recipes, debugging them can be challenging, particularly given that errors are most often returned by the API of one of the software that Workato is connected to rather than Workato itself.

Blake H.
Blake H.
VP / Lead Architect in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great Product If You Know What You're Doing

4 5 years ago

Comments: As a consultant, I use Workato both in my own business and in multiple clients' accounts. I began using Workato because QuickBase promoted them as the preferred integrator when Intuit announced the sale of QuickBase. While they have a large number of pre-built connectors as well as the ability to setup HTTP calls, the process of building Recipes has an extreme learning curve, especially coming from a service like ItDuzzit. Additionally, the team often releases new or beta connectors without first having any supporting documentation, other than the connector's marketing page. Overall, they have a good product, but they seriously need to review their release process and the setup of their support portal.

Pros:

Lots of pre-built connectors. Chat agents are generally very quick to respond.

Cons:

Extreme learning curve - especially difficult if a user does not have any programming background. Support documentation is often lacking - especially for new connectors. When documentation is provided, the content is often very thin and is typically mostly text, with few reference images. Support portal provides no way to go back to your Recipe interface. Support Tickets can sometimes take 2 - 3 days for a response. Support Tickets have an internal "Priority", but no way for users to identify their own level of Urgency. From what I can tell, ALL tickets are given an initial Priority of "Low". Pricing / Plans lack any real sense of transparency. While the main pages tell users that Integrations are divided up into "Base" and "Professional" apps, you have to search through the Support Portal documents in order to find any comprehensive list of "Base" and "Professional" and there is no document that does a side-by-side comparison of the various Plans. And, if you look at the QuickBase plans, the apps are referred to as "Tier 1" and "Tier 2" vs "Base" or "Professional". Recipe logs only show information related to the last row of data processed. No way to see a "schedule" of active Recipe's.

Greg C.
Greg C.
Engagement Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A good integration platform

4 9 months ago

Comments: The workato support team and chat are very responsive and great to work with. They've been available to jump on calls with clients to help talk through workflows and potential solutions to their integration needs.

Pros:

The Workato team is a pleasure to work with and their large library of pre-built recipes make setting up the connections a breeze. They also have a large community of users that have shared their custom recipes.

Cons:

If you aren't using a pre-built recipe the learning curve can be a bit steep. If you have a failure find the error can be a bit complicated.

Alternatives Considered: Tray.io

Michael K.
Michael K.
Group Technology Manager in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Easy to use and very fast set up

5 5 years ago

Comments: We use Workato to export invoices from 3 separate Xero accounting instances into a MySQL database hosted on AWS for connection to our cloud basd BI and reporting tool. Set up was a breeze and everything works perfectly, we could not be happier. I achieved in a couple of hours with Workato the same as what would have been a 3 to 6 month software development project a few years ago, before iPaaS services like Workato began to appear on the market

Pros:

Easy to use, very intuitive user interface, and so far 100% reliable with great exception reporting

Cons:

None yet, we have been using for about a month now

Verified Reviewer
Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

robust functionality

5 2 years ago

Comments: great, will continue to use to automate as much as possible

Pros:

great tool for the unsophisticated or sophisticated end user and one i find myself using quite often

Cons:

could have more SMB functionality as it applies to the ability for the user to work in multiple flows

Guillaume couillard C.
Guillaume couillard C.
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Workato really do empower businesses

5 6 years ago

Comments: Workato is awesome; the Workato double way sync for Quickbooks - Infusionsoft is trully powerful; The support team (Derek-Ryan-Allan) over there really go out of their way to help you get setup; I never felt alone in the setup phase which is a big one; Well done; You guys really do empower businesses

Andy M.
US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Reliable DIY Integration We Trust

5 3 years ago

Pros:

We are in the construction contracting business with 100 employees. Our primary use case was to have Workato keep our Salesforce and Quickbooks Online CRM data in sync and eliminate time-consuming manual updates. After a 1 month trial and some minor recipe tweaking, we found that Workato simply outperformed all of the other integration solutions we tested in terms of reliability and real "hands free" automation. The community has a wealth of pre-made recipes available that you can customize to suit your needs. Everything from the use of data pills, to the documentation is very intuitive and user friendly. The customer support team has been extremely helpful and responsive to anything that has come up. Our account rep Bala went above and beyond to get our first recipes running. We now plan to expand our use of Workato to help automate other crusty business procedures. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for DIY integration that delivers true automation without needing to be a developer.

Cons:

When evaluating whether Workato is the right product for you, I suggest taking a close look at the available triggers etc. for the specific integration you're seeking. What Workato can manipulate, it does so accurately and reliably. However the only limitations we've encountered are with what is actually exposed by the target software's API (Quickbooks Online etc). It also took some legwork to ensure that other automatic background processes aren't triggering Workato constantly and blowing through the transaction cap.

Verified Reviewer
US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

The tool I was looking for!

4 4 years ago

Pros:

I'm a huge google fan but sometimes not everything was linked with other programs. Workato came to my rescue! Now almost seemlessly everything is synchronized. I no longer need to manually update several databases. Price is awesome for us non-profit. I shared with them some improvements, and there was some adjustments at the beginning but overall it is totally worth it!

Cons:

Some tips could be shared when creating a specific recipe. for example; don't share your google sheet with too many people or the recipe won't work. Or Don't delete a line or the recipe will not work for the next registration,...

Muaz R.
Project Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Lots of features and an amazing support and sales team

5 3 years ago

Pros:

Workato has been very useful for us in integrating tools with Salesforce, with freedom for us to customize as much as we want. There's not much you can't do with this product. We had Bala and Amanda helping us with our plan and recipe, and they were both very helpful to us when it came to providing the correct resources for us to refer to. Overall, I would recommend using Workato if they have the solution to what you're looking for, because they'll provide the necessary help to get you where you need to be.

Cons:

Recipes are a bit difficult to learn at first but you get used to it. Luckily, there is a good amount of documentation that your assigned success team could refer you to.

Jeff C.
Co-Founder, Chief Executive Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Incredibly powerful Integrator

5 3 years ago

Pros:

Super robust. Workato was able to replace other less fully featured integrators when it became necessary as our business grew. Nearly anything is possible if you know what you're doing!

Cons:

Steep learning curve to understand how the integrations work. Basic stuff is simple, but gets complicated quickly if you need super customized robust integrations.

Peter R.
Peter R.
Senior Sales Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Easy Integration

5 5 years ago

Comments: Powerful platform that enables integration with 3rd party services. I've used workato to parse large results too tedious to handle manually (e.g., 600+ records), as well as to interface with 3rd party services such as Onedrive.

Pros:

-Intuitive development of recipes -Great support (the customer success team has been very helpful) -Easy to initiate help requests through the chat window

Cons:

-Would be nice to have more API support built out for 3rd party applications (e.g., ability to create new directors in Onedrive) -Learning curve was initially steep, especially when trying to use HTTP Get/Post with 3rd party APIs -Lacks existing recipe examples that demonstrate the use cases I was trying to build out

Leo d D.
Leo d D.
US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great Product - Fantastic Customer Service

5 5 years ago

Comments: We were looking for product that would get us up and running quickly with an integration between SalesForce and Quickbooks. Bryant and Maria stepped us through the set up process immediately and had us up and running within 24 hours of first contact but most importantly they taught us how to create recipes for integration so as our needs grow we can do the work ourselves - an extremely flexible tool. As an added bonus Bryant and Maria showed us how we could use Workauto to develop work flows between a ton of Apps other than SalesForce and Quickbooks - as a start up this will be invaluable as we grow. Fantastic value for the money.

Pros:

Customer support could not be beat. A joy to work with. We actually enjoyed the process and the product performs as promised. All software should be as good as Workauto.

Russell H.
Operations Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great Support Team and Product!

5 3 years ago

Pros:

We were looking for an integration solution and Workato was great to work with during the process. I was given a free trial and a support person to work with as I tried out the product. I only felt support in my decsion making process and never any pressure to purchase. This sales strategy worked great for me! The recipe building process is very easy to learn without much "developing" experience. The "expert hour" webinars are invaluable to work out the details. Once I decided to go with Workato, I was assigned an expert to work with me to get set-up. The same person worked with me and was invaluable in helping me get going! Now it just runs in the background and everything is integrated, MAGIC!

Cons:

The biggest challenge I have had working with Workato has been trying to figure out why an error has occurred.

Kevin C.
Business Operations in US
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Solid Integration Tool

4 2 years ago

Comments: I use Workato to set up integrations between dozens of applications. It's easy to use and reliable.

Pros:

Workato is a reliable and secure platform with a fairly decent UI. The "recipes" (or, integrations) are rarely problematic on production. Most of the integrations have examples to reference when building. Additionally, Workato has pretty robust documentation.

Cons:

Some of the integrations are seemingly still be tested by Workato. This can result in an inability to build certain integrations. However, their support team is more than helpful in these scenarios.

Ryan H.
Director of Marketing in
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

A Must Have

5 6 years ago

Comments: We had a former provider that tried hard, but their service did not work. Workato just plain works. Allan was great to provide us with the Professional Services to help us get our initial syncing processes built and tweaked to perfection. There have even been several feature requests we have suggested and they have added them quickly. We use Workato to create new quickbooks customers as soon as they are a client in Salesforce, as well as creating in and updating invoices in salesforce as soon as they are created or updated in Quickbooks. This allows our entire company to edit and view in Salesforce and not have to have access to quickbooks.

Pros:

There have even been several feature requests we have suggested and they have added them quickly.

Cons:

It still requires some manual work when a syncing error happens and has to be resolved.

Belinda C.
Bookkeeper in US
Building Materials, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Currently working with workato for our sync program

5 5 years ago

Comments: We are using workato for our sync between quickbooks and infusionsoft. It is a work in progress however I feel we will benefit in the long run.

Pros:

Save time and money by using this software

Cons:

Takes some time to make sure data is correct on both ends

Bob S.
Bob S.
Senior Partner Account Manager in
Verified LinkedIn User
Renewables & Environment, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Simple and powerful

5 4 years ago

Pros:

We've found Workato relatively simple to use, yet a very powerful tool, for integrating data between Quick Base, Zendesk, SFMC, Box, and our own platform. The product works very well and superior customer service is the icing on the cake!

Verified Reviewer
Data Manager in
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Practice, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great Replacement For ItDuzzit

5 5 years ago

Comments: Since Itduzzit shut down, we have replaced over 65 recipes using Workato. The transition was very easy and came with a lot of customer support. Grace was especially helpful and very easy to contact when needed.

Pros:

Very powerful program. I can see it being capable of a lot of things.

Cons:

It took a little while to understand how to build recipes, but once you get it down it gets much easier. Also, when cloning a step, remember to replace all the cloned pills with the correct source. Not as many applications available, but if you need a specific request, they can create it for you.

Verified Reviewer
Data Evaluation Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Excellent Support

5 3 years ago

Pros:

Excellent training and support. Exceptional customer service, was thrilled to receive immediate follow-up on an user-error issue alongside options for continued training and support.

Cons:

I am not at an advanced level in my field yet to be able to fully review this product from a technical standpoint. But it certainly was not as intuitive as other platforms that I am learning at the same time.

Verified Reviewer
Technology Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great Customer Service

5 3 years ago

Pros:

I've only had one issue so far and it was resolved quickly and professionally. Representatives are very helpful and knowledgeable. Great customer service!

Cons:

Might help if transaction limits/balance was displayed on the main recipe dashboard. It's possible to run out of transactions with one recipe if you have a lot of data and don't set up a trigger properly.