15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Businessmap

Businessmap offers the most flexible software for outcomes-driven enterprise agility.

Learn more about Businessmap

Pros:

I like high adaptability. It makes it a bit complex to get started and finding the optimum way to structure your board(s) but in the end you can really create your own tailor made solutions.

Cons:

As I work in an environment with more than 50 Kanbanize users, and we create separated pages by department, I sometimes waste a little time (5 to 10 minutes) to find the card.

Businessmap ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

Businessmap has an overall rating of 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 162 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Businessmap before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (162)

Marianela
Marianela
Water Treatment and Environmental Management Consultant in Panama
Verified LinkedIn User
Chemicals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kanbanize, an agile project management software that increases productivity.

5.0 last year

Comments: Kanbanize and implements easily and no learning curve is required for its use; The Kanban methodology has no prerequisites for its use and guarantees collaborative work with high visibility. We only need to know the flow of the process in which we are going to work and the activities that have been assigned to us, the responsibilities are established by task and many of the actions on it are carried out directly by those responsible for fulfilling them.Another important feature of Kanbanize that makes it flexible is that communication is optimized since the need to hold meetings is reduced because everyone can see the process on the board.

Pros:

Its implementation is quite simple since it allows to visualize all the impediments that represent an obstacle in the fulfillment of the activities planned in a project, in addition to having the possibility of describing comments and observations that indicate the causes of the deviations, to make the corrections. at an early stage.With the implementation of Kanbanize, we achieve customer satisfaction thanks to the improvement in delivery times and the increase in the general quality of the product or service that we have modeled.

Cons:

Kanbanize's strength is based on activity monitoring, which does not show or manage more than the information that is necessary, nor does it focus on the mathematical analysis of data and metadata to generate complex progress charts in a project. It does not focus, for example, on performing a percentage efficiency analysis based on compliance dates, or developing correlation graphs for variables identified within the project. This platform, based on the kanban methodology, is entirely based on agility, prioritizing quality, applying waste reduction, and being very flexible when it comes to successful implementations and continuous improvement.

Virgílio
Agile Transformation Office in Brazil
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Tool for Visual Management

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Managing the tool and helping with the implementation of our work structures, whether information technology or business agility, the tool is effective and extremely efficient.

Pros:

Flexibility, usability, comprehensiveness and simplicity.

Cons:

Just small governance adjustments more targeted to traditional models.

Rimas
CEO in Lithuania
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Used almost 4 years but switched to other

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: When we had few users it was working perfect. Ease to set up project workflow, make different versions. If you start uploading link or attach some files to kanban cards or add more users, satisfaction is over. Computer slow downs enormously and in 2 years nobody suceeded to solve that. We were trying to minimase amount of data, minimise active users. Standard report ar eno use at all. If you want to have dynamic report and track business leads and projects in is necessary to connect extrenal software to make normal report which are more dynamic. Integrated reports are no use. This is my opinion as CEO who was running 4 factories and wanted to control project by kanbanize. We switched to Odoo.

Pros:

Friendly interface, easy to set up. Logic ir very simple and comfortable. We used in our sales processes and new product implementation proceses. 10-14 regular users were regulary connected. About 400-500 kanban leads. Pricing is ok. Could be free version for 3-5 users, it would help to promote software more.

Cons:

When we connected more users and opened more leads kanban cards it started to be extremely slow. Iphone or android application interface is different and does not have the same navigation functions. Reports are not comfortable. We used external software to generate report (dynamic reports) not static print outs. I see that IT guys more focus on functionality vut forget interface and reports to track project what is exactly CEO needs. For small company to play is ok. For bigger too weak.

Businessmap Response

4 years ago

Thank you for your review, Rimas. Sorry to hear you switched to another tool! We are constantly improving our product in order to meet users' expectations and needs, so your feedback is much appreciated. We are glad to hear you liked the interface and found our software logical and easy to set up. Kind regards. Kanbanize team.

Gustavo
Key Account Manager in Spain
Facilities Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easyness of use

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Just great, we´ve been using the tool for almost three years and all the peers that start using it for first time get to use it super swiftly

Pros:

Personal Customization and user friendly

Cons:

None to mention, perhaps the progress of updates

Virgílio
Virgílio
Enterprise Agile Coach in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Tool for Lean and Business Agility.

5.0 last year

Comments: Its native adherence to the main needs presented by our organization, combined with the strong integration of the strategy into the functioning of the teams, was essential for choosing Kanbanize as a management tool for our organizational transformation. It enabled the use of our lean-agile operating model.

Pros:

Certainly adherence to lean and agile methods and practices and ease of use.

Cons:

I believe there is potential for further integration with tools for software development or native embedding.

Benjamin
Benjamin
Logistics Supervisor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Kanbanize revolutionized our process

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It’s changed the way we do business. What started as a way to track production in a fabrication shop has evolved and found a place in nearly every department within the company. Our Estimating, BIM/CADD, Purchasing, Project Install, Warehouse, and Manpower departments all use Kanbanize to track their work processes.

Pros:

Kanbanize has given us a platform to bring our teams together. What once was accomplished through emails and phone calls, is now accomplished with the click of a button. From design to installation and everywhere in between, projects are easily tracked in an easy to use and visually appealing Kanban board.

Cons:

It took a while for us to recognize and rollout all the features Kanbanize had to offer. On first glance the software is simple and intuitive, but there is so much power in the analytics, business rules, Google sheet imports and third party integrations. Once we realized the software’s full potential and learned how to take advantage of all it had to offer, things really took off.

Sergi
Sergi
Agile Consultant & Agile Trainer in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Kanbanize = 100% Kanban Method

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: You can use Kanbanize on a single team/department (well, in fact, their pricing policy makes it worthwhile if you are about 15 users or more), across several teams, for a company area... or for the whole enterprise. It's one of the more scalable software we've ever seen.

Pros:

Kanbanize lets you effortless implement Kanban Method principles and practices to your company, gaining visibility of what is going and improving performance at all levels. It doesn't matter if it's a top-down strategy or a bottom-up initiative, Kanbanize will help you for sure.

Cons:

Flow-based analytics are spectacular, but the built-in tool for designing reports have a lot of room for improvement. Good news is that, if you need to gain deeper data insight, you can easily integrate Kanbanize with 3rd party business intelligence tools.

Luiz Henrique
Luiz Henrique
Tools specialist in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Machinery, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple and helpful

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Kanbanize made a better organization possible to fulfill my tasks, especially for development projects.
I became a more productive employee.

Pros:

It is very easy to deal with this app. Kanbanize allows in a very practical way to work with agile methods for project development/implementation. It basically works with to do/doing/done method, draggind the cards with all details. We can organize all ideas quickly before setting priorities.

Cons:

Sometimes it's a little bit difficult to find an old card to review a project. As I work in an environment with more than 50 Kanbanize users, and we create separated pages by department, I sometimes waste a little time (5 to 10 minutes) to find the card.

Businessmap Response

4 years ago

Thank you for your review, Luiz Henrique. We are happy to hear our software has helped you increase your productivity! Kind regards. Kanbanize team.

Carlos
Carlos
Consultant in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy view and management of the portfolio

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Is a platform reliable, not expensive and useful to create a global visualization of the portfolio plan and activity.

Pros:

Is a customizable platform to several user profiles. Is useful to manage the portfolio and the helpdesk issues.

Cons:

Sometimes the excessive options to configure maybe a little confused.

Javier
Teacher in Spain
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Businessmap for portfolio and project management

4.0 last month New

Pros:

Easy to use. Very good customer assistance. Customizable.

Cons:

Not so easy to link a gantt chart to the task management at Businessmap.

Natalia
Lean & New Technologies, FCF CoE in Spain
Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great collaboration tool, best support possible

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Support team & features not offered by other non-technology-teams-oriented tools (like Trello, Monday, etc)

Cons:

Part of the pricing related to the # of business rules

Businessmap Response

4 years ago

Thank you for your feedback, Natalia. We are happy to hear you find our software flexible and easy to use! Kind regards. Kanbanize team.

Dima
Software Developer in South Africa
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Kanbanize - a game-changer

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who wants to manage tasks, tickets and project features. I would use it on every project I am committed to, if possible!

Pros:

The organizing ability of this software is phenomenal! The lanes and the columns are highly customisable and can be organised to custom-suit the project. Each ticket can be colour-coded so one can immediately see their distribution. It is also great to be able to link tickets.

Cons:

It is a very complex software, and without proper training, one will not be able to utilise its full potential.

Mathias
COO in South Africa
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Flow Management for your entire organisation

5.0 last year

Comments: We are using Kanbanize since 2017 for ourselves as well as all our clients and have time and again seen amazing results of several hundred percent throughput improvements or lead time reductions. But I have to reiterate my warning that the tool is only part of it and that it will need to be professionally implemented to really see these improvements.

Pros:

Where many workflow and Kanban Tools only take care of very simplistic workflows and any changes need to be made by an administrator, Kanbanize is highly flexible and user friendly and extremely powerful to map and track multi-level workflows and projects.Additional to the features, software support is critical and here the team at Kanbanize excels with a 90%+ resolution rate within the same business day.

Cons:

Many people do not realise that "a fool with a tool is still just a fool". Kanbanize looks very simple to implement and is very user friendly, but to really reap the benefits of a Digital- or Agile Transformation or any process improvement, it is imperative that one digs a lot deeper into the underlying organisational setup and workings.

Karen
Agile Coach in Brazil
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best tool for managing teams and goals

5.0 last year

Comments: Today, monitoring the efficiency and effectiveness indicators of teams is much easier due to the use of Kanbanize, in addition to the integration between teams, with other tools. For me it is the best workflow management tool we have on the market today.

Pros:

The most impactful feature of Kanbanize for me is the ease of extracting efficiency metrics from teams and tracking OKRs, followed by the ease of integration with other tools.

Cons:

The question of graphs of efficiency indicators and graphs made by advanced filters should allow more customizations (changing colors, using fields, etc.)

Mark
Mark
CEO in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Professional Training & Coaching, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Only Kanban Software I Recommend

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I like to describe Kanbanize as the Swiss Army Knife for IT leaders in mid-sized businesses. Since we at Xuviate started talking about it in our IT Leader Masterminds and 1-1 Coaching sessions so many individuals started playing with it and later adopted the software ... to the point where there is currently no other main-stream Kanban software that is regularly used by any of the IT leaders we interact with. This is both testament to the quality of the product as well as the ability of Kanbanize to stay ahead of what users need.

Pros:

- The software is extremely flexible and supports almost any use-case - It is super easy for people to get started (even if they have never used Kanban before or are not in IT) - It is not just another Kanban tool and right from the start it is clear how Kanbanize (the company) is trying to change the way we run our businesses (e.g. by supporting and evangelising Portfolio Kanban) - The reporting engine is top-notch and provides both overview and many drill-down opportunities

Cons:

- Individuals often are role players on multiple boards. Currently there is no easy way to show all tasks assigned to an individual and to properly prioritise daily workload. - No integration with their personal Kanban tool flow-e exists at the moment

Mike
Project Manager in US
Education Management, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Agile Engineering - Kanbanize can make it happen

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The team, [SENSITIVE CONTENT], answered questions, shared advice and made the business side of things work. We are a university, no other company with a tool at this level of capability would help.

Pros:

At the most basic level, Kanbanize organizes and manages the data. Benefits are realized in the first 10 minutes of use. After that, as needs grow, the capabilities are waiting for use. I can brief students on the process, and they are able to integrate their team. Most have never seen Kanban tools before. One of my project managers, who had not used the tool before, set up business rules and templates for a student simulation project with teams all over the world.

Cons:

There are no negatives. The closest I can come is a UI element in one of the upgrades. I asked about it and it was changed several days later.

Alessandro
Alessandro
Agile Master in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Managing work with Kanbanize

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Kanbanize helped us mapping the workflow of several services in the company that were not mapped before. It was possible because the tool does not offer complexity when adapting itself to the organization structure. Kanbanize changed the mindset from managing [technical] tasks to any kind of work we do.

Pros:

Kanbanize excels at visual management and at the capability of connecting the different levels of the organization (horizontally and vertically). Its design is also intuitive allowing users to explore new features with ease. Updates and news are communicated often as well which bring Kanbanize and its users very close with each other.

Cons:

I have not been able to integrate Kanbanize with other tools yet, mostly because it must be done by third party tools and it implies additional costs most of the time. However, I can clearly see that built-in integrations (without third parties) are becoming more common, so this may not be an issue in the future anymore.

Bozhana
- in Bulgaria
Government Administration, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very powerful tool for agile project management

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The combination of kanban board and timeline is great, option for portfolio review is available as well. Every user can use the platfrom according to his/her preferences in term of detailistion of information. Reporting can be done in very big detail as well.

Cons:

The link between cards, deadlines and the timeline can be optimised a bit more.

Businessmap Response

4 years ago

Thank you for your feedback, Bozhana. We are glad to hear you find the combination of Kanban board and a Timeline view useful! Kind regards. Kanbanize team.

Sergey
Sergey
Integration Architect in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Kanban tool

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Implementing big Kanban systems is not easy. Lots of task/cards, teams in different locations, lack of metrics and indicators, etc could make it really challenging.
Kanbanize solves all these problems and gives many additional features to improve the efficiency.

Pros:

Great set of features. Full support for any Kanban scenario (both IT and non-IT). Very useful integration API (REST). The tool itself and integration API are very stable and bugless. There is very interesting mechanism for sharing information with 3-rd party stakeholders. E.g. use to share project status with a final client. Really good support (both technical and commercial)

Cons:

Pricing for small teams could be improved

Businessmap Response

6 years ago

Hi Sergey. Thank you for spending the time to write this review. We really appreciate the feedback. Kind regards. Kanbanize team.

Nils
Director of Engineering in Germany
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Supporting Kanban initiatives for distributed teams

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Besides the software as such, customer support is first class. Technical issues are solved quickly and the product team does an awesome job in listening to users and constantly adding valuable capabilities to the product. Customer success team was very helpful in figuring out good approaches for tricky use cases.

Pros:

Comprehensive modeling capabilities make it possible to express a multitude of different service workflows. Analytic capabilities are best in class. With Business Rules (automated event-based actions) advanced automation is possible, reducing administrative overhead and incidental complexity. Comprehensive API allows development of 3rd party tool integration.

Cons:

Learning curve can be intimidating given the amount of options and customization. UI can be somewhat unintuitive at times.

Annette
Project Director, Agile Expert, Public Speaker in Denmark
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kanbanize makes it easy to work with the Kanban method as it is intended

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Visualizing what has up till now been invisible. Using Kanbanize has introduced an increased sense of urgency and have allowed my teams to focus. This has in fact decreased the stress level, and I have had comments such as: "It is such a relief that I now only have to focus on few activities. Before I was hopping between 10 different tasks, but now I have only 2". Kanbanize helps to stick to the WiP limits agreed. Managers also see a big advantage in the overview they get over their teams and work progress. They can also see why activities get blocked, and many start to react on what they see. This has strengthened the communication between teams and their managers

Pros:

Kanbanize is made for Kanban. This becomes very clear when you have had to use other SW that does not really support visualization and flexibility to the extent that you would like. Kanbanize is really easy to use and you can adjust your boards so they fit the specific contexts that you are working in. Making workflows that fit your situation is very simple, just as playing with colors, working with different types of blockers and sticky notes are built in. There are a lot of online tutorials that can help you get started and can give you answers to probably any question you may have.

Cons:

The analytics part require that you take a deeper look into what you want to measure and how you interpret the reports. But I guess that is a 'must' anyway if you want to know the progress of your team or organization

Businessmap Response

6 years ago

Thanks for your review Annette! We appreciate your feedback and your endorsement. If you ever need anything, we're online and ready to help! Kind regards. Kanbanize team.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool for Kanban

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have been using Kanbanize for personal and professional projects very well. Everything has been smoothing very nice.

Pros:

One of the thing that I liked most of Kanbanize is its simplicity and friendly way to use it. You don't need any (or almost any) help to start creating their Kanban boards. Indeed, it is so intuitive to build new swim lames and cards. Furthermore, Kanbanize always notify me about the new features as soon as they released them.

Cons:

Kanbanize can add more metrics but my point of view is biased about helping managers to understand very well the power of using Lean metrics.

Dries
Data Quality Manager in South Africa
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kanbanize at Enterprise Data Management

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Awesome product! I cannot see myself managing and organising work my team with any other tool.

Pros:

Visualise all work, thereby unhiding even small requests. Supports our agile work methodology. Powerful analytics.

Cons:

Importing tasks from a spreadsheet seems too technical for business users.

Rashid
Consultant in Canada
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Project Management, Workflow Management and Visualization Application

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The team at Kanbanize is very knowledgeable and responsive. They do a very good job of receiving feedback from all partners and users of the application and constantly improve the application. The app is very easy to use and fits all workflows that I have come across throughout several industries.

Pros:

-Ease of use -Quick Implementation -Easy to Train the Users On -Immediate Benefits Realized by the Users -Visualization of Work -Major Monthly Product Updates

Cons:

I cannot pinpoint anything at the moment.

Michael
President in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I've used Kanbanize for several years and am impressed with its functionality and ease-of use

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The software provides horizontal swim lanes, which many of the Kanban based products did have. I also like the flexible licensing models.

Cons:

I think the biggest drawback is that you cannot convert the subtasks into individual cards and cannot assign due dates to subtasks.

Businessmap Response

6 years ago

Hi Michael. Thank you for the good words. And thank you for spending the time to write this review. We really appreciate it. Kind regards. Kanbanize team.