Cassandra Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Reviewed on 11/10/2016
Piyush J.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I had used Cassandra in my academic projects which were related to cloud computing. I used it for a few projects on Salesforce where multi tenancy features are implemented. In such scenarios Cassandra was one the best choices for NoSql. Although we have used RDMS, the performance while using Cassandra was better. I have simulated a few real time running apps like Facebook and Uber where I have used RDMS and Cassandra, and checked the performance using Jmeter. It clearly shows that Cassandra boosts the performance over RDMS. One thing I find difficult in Cassandra is following the documents, which are not so understandable.

Pros: Undoubtedly performance is an important reason
We have not encountered a single point of failure
Scalability of Cassandra is good which is the most important for the companies where demand is scaling day by day.

Cons: Cassandra has a wide range of asynchronous jobs and background tasks that are not scheduled by the client, the execution can be eccentric.
Because Cassandra is a key-value store, doing things like SUM, MIN, MAX, AVG and other aggregations are incredibly resource intensive if even possible to accomplish.
I think querying options for retrieving data is very limited.

cassandra review

Reviewed on 09/06/2019
Debasis M.
dba
Telecommunications, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I like it scales very easily when we see increase it traffic

Cons: Cassandra does not support joins so it is difficult to use as complex OLTP system

Cassandra : Zenith of Open Source NoSQL

Reviewed on 14/12/2016
Alpeshkumar G.
Senior Software Developer
Telecommunications, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We have quite complex requirements of tracing Buses/Truck of African cities of Rwanda for real-time reporting of schedule, breakdown, Traffic management of City using Apache Cassandra. Our team chose Cassandra for quite few reason. Open Source, Fault Tolerance, High Availability, Scalability, and Reliability of software components. I am happy that our team has chosen the right software for delivering complex software Solutions for Our Connected Vehicle Platform. We used it for real-time transactions and analytics. PROs: Fault Tolerance, Availability, and Superb Performance. CONs: It's not good for managing your Application processing. Its NoSQL DB requires lot of different understanding and NoSQL comes with its own issue so it shifts from traditional thinking process of RDBMS. Cassandra required very big learning curve which adds to the cost but benefits out weight this learning cost.

It has been a pleasant and rewarding experience for the management of data in the cloud and totally

Reviewed on 04/05/2018
Eyamir U.
Profesora
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It was very useful to me when I had to develop an application that needed a relational database and a non relational database that was going to be in the cloud, it was very useful and easy to use, as well as it did not give me problems for its use.

Pros: It has been a pleasant and profitable experience for the handling of data in the cloud and totally free, the handling of the data oriented to column families, tolerant to failures, since it replicates the data automatically to multiple nodes; When a node fails it can be replaced without any period of inactivity. allows replicas to multiple data centers; data storage type column family. The latest version of CQL3 that made the instructions similar to SQL with what breaks with the mental shock at the time of programming. It really does an efficient handling of data in the cloud.

Cons: The fact of having the data stored column by column allows us to return the rows more quickly, but when inserting, updating or deleting a record, it must be done in more than one location; for this reason, this type of database is not recommended for OLTP-type, transaction-oriented and high-concurrency systems.

A promising and powerful NoSQL database.

Reviewed on 28/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Lead Backend Engineer
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It is great for the right workload; with heavy writes and eventual consistency, it is a leader in the NoSQL space. I recommend Datastax for support using and supporting it.

Cons: Maintaining a cluster and an ops center server (for backups and monitoring) can get quite pricey. The learning curve of maintaining a cluster is a bit long.

lightning fast key store

Reviewed on 05/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Adjunct Lecturer
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: we needed to build a scalable object store with high write load (write is the main pattern of usage)

Pros: csql syntax is powerful
lightning fast read/writes
smart client to reduce hops to the correct node
easy to install

Cons: cluster management complexity
problematic node recovery

It was good, until we hit GC

Reviewed on 01/07/2018
Gabriel m. M.
CTO
Internet, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
1/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We were able to offload tables from our MySQL to NoSQL.

Pros: It was the best NoSQL solution for our organization. decent performance and cross-Datacenter replication.

Cons: It's written in JAVA. GC was killing us. at some point we had a server on GC for 30 min every 15 min.
we had to add more and more servers to deal with the situation. DataStax's PHP driver was using the first server available as a 'Contact point' when it was on GC, the second server on the list was hit and sometimes caused to crash; as result - we had a domino effect and an entire cluster would have crashed. (that, btw, was fixed and now Contact point is random).
There is a better alternative ***SCYLLADB****
Since we moved to Scylla - we were able to reduce the amount of servers by 75%.
Performance and stability is magnificent. client side hasn't changed - running with the same drivers.

Cassandra

Reviewed on 12/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
Production Support Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: CASSANDRA is easy to use, easy to search objects based on key space values

Cons: Cassandra needs to improve their architecture and also provide more training videos

Awesome No SQL DB

Reviewed on 27/11/2019
Jatin G.
Sr. Engineer
Retail, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The is awesome tool for No SQL DB requirements. We use this to store transactions so that we can reprocess in case something goes down.

Cons: The Queries are little tough and most of the features of sql queries are not supported.

good option from NoSql family database

Reviewed on 15/01/2019
Gaurav Y.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Just very good NoSql database in scenarios where you have to deal with large and hig velocity data in real time.

Pros: Cassandra is good choice from NoSql database when you need to store data which is coming at high velocity. As write operation in cassandra is very fast so it make it reliable to use it for real time scenarios where you have to process and modify the data in real time. And as Cassandra is built using Java, so it is easy to integrate this with other Java base tools like Spark, Hadoop etc.

Cons: Only cons for me is that it’s unpredictable performance because cassandra has lots of asynchronous jobs and other background job which are not in control. In such cases, troubleshooting some issue is big problem.

Quite good NoSql family Database

Reviewed on 13/01/2019
Deepak kumar S.
Quality Assurance Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: good and reliable NoSql family database .

Pros: As everything is designed for a specific problem to solve. Cassandra has it's own use cases where it perform very much reliably and efficiently. This is good when you have to capture high velocity traffic and need to do operation over it. Also, it offers other lots of great like very high writing speed, easy integration with other JVM based service/tool like spark, hadoop etc.

Cons: it has a quite bit hard of learning as you will have to setup the cluster for maintenance and all. And Cassandra is specific to use cases you just can't use it for other.

Ease of use with highly available , fault tolerant , distributed database

Reviewed on 13/03/2018
Neha V.
Software Engineer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: (1) It is highly available , also, replication around nodes is super fast
(2) It is fault tolerant inherently by design
(3) It is a distributed database, suitable for handling huge volumnes

Cons: Row level inconsistency sometimes poses problems with usage in Cassandra. This means when the same row is inserted and updated at the same time, there can be consistency issues with it.

High quality NoSQL database more closely related to relational DBs than alternatives

Reviewed on 05/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
Founder and CEO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Compared to MongoDB, another NoSQL database, Cassandra's commands are more closely related to SQL and are consequently more approachable to SQL experts. As a NoSQL database, developers are not weighed down with designing and modifying schemas.

Cons: Compared to MongoDB, Cassandra is less flexible and resembles relational databases more than MongoDB does.

Intuitive for SQL user

Reviewed on 27/07/2019
Abhisha B.
Research Assistant
Higher Education, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The query language cql is quite intuitive specially for sql users. Setup is also very easy since they have extensive documentation. Cassandra also provides very good and easy to use APIs that can be easily integrated in any application.

Cons: It is a column oriented storage format which takes some time to get used specially for sql users.

Good for any data project

Reviewed on 04/12/2018
Chirag J.
Developer
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: If you are starting a data intensive project it is a very good datastore for the computing needs

Pros: It is very easy to get started with Cassandra because of the vast community of developers and resources available. It is flexible for any course project or production application

Cons: Configuring it to work with Tableau on a Macbook Pro is not that easy.

Bigdata noSql database

Reviewed on 16/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
Graduate Research Assistant
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Apache cassandra is a good noSql database tool that can handle large data set effectively. It is great for distributed database design.

Cons: Learning curve for this tool can be high.

It is a powerful database manager noSql

Reviewed on 30/03/2018
Gregory M.
Developer
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It is spectacular for web applications that handle a large amount of data, the level of data processing is very fast.

Cons: The learning curve is very strong when you have worked with SQL. The change from SQL to noSQL is somewhat strong.

If something seems too good to be true it probably is.

Reviewed on 24/03/2018
Verified Reviewer
DBA
1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
2/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: An easy way to share data across multiple clusters. A proper columnar data store, with some novel quorum modes.

Cons: No matter how it's configured it's impossible to have really durable data. Having fault tolerant synchronous modes is useless if a node can die because it ran out of journal space. This should never happen! If a node can't write it's journal it should freeze, not the loose consistency of its local data ( I'm talking about corruption here not the loss of consistency with the other nodes). Columnar formatting and retrieval are actually really inefficient. Data formats in anything other than simple storage are bloated and inefficient.

Nosql db

Reviewed on 07/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
Project Lead
Hospitality, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Open source distributed and high performance.

Cons: Only can query with the key predefined.

We use it on our team to provide cache functionalities with high success.

Reviewed on 15/08/2017
Santiago D.
Developer
Internet, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Amazing performance and great value.

Pros: The amount of features and bang-for-buck ratio is really great. Perfomance is really good too. The fact that it's a descentralized architecture also means uptime is great.

Cons: It may not be the easiest product to learn about and become proficient, but by no means should it be called inaccessible.

Best No-SQL database for faster read

Reviewed on 15/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
Senior Software Engineer
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We were have problem with querying on huge amount of data. So we moved all the aggregated data to cassandra and it returns query with million rows too in milliseconds.

Pros: The read rate for any query is fastest in cassandra compared to any other NO-SQL database.

Cons: Update are too costly ie it takes up too much space in the system.

Easy to learn this NO SQL database, and self explanatory of most of the things.

Reviewed on 28/04/2018
Dilip G.
IT MW Administrator
Financial Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
3/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We are in the need of to use NO SQL database, and we thought Cassandra would be best choice to our needs.

Pros: Easy to install and connect from applications. User friendly to navigate the data with utility comes with it.

Cons: Most of the things are self explanatory, took very less time to use the product and integrate with applications.

efficient and powerful nosql database

Reviewed on 07/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
Développeur indépendant
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: if your application or your project process data that can't be lost then cassandra is the right choice for you, your data is replicated into multiple nodes to prevent faults. You can scale your setup easly to accommodate your needs.

Cons: The learning curve is steep so be prepared to get a lot of headache while learning. It's painful but not impossible.