15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About CommunityPass

Top-rated recreation management software. Comprehensive & fully integrated. 19+ years of success. Cloud-based, mobile & easy to use.

Learn more about CommunityPass

Pros:

Overall, CommunityPass was fairly simple to use and accomplished most of our needs. At the time, our organization was relatively small, so it suited our needs.

Cons:

That is always going to be the most difficult part when changing from one system to another though.

CommunityPass ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

CommunityPass has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 41 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used CommunityPass before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (41)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Recreational Facilities & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

New CP Users

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Online registration

Pros:

I like that we can register individuals for programs as well as them going into their own account to register themselves. I like the face of the homepage and the ease of navigating through the site.

Cons:

It's a lengthy learning process - as I think I have something understood there is then something else that I didn't do correctly or seem to need to find a new way of doing it. Some things are difficult to find, but the Help section gives detailed directions.

Capturepoint Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you are enjoying CommunityPass' modern interface and streamlined navigation. If you ever have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Support Team. In addition to the online help and training resources, we also offer free monthly webinar training. We are confident you will master the software in no time!

Daniel
Assistant Director in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Community Pass for all

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This being my fourth registration and tracking software, it is far more easy to work with, it is picked up and understood by the consumer far quicker than others that we have used. For my daily operations it has been a welcomed change and I can work quickly to solve potential issues for myself and my constituents.

Pros:

I am from the "older generation" and I found this software easy to use. Moving from one platform to another is easily done, there are no limits on users so I can have multiple windows open at a time which allows quick movement back and forth when working on a report or helping a customer with specific question.

Cons:

When messaging I cannot "cc" my staff so that they are receiving the same message that registrants are gettting. There are times when I need to get some information/reports that need to come form different areas (normal registration & POS) and it is at times not as direct as I would like.

Capturepoint Response

2 years ago

Daniel, thank you so much for the review. It's great to hear you found the software easy to use. Thank you for your feedback as well, we are continuously improving CommunityPass, and suggestions like yours are valuable.

Timothy
Recreation Program Supervisor in US
Government Administration, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

CommunityPass Review for Parks and Recreation Use

3.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Overall, CommunityPass was fairly simple to use and accomplished most of our needs. At the time, our organization was relatively small, so it suited our needs.

Cons:

It was fairly limited in certain aspects. Reporting was challenging and not very intuitive. Additionally, it registration options weren't as customizable as our current recreation software.

Shelley
Recreation Supervisor in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Community Pass has been great. It has been very user friendly for both the staff and our customers.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Customers have been able to register online much easier than the previous system. Previously, our office staff were having to register everyone while on the phone with them. With the new system they aren't having to do that which has allowed them to do the other tasks they need to get done each day.

Pros:

Community Pass has been great for us, and has been very easy both to implement at start up, and to use on a regular basis. Our previous system was difficult for our customers to use so about 70% of our registrations were done over the phone with our staff having to do the registration. We just opened our summer registrations, and we had very few phone registrations. The customers were able to go in to register for their program easily. If I had an issue, the staff responded quickly to my call or email. The staff were able to implement this system very quickly for us so we could be ready for opening a new facility. We began implementation in early December and were fully implemented with memberships, printing membership cards, and registering for activities by our Grand Opening January 20. We are very happy with Community Pass.

Cons:

It is not really a con, but the most difficult part for us has been trying to figure out how to enter the activities so people are able to register how we need them to register. That is always going to be the most difficult part when changing from one system to another though.

Capturepoint Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback Shelley. We are happy to hear that your transition to CommunityPass has been a smooth and speedy one, and that your customers find registering via CommunityPass easier. If you have any questions about how to enter an activity, do not hesitate to contact our Customer Support Team. We also offer free monthly webinar training that our new customers find especially helpful.

Maura
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Community Pass was a lifesaver

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We went from 2 people doing my job down to just me and we desperately needed a system that would help streamline the job. Community Pass was the answer. Allowing parents to register themselves, view their accounts when they need to see what they owe, and the convenience of online payments was the key to making my job easier. The Tewksbury Public Schools originally signed on to Community Pass to use for our Adult Ed and Before and After School Program. We have expanded it to the high school for club fees, athletic fees, and parking permits. They also use it to collect all the required paperwork parents fill out each school year. We sell tickets to events, order yearbooks, and much more. I think we use the system for more than Community Pass even intended it to be used for. The convenience of copying a current season for the next one is huge. You do not have to start from scratch everytime you start a new session, like our Adult Ed classes. Parents love that they can access their account at any time, from anywhere (thanks to the cloud) and see what they are registered for and have paid. We also use Digital Attendance on our ipads for check in and check out at the Before and After School Program. Parent like that is secure because the person checking their child out has to know their family ID. It tracks our attendance and saves on paper. I also love that I can work from home because the system is web based. Overall I have had very few complaints and customer services is beyond what I could expect. They always call me back, take care of my issues in a timely manner, and are very polite. I would like to see them do more with the financial piece, when you enter expenses and there is more than one for a particular expense code and item, you have to add the total up yourself. But that is doable. I can't say enough about Community Pass. I highly recommend it and would be happy to discuss it's uses with anyone interested in hearing more about it.

Capturepoint Response

6 years ago

Thank you Maura for taking the time to share your review of CommunityPass. We are so happy to hear all the different ways CommunityPass has helped you and the Tewksbury Public School community. Glad to hear that CommunityPass Digital Attendance is well-received at your before and after care programs. We find enabling parents and authorized individuals to electronically sign in/out children really does provide peace of mind.

Jill
Recreation Supervisor in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

From Good to Great!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We've used Community Pass from it's start. it has evolved over the years to be very complete. The staff are very responsive, and the training videos are clear, and the quick webinars on topic specific functions are timely. CapturePoint has continued to add features and additional modules to meet the needs of most Recreation Departments. Whenever we come up with a new challenge, they are willing to tackle it. We've recommended this service to many organizations. We just need to be able to send out e-newsletters embedded in the email. I'm looking forward to mobile app!

Pros:

Inexpensive, but has a lot of functionality. Many reports are pre-set, and we can make our own report templates. Consumer friendly.

Cons:

We can't embed a pdf file in the body of an email to be sent out to all our address book - for a beautiful eye catching e-newsletter that markets our programs and events. We have to use another provider, and continually update the email address book from Community Pass.

Capturepoint Response

6 years ago

Thanks for the feedback Jill! It's wonderful to hear what a great experience Mt. Olive Recreation is having with CommunityPass.

Betty
Office Manager in US
Consumer Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My experience with Communitypass has been excellent.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: The ease of use for our office staff as well as our customers. Over the years as the software has improved those changes have made it easier on a daily basis as well as monthly and year end reports that I need to provide the district.

Pros:

The ease of use, very user friendly and easy to help our customers through the site when I'm dealing with them over the telephone.

Cons:

Currently the changes but, that will just take some getting use to during these changing times. I'm hopeful that once the changes are made over the entire site I will feel more comfortable.

Capturepoint Response

6 years ago

So glad to hear you are having an excellent experience with CommunityPass! We have been systematically applying a new design to our Administrative Site to allow our customers to become comfortable with the colors and styles slowly before the whole site is transformed. We are in the home stretch of this project and are confident you will be happy with the result.

Maura
Office Admin in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The online customers find it MUCH easier than our previous software.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Online customers need much less hands-on assistance from us, saving us time for our own work in the office.

Pros:

Our calls from customers needing to be guided through the online process have declined substantially.

Cons:

Poor searching and sorting. Redundant unnecessary pages need to be completed for each registration, a big problem on busy registration days. Frequent locking up and freezing.

Capturepoint Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback Maura. Happy to hear your residents are finding CommunityPass so easy to use! Please note that with the redesign of our Administrative Site, tables are now sortable and there is a new search button in the menu bar on the home page that will allow you to quickly and easily search for Programs, Seasons and Catalogs from anywhere within CommunityPass. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our customer support team to discuss turning off those pages for you since many are optional.

Melissa
Coordinator of Adaptive Programs in US
Human Resources, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

5 stars for CommunityPass!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have had great communication with communitypass since the beginning. I am not the expert in our office however I feel very confident in the software and feel I can get anything answered if I need it.

Pros:

I love that this software is internet based and can be accessed anywhere you need it.

Cons:

I do not feel we know all of the ins and outs and abilities of this software so I do not know if I can think of a con that I know for a fact is the software itself.

Capturepoint Response

2 years ago

Melissa, thank you so much for the review. We are glad to hear CommunityPass has streamlined licensing for your user needs.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to navigate. Need a few fixing on things. Overall good program.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This program is easy to use. This program is also pretty simple and self explanatory. The features and functions are easy to find.

Cons:

The lease thing I personally like about this program is that it does not stop duplicate of accounts and families.

Capturepoint Response

6 years ago

So glad to hear you are finding CommunityPass so easy to use! Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Support Team to get tips about how to monitor and merge duplicate accounts. You can also access a free training webinar titled "Merge Families & Avoid Duplicate Accounts" located in the Help & Training section on the Admin Site.

Gail
Secretary in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Product Support

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall positive.

Pros:

Product support is top notch. Anytime there is a problem I call and the problem is resolved on the first call in.

Cons:

Customize reports taylored to our needs.

Capturepoint Response

3 years ago

Glad to hear our customer support team has resolved your questions quickly Gail. We are always here for you!

Mona
Superintendent of Parks and Recreation in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Community Pass review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: CommunityPass provides the opportunity to create our own reporting which has been very helpful. Our Finance department is happy with the services and reporting procedures

Pros:

The ease of turning rosters into spreadsheets; easy access for sending messages; Ease of use for the public

Cons:

Integration was perfect for us as we were coming from not offering online registration at all. Adding the credit card feature to our process was needed due to downsizing of staff. Having access to emails to send reminders and changes regarding programs was necessary.

Capturepoint Response

2 years ago

Mona, thank you so much for the review. It's great to hear that integration was perfect for you and works well with the reduced staff size.

Alexander
Program Specialist in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to do simple things, difficult to do complex things

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Ease of use, low maintenance, easy record keeping, quick look up

Pros:

Once you set everything up, it takes care of everything automatically. It becomes very easy to ensure everyone has a waiver on file. It is also great that community Pass generates reports to show attendance in an easy to read manner. We send out emails to all of our program participants, so I like that I can copy all the emails at once.

Cons:

It is difficult to do anything greater than a simple function. The process for refunds is very complicated, and it causes problems for our customers. It is also difficult to create exceptions and make special rules for events.

Capturepoint Response

6 years ago

Thank you for the review Alexander. We have recently updated how CommunityPass handles refunds and credits. Please contact your technical support representative to have them show you this new functionality.

Tina
Office Support Specialist in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

NOT BAD AT ALL

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

easy to use as long as the administrator puts in the proper information so that when you go to register its easy to find a program.

Cons:

It dose not stop people from creating 2 and 3 household accounts. It doesn't have our company name on the receipts.(need extra line for address for company name or to the parents of)

Capturepoint Response

6 years ago

So glad to hear you are finding CommunityPass easy to use! Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Support Team to get tips about how to monitor and merge duplicate accounts. You can also access a free training webinar titled "Merge Families & Avoid Duplicate Accounts" located in the Help & Training section on the Admin Site.

Liz
Recreation Director in US
Government Relations, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Community Pass staff have always been easy to work with! The software is great for recreation!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Community pass has always been a great way to track finances and activity numbers.

Pros:

Easy interface, organizes necessary reports and finances, support is always helpful, they are always making improvements to the software

Cons:

I wished league manager came with a scheduler. I know several work with community Pass, but it would be nice if one was offered as part of the module.

Capturepoint Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback Liz. It's great to hear how happy you are with CommunityPass! We are always looking for ways to make CommunityPass even better; I will pass on your feedback about league scheduling to our Product Development team.

Brett
Program Coordinator in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Great Site

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

We offer a variety of programs, trips and events, I like that all of them can be advertised on the site. I also like that all of our customers tell us how easy it is for them to use at home.

Cons:

When you are a new user some of the setup can be challenging but once you have gone through the process a few times it becomes much easier.

Capturepoint Response

2 years ago

Brett, thank you so much for the review. We are thrilled that CommunityPass has streamlined your processes for all of your program types and provided easy access for your customers.

Samantha
Admin in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good system that meets our needs

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The Community Pass team has worked well with us to adjust and tweak how we use the software to work for our organizational needs.

Cons:

The Help & Support section does not seem to pull up the most relevant information. Often times our result either doesn't show up or is much further along in the search than less relevant answers.

Capturepoint Response

6 years ago

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We're happy that CommunityPass is meeting CCA's needs. In our online Help & Training section, we provide videos, guides and manuals for reference. We also offer 2-3 free training webinars every month. If you can't find what you are looking for via keyword search, please do not hesitate to call or email the CommunityPass customer support team. They are happy to address all your questions.

Ashley
Recreation Admin Asst in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very easy to register for the different town programs we have.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Allowing us to communicate with all the families in our programs. We have all the information in one place.

Pros:

I love that everything is all in one place. It is very easy to navigate, very easy to add and edit programs, and easy to communicate.

Cons:

One thing I dislike about the software is that you are unable to send just a text message. It only allows you to send an email and a text message to all the families.

Capturepoint Response

6 years ago

Thanks for your review Ashley! Happy to hear CommunityPass is meeting Eatontown Recreation's needs.

Brian
Program Coordinator in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Community Pass works

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall it is a good experience.

Pros:

The online registration makes it easier to handle. Bulk messaging helps get word out.

Cons:

The software does not meet all of our needs. There are Township specifics that the program does not address.

Capturepoint Response

2 years ago

Brian, thrilled to see your online registration and messaging have become easier. We are always improving CommunityPass and your feedback has been noted. Please reach out directly so we can pinpoint a solution to your specific needs. Thank you.

Bernadette
Community Activities Director in US
Government Administration
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Better Every Year!

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: The Borough has been using Community Pass for all of our recreation registrations for 5+ years and it just keeps getting better. The development team is constantly working to put out a better product by adding features that user friendly. Community Pass allows our office to focus on the customer. We are able to see up to the minute registrations and financial reports to better control the programs we offer.

Capturepoint Response

6 years ago

Thanks for the review Bernadette! We aim to have the most complete recreation management software, and are constantly enhancing it and developing new features to offer our customers.

Kim
Director of Community Programs in US
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

School Community Programs

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Community Pass is a wonderful tool to meet the needs of our programs!

Pros:

Ease of parents registration and Registering/Collecting payment for programs

Cons:

Parents can create duplicate accounts and we cannot delete accounts

Capturepoint Response

2 years ago

Kim, we are happy to hear that your registration and payment collection process is going well. We are always improving CommunityPass and your feedback has been noted. Thank you!

Bryan
Recreation Supervisor in US
Government Administration, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent option for Municipal Recreation

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We love Capture Point and their Community Pass product, we've been using it for three years now and plan to increase the number of programs we register on the software over the coming year. All our deposit documentation is based on reporting through Community Pass.

Pros:

Interface, constant updates, customer service

Cons:

Not always intuitive in set up

Nicole
Nicole
Recreation Supervisor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Overall good experience for our recreation department.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The easy access of seeing registrants in the reports for specific programs. The transaction report shows exactly which family has registered and then we can go from their to see for what.

Cons:

We're looking for the attendance roster to include more important details (i.e. at the top have the instructors name and dates of program. Roster should include name, age/grade, emergency contact, phone number, allergies/medical condition, etc). We've had a lot of issues with the residency status based on address - the resident's addresses seem to be "out of town" and then we have to go in to make it exempt so they aren't charged the out of town rates. I have redone the street list multiple times and it doesn't fix the issues that we're having.

Capturepoint Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback Nicole. Your technical support representative should be able to capture your reporting needs. You may need a custom report. He may also be able to help you with uploading an updated file of in-town addresses.

David
Superintendent in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Pound Ridge recreation and Community Pas

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Coming for RecTrac, it has been a pleasure to work with

Pros:

the ease of registering someone anywhere and able to check rosters and send emails on the fly

Cons:

Setting up new seasons has been difficult for us

Megan
ASE Coordinator in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It has helped in many ways but it needs to be a little more user friendly as to the capablities

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Customer service is the best. Allows easy enrollment into our after school program. I also like the messaging but text can improve/

Cons:

It doesn't always let you cut and paste. Some of the character limits are not long enough. It is very difficult to preview your work.

Capturepoint Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your review Megan! I will pass along your kind feedback to our customer service team. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to them! In the meantime, here's a tip: try pasting your content into Notepad first to clear all the formats and then copy and paste into CommunityPass.