Snowflake, Unique just like Us

Reviewed on 31/10/2019
Todd G.
Business Intelligence Developer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: My overall experience with Snowflake has been a pleasurable one. Though there have been some frustrations at times I have learned and overcome and become a better programmer, and SQL developer for it. I feel like Snowflake is an old friend now.

Pros: The thing that I like most about this software is really if you can think it you can do it with Snowflake. I mean as long as it deals with data. I first started at my company using oracle and I didn't stick with that for long because we adopted snowflake. When we started using snowflake my knowledge of SQL just jumped sky high. Instead of just selecting from tables, I was using cte's and partitions and all of that fun stuff. Snowflake made it super easy to understand and learn. The ability it has to handle the amount of columns that it does is amazing.

Cons: There is a little bit of a learning curve to get the hang of it. But on the surface it is just like any other sql language and you just have to figure out the different quirks that it has. I wish it could give data instantaneously and read my mind on what I want but that is pretty much impossible so I'm going to stick with what I have.

Did a proof of concept for my company comparing Snowflake to other databases that we use.

Reviewed on 26/12/2017
Verified Reviewer
Performance/Optimization Lead - Global Data Management
Pharmaceuticals
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The three features of many great features that stand out are:

-The REAL separation of compute and storage gives the ultimate flexibility. You can match workloads to the proper level of compute without having one workload collide with another. You can optimize what you spend by only using what you need with the ability to change the size of your compute multiple times a day and the ability to stop and resume compute nodes easily.
-No other database I have ever used can handle concurrency like Snowflake. Additional clusters are automatically spun up if a query is queued -There is no tuning that needs to be done as this is a data warehouse as a service. No other database comes close to the Snowflake performance without additional tuning. I can put in some time and tune my Oracle, Teradata or HANA database to get similar or slightly better performance but the level of DBA needed to do this is costly. This is especially helpful when the query patterns to be run against the database are unknown.

Cons: One of the positives above can also be a negative. Snowflake is a service and not software that you can run in your own data center or your own cloud VPC. This CON can be overcome with end to end encryption where you own the key and other Snowflake features.

Snowflake - Speed in the Cloud!

Reviewed on 20/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Senior Manager
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Maintaining on-premise database systems is expensive and maintenance heavy. Moving to a cloud database like Snowflake cuts down costs and is easy to maintain also. Since Snowflake supports a variety of flat file formats as sources, it becomes easier to bulk load data as flat files in storage spaces like AWS S3. Migrating data from cloud storage to Snowflake becomes much more easier.

Pros: Snowflake is a database and a storage warehouse on the cloud. Since it's scalable on demand, retrieving data through Snowflake Warehouses is lighting fast. All the computing power required to run the SQL queries are taken care by the Warehouse size we choose. If a query is taking too long to run a quick switch to a bigger warehouse does wonders. Migrating and loading data into Snowflake is a breeze too via Snowflake Stages and COPY TO commands.

Cons: Snowflake doesn't enforce constraints, especially primary keys. So, care should be taken while doing INSERTs and UPSERTs to maintain data integrity. This lack of this feature is understandable since it's projected more as a storage warehouse.

Snowflake is an affordable solution that enables analysts and non-technical folk to build DWs.

Reviewed on 12/03/2018
Verified Reviewer
BI Developer
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We have a lean team of data engineers and as a result cannot automate as many data sources as we'd like. In the interim, our analysts utilize Snowflake to incorporate data into our multifaceted reports.

Pros: We use Snowflake to capture some of our larger third party data exports that won't fit into Google Sheets. The process of uploading data is straightforward and keeps our business reporting streamlined despite lean engineering resources on our end. There is a SQL interface to make modifications to data before final exports and data viz.

Cons: The UI is clunky and not the most intuitive. The error messages could be more detailed and expanded. The support for Mac seems to be more limited. Encountered issues with data produced via Mac and support took months to fully resolve.

Snowflake Review

Reviewed on 30/09/2019
Dan S.
SA
Gambling & Casinos, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We required a cloud based, scaleable data warehouse to replace our on-premise MS SQL stack. So far Snowflake has proved to be the right choice

Pros: Web UI
Virtual Warehouses
Secure Product
Auto-Scaling
S3 integration
Public Cloud Hosting
Forward thinking vendor

Cons: Would be good if there was a RESTful API interface with ability to query tables returning JSON format

Best warehouse in the market

Reviewed on 05/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Cofounder & CTO
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: It's fast. It's simple. It's scalable. And best of all, we saved forty percent from switching off of redshift.

Cons: You can't connect easily from a sql editor outside of their browser or the command line. That makes it less convenient.

Doing big things

Reviewed on 11/07/2019
Martin S.
Student
Think Tanks, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Very good.

Pros: A very innovative platform. Very secure. Great interface. Doing great things with Amazon, Google, etc.

Cons: Takes some times to get used to but not a huge deal in the end.

Best cloud data warehouse as a service available to date

Reviewed on 16/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
Senior Business Intelligence Analyst
Automotive
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Centralized data.

Pros: Easy setup and configuration.
The Ability to scale up and scale down at needed.
Pay as you go and only for what you use.

Cons: Limited to AWS currently with planned expansion to Azure and GCP.
On-Premise is not an option, but VPC is.

Great Performance & Reliable

Reviewed on 10/11/2019
Dinesh S.
Technical Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Very much Satisfied

Pros: I almost used all the OLAP databases but this is what I loved a lot, less in price Great Performance & User Friendly.

Cons: Few features still in queue like explain plan, stored procedures

Super Scalable

Reviewed on 10/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
Associate Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: My favorite feature in Snowflake is the ease of use provided by SnowSQL. You can create variables in SQL that you reference throughout your queries. It additionally performs super fast and reduces many management needs.

Cons: Snowflake lacks the ability to create stored procedures, this would add a lot of value and ease of use to the software. While the lack of management is great, I find that it may not always be worth the cost for it. In addition to this, it does not perform well (or at all) as an ETL Tool.

Fantastic performance for SQL workloads with huge data sets

Reviewed on 19/12/2018
Nick K.
Head of Security
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Fantastic performance without worrying about tuning or data set size.

Cons: None! Really fantastic experience for our data teams.

Want quick and easy query results? Then yes, Snowflake is correct

Reviewed on 26/01/2019
Joel R.
Product
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Snowflake is a no fluff software that gets you data results FAST. There isn't much you have to worry about or learn to simply start using it.
Since it's cloud based you session is alway saved and you can pick up right where you last started. Love that about it.

Cons: It's very basic, compared to other tools. So if that is what you are looking for then it isn't an issue.

Snowflake

Reviewed on 28/11/2018
Siddharth ..
Software Analyst
Computer Software, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Snowflake db is a cloud based db the most interesting part of this software is that it is cload based and is giving competition to major vandors.

Cons: It's really costlier to buy and one should be specially trained in it