15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About VWO Testing

A/B testing tool for website and conversion rate optimization. Features include heatmaps, targeting, personalization, and analytics.

Learn more about VWO Testing

Pros:

This tool allows users to dive very deep into what they're trying to research or gather data on. It can do a ton and get very granular, but is still user friendly at the same time.

Cons:

I don´t like it that they have updated their tool and now you have to pay more to see the videos of the visitors of the website for example.

VWO Testing ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

VWO Testing has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 90 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used VWO Testing before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (90)

David
David
COO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An Excellent Product with Excellent Support

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Excellent. Their support is great and that's the key. There are many products that provide A/B testing services, as well as heatmaps, too. But I'll always go with the company that has the better support. Plus, it's very easy to create your tests b/c they use an overlay. Easy!

Pros:

I liked the dashboard and the overall ease of use of getting my tests started. I also love the fact that you can do a split test and see the differences side-by-side. What's also nice is that it does an amazing job of telling you about the statistical significance of your data (we tend to have clients with lower search volumes d/t the nature of their businesses, so being able to adjust our setting to focus on the conversion % change that we want is a great feature.

Cons:

It can be expensive if you don't use it very often. Every once in a while I had trouble getting the code to be recognized on my site, but support was always fast and helpful. It was also my fault once b/c they tell you not to use GTM to add the code, but that's exactly what I did.

Wingify Response

4 years ago

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Glad to know that you like the product and the support. Regarding your other feedback about the code detection, happy to inform you that we have revamped our code checker feature. This now checks the code and shares the exact status in real time. - Venus from VWO

Samy
Senior UX/UI Designer in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Exceptional detail in data and tracking research to insights

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have been using VWO for a variety of tests within the business, from image styles and content focus to testing copywriting within buttons right the way up to replacing sections and the way our products are displayed. I has been a huge growth area within the business and helped us gain a lot of traction.

Pros:

I liked that I can connect the goals to traffic segments in google analytics and see how the tests affected the conversion journey further down the funnel, I like the UI and functionality of setting up tests, as well as how the tool visualises data from running and completed tests

Cons:

I think within a test the multi-layers of a menu could be simplified to focus on tasks that would be relevant to the stage at which a test is running

Wingify Response

4 years ago

Thanks for sharing the feedback, Samy. We are glad that you liked the platform and found it to be useful. We have also noted down your feedback around UI and we will surely work on the same. - Venus from VWO

Ayushi
Ayushi
Internet Marketing Executive in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

It's worth "trying"

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our experience and review are subjective. While the tool offers a lot of options which makes it worth trying, VWO poses a lot of challenges in terms of tracking. So, in case, you are planning to set up the tool for your AB test, do make sure to triple check if everything is being tracked properly (double redirection, forms tracking, and traffic allocation to the variants).

Pros:

1. Deep segmentation: Ability to segment traffic in terms of devices, locations, and campaigns 2. Variant percentage segmentation: One thing that basic AB Testing tools lack is their ability to segment traffic beyond 50-50% division. VWO allows to allocate traffic as per our requirement. 3. Heat maps included within AB Tests

Cons:

There are a "lot" of backend issues in this tool. Without the help of a developer, it would not be possible for a person to set up tracking properly. Even after considering all the conditions and implementing tracking code as per the implementation guide, VWO did not allocate the traffic correctly and we lost days of experimentation due to this error. Unfortunately, even after trying the customer support was not able to help us in resolving the issue.

Wingify Response

4 years ago

Thank you for sharing your feedback! However, we are sorry to hear about the traffic allocation issue. If you are still facing similar issue across any of your campaigns, then feel free to drop me a note at [email protected] and I will be happy to help. - Venus from VWO

Trevor
Product Owner, CRO Services in US
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Well worth the investment!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: VWO has provided us a solid framework with which to scale our CRO services as an agency. We've been able to grow with our clients, and manage them in a single, centralized testing hub. Due to the lower costs, we've even been able to include the cost of VWO into our agency fee, which passes savings to the client and is a big plus to potential customers. I don't envision us leaving the tool anytime soon.

Pros:

VWO offers many of the enterprise features you would expect in a larger tool, for a much lower price tag. As a user of Optimizely and Adobe Target, I have been pleasantly surprised by the features I have been able to use with VWO. The reporting update (probably density, box plotting, etc.) has been especially useful in data analysis.

Cons:

VWO definitely breaks more often than the more expensive tools out there. Breakage doesn't really affect the split tests themselves, just the reporting...but still, it's not great when I go to report for a client and have to wait a day or 2 for things to get back online.

Wingify Response

4 years ago

Thanks for sharing the feedback. We are glad that you liked the product and especially the new reporting features. Regarding your concern about breakage, we apologize for the inconvenience. Though we would really like to know about the specific instances as ideally it shouldn't happen. Please reach out to us at [email protected]. - Venus from VWO

Geoffrey
Founder in France
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Point and click split-testing

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The tool is very easy to setup and deploy.
Sadly, their new pricing model doesn't make it affordable for everybody.

Pros:

The WYSIWYG editor makes it super fast and simple to setup A/B split-testing. I also like that it displays the significance of the split-test results right away : You don't have to mess with a calculator on the side.

Cons:

The tool became too expensive for people getting started. It was $49/months a few years ago for basic use and now you can't do anything for less than $299/month. So we don't recommend it anymore to our average customers.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple product and easy to use for beginners

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Really low barrier to entry, if you're starting out doing testing, this is definitely the tool for you. It's lightweight and easy to use. They're based out, which means they are used to dealing with server call times, so you likely won't see any flickering issues. This is also one of the cheapest products out there, and definitely on par with the beginner versions of any other brand out there.

Cons:

After you do consistent testing for at least 2 years, you'll notice that there will be issues with more advanced testing (ie, if you want to show a test for only logged-in users, etc.), you may have to rely on some help with customization with their customer support team, which isn't very experienced, so basically you're on your own.

Akash
Co Founder & CTO in Indonesia
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good for small to medium business

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I waas able to set up my AB testing experiments for my website fairly quickly! Its easy and an easy decision to make when selecting a good software.

Pros:

Its a very intuitive, clean and feature rich software for AB testing. Within a day my team was able to pick up the software and we were already running experiments and seeing data coming in. The data provided are quite wide ranging as well, so that's one area you don't have to worry too much about - just get the experiments set up and wait for the results to come in.

Cons:

I especially didn't like their pricing threshold. .

Ayushi
Ayushi
Internet Marketing Executive in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

VWO AB testing tool is good for testing multiple pages at the same time. But loading is a major issu

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The fact that with just one variation, I can test multiple landing pages. It reduces the effort of making the same change to different pages and is really time saving. Another thing that I liked about the product is its features. There are a lot of features including custom targeting and heatmap availability that eliminates dependency on tools like Mouseflow and Hotjar.

Cons:

Its testing threshold. While I do understand that a web page need to have certain number of sessions to enable fair testing but VWO threshold does not consider a monthly traffic of 2000 sessions good enough, which I think would work negative in case, small and midsize businesses go on to try it. This particular issue can restrict someone to try AB testing and make them resort to Analytics, which is definitely not a reliable tool.

Emma
Emma
Graphic Design Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An amazing tool

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I actually think, that the very best property of this item, is the client relationship. You can depend on a terrific group at any point, there is no doubt their will address you, no bug or issue you can have they will not want to assist you and brief it out.

Cons:

Demands of some functions, that are basic in other platforms, however tailored to more intricate platforms, are not as rapidly focused on and carried out, as i would have preferred to.

Josh
Josh
Web Developer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Graphic Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool for testing websites.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use VMO to test pages for conversion rates. We have inmprove our conversion rates a lot since we started using VMO. I would recommend anyone try it out.

Pros:

Easy to use and quickly get tests up and running. The support is good.

Cons:

Running tests across multiple pages or the entire website is very time-consuming to set up.

Wingify Response

4 years ago

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Josh! Regarding your concern about running multi-page campaigns, please do reach out to us at [email protected] as we are sure that we will be able to help you implement it in a fairly simple manner. - Venus from VWO

Shikha
Product Manager in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Works well for our needs

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The timeline of changes done to an experiment. It is easy to find out all the changes that were done to an experiment and who did it. This is great for traceability purpose.

Cons:

It is not easy to look at all running and paused experiments together. We run a lot of experiments and they are shown together in one view where some are running and some are paused. It takes time to easily find the right experiment in the mixed up view.

Wingify Response

4 years ago

Thanks for sharing the feedback, Shikha. We are glad that you liked the platform and found the timeline feature to be useful. Regarding viewing multiple experiments simultaneously, you can always sort the experiments using Status Filter for Running and Paused. Feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] and we will be happy to help if you have any specific requirement. - Venus from VWO

Kyle
Growth Marketing Manager in US
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great customer service

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use VWO to AB test key pages on our website, and have achieved strong incremental success with the tool.

Pros:

The BEST part about VWO is how quickly their Customer Service team responds on chat. I can get really quick feedback on an experiment I was planning to launch that same day.

Cons:

Sometimes the features are confusing. Usually the service team or help pages clarify things easily.

Wingify Response

4 years ago

Thanks for sharing the feedback. We are glad that you like the platform and the service that you receive from our Support team. We have also noted down your feedback around features and will definitely work on it. - Venus from VWO

Heath
Project Manager in Australia
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Heatmap tool and insights for your website

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use it for heatmapping client's website and then making decisions on changing items above the fold + any possible CRO opportunities. For example, what are real people clicking and why? How can we then achieve the best outcome be it traffic or sales from the best possible path.

Pros:

Easy to gather info on clicks and then make decision on internal links and where to put clickable elements for phone numbers, support links, even products.

Cons:

A bit pricey considering the features however its probably the best heatmap tool i've used in my career so highly recommended. It CAN be difficult for clients to use and identify fixes via A/B split testing and the insights provided, however if a website has a marketing agency or CRO expert on board then it's a great tool.

Wingify Response

4 years ago

Thanks for sharing the feedback, Heath. We are glad that you like our product and use it to optimize the conversion rate for your website. - Venus from VWO

Jeremy
SEM Manager in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic testing platform

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great way to quickly setup and deploy optimization tests.

Pros:

Ease of setup and use, targeting and segmentation of data.

Cons:

I wish there was a way to override or reset variations that a user has already been cookied for.

Wingify Response

4 years ago

Thank you for your valuable feedback, Jeremy! Glad to know that you find VWO easy to use. Regarding your feedback on resetting the variation, a user always sees the same variation so as to maintain a consistent UI experience for him. However, if you can share further details of your use case with us at [email protected], we can surely have further discussion around it. - Venus from VWO

Simon
Strategy Director in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful optimisation with great value for money

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very positive with seemingly friendly passionate staff

Pros:

VWO provides step by step interfaces making the implementation of A/B tests achievable to most levels of user

Cons:

Occasionally alerts and warning were confusing to the user.

Wingify Response

4 years ago

Thanks for sharing the feedback, Simon. We are glad that you like the product. Regarding the alerts and warnings, it would be great if you could share more insights with us at [email protected]. We shall then consider your feedback for making further improvements to warning and alert messages. - Venus from VWO

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Apparel & Fashion, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A good tool for AB testing

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

VWO is easy to use and setup for performing AB test on your website to bring about incremental improvements. One can run simple AB tests comparing amongst two different URLs or run two variations and also execute multi variate tests wherein multiple changes and their impact can be attributed to the changes.

Cons:

The integration and data benchmarking with analytics tool is something which can be improved. Results on VWO dashboards and on integration analytics tools may vary on occasions leading to confusion on the outcomes.

Graeme
Growth Marketer in India
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Optimize your website and improve conversions with VWO

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

VWO Testing is a great tool for businesses looking to optimize their website and improve their conversion rates. With A/B and multivariate testing, heat maps, and user recordings, businesses can identify what works and what doesn't on their website. It gives businesses valuable insights into how their website is performing and make data-driven decisions to improve their online performance. It can help businesses to increase their conversion rate and revenue.

Cons:

VWO is a must-have for any business, with no cons to weigh against its benefits.

Martijn
Martijn
Freelance SEA Consultant | Online Marketing in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It´s a good A/B testing tool, but it used to be more complete

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Better insights in the visitors of our web page

Pros:

It´s an easy to use A/B testing tool. You can start really easy and you can check the results easy. The customer support is also good and they are willing to help

Cons:

I don´t like it that they have updated their tool and now you have to pay more to see the videos of the visitors of the website for example. Before this was free and now it´s only for the companies who are paying more.

Donny
Donny
Chief Operating Idiot in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tracking website visitors

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

the ability to use one platform to seamlessly track what's happening with visitors to my websites

Cons:

could be easier to install however it's not that complicated

Wingify Response

4 years ago

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback, Donny! - Venus from VWO

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful Tracking Tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Accurately tracking steps within our funnels.

Pros:

It does a great job of tracking conversions and has different options you can implement for split testing. You can test different parts of your funnel. Also, has a good heatmap option.

Cons:

It can be a little challenging if you are wanting to use subdomains and still track. Customer support helped to figure it out though.

Wingify Response

4 years ago

Thanks for sharing your valuable feedback. Also, tracking sub-domains shouldn't be an issue. Please reach out to us at [email protected] with your use-case and we will be happy to help! - Venus from VWO

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great, straightforward optimization software

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use. Very intuitive for me. Everything I want to do is easy to find and use—even on the first try.

Cons:

Some of the features on how test length is predicted doesn't work quite the way I'd expect it to work. But it's a workflow issue (or rather a mismatch in how I think about things vs how VWO is built).

Wingify Response

4 years ago

Thanks for sharing the feedback. Feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] if you have any specific feedback around the campaign duration calculator. We will be happy to discuss your thoughts. - Venus from VWO

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Useful when you're just getting started

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We were able to see some cursory user behavior data on different sites as well as set up some simple A/B tests for Wordpress.

Pros:

This is an affordable software which allows you to track user behavior and run some A/B testing with Wordpress sites. I like the interface and it does help us gain some useful information about the way people are interacting with the websites we design.

Cons:

I think the concept of goals, especially those tied to form fills/other conversion points, are not well explained and don't seem to behave as one might expect. This software definitely has limitations, and I wouldn't recommend it to someone looking to get really in-depth data about user behavior or split testing. But it is good for those that are dabbling in it or just looking for an overview.

Samantha
Samantha
Content Marketer in Canada
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

See if your website really works!

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Great AB testing tool to see which design and content really resonates with your web audience.

Cons:

Marketers and designers, you will probably need your website team to help set this up.

Wingify Response

4 years ago

Thanks for sharing the feedback, Samantha. We are glad that you like the platform. We have noted down your feedback around the usability of editor and will surely work on the same. - Venus from VWO

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: It is the ideal tool to optimize and test websites.

Pros:

It is an excellent tool to perform testing of websites and optimize them, easy to use and very user friendly.

Cons:

It would be important that it contains extra features based on the user's needs so that it is a more complete tool.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good tool for behavior analysis

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The best feature is the heatmap feature which is pretty powerful and very useful.

Cons:

The fact that I had to pay more for screen recording.

Wingify Response

4 years ago

Thank you for sharing the feedback. Really glad to know that you like using VWO. - Venus from VWO