Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.7 /5

About ISL Light

ISL Light remote support software lets you control a remote computer or mobile device. It's cross-platform, secure, fast, customizable.

Learn more about ISL Light

Showing 272 reviews

David L.
Director
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/03/2021

"Computer and mobile"

Comments: Overall I dont even think about, its just there and works!

Pros: The web interface gives an easy overview of my access to anytime servers. The mobile app means I can check on everything while on the move, and even login.

Cons: Sending a connection link to clients can be a bit clunky, and there are a few too many Yes, I Agree, Are you sure of options for end-users to trip over. but others are just as bad, to be honest.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/03/2021
Martin I.
Head of Customer Support
Computer & Network Security, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/01/2021

"Easy to use remote desktop tool"

Pros: It's easy to use. We at the customer support department can create a list of our customers' computers and remotely connect whenever needed. It's also easy to use from the other side that we just send a link or tell a code to join the session. We like that you can have more simultaneous sessions and invite another operator to join you if needed.

Cons: Sometimes when there are more desktops or higher resolution, the remote desktop could be harder to read.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/01/2021
Chris F.
Technical Director
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/03/2020

"isl"

Comments: we support customers using this.

Pros: file transfer is very useful, also multi session is invaluable to us.

Cons: cannot save passwords on IOS. also cannot use domain login details to authenticate. Reporting tools could do with a little more detail

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/03/2020
Christian H.
Technical account manager
Computer Hardware, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2019

"Fast and not bloated"

Comments: Remote management of external PC players for digital signage software for 500 players at different locations.
A key success factor in delivering our service.

Pros: Fast and reliable software for controlling remote computers. All functions you would expect like file transfer, keyboard shortcuts, focus on quality or speed. Web interface, PC client and Android client for remote management. You could help your customers even when gone shopping with the wife!
Firewall friendly.

Cons: Last time I've checked it does not offer support for taking control of android units.

Vendor Response

by ISL Online on 16/10/2019

We offer remote control for Samsung, Cyrus and rooted Android devices. With other devices, remote viewing is possible.

Best regards,
Domen Vidmar, ISL Online Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2019
Jason M.
Service Director
Printing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2020

"ISOline"

Pros: The ease of the software, for the End users, make remote access so easy

Cons: on some PC the speed of the download of the client software (but is most likely there networks) if there was a way to connect to these user without the need for a download would be great

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2020
Richard C.
Manager
Automotive, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2021

"Nice set of features for a fair price"

Pros: I found ISL Light easy to setup and use. The ability to distribute the ISL Light client with your application makes it easier for clients to get ready for a support session. Having access to support, webinar, and remote login through a single portal and included as part of the package is great.

Cons: My least favorite functionality are the steps required to copy files to/from a clients system during remote support. It is not difficult but requires a few more steps than some remote support software I've used which allow simple drag and drop to transfer files.

Vendor Response

by ISL Online on 05/02/2021

Dear Richard, thank you for your review!

As regards the file transfer, this might be of your interest:

The newest ISL Light version, which was released yesterday, added support for our new File Manager functionality. This functionality will allow you to simply transfer files between the local and remote computer by drag and dropping files in a simple-to-use graphical interface. Currently, the File Manager functionality is available for ISL AlwaysOn connections, as well as on-demand sessions where the remote client is a Linux or macOS machine. For on-demand connections with Windows remote machines, by default, this functionality is not available. However, if you would require this functionality in such a session, it is possible to instruct the client to download the ISL Light application instead of the ISL Light Client, then in the ISL Light application choose Options -> Join and join the session this way. Then, the File Manager functionality will be available in this session as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2021
Jim W.
Operations
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2019

"Remote Support"

Comments: IT Support for clients - been using for over 5 yrs and very happy with it. Some improvements in certain functions would be useful

Pros: Reliability, secure, fast, professional branding, easy to use

Cons: Occasionally issues with copy and pasting, file transfer is confusing to use, remote logging in to Macs is confusing for user on the other end

Vendor Response

by ISL Online on 12/02/2021

Hi Jim, we would like to let you know that the newest ISL Light version added support for our new File Manager functionality. This functionality will allow you to simply transfer files between the local and remote computer by drag and dropping files in a simple-to-use graphical interface.

Currently, the File Manager functionality is available for ISL AlwaysOn connections, as well as on-demand sessions where the remote client is a Linux or macOS machine. For on-demand connections with Windows remote machines, by default, this functionality is not available. However, if you would require this functionality in such a session, it is possible to instruct the client to download the ISL Light application instead of the ISL Light Client, then in the ISL Light application choose Options -> Join and join the session this way. Then, the File Manager functionality will be available in this session as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2019
Johan V.
CEO
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/01/2019

"ISL is a proper tool for IT professionals / consultants to support their clients"

Comments: We actually resell the product besides using it for ourselves.
I still believe its a good piece of software, support is good and the dutch distributor DCC is very friendly and gained a lot of knowledge about the products of ISL. Way better product then Teamviewer although i keep on waiting for a better experience with mac.....

Pros: To be able to log in remotely without manual inteference from the client. Support reacts with knowledge and content. (no auto-message nonsense) The mobile app to give emergency support from a tablet/phone

Cons: With mac clients there is no easy way to run the software from the desktop with an icon. Your client needs to download the software, run it and give consent, accept a securitywarning etc.. before you can actually take control of the remote PC / Mac

Vendor Response

by ISL Online on 28/02/2019

Hello,

thank you for your review!

I'm sorry to hear the experience with ISL software on a Mac computer is proving to be difficult.

I have raised this issue with our team and we will look into ways of improving this functionality.

Let me know if you will have any further questions or issues!

Best regards,
Domen Vidmar
ISL Online Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/01/2019
Olivier P.
Co-Founder
Professional Training & Coaching, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2019

"ISL ONE"

Comments: We use ISL ONLINE to help our clients remotely after they have installed our virtual reality training exercices. Thanks to ISL ONLINE they can contact use directly thru our website which makes our support very professional.

Pros: Very easy to deploy and to use. On top of that it does offer not only remote control within the same tool , for the same price, but also online chat which is very useful for us.

Cons: There is no real cons with ISL ONLINE. We have been very satisfied by both the product and the support provided.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2019
Reginald V.
Electronics & IT
Industrial Automation, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2019

"Perfect tool for our customer support !"

Comments: Also the easy way to use it on devices with (many) other OS platforms is for us a big PLUS !
The customatisation (f.e. with our LOGO + Technician Name) of the interface is a nice AND easy thing, together with the selfstarting video-recording is a great advantage. In this way we can please our customers -on a simple demand- with a video so they can replay the session and see what was done / altered to their system/device settings later-on when the stressed situation is all over.

Pros: The auto-reconnect function in a remote session, after a remote (network-) reboot was done, is for us one of the major reasons to choose for ISL online ! We've been using this for some years now and will stay to do so !

Cons: No real contras encountered so far …
We found a bug once, reported it to ISL; they loocked into it in a live session with us, and things got solved , so ... that's what counts !

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2019
Ryan P.
Owner
Computer Networking, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2020

"ISL Light Remote Desktop review"

Pros: It is easy to use and good value of money

Cons: No Cons for now. We are happy with the program.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2020
Placido D.
CEOI
Program Development, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/06/2020

"The daily tool for helpdesk team"

Comments: Very succesful. We use ISL Light Remote Desktop in our heldesk / support team with any incident. Very easy to use for the team and for the customers.

Pros: Speed and stability all the years of use.

Cons: The design is a little old. The clients must be more modern.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/06/2020
Benjy H.
Salesforce Administrator
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2021

"Extremely useful and powerful tool"

Pros: Our support team support alot of customers from tech savvy to inexperienced all out customers have little problems using the software saving us alot of time.

Cons: it looks a little outdated now and could do with a refresh.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2021
Matej B.
Support Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2019

"Best remote tool possible"

Pros: - Ease of use.
- Quick and well done implementation into the core business.
- Easy and safe for the end-user.
- Best value for the price.
- Chat, Remote destkop and AlwaysOnline in one package.

Cons: Perhaps the design of the aplication ISL GROOP, but all in all it is very practical.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2019
Tomaz J.
IT Admin
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/05/2019

"Stable and constantly improved"

Comments: We run user support services with (currently) eight ISL Light connections for more than ten years with great success.

Pros: Easy to use, Web page for client connection and client software download, Connection is stable and fast also on slower lines, client loader for distribution to clients, no need to install client software on client machines, you can run client software as user without admin privileges, possibility to have your own connection server, many additional modules (AlwaysOn, Groop, Pronto)

Cons: Occasional unsuccessful connection which is usually resolved by dropping the connection and connecting again, occasional problems with Windows UAC (User Account Control)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/05/2019
Brandon B.
Director of Technology
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019

"Great mult-platform remote software"

Comments: I have been using ISL for over a year with both WIndows and Mac systems. The ability to control systems over the internet easily from any device is awesome.

Pros: Ease of use
Cross platform
Ability to group clients
Able to use mobile devices for control

Cons: This is based on internet connectivity so if the internet goes down at your location you are unable to remote into computers on the local LAN.

Vendor Response

by ISL Online on 28/02/2019

Hello,

thank you for your message!

When using cloud service of ISL, when there is no internet connectivity you will unfortunately indeed not be able to support computers in the same network.

If you are using a self-hosted service however, it's possible to set the connections up to go through the internal network so they will work even if there is no connection to the external network.

Let me know if you would need help settings this up, either by sending us an email to [email protected] or by visiting our live chat on our website www.islonline.com!

Best regards,
Domen Vidmar
ISL Online Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019
Christian S.
IT Services Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/12/2020

"A bit oldscool but very good price-performance ratio"

Pros: Can be Self-Hosted, then very good price-performance ratio for my needs, Mobile Apps.

Cons: ISL Groove has urgendly to be updated, Remote-Control performance and usability could be better.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/12/2020
Andy N.
Managing Director
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2020

"Great Remote Support Tool with Excellent Support"

Pros: We are able to distribute the client software bundled within our own product and host all services within our own secure environment. All connections are client initiated, so customer security concerns are minimal.
The support from ISL is excellent - thought rarely needed. We have used this remote access tool for many years and rarely have issues.

Cons: I don't have any negative comments to make and this software suits our needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2020
Mark H.
Managing Director
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2020

"Review"

Pros: I like that unlike other remote applications if the machine is on and has a network connection i can log in remotely and my customer doesn't have to nesscaserly be in front of the machine if they are away from desk or out on business and want it fixed i can do so

Cons: I have been pleased with product and at this time do not have a con

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2020
Thinh B.
Director of IT
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/02/2020

"Very good software at a competitive price"

Pros: The software works and easy to install. Never had any issue with it. It's cheaper when comparing to other similar products. Allows you to install on many devices you want and even on servers.

Cons: Have to pay extra to login to more than one device.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/02/2020
Stefan G.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2019

"Use of ISL"

Pros: Easy use, the product gives a good overview of all the servers and we can act very fast

Cons: Basic report is to narrow. We would like that we receives more reporting for the same price.

Vendor Response

by ISL Online on 28/02/2019

Hello,

thank you for your review!

We are currently developing some new features for the reports page, which will soon show the name of the computer in the list aswell, making it easier to see which computer you were connected to in a particular session.

If you have any requests which you would like to see added to the reports page (or to ISL products in general) please send us an email to [email protected] or visit our live chat on our website www.islonline.com!

Best regards,
Domen Vidmar
ISL Online Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2019
Peter J.
CEO
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/09/2020

"Great and usefull product"

Comments: We are proud that the best solution for remote access is done from Slovenian software company ISL.
Great work and keep going on.

Pros: We use this software fo 1year now and never had problems connecting to costumer.
We reccomend Cloud solution for quick start of usage.

Cons: Huawei and others do not support control over phone trough mobile app.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/09/2020
Chris L.
Managing Director
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/04/2021

"ISL Online"

Comments: I haven't had really any dealings with the company or representatives myself, but the software just works. Can't comment on their support myself as I haven't had the need to. So that's either a good thing or bad thing, depending on how you look at it.

Pros: Being able to seamlessly remote on to a workstation or a server to resolve issues is such a life saver, especially now IT Techs have to resolve issues with clients from home. It's made life a lot easier.

Cons: Updating the ISL Light software on a Mac seems bit cumbersome. You have to re-download the software manually from their website and it isn't always easy to find. This is either a limitation on Mac or just the way ISL has developed it. It would be better if there was just an "Update" option within the settings of ISL to automatically get the latest update.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/04/2021
Bryn H.
Office Manager
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019

"ISL Light Review"

Comments: ISL Light is a very good product, it enables us to fix problems remotely, meaning we can cover more customers, meaning higher revenue.

Pros: It is easy to use both by technical people and non technical

Cons: The main window freezes occasionally when you touch it, when using a slow PC

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Bjorn D.
Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2019

"ISL always does the job for us!"

Comments: We use ISL for many years now and stiil find it the best tool on the marked!
It works verry good and is not expensive.

Pros: ISL always works and allows us to get the job done.
We use it on PC, tablet and even smartphone to service our customers.
We use it daily to service our customers.

Cons: Sometimes the keyboard gets messed up while taking over the screen

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2019