About Planisware Orchestra

Planisware Orchestra is a SaaS solution for project and portfolio management with expertise in hybrid project execution environments.

Learn more about Planisware Orchestra

Pros:

The initial project tasks are easy enough to set up.

Cons:

Some specific attentions must be brought to the recording time (storage of the data) for specific functions. This time can increases with the number of manipulated elements or for specific functions.

Planisware Orchestra ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.8
Features
3.9
Value for Money
3.9

Likelihood to recommend

7.2/10

Planisware Orchestra has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 13 user reviews on Capterra.

Alternatives to Planisware Orchestra

Filter reviews (13)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Usage

Sort by

Have you used Planisware Orchestra before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Verified Reviewer
Directeur Etudes et Développement produits in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great app !

5 5 years ago

Pros:

I particularly appreciate the integration of different features : project management, ressources management, budget, time tracking. We also implemented specific features apart from project development like non-conformity treatment, executive committee decisions management, customised reports

Cons:

My company find it a bit expensive but it worth it. Needs a real training to get the full performance.

Thierry J.
management control in France
Research, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very good tool, easily and intuitive to use on main functions.

4 5 years ago

Comments: The main benefits are in the simplicity of navigation and use for the end-users: very good design and organization of the activity with fast access to the interesting information for the different level of the organization.

Pros:

Orchestra is tool very appreciated by the users. Its design is clear and intuitive, which allows the different users to navigate inside the tool after 1 hour of training. Its use is also sufficiently simple for the occasional users (1 time per month or less) to re-find the menu without a new reading of the user guide. The access is simple and efficient from a location. We use it to manage the R&D activity of several laboratories in the world with more than thousand users and several thousands of projects follow by the system. The simultaneous connection of several dozens of users induces no difficulty. Each one can make his job: his creation or updated of project information. This tool offers the possibility to add specific modules require by additional needs. Support team is rather efficient and provides a good assistance for small difficulty or misunderstanding. Nevertheless, the new developments require very accurate specifications from the final user in order to reach quickly the new functions.

Cons:

There are no clear dark points about this software. Some specific attentions must be brought to the recording time (storage of the data) for specific functions. This time can increases with the number of manipulated elements or for specific functions. It is not a real issue, except in the case of long set of data recording.

Hannah M.
Project Management Office and Continuous Improvement Manager in US
Financial Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Works for basic project management or those new to project management

3 2 years ago

Comments: Planisware was not very responsive during implementation to completing tasks, following up on items requested or issues found. They either don't respond at all or don't respond quickly through their service desk requests for issues, questions, upgrade ideas, etc.

Pros:

The ability to customize stages and gates is great as it allows for different types of projects in one organization or for different organizations to all have completely different set ups. The initial project tasks are easy enough to set up.

Cons:

There are always way too many steps in each process. It may be easy enough to figure out the process but it seems like most could be completed with less clicks from the user.

Dante T.
Associate Development Manager in Canada
Entertainment, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Orchestra Review

5 4 months ago

Pros:

I enjoyed how easy the software is to navigate, it is easy to switch between information such as projects, resources and users etc. I also believe exports are a key feature that I enjoy the most. For the work that I conduct, these exports are a critical function. Being able to easily grab the information that I need from the system in a ready-to-use format is incredibly helpful.

Cons:

Currently, there are only 3 individuals in our organization that are actively utilizing the system. Once we roll out the software to a larger audience I believe I will be able to answer this question more adequately. However, I believe being able to customize your own reports and exports from the system could be greatly improved. Additionally, I feel that the dashboard customization could be improved to provide more in-depth customization and more granular details.

Vincent G.
PMO Manager in France
Medical Devices, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good PPM tool, cover all the functionnalities needed, good relationship

5 5 years ago

Comments: Transparency and consistency of our information.
Consolidation of the data for analysis or understanding
Be able to have a live status of our project and take decisions based on that.
Manage the resources and distribute the work, valorize this one.
End-to-end chain of information management

Pros:

The fact to have a mix of settings and specific. It permits to be autonomous and start to have a first platform usable very fast. And after, with our specificity as a large company, be able to develop some interface with other tools. Interface is really user friendy. Good evolution of the tool with better and better user interface and features. Good interface with Google permits to us to use our Electronic Document Management System, SSO,... Cover all the needs with good features from the demand to Project management, Portfolio management, indicators,... Great relationship with NQI

Cons:

It's inside their roadmap, but today, portfolio management can be better, Risk management also, Demand Management, on the Stakes part is not perfect We would like to be able to have little bit more global control on the projects, state, bulk modification as administrator or user. Some names are not consistent everywhere inside the tool and need to be align But I know, link to their roadmap, all this work in on going

Vincent G.
PMO in France
Insurance, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple efficient and scalable

4 last year

Comments: We stard with Planisware Orchestra in 2011. First to manage IT projects and then gradually to manage all IT activities. This tool has evolved a lot since 2011 and allows us today to manage the entire activity, workforces load and budgets forecasting.

Pros:

Capapcity to manage large organizations and numerous resources. Easy to use without too many concessions on advanced features. Scalable solution both in terms of users and functionalities. Great local support (France). Suitable for RUN and BUILD activities. Numerous intégration possibilities (flat files, datamart, Reporting Tools, etc.)

Cons:

Agility is not perfectly managed. Kaban could be smoother.

Claire D.
Quality Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great customized and local solution for project management in our ISO 17025 accredited laboratory.

4 4 years ago

Pros:

NQI Orchestra software really meets our first requirements i.e. find a customized and local solution for project management. Then quality module has been implemented and used as well. It's a robust solution. After almost 2 years of daily use by the project manager and the quality manager and around 15 users, we have managed almost 190 projects of 2 weeks to 4 months duration; I would like to highlight that it has never shut down. We really appreciate the activity Stream; it constitutes a really help in follow up. Since we have learned how to create and use the Dashboard module, we like it!

Cons:

- Installation and updates are not "friendly": it requires to paste files directly into core folders. Without internal IT support, that would be difficult to manage. - We decided not to use the document module because once documents are uploaded in the software, it is not possible to access them without using the software. - Generally, there are too many information displayed and today, it is not possible to remove some of them to get clear visibility of seeked information: e.g. Gant diagram.

Christian L.
Project Portfolio Manager in Belgium
Insurance, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good value for money and support

5 2 years ago

Comments: Planning, resource/capacity and budget management.

Pros:

It is user-friendly, the user interface is intuitive

Cons:

The poor performance with Internet Explorer/Edge

Vincent C.
Project Portfolio Manager in Switzerland
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

NQI Orchestra Review

3 2 years ago

Comments: We started with a new version of Orchestra : 7.0. This version wasn't mature and we faced many bugs.
Ramp-up is not easy (Planning, budget and Ressources management).
Owerall, this tool is good, there are good ideas and functions. Now, the next step should be to simplify the User interface. Some idea : include more batch actions, simplify Planning > Gantt (only one view), simplify Project Ressource Management by displaying ressources need more easyly >> too many clicks to display ressrouces need.

Pros:

- Integration between projects and ressources - Customisation with the Designer - Possiblity to export lists

Cons:

- "Clicodrome". Too many click to do something. No possiblity to do "batch" actions in lists. - Timesheet workflow validation too restrictive - In project Budget and project ressource management no possibility to express the ressource need by competencies. Only ressource type is available >> too restrictive as a ressource can have only one "type". Most of organisation have ressources that can do many activities in projets (Project management and business analysis for exemple). Assign ressources by type is too restrictive. Real need to asign ressources by competencies.

Sebastien L.
Head of service in Germany
Automotive, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

VWFS

4 last year

Pros:

Fluidity of softwre and visualization of data

Cons:

Flexibility of reporting and adaptative reporting to our business

Christine D.
Consultante in France
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My remarks

5 last year

Pros:

ease of implementation and great freedom of customization

Cons:

it is not possible to manage time on actions contained in tasks

Nicolas W.
PMO Manager in Belgium
Telecommunications, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Voo - project & program implementation

3 2 years ago

Comments: global orchestra experience is good. This tool is gathering all functionalities to manage any project on a daily basis
but I would like to increase my organization compliance through a deepest positive experience, but "con's criteria" are constraints to that goal (poor documentation, poor reporting, unsucceed collaboration, too much click)
I really hope that planisware will invest to improve propduct in that way

Pros:

User-friendly, functionalities very complete

Cons:

- poor documentation to become Orchestra expert and support daily usage - heavy weakness on standard reporting - sometimes too much "click" to realize a basic project operation - project stakeholders collaboration is not enough succeed

Sébastien R.
IT Manager in France
Automotive, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Usage in DEKRA

3 last year

Pros:

The time sheet recording is really easy to use

Cons:

The general ergonomie should be improve, especially the planning management (GANT). Agile should be more integrated into the software.