15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

Planview IdeaPlace Reviews

About Planview IdeaPlace

Planview Spigit is the global leader of idea mgmt software. Easily ideate, engage and implement the best ideas from your crowd.

Learn more about Planview IdeaPlace

Pros:

Ease of use for the capture of ideas, collaboration and synthesizing of top ideas.

Cons:

The back end has a lot of capability that is difficult to leverage without specialized training and experience.

Planview IdeaPlace ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

Planview IdeaPlace has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 49 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Planview IdeaPlace before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (49)

Jeannine
Jeannine
Global Content Manager/6 Sigma Deployment Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I love the tool. It's incredibly easy to use - very intuitive, nice clean interface & easy to learn.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It's not too complicated. You can ramp up very quickly on a learning curve. Once you've done 1-2 Challenges, setting one up is "old hat".

Cons:

The only thing that I haven't tried, because it seems too daunting, is to try a local language specific challenge. So far we've only run them in English.

Anna
Sr. Ecosystem Innovator in US
Consumer Goods, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The platform that innovation managers should definitely consider!

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I have been working with the Spigit platform for a few open innovation challenges and programs within my innovation-related roles in two large corporations. Having experience of partnering with Spigit and a few of its competitors, I would definitely recommend Spigit among all of them. This platform is flexible enough to provide you with good basis for your open innovation initiatives both within your organization and with the external innovation community. It allows you to manage challenges/programs end-to-end just using one platform and its online functionality. It definitely makes your work easier and less time/effort consuming!

Pros:

- end-to-end management of challenges/programs (application management -> evaluations -> ranking -> selection) - community management, including voting and comments - great support from Spigit managers who are always ready to give you a good piece of advice - sophisticated reporting system (you can get any information you want, however sometimes it is not very straight-forward :) )

Cons:

As any platform, Spigit has some bugs that are normally being fixed by the team very quickly. Some additional functionality might be useful (task assignment based on multiple conditions, geography, etc.) More user-friendly reporting (sometime it takes time to understand how to to do this or that report)

Planview Response

8 years ago

Anna, it's been a pleasure working with you as a customer. Thanks for helping us spread our software to the innovation community at large. Keep the feedback coming.

Yi Hoo
SVP - Innovation & Experimentation in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall a good experience with a very supportive team

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

How it allows the whole organization to be able to collaborate and helps us to grow a culture of innovation

Cons:

backend still abit clunky and difficult to use and pricing is not very flexible. mobile version also needs to be better improved

Sarah
Former Director Product Strategy in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Spigit powers our user-driven innovation - great combo of proven flow models & local flexibility

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Aligned resources to strategic goals
Increased customer engagement and satisfaction
Inspired creative problem solving and quantifying value to users

Pros:

Scalable and sustainable - enabled us to engage at a scale simply not possible without innovation and in a way that is sustainable in terms of resources and integration back into the business - also very intuitive to end users - our crowd loves getting onto the platform to collaborate. Best part of Spigit is their Customer Success model - you aren't just getting a crowd-sourcing innovation platform, you are getting a true solution with strategic support from folks who are experts in their field and dig in to understand your specific goals and challenges.

Cons:

The admin side is a little less intuitive / takes some training and time to get comfortable. Fortunately they have amazing resources available - from online content to a comprehensive knowledgebase to highly responsive support team to customer success managers who are always in your corner, you can always get what you need within 48 hours - often faster. And the in person training gives you a chance to be hands on with the software so you can retain what you are learning.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Innovation Management Tool

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Engagement - we're getting 30+ plus engagement now
Cultural change
Communication
Idea Management

Pros:

If you are looking to crowdsource ideas and insights, it's the complete product. People across the business from all different backgrounds - call centre agents, van drivers, sales people, engineers, they all use it and the feedback has only every been very positive. Unlike other tools in the same category, it's not just about collecting ideas. There's functionality in the system to manage the end to end lifecycle of ideas. Collecting more and more ideas simply isn't sustainable. You need to demonstrate the process works as well.

Cons:

I'm splitting hairs because all mature, enterprise scale software packages have corners of the product which are clunky or hardly used and Spigit is no exception to that rule.

Rachel
Sr. Project Leader in US
, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very easy to use for our employees to enter in ideas and collaborate as well.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Employees find it easy to use, can generate reports quickly, review forms for an idea, and ideas can move from one challenge to another.

Cons:

We continue to make the workflow portion of the software better. Working together with Spigit we have been able to come up with ways to use the software to benefit our company.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Defense & Space
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Spigit has been an excellent partner to work with

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The support team is excellent. Spigit has also accommodated a variety of unique requests from my company due to our specific business needs.

Cons:

The UI/UX looks dated and could use a significant refresh. The administration panel is not entirely intuitive.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic experience to easily and quickly share ideas across different business unit functions

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Engagement across business functions and stakeholders

Pros:

The ability to easily create feedback sessions that are customized to the business need. For instance, survey questions can be free form vs. multiple choice; individuals can be tagged to receive feedback on certain categories; we can add unique pictures or change the time a challenge runs. It's super easy to use and has so much functionality. It supports deep engagement across teams and stakeholders and all the added functionality (such as email alerts for tagged posts or metrics to see how many ideas have been upvoted) make it a fantastic tool.

Cons:

This software is great and can think of no improvements. Maybe the only suggestion is to have a functionality to allow for anonymous feedback - however, this should be up to the administrator of a challenge/idea to permit anonymous responses or not.

Peter
Peter
Project Manager in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Spigit platform has provided multiple uses for our company; however, it could be more robust.

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: E-platform to capture project details and assess project validity. Also, successful completion of innovation challenge with ideas that will bring savings to our business.

Pros:

I was able to self-teach myself how to navigate and configure the software. It also works great for idea management and progression- the voting and collaboration is a powerful tool that provides quick feedback. We've been able to use the platform for both Innovation Challenges and as a Project Tracker. The project section of the site captures key Initiation details about each project and enable us to review and assess validity of each proposed project.

Cons:

The terminology; a definitions manual would be great to explain the community hierarchy and roles within the system. The admin training provided was very basic; it would be good if it was more specialised and not just targeted at beginners.

Edwin
Edwin
Assistant Manager Open Source & Strategic Projects in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Sporting Goods
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very responsive and supportive team! The platform is very user-friendly and intuitive.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Connection to remote employees is very valuable to our organization. Increases visibility to decision making and engages employees in the decisions made.

Pros:

The platform is easily customized to suit your needs, and is a great way to drive engagement. It's an engaging way to connect disparate teams to decision makers.

Cons:

The back end functionality can be more user friendly; it uses Spigit vocabulary that isn't necessarily intuitive.

Michael
Business Planner in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Spigit has helped us engage our team members in a new and exciting way - every idea matters!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The software is fairly easy to use and navigate from a user's perspective. It has a somewhat similar feel to other social medial platforms and appeals to team members in this way. I really appreciate the ability to generate customized reports during and after challenges as well within Insights, the analytics platform of the Spigit software. This allows for open communication to sponsors around participation from the crowd and can signal a need for additional communication if challenge activity is low. It is very interactive overall and makes for a fun user experience while posting ideas and collaborating with others!

Cons:

From an Admin perspective, there are some fields that are "locked in" the idea submission form, which can be frustrating at times when sponsors don't want those visible to team members for their particular challenge. There are also some features like conditional drop downs that aren't currently unavailable that would be helpful to have for certain challenges.

Jim
Innovation leader in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We have used Spigit across our enterprise to support internal and external client innovation

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It provides significant savings for our internal efforts and also is a huge generator of opportunity pipeline.

Pros:

The flexibility to adapt to multiple client needs and challenge types. We use this across the globe with multiple clients and industries. It allows us to fit the innovation agenda of our clients.

Cons:

In the new UI do not like what they have done with the Idea Stages page. Liked the old version better. On a positive note about the new ui, I do like the graduation criteria change on the admin panel

Tina
Innovation Program Manager in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Our experience to date has been great and the support of the Spigit team has been invaluable.

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I value the transparency, ease of use and gamification. It make innovation easy to facilitate and track from an end to end process.

Cons:

the current functionality of running a challenge in different languages. we need to run all challenges in English and French. I want to be able to have French users log into a French experience aka wording, on the same platform as English users would see in English. SSO preferences should be able to get them the language they need. We would then let all users enter ideas in their language of choice and not worry about translating that piece. Our main challenge is having all users on the same platform sharing ideas, but seeing the tool itself display in their language of choice in terms of the fields. It doesn't 't currently perform to our needs and French regulations we need to adhere too.

Jim
NA AIC Innovation Tiger Team Leader in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Driving our Innovation Program

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: We are using Spigit's tool, having called it "Idea Stream" to drive innovation across our teams that support our clients. They use this tool to "Innovate For" and Innovate With" our clients. In less than 6 months we have launched over 200 challenges that have created over 5K ideas. We are now moving forward across our teams to implement and transform these idea into results.

Pros:

Ease of use for the capture of ideas, collaboration and synthesizing of top ideas.

Cons:

Would like a more BPM oriented workflow with decision criteria, rules and different paths

Mohammed
Innovation Specialist in Saudi Arabia
Telecommunications, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Cloud Based Idea Management Platform

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have to be completely honest when I say they have the best team to support your Innovation strategy and goals along side an amazing platform for ideas management

Pros:

- Ease of use - Easy to manage and modify - Administration - Functionality

Cons:

One minor thing related to Arabic language where right to left is not supported

Lauren
Innovation Community and Content Manager in Switzerland
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We have been using Spigit for years to help us crowdsource the best ideas for our organization.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Extremely adaptable to our needs as an organization - we have used it not only for idea competitions but also to create communities of practice and support new innovation processes across the UN.

Cons:

It can be a little clunky for new administrators to use but luckily the Spigit team is always on hand to assist in technical challenges - even for those non-tech users!

Anna
Business Process Partner in US
Consumer Goods, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Spigit Team: True Business Partners!

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: From software implementation to execution of challenges, the Spigit team has been a very professional and flexible business partner. The team was great to work with and the software is easy to use. We are excited and looking forward to continuing our partnership moving forward.

Pros:

Ease of use, very limited training needed for users.

Cons:

Reporting capabilities - limited capabilities based on our specific business needs Administrative page - the challenge setup should be template style, not in different icons all over the page

Mark
Service Improvement Support in UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Strong innovation platform for managing a large number of ideas and posts

3.0 9 years ago

Comments: Pros:
- Easy to use for end user.
- Idea management via graduation thresholds
- Gamification settings - points
- A platform for understanding the business - ideas are often posted that are relevant to the situation our front line staff are experiencing and want to improve or change.
- Easy for admin to review ideas in each stage/ manage their progress appropriately
- Reporting is easy to use (the upgrade was a positive and needed change!)
Cons:
- Managing ideas that have been "accepted/ implemented". Typically have to do this offline. Perhaps need a `investigating further` option.
- Driving user engagement - could the platform have tools to support with this more?

Planview Response

9 years ago

Mark, thank you for your well structured response. Feedback from a long time customer such as Ingeus is extremely valuable. We're reviewing your insights with our Product team as we speak. We look forward to continuing the relationship with future releases.

Sathya
Manager, Innovation & IP in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Spigit Idea Management

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Spigit is an industry leader when it comes to idea management and I have had the experience of interacting with their team to institutionalize the solution in one of my past employments. Their team engages well and provides a good amount of training. At its completion, you will be able to confidently use, manage and administer your innovation challenge.

Pros:

Ease of use

Cons:

From a platform perspective, there is nothing to complain. I would like to see upskilling engagements to allow users to better use their platform more effectively. Perhaps in the last 2 years they have included it already.

Peter
IT Service Manager in Germany
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Created great business success through tremendous good accepted idea challenges with help by SPIGIT

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Flexible to configure and to use according the own needs. Great volume of features. Easy configuration when passing the initial admin training. Great support by SPIGIT pro's, leading you for the first steps (if you like) and shipping you around the cliffs, for getting a total success already at the first idea competion.

Cons:

As it is the same platform for all using companies, it is not easy, to put a desirable new feature into developing queue.

Gary
San Diego Innovation Leader in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

The user experience is good and there are a lot of features

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Our always on platform is pretty easy for general users, and the additional challenge based environment is a great way to engage the crowd. I especially like the analytics and ROI tools. They also have a great advanced training program. Out of the box, it seems like Spigit has the best thing going.
However, some of the admin setup is quite complicated, with antiquated workflows and custom integration isn't their strong suit. I got to see a preview of their newest upgrade plans, and it looks like many of their older tech is being brought up to today's standards and beyond. I am anxious to see the new version.

Planview Response

8 years ago

Hi Gary, We're thrilled that you enjoy most of our out of the box features. We're working diligently on rolling out our new upgrade, and look forward to hearing what you think.

Kimberley
PMO Strategy Analyst in Australia
Farming, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Spigit review

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Ramping up to start using the tool. So far the tool seems relatively intuitive; though from an Administrator perspective I anticipate some confusion between the Community v Challenge level.

Pros:

Collaborative, equalizing, enables contribution for different styles of thinkers (i.e. introverts) not just the loudest voice at the workshop

Cons:

from an Administrator perspective I anticipate some confusion between the Community v Challenge level

Shawn
Director of Corporate Partnerships in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The Spigit sales & support teams exceeded my expectations. Great platform for ideation crowdsourcing

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The ability to engage large crowds of constituents across a wide distance and without the need for the admin(s) being an IT professional. The average power user can be an admin. If you can use Excel & Word, you can be a Spigit admin.

Cons:

That with SSO enabled, we cannot also engage with external (non-SSO) crowds, without requiring a separate instance.

Loredana
Graduate in Australia
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Seamless, supported and fun!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I like that you are able to design your platform in way you like in terms of branding. It gives you a sense of pride and ownership of the platform and ability to make it line up perfectly with your company branding.

Cons:

Since the new version upgrade - nothing! There were issues with being able to easily navigate around the back end as an administrator

Denise
Executive Assistant in UK
Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Sept 8-9 Training

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Enjoyed the experience and interactions of the group both facilitator and participants. There is a large learning curve, which, will be managed over time and experience. I'm thankful for the reference material provided, plus ongoing webinars will be helpful.

Pros:

Classes were informative, local to office in UK (convenient). Facilities were acceptable, facilitator is extremely versed in the platform functionalities