15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Viima

Viima is the simple, yet incredibly powerful innovation platform.

Learn more about Viima

Pros:

Not Available

Cons:

Not Available

Viima ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.9
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.5/10

Viima has an overall rating of 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 27 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Viima before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (27)

Teija
Teija
Senior specialist - Capacity development in Finland
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

User friendly tool to help and speed up cooperation

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Viima enabled us an inspiring start for cooperation between three large organisations and helped in involving over 1000 staff members to co-develop together.

Pros:

This tool enabled us a smooth start for close cooperation between three organisations. Easy to use and inspiring platform. Users are surprised by the nice graphics which differ from many other platforms. Main functionalities are well chosen and an overview of all topics is easy to get. Recent activities are easy to follow. Simple but powerful tool. Excellent customer service!

Cons:

Some functionalities could be still developed e.g. drag and drop functionality would have been nice at some phases and functionality where the users "apply" to a certain idea could be located in the main view of an idea.

Viima Solutions Response

6 years ago

Thank you for the review and the feedback! We'll definitely take your ideas into consideration in our future development. Hope you keep enjoying to use Viima. If there's anything, please let us know!

Carla
Programme Offier in Ireland
Environmental Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

User friendly and easy to set up

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It has been a very good experience so far, I've got a great support from Viima and have managed to make our Innovation Hub look very close to what we had envisaged.

Pros:

It is easy to set up and easy to use both from an admin and from an user perspective. It is very clean and pleasant to look at and it's very intuitive. Adding ideas is quite easy and it has all the features we were looking for in terms of filtering ideas and engaging with ideas.

Cons:

Some features can't really be customised. An example is the Impact assessment of the idea, which contains monetary/qualitative metrics only. The good thing is that due to Viima's good customer service, they always help us find a way around what doesn't suit us.

Viima Solutions Response

3 years ago

Thank you for the review Carla! Glad to hear that you've enjoyed using Viima. We're always looking to improve Viima's ability to adapt to different customer needs, and customization of our features is a big priority for us. May we ask what kind of impact assessments you are looking for so that we can add them to the tool?

Helena
Consultant in Finland
Management Consulting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy functions, transparent innovation, easy to integrate, great people

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: More transparency in our ideation process and a fun way to suggest new ideas

Pros:

Great idea to make innovating transparent and accessible for all. The UI is easy to use based on intuition and most features (idea process , categories etc) are defined by the user. The software is also easily integrated into Sharepoint and other sites / tools already in use in the company. This makes it easy to remind people Viima

Cons:

Some of the features could still be developed, for example different colors for ideas in different phases of the ideation process. Right now they are all the same color. Also some reminders could be sent automatically, not just via email but also as text messages or as popups when people open Sharepoint (where we have integrated Viima). It is hard to get people to update the ideas, since the ideas are not designed to be updated and followed up in Viima. Maybe an integration with Trello, or a similar app would be ideal?

Viima Solutions Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the review and the feedback Helena! It is actually already possible to set the ideas on your Viima board to change color based on the phase of the ideation process that they're in. We're also always improving our notifications and will continue to add more channels for receiving these, the latest of which is Yammer. You are also correct in that Viima is not designed to be the place where information is stored as ideas are being implemented. Each company has specific requirements related to their business so while Viima is great for the ideation and concept phases of development, we always recommend using the project management tools you already have for that purpose. This way you'll get the best of both worlds! We're going to add integrations to the most common ones, such as Trello and JIRA, in the near future to provide you with a seamless flow of information so stay tuned! We'll be in touch shortly to make sure you're able to get the most out of Viima!

Italo
Team Manager in Brazil
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great tool to scale innovation

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very good, if defently outperforms managing ideas and innovation using spreadsheets, company developed software or trying to adapt some other tool for this purpose

Pros:

Defenetly the main characteristic is being really easy to use. With over 200 users in my division none experience trouble besides logging in for the first time. After a little step-by-step procedure they could start using the tool and collaborating without any problems.

Cons:

Could have more customized fields to classify ideas, but it was something we could get around using hashtags

Viima Solutions Response

3 years ago

Thank you for the review and kind words Italo! We've actually just released an update with new types of custom fields and improvements to the way hashtags work and will continue to develop the software going forward!

Tanja
Strategy Specialist in Finland
Gambling & Casinos, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I've been really satisfied with Viima's intuitive and fun tool as well as with the proactive support

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Great ideation tool for both the Company and for the customer relations outside the Company.

Pros:

Viima's visual user interface has helped us to motivate our employees to participate into giving their own ideas and developing the ideas of others. The tool is so simple to use that none of our employees have needed user training even though we have people from various different background. Viima can also be used for several different purposes simultaneously (e.g. continuous ideation, idea challenges, developing the organizational culture etc.) and setting it up for new use cases is relly fast. In Viima I can quickly see which ideas are the most important and what the status of the ideation funnel at any given moment. Viima's support has been very helpful on occasions that I've needed it, but mostly we've been able to use the software without any outside help.

Cons:

Viima can send out notification emails to users on relevant occasions and these emails have only been available in English. But as I've understood, they are soon releasing support for customizing the emails into other languages as well (Finnish in our case).

Viima Solutions Response

7 years ago

Thank you very much for the review, we really appreciate the feedback! I'm glad to confirm that our latest update that was actually just released contains the support for fully customisable notification emails which allows our customers to freely write the content of the emails (in any language you wish to).

Dr. Lawrence
Head of Innovation and Impact in UK
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Using VIIMA for innovation proposal assessment in the NHS - UK

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: speed of process, visibility of decision making, stakeholder engagement

Pros:

Absolutely transformed the way we go about communicating and assessing the proposals for innovative project funding we receive. Allows remote team assessment and agreement of actions immediately without meetings. User experience and functionality is extremely straightforward. Great features for scoring ideas, sharing and general governance / admin / user access control. Customer support is simply superb, they email or call following any request or note within minutes. Absolutely recommended, these are reliable and serious people.

Cons:

Mobile UI is excellent but not as advanced as desktop for now - could benefit from a few tweaks - this is not a negative criticism however as any software would receive reasonably subjective user feedback on elements of UX and functionality.

Viima Solutions Response

7 years ago

Thank you for the review and the feedback, we really appreciate it! We're always working to make our app even better so we'll make sure to take these ideas for improving our mobile UI to our roadmap. We hope you continue enjoying the use of Viima and if there's ever anything, you know how to reach us!

Mari
Specialist in Online Services in Finland
Insurance, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Viima is easy and fun to use. Intuitive, so there's no need for long manuals or training for users.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: This software supports our innovation process very well. In an organization such as our's, a product that is easy to use, with an intuitive user interface, is a must. This also makes it possible and easy to ideate together with our customers.

Pros:

Because software is easy to use, we can easily and flexibly utilize it for our co-creation and innovation purposes. Users are able to jump in and contribute when ever they have an idea or a problem that needs to be solved. Great tool for discussing different ideas and needs together with the organization and our customers.

Cons:

For our purposes (ideation and discussion in the spirit of co-creation) this software fits well, but if you're in need of a software that deals more with the process and decision making you might need something heavier.

Viima Solutions Response

6 years ago

Thank you for the review! We're glad to hear of your positive experiences with us so far. We'll work hard to make it even better in the future! Regarding the support for a heavier decision-making process within the tool, that is something we've identified as a future development area and we'll be adding a number of new features to support these kinds of requirements without sacrificing the ease of use that is core for our software.

Natasha
Head of Innovation and Labs in Australia
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use ideation tool for all staff

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: This is an easy-to-manage tool for ideation and innovation. Easily customisable and incredibly collaborative.

Pros:

Visually, our staff love this tool and the conversations that happen within an idea. It allows us to discover new pain points that may have been previously missed. Super easy to launch and use. Being able to create multiple boards has help smaller teams run internal hack events.

Cons:

As the VIIMA team are constantly iterating new features are being released regularly. I love a 'next review date' but that is the project manager in me and not essential.

Viima Solutions Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review Natasha! We are actually bringing custom date fields to the software in our next update so from then on, you can keep track of that review date!

Andre
CEO in Brazil
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Viima and Cases Use

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The most significant feature from Viima is the ability to easily customize for your needs in many different areas involving strategy, ideation and strategy. The guides and materials available in the website is a valuable and important plus for the users and especially for the customers managers.

Pros:

Viima is an excellent platform to achieve may business results when using it for Ideation, continuous improvement, open innovation and idea, strategy and innovation. You are able to customize for your needs not only for innovation and new business models but also for persuade efficiency in your core business. The app is very intuitive and easy to customize for your needs.

Cons:

The platform is always improving with new functionalities. I hope it will be integrating in many other app in the near future.

Viima Solutions Response

3 years ago

Hi Andre, thank you for the review! We'll certainly keep on improving the platform and will be adding more integrations in the future. If you have a specific service in mind that you'd like to see us integrate to next, please let us know!

Katja
Katja
Development Manager in Finland
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Viima offers a user-friendly, efficient and easily implemented way for crowdsourcing new ideas

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We replaced our old initiative system completely with Viima. We are using the software for collecting new ideas and innovations, asking opinions from our employees and from our customers. Furthermore, we use the application to collect customer feedback.

Pros:

Intuitive user interface, several possibilities to apply the software for diffferent purposes (e.g. personnel queries, voice of customer, collecting and managing initiatives etc.). The system supports transparency and equality in the process of creating innovations and development ideas.

Cons:

That I could be able to move ideas from one board to another when the user has accidentially put the idea to a wrong board. I hope this feature would come soon.

Viima Solutions Response

7 years ago

Thanks for review Katja, it's been a pleasure working with you! We're indeed looking forward to adding the ability to move ideas between boards in the first few months of next year and are happy to do it on your behalf until then!

Hugo
Managing Partner in Portugal
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The go to innovation management platform if you are starting your journey

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very happy. We can have the platform up and running in a matter of minutes.

Pros:

Viima is the best platform for companies that are starting the innovation journey. Why? Ease of use, and great technical support.

Cons:

The user interface needs improvement, but it's ok to start with.

Viima Solutions Response

3 years ago

Hi Hugo, thanks for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoy using Viima and rest assured, we'll certainly keep improving our software and user interface in the future.

Ville
Digimentalist in Finland
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viima's ideation tool has worked well for us in gathering new ideas and development suggestions

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We get constant new ideas from employees and their progress is monitored constantly and transparently by using Viima software.

Pros:

The tool's visuality, a playful way to show the ideas and a possibility to engage people to the ideation process are the best parts of Viima. Also the level of customer support is astonishing and guys are always keen on helping their customers to get better results!

Cons:

At the same time the visuality can be also tricky in spotting the right ideas out of the mass. I think that's its very critical for the admin user to know how to adjust the main view.

Viima Solutions Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the review and the positive feedback! We're always working to make our UI even better and we already have plans on addressing the concerns you mentioned. Stay tuned! :)

Konstantinos
Website / ICT Manager in Belgium
Public Relations & Communications, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, trusted by our stakeholders. It has helped us a lot to launch our themeatic discussions

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We were looking for some time to find a simple collaborative platform for our core stakeholders. Bringing people together and make them feel at ease to express themselves and present their ideas it is not an easy task. A good tool like VIIMA always helps to gather people together and collect ideas, opinions, thoughts and recommendations. It has definitely helped us to do our work better, especially to organise our thematic discussions and exchanges which are giving us good outcomes already.

Pros:

Easy to use and manage, straight forward. Login is made easy even by using yout office 365 credentials.

Cons:

There is not a horizontal dashboard to manage all of your boards at once as a the general administrator of the account

Viima Solutions Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the positive review Konstantinos! Improving the management options available for our administrators on the organization level is definitely an area we're looking to further improve in the future. We've, for example, just started working on improving the analytics capabilities related to this.

Birgit
Project manager in Finland
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Viima works beautifully within the idea proposals and moderating tasks we work today.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Is this question concerning Wiima or Capterra? If Viima - as already descripted: works! If Capterra: seems to work as well, and more knowledge needed before I'm ready to identify the benefits.

Pros:

The best feature for the users seems to be the vote button. The same is with us following the popularity of the idea - and how it is developing during the open dialogue of the users.

Viima Solutions Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the review and the feedback Birgit, it's been great working with you!

Tiina
Project Officer in Finland
Government Administration, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use for both administers & users. Fun & new way to collect ideas from a big crowd.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We got better ideas from our target group than we've gotten previous years

Pros:

It's very easy to use. Our target group liked this software very much and we got good feedback about it. One of the best features is the ability to comment on suggestions/ ideas because it enables conversation/ interaction between users and this actually makes the original ideas better. The software is very visual and something different than ordinary questionaries. The customer service we got from Viima was excellent.

Cons:

The basic version can't be modified that much; you can change the colours & add your logo & own texts but that's it. Then again it's enough for basic use.

Viima Solutions Response

6 years ago

Thank you very much for the positive feedback! We do indeed offer more customisation options in our more extensive plans and also have plans for developing this area much further in the future.

Marja
Marja
Business Development Manager in Finland
Verified LinkedIn User
Environmental Services
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great software to get the whole organization participating in new business development

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Viima has helped us to structure our idea innovation management process and ensure that it is transparent to all employees. Anyone can add new business ideas, comment on their colleagues ideas and follow along as ideas are evaluated and tested with customers. We can document all our work in the same place. The possibility to tag people and integrations with O365 and Yammer also make it easy to engage people to use the software. We keep finding new use cases for Viima some teams use it to gather internal development suggestions, others for gathering client-specific ideas. This is possible as it is easy to create and customize new boards for different needs.

Cons:

Managing users could be improved so that a users are automatically deleted if they leave the company.

Viima Solutions Response

6 years ago

Thank you for the review and for our co-operation! When using SSO integrations, users will now lose access to Viima as soon as they leave the company, so from a permissions point-of-view this isn't an issue. However, we agree that there are things that could be done to improve on this area and we'll certainly take your suggestion into consideration for the future!

Andreas
Innovation Consultant in Switzerland
Investment Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The best idea management tool we could find

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Viima has been crucial to a successful innovation campaign that spanned over different idea lifecycle stages and brought over 200 participants from across the globe together. The Viima team has been tremendously supportive to get the very best out of the tool for our current use case and are not only highly professional, but also fun people to work with.

Pros:

- Ease of use / simplicity - Engaging visualisation - Customization possibilities - Reporting and idea assessment capabilities - Mobile app

Cons:

Nothing. Additional value to users could potentially be offered through further integrations (e.g. task mgmt tools) and even more customization possibilities.

Viima Solutions Response

5 years ago

Thank you for the review Andreas! It's been a pleasure working with you. Also, rest assured, we're planning to add even more integrations and customization options in the future.

Veronica
Financial Planner in US
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent Tool To Idea Connect Remotely!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Viima has been such an awesome tool for me and our team! While working across multiple time zones with partners all around the globe it is such a game changer to be able to have a collective idea party room. It's literally buzzing with energy around the clock as we are constantly popping in an out from our various cities and locations. This has been critical to actually executing on ideas which previously would fail to be followed up on!

Cons:

There have been a couple of instances where one of our team members was not fully connected on the same page with everyone else. I am not sure if it was his location having any kind of filters but after a couple weeks he was fully integrated with us and rocking!

Nicole
Senior Project Controller in Switzerland
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy and fun way to generate idea

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: For the moment we are using as a continuous improvement system. But we are thinking on extending this for specific project and even use this for the weekly team meeting minutes.

Pros:

It is very easy to understand, and even people with less technical interest got to use it very fast and enjoy using it.

Cons:

The bubble are fun and colourful, it is not always clear why they keep changing position and the filter system is not always very visible.

Viima Solutions Response

3 years ago

Hi Nicole, thanks for the review! We'll keep your comment in mind to make the service even easier to use going forward!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great Experience and Customer Service

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The layout of Viima is really engaging and so easy to customise. There are very few things that the platform does not cover out of the box.

Cons:

Our business required a fully on-premise solution, with neither the database nor the application sitting in the cloud. This, unfortunately, was the main reason that Viima could not be recommended for our requirement.

Viima Solutions Response

6 years ago

Thanks for the positive review! We would've loved to work with you but unfortunately couldn't offer a solution that would've met all the needs you had for an on-premise solution with the current time-table. I wish you the best of luck in finding a suitable solution! Also, while we're primarily focusing on developing our SaaS offering, we're continuing to invest on providing more flexible on-premise solutions in the future.

Katja
Katja
Head of Wauhdittamo in Finland
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

User friendly and inspiring tool to collect ideas and involve people!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Overall experience! Colorful, playful interface made the tool interesting to use and attracted users. Very user friendly and easy to use.

Cons:

Some features were impossible to customize and made us to compromise some things, did not disturb much.

Viima Solutions Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the review and the great co-operation Katja! It's been a pleasure working with your team on Wauhdittamo. Which features would you like to further customize? We're always looking to improve our software further.

Arnaud
Arnaud
IT Manager in Hong Kong
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Teams of our R&I center use it as an anonymous digital box for questions, and for brainstormings.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Very simple and intuitive interface : no need for a training. Customization possibilities of the interface are quite numerous Works on computer as on portable devices Stable software.

Cons:

Reports for visualization of results and export of data could be enhanced. User management console could use profiles.

Viima Solutions Response

6 years ago

Thank you very much for the positive review, the review and your feedback are both highly appreciated! Reports and visualization are indeed an area that we're already working to improve and are looking forward to releasing improvements related to that in the near future. We're actually just started work on the next version of user profiles. In the beginning, these shall be quite lightweight, but we'll continue to improve on these in the future as well.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool for idea tracking, simple and effective, and with robust API!

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: It allowed our organization to easily track product ideas, whereas before there was no process or tool for this.

Pros:

Simple to set up and get started, it made it really easy to deploy and people got used to it very quickly Good price for the features, it covers most of the features we were looking for a fraction of the price from bigger/more stablished tools It has a reliable API we have used to integrate with JIRA, which was a must for us.

Cons:

Still lacks some functionalities, what it does it does it well but could use a couple more options for user management and customization.

Bourrion
Bourrion
CDO (Chief Digital Officer) in France
Verified LinkedIn User
, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A great tool (even in french now :) )

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Viima is a great tool to collect and work on ideas, even in an organisation with a lot of staff members.

Pros:

Very easy to configure ; nice to the eyes ; now in french, and that point is really important for us, of course ; our users were able to work with Viima without any help at all, and that means a good UX, that helps to focus on the important part : ideas.

Cons:

It would be nice to be able to duplicate some boards, in order to work with multiple different teams without having to set up X boards with similar settings.

Viima Solutions Response

6 years ago

Thank you for the review, we're delighted to hear that you've enjoyed using Viima! Copying boards is also a great idea, we've now added that to our roadmap to be implemented in the future. Have a great weekend!

David
David
Entrepreneur / Advisor / Intrapreneur Evangelist in Switzerland
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Playful, user friendly, simplifies the ideation process.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The gamification and visually appealing dashboard attracts the user engagement, which is paramount in successfully validating ideas in a corporate, or any environment.

Viima Solutions Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the highly positive review David! It's been a pleasure working with you.