Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.9 /5

About Device42

ITAM Software: Track complete hardware & software asset life-cycles, licenses, contracts, certificates, renewal reminders, and more!

Learn more about Device42

Showing 50 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Infrastructure Engineer
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2018

"One of the best DCIM platforms out there with an API that allows great possibilities"

Comments: This has become a tool to nearly everyone in the organization. It has allowed us to keep track of a very dynamic environment and ultimately improved user workflows. These types of benefits improve our quality of work and allow us to save time in many ways for other aspects of our business.

Pros: One of the best things about Device42 is their amazing customer support; they are very quick to address issues and are always implementing feature improvements. Device42 also offers a one-stop-shop for all things DCIM, a robust IPAM, Password management, and additional add-ons such as power monitoring that has ultimately helped improve our workflow and organizational capabilities. Their auto-discovery tools are quite in-depth at pulling information from our devices.

Cons: With all software, there will be bugs and issues to workout, but Device42's willingness to tackle and improve upon their platform constantly is what keeps us coming back. Auto-discovery can be difficult to implement depending on the complexity of the environment but the addition of remote collectors has definitely helped.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
IT Specialist
Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2018

"Best value DCIM with open API. Solid customer support."

Pros: For us, Device42 is really one of the best data center infrastructure management platform out there in terms of flexibility. It’s extensive RESTful API offers wonderful possibilities and has allowed us to integrate into our internal systems as well as a number of other areas in our organization including VMware vRealize Automation
It’s a highly accessible inventory and asset management application that offers a lot of functionality with minimal hassle and a reasonable cost. And the best part is it just keeps getting better with every iteration.

Cons: At the moment, bringing up connections on a single device or rack can be done easily without a hitch, but we’d like to see more of it in a much larger scale. Their customer support has been really good though in addressing all other issues and they promised to get back to us if this gets included in development.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2018
John B.
Systems Engineer/Architect
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2018

"We been using D42 since 2015 and have found this to be one of the best DCIM systems for the money."

Comments: We are able to maintain an extremely high accuracy for our environment which is extremely dynamic. Using the APIs we have integrated D42 into several of our production processes allowing us to automate processes that depend on accurate inventories.

Pros: Ease of set up; detail of information gathered through the base product; base features received for the price; agent-less discovery; new remote collector support; support for multiple scan methods - WinRM, SNMP, SSH; multiple hypervisor support - VMWare, KVM, Openstack, AWS, Azure; built-in rack elevations; level of customization available; Web interface; REST API

Cons: Documentation is a bit behind the versions and could use some updates; Depending on the environment auto-discovery can be a bit of a challenge;

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2018
Alvin P.
System Engineer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2018

"A learning experience and rewarding once I was able to maneuver through the portal."

Comments: Asset management features.

Pros: The software allowed me to easily import our Excel data into the software. This saved me a lot of time and allowed me more time to focus on my other daily duties.

Cons: What I dislike about the software is that there are so many steps to complete a task. For example, if we have a device to install, cable and place in production. There are different windows or separate Excel (if it's a bulk) spreadsheet to complete the task.
Another dislike is when I used the SNMP auto-discovery. It discovered even all of the non-pertinent VLANs. It showed over 600 VLANs, we have less than 50 VLANs. It basically counted for every switch port that had a VLAN label.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2018
Jeffrey A.
Lead Technical Architect
Higher Education, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/01/2018

"The CMDB we have been looking for."

Comments: An independent hardware/software inventory system that can generate reports for renewals and keep track of hardware locations.

Pros: Very responsive support. Collects a lot of information from the devices themselves. Easy to make bulk additions or changes with import/exports to Excel.

Cons: This product has some limitation in current version, what could give use some manual job. However support is working with us to solve all our issues.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Technical Service Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/03/2019

"Value for money"

Comments: It's a very good software for device discovery. Value for money.

Pros: The functionality of the software and the various options for discovery

Cons: Assessment option is not available to migrate the workload on cloud

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
Sr. System Lead
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019

"CMDB that works"

Comments: Suppot has been top noch

Pros: IT was fast to deploy and run discoveries. Very Fast to be up and running

Cons: Scans can be an issue based on the size of the org. Might take some time to dial in.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019
Marton G.
PM
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/06/2018

"Excellent support and feature rich product set."

Comments: .

Pros: Visualisation of Data Centre assets and agentless discovery
Highly responsive and technical support
Receptive to feedback on product enhancements

Cons: Some products not supported for discovery which can be accommodated in future releases.
Some products not supported for discovery which can be accommodated in future releases.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/06/2018
Maurice K.
System Engineer
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2018

"A one-stop-shop DCIM"

Comments: It made our datacenter preparations quite easy.

Pros: The ease of use of the tool. It has a great API where you can program against. We used rack view a lot during the migration of our datacenter.

Cons: The IPAM part could use some rework, make it more easy to look at. As far as I know this is already on the roadmap.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2018
Andreas Z.
Network Engineer
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2018

"Very Good IPAM solution with lots of future potential"

Pros: - Easy to use
- Tool aligned to current customer and Business Needs
- Open for new customer and Business Needs with quick release cycles (Feature request processing)

Cons: - Licensing
- Full and direct application HA failover missings

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2018
Matt M.
IT Infrastructure Manager
Information Technology & Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2021

"Glad we purchased this product."

Comments: Love it.

Pros: Within weeks of deploying and ingesting data we are making smarter IT decisions.

Cons: Just a small learning curve but better than most.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2021
Verified Reviewer
Network Operations
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2017

"Easy to access, easy to use - means network documentation stays up to date."

Comments: The software helps us keep track of our off-site colocations. We can track rack information, including what devices are where, power loads, and physical connectivity to each device and through patch panels.

Pros: Having information about our remote rack space documented and easily accessible has been a boon, especially when we need to request 3rd party remote hand to make simple changes for us. I think last month we needed a small change, and I was able to pull out Device42 and follow a set of cables through 2 patch panels in order to provide precise instructions on cable changes I wanted completed by the technician providing the remote hands.

Cons: We are currently primarily using Device42 to track remote sites on how things are situated in racks and how everything is interconnected at the site. One thing I feel they could improve for the future is the extraction of physical connectivity information from their software. I would love to be able to see a full holistic view of the physical interconnections throughout one room, or a building. At the moment its easy to bring up interconnections on a single device, or a single rack, but nothing on a grander scale. I've spoken with support and they said they'll mention this to development to see if this is on the road map.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2017
Verified Reviewer
Discovery Lead
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2019

"A Very Good discovery tool with super quick support !"

Comments: D42 has been helping us for the server migration planning, reports are helping in application assessment and move group finalization and decide right sizing for target server.

Pros: D42 support is very quick and to the point.
Anyone who doesn't have discovery experience, can work on this tool easily.
This tool helps a lot if you are going through server migration planning phase.
This tool helps a lot if you want to figure out the application or server dependencies.
It gives a very good picture of server communication, capture all the inbound/outbound communications.

Cons: Few reports can only be downloaded from DOQL script, there should be a direct download option for all the reports.
No option available to test the targets server to ensure that scanning will be successful considering all the prerequisite.
sub-appliance( WDS) dependency for windows server scanning.
No CLI option

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2019
Ezra O.
Dir. of Infrastructure
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/08/2018

"D42 Review"

Comments: We have been using spreadsheets for asset management. We are also spread across multiple Data Centers so it suits us well as far as building organization.

Pros: It is extremely thorough. It addresses all and more of the needs that I have come up with. It is also very well connected. All devices can be connected from the device down to the switch and router etc.

Cons: It does not have the flashiest interface I've ever seen, but it makes up for that in content.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/08/2018
Ian G.
Data Center Operations Manager
Government Administration, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"Finally a DCIM that covers all of our needs"

Comments: Complete visibility of our data center from layer one to power monitoring.

Pros: This is a one stop shop for any data center facility. We initially were shopping for a connectivity management tool and stumbled on this gem. You couldn't ask for more with a price point far below competitors.

Cons: It is a heavy lift on the front end during the initial install, but the end result is well worth it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Mark P.
Manager, IT Infrastructure
Banking, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2017

"Good Product, Excellent Support!"

Comments: Device42 is a solid contender in the DCIM market, and will gain more ground as their reputation spreads. Most DCIM’s require extensive training, professional services, and lots of ongoing help. Not Device42 – it is intuitive and easy enough to use – if you take time to listen and learn. When we were stumped, a quick support request on their portal was answered quickly.

Pros: It is easy to use, and the support folks will work with you to find a root cause – and stick with it. Great Support!

Cons: We were told that most APC UPS's were supported, but we had problems with a few of their devices. In the end, Device42 did a program rewrite and corrected everything. Well Done!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2017
Yasin S.
Senior Systems Developer
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2017

"Superb product, allowed us to view/manage our infrastructure from a desk properly!"

Comments: Complete DCIM Management, the ability to easily capacity plan, manage assets, carry out impact assessments etc is invaluable, together with value for money.

Pros: Very easy to setup, excellent discovery options, good integration with other products and good support. They will find the root cause to issues, even if it takes time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2017
Al B.
Infrastructure Engineer
Consumer Electronics, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2019

"A critical tool for us in our infrastructure."

Comments: Over has been very positive. Especially in dealing with customer support. They response time is very fast.

Pros: The ability to scan and discover new hosts and then be able to bind credential information to the hosts is very handy for us. I then am able to allow certain users to view credential information of specific hosts that I want them to see.

Cons: It can be overwhelming in the amount of configurable options but that is OK because you do not have to use all the features that are available to you

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2019
Yuriy U.
Senior Systems Engineer
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019

"Pretty much THE best datacenter inventory software"

Pros: Easy to use. Easy to find information. Easy to capture information.

Cons: Appliance can be moody sometimes, with disk space issues and database issues.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Systems Engineer
Computer Games, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/04/2019

"Did a Proof of Concept; looks pretty good!"

Pros: It does a good job of what we want to use it for - discovery, inventory, and with a way to extend it with info from our other systems via REST.
The support team is knowledgeable and thorough.

Cons: Discovery definitely needs better logging.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/04/2019
Rajesh S.
Network Engineer
Computer & Network Security, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/05/2019

"Device42 Review"

Comments: excellent

Pros: Autodiscovery of devices and simple and intutive user interface

Cons: No support to auto discover ucs servers

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/05/2019
Zack G.
CTO
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2016

"Easiest Data Center Management Software I've Seen"

Comments: I've used BMC before and I've tested Nlyte, and they are great, but from start to finish this was the easiest one I've seen so far, and from the looks of it, the most comprehensive one. I've yet to discover all of the features, but it looks like it has more to offer than BMC for sure. Loving it so far...

Pros: Ease of installation and functionality

Cons: Price

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2016
Ernest W.
Sr Infrastructure engineer
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2019

"Best Find in a while!"

Comments: Great experience and would recommend to anyone in need of asset tracking.

Pros: Easy to use, if you need a feature just request it and they usually get right to it, and customer support very responsive!

Cons: Had to build new VM for upgrade! This took some time, and a little help from CS, i had to go to a certain version, then upgrade to the new, a little confusing!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2019
Satesh P.
Systems Engineer
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2019

"Great tool to keep everything organized in one place."

Comments: Each team would maintain multiple spreadsheets for physical inventory, passwords, rack diagrams for each datacenters, warranty information and software licenses. Having one tool to manage all this information simplifies everything and makes it easier to update everything . One pane of glass as they say.

Pros: When I first started using Device42 I was impressed with how helpful the sales team was in the deployment process. Once deployed I noticed how many tools were included in the base software. In the first few weeks after deployment in our data centers we needed to quickly run an inventory of all of our SSL certificates. Using Device42 we were able to run in an automated scan that gave us a report that we used to update all of our SSL certificates. The more you use the software the more things that can be useful for you company. I can also say that their support is top notch and always willing to help and work with you until your problem is fixed.

Cons: There is not much to complain about when it comes to this software. If I have to nitpick I would say that it would be the update process. I would prefer for the updates could be directly installed. Other than that its a great product to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
Senior Data Center Engineer
Financial Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2017

"Excellent support, solid platform with a real future in the DCIM World"

Pros: I have used several of the DCIM offerings out there nowAn excellent tool for those users tired of being stuck within the confines of a closed off product. The flexibility Device42 offers their customers is hands down the best in the market. With the offering of an API, we have been able to integrate Device42 into numerous areas of our company, and internal systems. If your tired of closed systems that require tons of support, or those that can nickle and dime to with add-on features...then Device42 is for you. See something missing, simply present it to them, as their DEV team works directly with the customers to help them get what they need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2017