Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Namely

With intuitive technology and a world-class team of experts, Namely empowers HR with a solution designed for mid-sized businesses.

Learn more about Namely

Showing 405 reviews

Sanskriti G.
Sanskriti G.
Senior Software Engineer in Nepal
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Namely keeps us connected and focused at work.

5 last year

Comments: Namely has helped us to manage the workforce, employee retention, understand data and insights within our organization, and keeping us connected in a single package, and we are able to benchmark our productivity, accountability, and credibility in terms of HR. We are able to set time cards, clock-in features at work, as a result, we are able to get optimum results. Managing time-off requests, sick leave(vacation) for employees has been a lot easier, and also the reporting and analytic feature of Namely has helped to keep track of every record at work. Overall, Namely has helped our organization in managing the workforce, employee engagement along with payroll, benefits, and talent management.

Pros:

Namely is simply a great platform for HR, Payroll, and benefits management within the organizational framework, as it helps to create better workplaces with varying functionality to adapt in small to mid-size businesses and comply with different regulations at work.

Cons:

No particular downsides of the software. Sometimes, I got a problem syncing employee's data to Namely. The API call is not worth handled by the application and keeps me disconnected. Hope this would be solved in the next update.

Namely Response

last year

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that Namely helps you manage your workforce, keep employees engaged, and build a better workplace.

Joseph R.
Director of HR in US
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Namely is a great option for a mid sized company

4 4 months ago

Pros:

The software flows very well and links everything so it's easy to onboard and offboard employees. The profiles store employee data efficiently and the reporting and analytics is very useful.

Cons:

There are many inconsistencies or illogical set ups that make the software wonky at times. For example, titles are considered an "object" rather than text. So you have to add every title manually in the backend. THEN, only on the onboarding form can you search titles. Everywhere else you must search the alphabetized list manually for your title. This is just a minor inconvenience. A more major one is how salaries are handled. When inputting a salary for payroll you have to calculate out how much each check should be and input that in addition to listing the annual salary. This might be fine if every other form or field didn't calculate it automatically for you. This seems like a major oversight and really puts into perspective how this software was developed. And that is, many teams working on their own parts without any formal cohesion of functionality. Honestly, it feels like an intern built the whole onboarding piece (which is the function you will use the most).

Namely Response

4 months ago

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that our platform has simplified your onboarding and offboarding processes. As for your pain point about salaries, we apologize for your negative experience. Fixing that process is currently on our product roadmap and we look forward to making your experience as seamless as possible.

Leon C.
Leon C.
IT Recruiter in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy and sustainable.

4 3 years ago

Comments: Namely is simple and easy to use, it requires a few improvements that seem to be coming soon. It still has some glitches that need an urgent fix, but with the few conversations I've had with the Customer Support team, I can tell that Namely will greatly improve in future versions.

Pros:

It is a straightforward and easy to use software, the user interface is the simplest one in the market of HR Management tools. It is a good example of the Integration between Payroll and HR Systems, and might be useful in the Linkbuilding bussiness with a few enhancements and addons. The Customer Service is great and the people involved are very kind and competent.

Cons:

The customization of the processes is not easy to implement, and tends to be tiresome, and in many cases it slows down the navigation. It is currently lacking a proper auto-sync feature. It does not have the E-signature feature for current employees. The performance management module has a complicated nature. There could be a better integration between the HR and the Payroll modules. As I explained in the Pros, it is easy to use but it could be highly improved in terms of pragmatic functionalities over the user friendly interface.

Mim H.
Technical Product Owner in US
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great system to bridge the gap between HR needs and employees

5 6 months ago

Comments: Depending on what you need to use it for, the system is great and simple for employees to use. It could definitely use some work in the PTO request department, but other than that, it's a solid system!

Pros:

Namely is easy to use with a pretty intuitive interface, which makes accessing tools and information quick and simple. We utilize this system mainly for our payroll info, performance reviews and general employee information across the company.

Cons:

We were hoping to move all facets of our previous system over to Namely, which included requesting time off, but we were unable to due to a lot of basic features were missing in the Namely system. For instance, when requesting time off in Namely, we were only able to submit a certain number of hours off vs setting a specific start and end time to our requested time off. Another issue was the integration Namely has with Google calendars and successfully adding requested time off to our calendars.

Namely Response

6 months ago

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoy using our platform. As for your pain points about PTO tracking and an integration with Google calendars, we will be sure to relay them to our Product team.

Elizabeth C.
HR Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

A Great Company that is Always Improving

4 last year

Pros:

We love the onboarding system, it makes everything very easy and automated! We also really appreciate the way Namely takes feedback and acts upon it. They release new features and products every quarter and the releases really are what the customers are looking for. The company is always looking to improve and grow which we really value.

Cons:

We have had difficulty with the Namely Time feature, it gets confusing for employees and sometimes there are issues with information syncing between the two systems.

Namely Response

last year

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to continue enhancing our platform and your overall client experience.

Kassidy R.
Sr. Manager, People Operations in US
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Transition from Zenefits to Namely, couldn't be happier!

5 5 years ago

Comments: We transferred HRIS from Zenefits to Namely and we couldn't be happier. From the beginning, the implementation managers were concise, responsive and thorough in setting expectations, providing a clear roadmap and answering all questions. Our Account Manager has exceeded all expectations with his detailed knowledge of all of Namely's products, acute attention to detail, responsiveness and awesome personality. Namely's product fits our company of 84 (we were 54 when we made the transition). Their on-boarding feature is so customizable and user friendly, we were able to consolidate our on-boarding process and automate a lot of moving pieces. We have launched performance reviews and employee engagement surveys using the performance tools and are big fans of the process and capabilities. Namely's performance tool has the capability of pulling established goals into each performance review which makes it extremely easy to track performance and goal attainment. The reporting feature is awesome because we can go in and run any type of report we need to where as in Zenefits, not all of the data was readily available to run a self report, it was funneled through the account manager. We use a variety of Namely's products but we are most impressed with the level of communication Namely provides. From our Account Manager to Namely's Product team, the communication is constant. It is obvious the internal communication within Namely is very positive and fluent - our Account Manager asks for feedback on features and it is clear the feedback is relayed to the Product and Eng teams. Overall, we made the right decision to transition and are extremely happy with this service/product.

Meg M.
HR Director and Payroll Manager in US
Investment Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A solid product, easy to use, checks all the boxes

5 10 months ago

Comments: Namely is the perfect solution for a small business like ours. It has saved me so much time compared to the previous solution we used for HR and payroll.

Pros:

I find Namely easy to manage, easy to explain to employees, full-featured, with solid and easy-to-use reporting. The payroll reporting, which I use extensively, is especially robust - I haven't had to venture into custom reports because all the "canned" reports meet my needs and then some, and they download lightning-quick! After a year I have yet to find something "glitchy" that doesn't work quite right - it's well-built and thoughtfully designed.

Cons:

I find that correcting the occasional payroll issue is a bit of a challenge - fortunately, Namely's payroll customer support team is well-versed and available to assist.

Namely Response

9 months ago

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that our centralized platform has saved you valuable time.

Caleb W.
Administrator, HRIS and Payroll in US
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

An HRIS that Everyone likes to Use

5 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, it's a great HRIS, and a great company. Namely is constantly updating the system and releasing new features. The support team is top notch and is always happy to help in anyway they can. Namely may be missing some features or some may need to be updated, but the interfaces and the support plus the fact that they are dedicated to releasing features that are requested really make it a top HRIS system.

Pros:

Easy to use for Employees, Managers, and Admins. The interfaces are elegant, clean, and very intuitive. The ability to automate tasks or delegate tasks that used to be a burden has freed up time for Managers and HR admins. Having everything all in one creates an easy experience for our employees. The ability to use the Open API allowed us to automate our employee data flow out to different parts of the company and keep our systems all in sync.

Cons:

Missing some features you might get from an older HRIS, Payroll, or Benefit system. While the time feature allows a lot of customization, it can be burdensome to use and navigate.

Michael G.
HR Generalist in US
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Quality, Modern HRIS

4 5 years ago

Comments: Our company has been using Namely for a little over a year now, and we've been very satisfied with our experience so far. Their customer service is practically unparalleled, they go above and beyond to help guide us in our usage, and interacting with their employees has been uniformly great. The system itself is robust, we are able to quickly pull many different reports with ease, run complex annual performance reviews, track our time off and much more with no hiccups. What helped us to make our decision to choose Namely was how simple it was for our employees to use it, it's a modern design and if you can navigate Facebook, you can certainly navigate Namely. I definitely recommend Namely to any small to medium business, it's been a wonderful experience!

Pros:

Easy to use, easy to navigate

Cons:

The compensation portion could be a bit more robust in terms of tracking changes to salaries after reviews.

Matthew R.
HR Director/Privacy Officer in
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Solid software for the price

4 5 years ago

Comments: The support team and onboarding tools are both fantastic. They've recently added a "goals" feature that we are just starting to use, so that is exciting. Overall, it's a great value for the price.

Pros:

Great UI, compared to other HRIS products of similar cost. The internal support team is very responsive and helpful. There is a wide range of tools to choose from: onboarding, PTO, performance reviews, benefit portals, payroll, etc. I've found the onboarding feature very helpful, as new hires can start their HRIS profile, as well as read and agree to all new hire paperwork.

Cons:

The API leaves some room for improvement, but I believe they are working to improve it. Also, the benefits portal works well, but the "electronic feed" to the insurance company hasn't worked for us. Well, it works, it just doesn't link accurate information. I believe they are working on that as well. The performance review reminders are not found in an intuitive manner, but the program itself is pretty easy to use once you know where to find things.

Anat A.
Revenue Assistant Controller in Israel
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Friendly software

4 2 years ago

Comments: Namely is a nice product and basically helps with managing the employee records in a good way

Pros:

Basically Namely is a nice product. I'm an finance team worker and using it on a daily basis. Also, it 's easy to find what I need. Exporting reports is simple.

Cons:

I'm not operating the product so I'm not familiar if there is a possibility for it, but I think there should be more fields or at least a possibility to add a field according to the company's needs.

Namely Response

last year

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that Namely has simplified your Finance team's day-to-day. As for fields, we've made our platform customizable from the ground up so that you can create as many company fields as you want.

Adrian G.
People Analyst in US
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Namely Review

5 2 years ago

Pros:

Namely's ease of use is second to none. Our employees love the facebook like layout.

Cons:

We wish there was more performance management features. Takes a lot of self learning to learn about a lot of the features.

Cristin U.
HR Director in Germany
Military, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Namely Review

5 last year

Comments: Amazing. Timely. Professional. Helpful. Friendly.

Pros:

HRIS system is easy to manage and understand. Our employees like the feed. Love the customer service - they are super helpful and friendly. Love eSig.

Cons:

I don't like Namely Time. I wish it was more straightforward to use. I also wish that Namely had a background check integration providers. I wish there was a built in ATS system.

Namely Response

last year

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that our customer support team helps give you confidence when using Namely. As for your pain points, we will be be sure to relay them to our Product team.

Thadya S.
HR Coordinator in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

User Friendly but not Payroll/ PTO Tracking / Time-Keeping Friendly. Bad Implementation Team.

3 4 years ago

Comments: We are trying to minimize paper clutter and store information digitally which is one of the reasons why we chose Namely. On-boarding process is much more automated as you can upload all required documents into a template and have new employees complete them using e-signature. Performance Management feature makes it very easy to keep track of everyone's progress and manage from the administrative side. Benefits Open Enrollment is now automated and employees will be accountable for making changes or selecting new coverage.

Pros:

ser friendly. Easy to navigate through the website and very easy to run custom reports in the HRIS side. We are also utilizing their on-boarding, performance management and benefits enrollment features to save the company time as well as to reduce paperwork.

Cons:

Biggest concern is that the Payroll module is as robust as Namely claims it to be. The report writer is limited and there are manual double entries that you need to do to if you are tracking PTO as well as other information using their HRIS module. We ended up purchasing their Namely Time module because the web-clock and PTO Tracking in their HRIS module is very limited; the web-clock is unable to round worked hours as we track employee hours worked in 15 minute increments and PTO Tracking was not accruing the correct amount of sick and vacation balance for the employees which caused us to manually track PTO for 6 months on a spreadsheet. Even with the Namely Time module, it does not fully integrate with Namely Payroll, therefore, all accrued vacation and sick balances does not feed over and we are not able to show the accrued balances on employees pay-stubs which is required by law in California. We have NOT been in compliance for over 10 MONTHS .

Verified Reviewer
Payroll Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Small Business Platform Only - the Quickbooks of HRIS/Payroll

2 3 years ago

Comments: We are a high-growth company of 1000+ employees and complex, ever-changing operations, so while our experience from a Systems and Support standpoint is far from great, we may not be the target demographic. This tool is far more suited to small and mid-size businesses who can handle manual system changes and configuration at the employee level. But for large enterprise-level companies who require robust tools--reporting, customization, anything at scale--this is not the vendor for you.

Pros:

User Interface is simple and somewhat easy to navigate from a visual standpoint. HRIS side of the platform is nice. Reporting tool, while simple and one-dimensional, is easy to configure. Uploads and onboarding are simple.

Cons:

When it comes to robust, enterprise-level tools and customization, this system is clearly lacking. The HRIS and Payroll side are fragmented and poorly connected. The two systems talk to each other poorly with common fields that are not truly linked. This forces the client to constantly audit both portals and update manually to ensure data integrity within a singular platform. Run into bugs and validation glitches daily, which are hard to resolve through self-service. Namely "gatekeeps" much functionality on their end so clients must email the service team for many requests. Customer support can vary greatly depending on the representative. Some are fast and informative, while others will completely ignore your service request, forcing you to track cases and follow up. Non-Intuitive Benefits Enrollments, ACA, no mailing of W-2s come year end. Ensuring tax compliance is a daily struggle. Lack of audit trails and historical data for many fields is a compliance nightmare.

Verified Reviewer
Human Resources Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

HRIS - Small Non-Profit Company

4 2 years ago

Comments: We had to build our HR department from the ground up. Before Namely all of the documents, timesheets, and reporting were done on paper and manually. Namely was able to provide us with everything we need to build our HR department. It is also user-friendly that all our employees were able to transition to using Namely with ease. We also operate from multiple locations, and Namely was able to house all documents that we need in an instant.

Pros:

We are a non-profit organization that works seasonal. Most of our employees are retired and have challenges using different technology, but with Namely they are able to adapt to our new system fairly quickly. We like how the system is user-friendly for both admin and user side.

Cons:

There are some reporting options that are not available for admin, but I was able to obtain the reports that I needed through the service team.

Verified Reviewer
Territory Account Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

HR efficiency

5 3 years ago

Comments: Namely has helped our organization streamline HR process and easy for our employees to access their tax documents, benefits, PTO requests and etc. I have heard more positive responses from our members than negative ones.

Pros:

Namely is a great tool to have in any organization. It will help your operation cost and streamline HR processes. I enjoyed the dashboard, all important information is easy to access and the messaging function is an easy way to communicate with HR or Namely Admin.

Cons:

When I had to do revisions to my benefits it was a hurdle, I had to wait on our Admin to update my profile. But as soon as it was updated, doing the revisiions was easy.

Jessica D.
Payroll Manager in US
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Easy to use payroll/HRIS platform

5 2 years ago

Pros:

As a quickly growing company (9 acquisitions in 2 years) Namely has made it easy to keep track of all of our employees, old and new, around the world. The payroll function is easy to use and constantly updating to make it even more user friendly and efficient.

Cons:

The timecard functionality doesnt sync up with the "Time Off" that employees enter, and the payroll period 'closes' when payroll is submitted, even if some of the days haven't occured yet. This makes it difficult if someone has a sick day to account for it on their time-card.

Melinda S.
Talent & Culture Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Namely Review

4 5 years ago

Comments: We implemented Namely HR and Payroll in September 2016. They have great customer support, account managers, and implementation teams. Very helpful and stay on top of to-do lists with weekly updates. The HR side and newsfeed have been a hit for our employees. They LOVE it. It is a great avenue for us to provide our remote locations insight on what our company is doing and a one-stop shop for employee information. The payroll side of things, however, isn't as user-friendly. We have a somewhat complicated payroll, due to the size of our company and multiple divisions, that we have come across some areas of improvement. We continue to work with Namely for system improvements that will maximize our efficiency and accuracy with payroll and benefits process, specifically integrations for time clocks and Cobra providers.

Pros:

Namely, newsfeed has really had positive feedback from our employees. Love that we can have documents and HR information all in one place - the employee's profile.

Cons:

The payroll side of things is not as easy to use as the HR side. They don't "talk" to each other as they should -- information doesn't roll over from HR to Payroll automatically - there are times when manual adjustments need to be made.

Kim C.
Accounting Payroll Manager in US
Information Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Experience with Namely

5 last year

Comments: easy to use and good customer services

Pros:

Customer Services and the product that fits to our requirement

Cons:

US payroll service only. We need international services

Namely Response

last year

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoy working with our customer support team.

Paula B.
Manager in Brazil
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Namely for management

4 4 months ago

Comments: I am using it mostly to manage time off requests and employee benefits.

Pros:

I like that it is easy to manage time off requests and see my direct reports profiles. Namely sends me emails when there is something new that requires my action and this is helpful to keep track of everything.

Cons:

I think the platform could be easier to use, more intuitive. My organization do not use the platform for performance management, but it could be a great tool, not sure if all orgs are making the most of namely.

Namely Response

4 months ago

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that our platform helps you manage your employees.

Michael H.
UX Designer in US
Design, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My Favorite All-In-One HR Product

5 6 months ago

Comments: Namely offers an all-in-one HR software package that outperforms industry-standard tools like Workday in terms of its excellent design and usability. It has been a pleasure to use.

Pros:

One of the best things about Namely is that it’s extremely user-friendly. Compared to alternative HR software like Workday, it’s much easier to use. Enrolling in my benefits has never been easier. Some other features I like and use are its paycheck stubs, time-off, and notifications for coworkers’ birthdays.

Cons:

From my side as a user, I have no complaints. However, my company switched to Workday (which I don’t like as much) because it offered some additional flexibility.

Namely Response

6 months ago

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback. We're happy to hear that you enjoy using our all-in-one platform, but disappointed to hear that your company felt Namely wasn't the right solution.

Kathryn G.
Director Human Resources in US
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best HR software!

5 5 years ago

Comments: We have been using Namely since January 2016 and it has been a great experience. The employees love that it is easy to use, we are able to add some fun information in a social media way. And as the administrator, it is great to be able to add information for all employees to read in a social media format that are sure to get people's attention. Writing reports is also a breeze!

Pros:

Easy to use; easy to learn

Cons:

doesn't have all of the advantages of other payroll systems

Lucy O.
Global Payroll and Benefits Manager in US
Market Research, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Namely has many features that make my job easy

4 5 years ago

Comments: Using the payroll function has been a great tool. It is easy to make adjustments, preview payroll and run reports.

Pros:

HRIS is really different and great for a new generation and payroll is very easy to use. Customer service is outstanding!

Cons:

TImesheets have very little function and the sync function adds extra steps that was not expected when we saw a demonstration.

Brittney B.
Senior HR Assistant in US
Primary/Secondary Education
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

All in one and one for All!

5 5 years ago

Pros:

-Customer Service is superb -All in one system, it has everything you need in one spot -Easy to use benefits wizard -The Performance management tool offers 360, annual and any other review you would like to conduct with ease

Cons:

Namely, like any start up still some improvements on their product. For example more fields to have an automatic sync with integrations and a few other bugs we have run into. With that, they have always backed up any issue with their customer service and have been able to troubleshoot any problems that have surfaced.