15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About OpenCart

FREE, open-source and easy to use ecommerce platform! No monthly fees, no catches; just an effective and customizable platform for you

Learn more about OpenCart

Pros:

As for the UI, it's easy to use because all sections are seperated and grouped on the left column menu.

Cons:

Installation of modules and extensions are difficult.

OpenCart ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

OpenCart has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 151 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used OpenCart before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (151)

Aris
Aris
Web Developer in Greece
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

OpenCart is the easy option for e-commerce solutions

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We use OpenCart for retail stores as well as wholesale (B2B) stores. Using the native functionality and OCMOD we can make OpenCart behave like a Swiss Army knife, from Retail store to Wholesale store. This is buying as a lot of time, because choosing another platform or writing a new one for the purpose of a wholesale store would be time consuming, and let's not talk about the time that customers will need to adjust the get trained to use their wholesale store on top of the retail store. So, using the same technology and habits of coding functionality and the same User Experience and User Interface buys us a lot of time of development, training and setting up.

Pros:

As a developer, I like the Model-View-Controller design pattern, it's easy to seperate things and understand the code, as well as reuse different controllers or models through the development of new extensions, as a result it's easy to make what it looks like native extensions, without breaking the software functionality if you follow the coding standards already used by the OpenCart developers. I think that the OCMOD system is the most intelligent way to extend OpenCart's functionality and I admire the developer who invented it. As for the UI, it's easy to use because all sections are seperated and grouped on the left column menu. Moving from other platforms to Opencart or moving from older OpenCart versions to newers is very easy especially from v2 to v3. From a user's point of view, OpenCart is like using an app, it's that easy. Labels and hints make it easier for new users to adapt as well as new customers to buy.

Cons:

Even though OpenCart is stable since the beginning, I think we need more functionality that other platforms are having and would be nice if we could move them to OpenCart too. Not major functionality, but different minor things that will improve the workflow of an e-commerce owner, such as a summary page that will show products missing images, products with broken images, categories with no products, products with no descriptions or products missing translations etc. I think in the era of Javascript it would be nice if we could convert some pages that the administrator spends a lot of time to AJAX functionality or even Single Page Application so that we can make more and massively in less time. Although, that would break some 3rd party extensions obviously.

Bryan
Owner/Manager in US
Arts & Crafts, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Awesome for Startups, Small Businesses and Medium Size Businesses

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, my experience with OpenCart has been very good throughout the years as it is one of the e-commerce software solutions that I can install and maintain without having to worry about it unexpectedly breaking in between periods of maintenance.

Pros:

One of the things that I like the most about OpenCart is the multitude of options available for tailoring it towards my business needs. I have found that many of the modules and extensions that other e-commerce software solutions charge for are included out of the box with OpenCart and for free. For the extensions that are not included out of the box, they can usually be found in the OpenCart marketplace either for free or for a nominal price that allows even startups to realize a profit on their business even faster.

Cons:

One of the things that I like the least about this software is the filter function for products in the admin area. Rather than allowing for products to be filtered by a single identifying keyword within a title, you have to remember the beginning word of the title and continue to add keywords in order to help filter down to a manageable number of products fitting the criteria you are looking for.

Ben
Manager in UK
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great eCommerce software, but better options are available

4.0 last month New

Comments: My experience with OpenCart was hit-and-miss, whilst it seems to focus more towards physical items, it does also work fine with digital.

Pros:

OpenCart is a very decent software that offers extensive features for both digital and physical marketplaces, if you are selling tangible or intangible items there are various categories you can use. A wonderful community behind it to support you thorugh it and make things available that were not necessarily available before. It is also a really decent way to collect funds and allow your clients a decent experience to implement your own commercial marketplace of any sort of product.

Cons:

I was not fond of the design, or the lack of real support at times. The community is very helpful but the developers themselves are not very responsive. I ended up using a different eCommerce software.

Jelena
Jelena
Owner, CEO in Serbia
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple and cheap e-shop system for small e-shops without marketing support.

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: This product works well for my low and middle class e-shops which offer limited number of products, mostly in the same category, with a smaller budget for running and promotion.
For the more advanced needs, this system cannot offer enough functions and there is not enough resources for customers.
Free version is too simple. For some results, paid themes and plugins are needed. Then e-shop may generate some income.

Pros:

OpenCart is not as demanding as other e-shops in terms of resources. It doesn't use server sources as high as other apps. You can run it on standard on a shared hosting. There is fairly simple interface so it is easy to setup a shop, very simplified. It can be used by beginners. Simple UI on the back-end and fairly descent front-end makes it easy to use. Easy backup.

Cons:

Very hard to update or modify. It can just break down and not work even if you roll out backup of the previously working site. SEO is terrible even with paid plugins. To make addresses and descriptions work is so hard. Never made it to work completely as it would on standard shops Magento, or Wordpress. One-page shopping is not working well even with paid plugins. Marketing options are very limited and hard to find, such as follow up emails, up-sell, cross-sell, promo codes, tracking. E-shop are used for selling primarily so one would need to offer as much as possible to clients, similar products, suggested products, to give reward points and to send customized offers. Discounting options are not working well in case client changes anything or finish shopping in a few steps. (75% of shopping carts with free shipping lose their function and have to be edited manually) There are no easy integrations, such as Zappier, MailChimp, login via social network accounts etc.

Davide
Ceo in Italy
Consumer Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A good cms but not the best choice

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Open cart is a brilliant solutions for e-commerce. However is not still update and don't have enoughe integrations with other tools so it make it useless.

Cons:

The easy to use and is affordable in the setting up

Clive
IT Administrator in Zimbabwe
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A perfect solution for ecommerce

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: It covered most of my ecommerce requisites and is by far the best ecommerce platform.

Pros:

The themes are good and the functionality is great.Their Model-View-Controller(MVC) makes development way cooler as one can analyze and edit code easily. Upgrades are easy to implement. It is not also resource hungry as other e-shops.It is also easy to backup.Built in extensions are also easy to implement and help in making a powerful e-store.

Cons:

It is a bit difficult to use if you are a beginner. Fewer plugins as compared to other systems.The bugs are a bit difficult to work on.The filtering of products is a problem

Megha
Web developer in Canada
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent MCV framework

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It is very easy to understand admin panel even for non-developer person

Cons:

Opencart 3 Is little bit slow. Otherwise it is very good

Petrus
Petrus
Director of Strategic and New Development in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

OpenCart the way to go

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have had a tremendous experience... I can build my website the way I want, and once I pay for a OpenCart plugin, or theme, I add it to my box of tools that I can permanently use on any of my other sites. The initial setup can be a little daunting, but once you've built your first site, it's fantastic. The plugins and themes are very well priced, and the support is great. OpenCart have addressed previous security flaws in their software, and https://www.tinfoilsecurity.com/ scanned my site and gave it a clean bill of health. I recommend the 'Pavilion - Responsive OpenCart Theme by ThemeBurn | ThemeForest' as you do not need to know how to write a single line of code. It's responsive (re scales automatically) , so you do not have to worry about how it will look on a pc or mobile phone, and you can do almost anything you can think off. Granted that there is a HUGE learning curve, but it gets better as you learn how to work with the theme.

Pros:

You control everything, and you can find plugins to add functionality you do not have... It is great if you want full control, and I have never found there is something I want that I cannot do without a plugin or a tweak here and there. Support is great and often the developers who create the plugins will help you install the plugin for free after you buy it. They normally even do small tweaks for free, and add extra functionality at a minimal cost. Yes, there are many ready built eCommerce platforms like shopify and squarspace, but you will have to pay a monthly hosting fee, including monthly plugin rental. If I could buy a plugin once off on shopify, I would perhaps reconsider, but most plugins are rental only. Shopify has a lot of features, but it does not have everything most people need. So you going to end up renting a lot of extra plugins. Take 10 different plugins on shopify, at a monthly cost of approx $20 each, and you 're going to pay $200 on top of your shopify costs. It all adds up. Bottom line, if you do not mind a learning curve, and you want to keep costs down in the long run, along with full control, OpenCart is the way to go!

Cons:

Like most software, there is a learning curve. It can be painful all at once, but the more you use OpenCart, the better it gets.

Daniel
Daniel
Designer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Ease of Use

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: OpenCart works well for small businesses whose product availability are limited. It can't offer enough resources for customers in large businesses as it should. It has a free version that is too easy to operate, paid plugins are needed to generate some incomes. OpenCart has so many features that are included in it's default set-up, themes and lots of add-ons. I recommend OpenCart for small businesses if they're looking to boost sales.

Pros:

It's very flexible and easy to customize' It's easy to understand and operate. Good marketplace to buy extensions for good prices. OpenCart is very affordable for all business sizes. Easy installation and setup. It has a continues upgrade in system features.

Cons:

It has a laborious upgrade process. It has limited functionality back-end search and filters. It has limited and hard to find marketing functionalities.

john
CEO in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

OpenCart- the best Free e-commerce platform available!

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: Very good system, I enjoy using it as it is very reliable and consistent.

Pros:

Everyone loves free, but when free delivers with excellent results, that's even better. I've been using OpenCart for a variety of projects over the years and it just keeps getting better. Very good at payment processing and inventory tracking as well with their inventory management extension/add-on.

Cons:

It could do more for fraudulent order tracking/management.

Eivind
Manager in Norway
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

For the amateur and the professional

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: OpenCart is regarded as quite the savior for newcomers to the e-commerce industry - this was (is) at least the case for me. The system gives you a solution that is ready-to-use straight out of the box. Through the admin panel, you can change numerous settings including advanced banner setup, pages setup, payments, categories and the lot. If you are curious on how to change the code and customize it exactly to fit your needs, the files are neatly organized in your FTP program so that a newcomer will intuitively know which files changes what. This also leads me to the real beauty of OpenCart - the community and the extension store. The community is superb. If you have any issues or obstacles on your way learning programming and OpenCart, the forum will answer all your questions and lead you on your way. If you do not want to program or design yourself, you can utilize the extension store which is filled with high-quality solutions that you can easily install through your admin panel. I have used OpenCart for years, and I can't see anything equally easy-to-use-yet-highly-advanced that is going to replace it anytime soon. Amateur or pro - just try it, you'll like it. Did I also mention that it is free(!)?

Pros:

The flexibility and the customization while still being easy to use and understand. It is also mobile friendly.

Cons:

The extension market - while still providing a whole lot of quality solutions - is still suffering from some low-quality publishers as well as duplicators who are stealing from others. More policing is needed.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for teamwork!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I am self-employed, dealing with only one aspect of the company that I am contracted with, but this application streamlines all of the work neatly into order if used properly. It could be really overwhelming to a single person, but learning a few steps at a time is completely doable. The application itself has always worked reliably.

Pros:

Opencart is great for teamwork and order processing/organization. You can customize this application to your needs.

Cons:

I do a lot of job submissions, and copy-pasting all the details out of OpenCart slows me down, especially when it comes to transferring customer shipping details. If an order is improperly labeled by anyone in the team, it can be hard to track down. I would love to see a tab that shows most recent job changes in order to find things recently mis-labeled.

Tajammal
Admin in Pakistan
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Setup your own online store to sell your products.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I used the Open Cart for a long time to run my store online. Saved my time and money to develop self store using coding.

Pros:

Open Cart is software to use create store online for sell products. It have approximately all required features which are necessary for a store owner. Open Cart is available in different languages and have a large amount of extensions to customize the store. Themes are also available or you can customize current theme. It gives you all controls over your store.

Cons:

Some features hard to understand and handle. like mega menu is not easy to understand and without mega menu store looks not good in my thoughts.

Nibaruta
Ceo in Pakistan
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

For easy deployment of ecommerce website

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I managed to achieve what I wanted to do but the support system could be improved specifically on templated developed by freelancers out of open cart. But overall it's a recommendable platform.

Pros:

I have used an opencart for my clients and it's one of those platforms that can help you save time and money. if you know what you want specifically on an e-commerce website they have a lot of options that you can just start and be live in no time. Free and premium ready-made templates to choose from and you can do custom work as well.

Cons:

Some of the templates are a bit expensive specifically those done by freelancers. Should be looked into and no support for some of the free templates

Oren
CEO in Romania
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to organize small amounts of products

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to use. You update all page information in the backend. Truly excellent

Cons:

It is perfect for what I need. I am aware that OC has it's limitations when dealing with big stocks

Desmond
Systems Administrator in Zimbabwe
Packaging & Containers, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Open Source all the way!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We were not able to sell our products online, but thanks to OpenCart we are now online.

Pros:

What I like most about OpenCart is that it is open source, thereby it has a huge community. I like that OpenCart is easy to use and setup.

Cons:

If you are setting up on your own you need some knowledge of web hosting in order to have it up and running.

Anand
Coordinator in India
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple eCommerce Script

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I am running a successful store using opencart from past 5 years, extra modules can be easily installed using vqmod.

Cons:

I am on 1.5 and struggling to get my data on 3.0. I wish there could have been a easy way of upgrade from 1.5 to 3.0

Alex
SMM-manager in Ukraine
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A good CMS for an online store

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

On this platform, I was making my first online store. Having learned the order of prices, I refused the services of specialists and decided to do everything myself. The project is still working and OpenCart has become my reliable assistant. The main thing that I want to note, the system is easy to learn and free (there is a paid version, but this one will be enough for your eyes to start).

Cons:

Over time, the functionality of the free version begins to be missed. As they say, hunger comes with eating.

Aura
SMM-manager in Ukraine
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The first online store on the free engine

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This platform simply saved me at a time when I was still a student, I was studying Web technologies and I did not have the money for a paid engine. Having considered the options, I decided to stop at creating an online store. Maximally saving at the start, I soon learned to bring projects to the international level.

Cons:

Free version is a good solution at the initial stage, when you just go through training. But, starting a serious project, it is not even worth considering as an option.

Ayub
Web Developer in Pakistan
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Opencart for your online business

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Opencart is one the best free CMS in today's era. If someone who wants to make online presence of his/her business one can choose opencart with ease & undoubtedly. It has a huge list of pros but i'll mention few of them which i like the most Its development cost is far less than its competitors Its light weight & super fast. It has user friendly & easy to manage. It has many built in shipping & payment methods. It has live 24/7 support & huge community of developers. It has large list of free modules & themes.

Cons:

Even though its very valuable product at 0 cost but it has few of the cons. Its security is quite vulnerable because of free modules over the internet. Not suitable for large scale business Cache management is quite difficult.

Shea
Graphic Designer in New Zealand
Graphic Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great alternative

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Thoroughly enjoyed working with OpenCart so far, and look forward to seeing continued development on the platform in the future.

Pros:

Very user-friendly, and easy to implement – feedback from clients and developers alike has been hugely positive since we added OpenCart to our eCommerce offering.

Cons:

Not as fully-featured as some of the other open-source alternatives available in the market, but not as bloated as them either.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Open Source CMS

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: open cart is great as it is free i.e open source and is growing its business more and more with the passage of time and is always highly recommended for the beginners who wish to start their own E-Commerce business.

Pros:

Open Cart is an open source content management system. The development of the websites is an easy task using open cart. It is best for the development of E-Commerce websites. These type of organization is best for medium-sized E-commercer sites. It is improving itself more and more and many users are adopting it.

Cons:

It is for the medium sized users and hence it is light weight. These does not allow the search engine optimization at the next level. It also does not support full functionality in inventory.

Shirley
Web-analyst in Ukraine
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

OpenCart - simple and convenient CMS

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

If you are creating your online store, then, in my opinion, OpenCart is a convenient and simple platform for these needs. A simple store can be created in just 10 minutes, you will only have to add the goods and all. What you like, is the speed of the sites on this engine. Pages open instantly, the goods are loaded very quickly and conveniently.

Cons:

I had problems only with the addition of pictures of goods. Rather, it was not a problem, but just an inconvenience, since the images had to be added to the server first.

Milana
Team lead in Ukraine
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A great solution for online stores

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I've been using this CMS for a number of years already and I've been able to appreciate its strengths and weaknesses: it's free, easy to learn and has excellent support on the forum. It has open source code and a comfortable control panel, through which it is easy to perform all actions on the site.

Cons:

Opencart has a truncated functionality in the base version. For minimal needs, this is quite enough, but gaining experience and comparing these analogues, this will seem very little.

YIsrael
Marketing Director in US
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product but development erratic

3.0 8 years ago

Comments: My general experience with the software is positive, being able to build and manage multiple ecommerce sites on 1 platform. It has very user-friendly and has an intuitive UI. However, the developers can be very rude and don't provide support easily. The software is also riddled with bugs.

Pros:

User friendly Intuitive Lots of plugins

Cons:

Support Bugs Erratic updates Unintegrated updates and module installation