15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Kennel Booker

A mobile-friendly, cloud based kennel management and on-line reservations and booking software solution. Save more than 10 hours a week

Learn more about Kennel Booker

Pros:

I not only work in a vet clinic, but we also have a groomer that utilizes our kennel space. With kennel saver we have the ability to book and label patients that are visiting with us.

Cons:

I would like to be able to pick holes in this software but am having trouble thinking of anything. Again, anything that isnt as I need it, I just let to know and will amend the software.

Kennel Booker ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.2/10

Kennel Booker has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 78 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Kennel Booker before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (78)

Katie
Katie
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

KennelBooker was the best thing I did starting up

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I love it. I looked at other booking software and this is the best for the value by far.

Pros:

It is so easy to use, track vaccinations, organize bookings and see my daily to do

Cons:

I would love an app I can send my clients. I would also like to be able to put private clients notes (like if we have had any issues in the past)

Alternatives Considered: PetExec and Gingr

Reasons for Switching to Kennel Booker: Price, functionality, ease of use to

Nikki
CEO in US
Consumer Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Big fan of KB

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We've had an overall great experience.

Pros:

Easy of contacting customer service, for my entire team. I needed software that the team members could troubleshoot so it made my life easier. We like almost everything about Kennel Booker and the things we would change are pretty minimal.

Cons:

I listed most of them on the previous screen. I didn't list one thing that would help tremendously and is probably one of the most stressful parts of my life during Dec/Jan. The subscriptions and the services are very difficult to update pricing for. The subscriptions are tied to Stripe, so I am sure there's not much that can be done about that. I noticed when we updated prices that we had to manually change them in each portal location for each scheduled service.

Cecilia
CEO in Sweden
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Lovely and confusing

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Purpose wise, our needs are met. But It would be awesowe to be able to decide what yoy would like on the "first page" så the features we use more often could be easy access...

Pros:

I like the fact that you are aloud to klick on different parts in the program and still manage to get to were you want. there is not just an ONLY WAY of access, but several.

Cons:

The fact that we still have't figured out how two customers that booket the same dates of stay - and get different quantity of days/nights. One had 7 nights and the other one 8 nights... How come? :) And some functions is hidden in text that work like links but with no appearence of that function...

Jenn
Owner in US
Veterinary, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good program

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: it has been an ok program to work with. good for the industry

Pros:

good at keeping client information, and online bookings

Cons:

the individual pages get bogged down, when you use the activity portal, we had to create our own airtable to record activity, since we have dogs that stay with us long team. Also, when a client has multiple dogs boarding, it will not separate them out on the boarding calendar, so if the client has 5 dogs, it will show all 5 dogs in 5 different slots on the calendar (this sucks). would love for the activities to have a portal on the daily overview page, so that you could from there input items, but that will only be helpful if you can keep the individual dog pages from bogging down.

Alternatives Considered: DogBizPro

Reasons for Choosing Kennel Booker: we only used 35% of the dog biz capabilities, and for what we needed it wasn't worth the cost.

Reasons for Switching to Kennel Booker: it seemed to be the better option, and has been.

Julia
Owner in UK
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kennel Booker - Excellent for Daycares & Boarders

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Kennel Booker keeps our business flowing and we can see ahead and optimize our bookings

Pros:

Ease of use, good support, you can see quickly the coming weeks business

Cons:

Subscriptions model only available for daycare. We would like see subscriptions extend to dog walking, grooming and any other services offered

Vanessa
Managing Director in UK
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Dog Daycare

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Puts the customer in charge but allows the business to control the extent

Pros:

Easy to use, once set up this software is a dream. Customers have the ability to book in which makes the business run so much more efficiently. With the exception of the con below generally very happy

Cons:

One issue really .... Example Tuesday evening, you have set out customer name boards for all the dogs who are booked in for Wednesday say 45 dogs You arrive Wed morning and you now have 55 dogs now booked in.....there is no way on KB to see who the extra 10 are !!!!

Alternatives Considered: Revelation Pets , ProPet , Gingr and DoggieDashboard

Reasons for Choosing Kennel Booker: Life was too short

Reasons for Switching to Kennel Booker: Based in Ireland so no time difference and price

Julie
Owner in Canada
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent Software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Kennel Booker has been a great experience. When I couldn't figure out how to do something they were very responsive to my questions. They always get back to me quickly and help me solve my questions. I find this program easy to use and set up. Kennel Booker regularly makes updates and improvements to the software. They are always listening to us that use it daily when we run into things or request new improvements.

Pros:

This software is easy to use and provides everything I need to effectively run my boarding kennel. This product provides a full service from scheduling to maintaining clients’ accounts to sales of products and services. It has an easy to use setup for online registration and booking for clients. This software is customizable to suite your needs. The software developer is very open to helping develop specific items you may need to make your business work. This software also intrigants with several online payment systems and with QuickBooks. It's a great product.

Cons:

Although, they are very good at helping provide customizable integrations there are a few things that I wish it had. I wish there were a few more financial reports available. There is a nice timecard option I wish that intergrated with Quickbooks payroll. I wish there were a bit more things that could be customized by me such as automatic emails or messages to clients. Few more customizable settings for online registration and bookings would be nice. They have a help section but it could be a bit more complete. There has been a few things I looked for that wasn't addressed.

Dawn
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very Simple Software For Kennel Owners

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: If you aren't extremely tech savvy, or simply looking for a very easy way to manage your kennel business- Kennel Booker really can't be beat. It's extremely intuitive and takes only a few minutes to really figure out all of the features. If you're looking for software with a lot of extra features, there are better options out there.

Pros:

Out of all of the kennel boarding software that I have used, Kennel Booker is by far one of the simplest interfaces. It's very easy to navigate and has a very simple layout that makes booking, tracking, and managing appointments very easy. If you have a kennel that provides other services (daycare, training, etc) you can also manage all of those aspects in the same place- and can even view all appointments varying different services on the same page- which is very nice if you have only one or two employees managing all aspects of your work.

Cons:

I have switched to other boarding software that had a few more features. This software is definitely a "no frills" approach to dog boarding organization- but there are other options out there that have a much more in depth interface. I prefer softwares with more features that really allow me to manage every single little aspect of my business in one place.

Andy
Andy
Senior Analyst Programmer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, but very powerful.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It makes running my cattery so much easier. I can't say there's anything that I don't like about KennelBooker. There have been a couple of things where I've thought "This could be better", and I've emailed the rep and he's fixed it the very next day!

Pros:

KennelBooker includes everything I've needed to get my Cattery admin running smoothly - customer and pet records, booking schedule, at-a-glance views of which rooms are in use at any one time... On top of that, it has an excellent, yet simple, online booking tool for customers to use. It's mobile friendly too, so I can easily check the schedule and confirm online bookings when I'm out and about. I've been able to start slowly, making use of only the bits I needed, and then started using more and more of the features as I've settled into the business. First I just used it for bookings, then I started logging vaccination details, then uploading scans of vaccination certificates, pet photos, dietary notes, then I turned on the online booking, and now I'm exploring the online payments integration. One of the customer rep is very responsive to feedback and has made a couple of tweaks that I've asked for very quickly.

Ronan
Ronan
admin in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Recreational Facilities & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Kennelbooker was a great tool for our business startup

5.0 last year

Comments: very happy with KB and do not see myself switching anytime soon

Pros:

Ease of setup and ease of use. Customer support excellent

Cons:

Online shopping is average. Calendar integration could be more dynamic, but works all the same

Anny
Foundfer in Belgium
Veterinary, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great software for our dog hotel and grooming salon.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

We are a small dog hotel and grooming salon in Belgium. This software makes our lives and daily operations so much easier, its very user friendly and the technical support is incredibly helpful, next to none. We operate 90% with online reservations and it goes smooth and easy with Kenner Booker. We have a small retail area added not long ago and we use the POD integrated on this software, it works great for our shop. I have nothing but good things to say about this software, anytime I need help they always solve my doubts or issues. Thanks and keep up the great work. Anny Fischer.

Cons:

I would love if it could be integrated with an automatic cash drawer. :)

Tara
President in Canada
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kennel Booker - cat & dog boarding facility

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall it has been good. I wouldn't go back to our old system

Pros:

That clients can fill out & update their own information & we can send generated emails with standard information.

Cons:

the split booking feature is difficult to use the program does not lend itself well when you do different types of boarding...for example cats verses dogs.

Stephan
Owner in Canada
Professional Training & Coaching, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kennel Booker is a key developing asset to our organization

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent

Pros:

Ease of use and reliability. Program is very secure and responsive. Good flexibility.

Cons:

Need more customization and options. Needs work on client based systems. Better rollout updates with video tutorials.

Janice
Director in New Zealand
Professional Training & Coaching, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kennel Booker

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Well happy with it.

Pros:

Communication with the suppliers was excellent and in easy to understand language

Cons:

Originally it was difficult to go backwards without losing the information but this has improved with the updates.

Jo
Manager in UK
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Mostly good, with a couple pf hiccoughs

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: spend less time communicating with clients and doing admin.

Pros:

Clients like the online booking. The deposit system works well. Great for automated reminders for clients.

Cons:

The additional features - like training booking and additional services all feels a bit 'bolt on' and doesnt flow. It actually makes life harder instead of easier

Nicole
President in US
Veterinary, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy To Use System For My Growing Business

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The ease of accessing via Internet anywhere I am vs a system strictly on one computer.

Cons:

Automatic emails to customers about expired vaccinations.

Heather
Owner in Canada
Information Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software for your kennel

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent customer servce and product.

Pros:

Ease of use. Organization for my company.

Cons:

Nothing to change that I can think of ...

Katie
Owner in Australia
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

LOVE KB - Excellent program and has everything I need to run my business

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I must of looked at 10 plus kennel programs before choosing Kennel Booker. I am so glad I did choose KB. Very easy to use and train staff on. Stephen is very good to work with, always happy to hear your ideas and take them on board and add it the program. Online payment system talks perfectly to the customers booking. I am also looking forward to new features what will be added in 2017. 110% makes my life easier!

Pros:

easy to use, Stephen is great to deal with

Cons:

there are little things here and there but it is nothing major.

Chris
Self employed in Ireland
Farming, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very handy tool’

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: All in all I’m very happy I found this tool; it made my work in the boarding kennels so much easier!

Pros:

All is very easily used and managed. Very adaptive.

Cons:

Unfortunately no app, but all web based. Who knows in future updates?

brittani
volunteer coordinator in US
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

easy to use

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: i enjoy kennelbooker

Pros:

easy to use and easy access to see whos here and whos coming in.

Cons:

email confirmations and cancelations. its hard to tell if the reason is being sent to the client

Steve
Cattery Owner in UK
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and packed full of features to make your life easier.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

After doing lots research I settled on using Kennel Booker for our Cattery and have now been using it for 2 months. I can honestly say that I couldnt be more pleased with my choice. There have been a couple of occasions when I have needed the software to be tweaked to suit my needs and just a quick email and he made the changes I need.

Cons:

I would like to be able to pick holes in this software but am having trouble thinking of anything. Again, anything that isnt as I need it, I just let to know and will amend the software.

Macaully
Owner in US
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Skip the rest, this program is the best hands down.

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I tried several highly rated programs before luckily finding kennelbooker.com. It's the easiest, most efficient program out there. The customer service is superb and they immediately met all my needs tailoring the program to what I needed. And it's half the price of the other less efiecient programs. Plus there was no set up fee. Why? Because it was so easy to learn I don't need any help setting it up. Do yourself a favor and skip all the rest. This program is hands down the best out there!

Pros:

It's so easy to use. The customer service is prompt and is able to tailor the program to your companies needs.

Cons:

Hmmm honestly I have no complaints.

Casey
Kennel Owner in US
Veterinary, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Rockin K Kennels

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I love that I can make reservations and adjustments from anywhere!

Cons:

I wish I could reset customers passwords for them.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Public Safety, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Has it all

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Keeping track of our runs and availability is much easier with this software

Pros:

Has everything you need for general boarding to daycare and training. Cost is reasonable compared to others in the market

Cons:

Some screens could be a bit easier to navigate it seems at times like you have to back track through the software. As we use it more it’s not a big issue

Derek
Derek
New Business Acquisition Executive in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A great solution with Incredible support!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

KennelBooker is a thoroughly modern solution that fits very well with how we run our kennel. I thought I had exhausted the internet looking for kennel administration software and was ready to find an SQL developer and build my own when I found Kennelbooker. Best of all, one of the customer rep has provided an incredible level of support throughout the entire process, answering multiple questions before we even started the free trial period.

Cons:

Doesn't (yet!) have the availability to book our training classes. However, the customer rep was more than willing to discuss this need with us and look into adding it to the software.