Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Saba Cloud

Talent management software that gives you a new way to develop your people and teams.

Learn more about Saba Cloud

Showing 101 reviews

Stacy T.
Learning Technology Administrator in US
Wholesale, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent LMS with advanced capabilities

4 2 months ago

Comments: Overall very good and we're still not leveraging many of the features available to us.

Pros:

This LMS covers all the critical requirements and has great flexibility in delivering learning. The analytics are also advanced and are appreciated by our stakeholders as well helping us show business value of learning.

Cons:

To achieve some of the fancier interfaces, you need to code or hire someone to do it for you, which is typical with LMS's. Also, we chose Saba over CSOD because they did their own service, but now that CSOD bought them, it's all 3rd party which is a hassle.

Rebecca M.
Rebecca M.
Content Developer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very disappointed.

3 3 years ago

Comments: It is an LMS, so we are able to host courses on it.

Pros:

It has a lot of functionalities and uses that we were really excited to use at our company. You can create learning paths, job title paths, and other powerful tools like that.

Cons:

Where do I begin? The software was completely un-intuitive and lacked BASIC functionalities that should exist for an LMS. Rep's support team (outsourced from India, seems like) did not know as much as our IT guy knew about it who had been on the job for 3 months. We had very low adoption because of it being clunky and not user-friendly, and not very customize-able. Do not even do an RFP on this because the sales team is AMAZING and will dazzle you.

Jason S.
Learning Management System Senior Analyst in
Insurance, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Our Saba Cloud Experience

4 5 years ago

Comments: This past June we completed our migration from Saba SEC 5.5 to Saba Cloud. The upgrade process itself was lengthy and at times a bit challenging, but in the end was a success and well worth it. The migration took close to a year (from initial meetings to launch day), and because we were on such an old version of SEC which included customized reports, we found it a challenge to build new processes and functionality to accommodate existing business requirements, given that Saba Cloud doesn't allow for customizations. In the end we chose to export the required data elements using Analytics, and build a separate external system to manage the data. Saba cloud itself was well received by our internal stakeholders and end users. The interface is much more intuitive and we didn't have much resistance or confusion with our staff in using the new system. Also finally being able to properly integrate Single Sign on has been wonderful.

Pros:

Analytics tool is fantastic and much improved over our previous SEC 55 reporting system! We heavily depend on it to run daily reporting and to export large chunks of data to an offsite system and it has been running quite smoothly. Single Sign on (finally) Is a big plus. For our people administrators the "Proxy user" from people admin has been invaluable for troubleshooting. The interface as a whole is a big improvement and has been well received by our clients.

Cons:

Coming from SEC 5.5. some things still appear to be the same, and still seem too confusing or clunky: - Notification system is incredibly flexible, but very confusing to use and extremely time consuming to make changes to. Especially when trying to manage two different locals (EN UK and French Canadian) - especially when these locals are not EN US. - Completed Courses page: the "Load More" at the bottom of the page is confusing. Even if "Show all" has been selected, the learner still needs to click "Load More" to view other transcripts. Also sorting this list is very limited. Our users have a large collection of courses and had heavily used the sorting features of this page in SEC 5.5

Emmanuel A.
Project Manager in US
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Big Improvement over in-house LMS

4 3 years ago

Comments: I have worked at several companies who have had proprietary LMS's, and Saba helped reduce our workload (of time it took to create content), improved visibility of our content throughout the organization.

Pros:

The best feature about Saba is that when we merged over from our in-house LMS, there was little work that was required to make sure the system ran videos which were created in WebEx, Ponopto, and Zoom. The reporting capabilities also allowed me to figure out who in my organization was still delinquent on their training, which is valuable as a manager.

Cons:

The organization I worked for did not have a great history of tagging their data, so when we migrated from our in-house solution to our new solution, it was difficult to search for content unless you knew the exact name of the item you were looking for. I was hoping there was be some better filtering capabilities.

Joy H.
Learning Architect in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SABA is average

3 5 years ago

Comments: My review title says it all. I've been in Learning & Development for over 20 years and used multiple LMS systems. SABA has the features found in most LMSs. The issue for me is they focus on selling into mega-sized global companies but their implementation and support processes are sized for small-to-medium sized companies.

Pros:

Full featured.

Cons:

Implementation was handled poorly, lots of features were not turned on and there was very little ongoing support. It may have been my company who didn't want to pay for the support but it resulted in SABA becoming a dirty word around our organization. SABA should find a better business model if they want good reviews.

Verified Reviewer
Learning Technologist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Devices, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Most things are more difficult than they should be

3 last year

Comments: It's was middle of the road. Did it do what we needed? Yes. Could it have been better? Yes Is it my favorite LMS I've used? Definitely not.

Pros:

It can do a lot and has some nice functionality. The problem is not that it can't do things, it is just that everything is slightly more difficult than it should be or not called what you might think it should be.

Cons:

The difficult of doing things in bulk is just too much. RDI's seem to always fail and the templates they give you are hardly helpful.

Dave K.
Manager, Sales Training/Distribution Development in Canada
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful learning tool

4 4 years ago

Comments: Distance learning, automation and reporting

Pros:

Flexibility and customization. Widely recognized as leader of learning management system. It is like getting a BMW, you would never go wrong.

Cons:

Saba meeting playback, cannot coordinate voice and visual together, customer support speaks to much of a technical language. They need to be more user friendly and speak a customer's language.

Jen K.
Learning Specialist in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My company uses Halogen for all things relating to employee performance and growth

4 3 years ago

Pros:

The ability to customize processes and forms to do exactly what you need them to do has been great. We're able to direct employees to one place for performance reviews, goal setting, policy sign offs, compensation increases (if they're managers), etc. This keeps us from having to train employees on multiple systems and gives them the ability to self direct to the things they need.

Cons:

The administration side of the learning module is clunky and outdated. They done great updates over the past year to make the user side of the software look sleek and current. I hope they will update the back end soon!

Jose V.
Product Manager in Venezuela
Primary/Secondary Education, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Satisfactory Learning platform

4 4 years ago

Pros:

The Integrity of features, the easely of use, the engagement of user interface, cross funtions througth one simple access

Cons:

Search engine aren't so efficient as expected. The record of advance sometimes shows more or less than you do

Angela S.
Training Developer in
Insurance, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Glitches but strong support available

4 5 years ago

Comments: We just recently implemented Saba Cloud, so we're still ironing out some difficulties. Overall, I find the product fairly intuitive and usable. We're still having issues getting several of our online courses to work correctly, but I think setting up new courses is easy and adaptable. There are a lot of great features available in the product that we aren't currently using, which gives us a lot of room to grow into the product.

Pros:

A lot of nice features. I like the flexibility of things like skills, tasks, etc. I think setting up an instructor-led course is very easy. The Saba team we worked with on the implementation was great. The Saba Community is helpful and active.

Cons:

We've just experienced a lot of glitches with our online courses so far. Many of them are somewhat sporadic (only a few users not marking complete...for no good reason)

Stephanie C.
HR Manager in
Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Can't wait to get started

4 4 years ago

Pros:

Very happy with the process and solution thus far. We're currently reviewing the system as our LMS. We already use the Performance Management module and are seeing great results and interaction. Using Saba for all of the talent management process will make it a very seamless process for applicants to employees to development and career growth. Looking forward to getting started.

Cons:

I have not found a real con in the system at this time. We're fairly new to the system and my only con is during the implementation I wish I would have been directed to do the Executive Review a little differently. That review was not well received.

Nieves M.
Development Officer in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very clear and straight forward

3 4 years ago

Pros:

I like that it's not difficult to understand and the way it is broken down by sections for concise answers.

Cons:

My dislikes are not connected to the software and how it functions but more so "additional" internal rules that are applied alongside Halogen.

Tracy W.
Sr. Director of Human Resources in
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Performance Management Solutions

5 8 years ago

Comments: Pro: What really stood out about the Halogen solution was the overall flexibility of the solution. Unlike a lot of organizations, we conduct a number of different types of reviews throughout the year, and this solution provided the flexibility for us to create a new process for each type, from job engagements on a weekly basis to 90-day reviews for new employees. Multi-Rater enables us to incorporate feedback from multiple sources and provide regular and timely feedback to our employees. Cons: No issues to date. Overall: The system is easy and intuitive for our employees to track progress toward goals throughout the year. Reduces the administrative burden on the HR team and key managers. It has provide us the leverage to expand into other related human capital areas - compensation, succession planning, etc.. Halogen aligns wit our objectives to innovate, grow and manage strategically.

Maryuly O.
Maryuly O.
Gerente financiero y administrativo in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good online education platform

3 3 years ago

Pros:

I really like this online education platform. It has great flexibility in the platform in terms of customization. it's good

Cons:

The platform is stuck and the videos are not synchronized has a very bad connection which makes it not so efficient for us and we look for new tools

Kyle B.
Director of Public Policy in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Halogen is an awesome product it helps me organize and evaluate employee performance in an easy way.

5 4 years ago

Pros:

I love having year round access to add notes and build employee profiles. I also like that it incorporates personality tests and uses that info to support profile development and that we can choose to share all of this info with others.

Cons:

Not much to dislike with Halogen. If I could change anything I would suggest adding an interface with Microsoft products to better facilitate communications and the import of data or reports

Verified Reviewer
Firmware Engineering Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Semiconductors
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Use it to load training sessions for all my employees in one touch!

4 3 years ago

Comments: Ease of training and learning

Pros:

The recent interface change provides an easy way to look for current trainings pending, new training sessions and register for them in one single step.

Cons:

The interface is quite slow and has become worse recently after the revamp to include the graphical progress charts.

Verified Reviewer
Research Analyst (Healthcare) in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

SABACLOUD

5 3 years ago

Comments: accesible learning with cost optimization

Pros:

The learning management system on SABACLOUD

Cons:

nothing to dislike about SABACLOUD APPLICATION

Alex A.
PACS Support Assistant in US
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent for training and feedback

5 3 years ago

Pros:

It creates a great connection between the coworker and supervisor/manager due to the functionality of assigning task and exams that can be reviewed by the leads.

Cons:

It is organized, yes, but it needs to be more user friendly, meaning that it would be nice if it was more interactive.

Lisa B.
Senior Talent Manager in US
Chemicals, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great LMS

4 3 months ago

Comments: Overall, I've found Saba to be very responsive to customer feedback and suggestions. Their technical support is not always as responsive probably due to time zone issues (which is being addressed currently).

Pros:

Easy to configure and customize as needed

Cons:

The overwhelming focus seems to be on learning - would like to see more improvements/investment in the other talent modules

Guru P.
Chief Manager in India
Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great product & service at affordable price

5 6 months ago

Comments: Saba, especially in combination with Cornerstone, is a great experience. They were the two software we finalized and went into a sandbox mode with a number of trial users from across the world and Saba was the winner. Now, combined with some of the complimentary features of Cornerstone, it is better.

Pros:

It was quite user-friendly. Even non-experts and trainees could leverage the features quite easily.

Cons:

Its versatility across different OS/platforms took a while to establish.

Russell K.
Russell K.
HR Compliance Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Halogen is a little complex, but quite powerful.

4 3 years ago

Comments: Halogen is great product but also has great customer service. I was never on hold for very long and called them often. They do not have an automated phone service. You just call the support line and you'll be talking to a real person in just a few minutes.

Pros:

Halogen's 'comment helper' function is easily the best and most innovative feature. The comment helper makes it really easy for managers to add specific comments to their direct reports without having to come up with comments from scratch. For example, if you have a 5 point scale, manager's simply drag the slider from a level 5 comment (ie. He/she is always courteous and respectful with customers) to a level one comment (ie. He/she is rarely courteous and respectful with customers). It takes a little bit to setup, but you don't have to write them. Admins can just download the comment helpers directly from Halogen and train managers on how to use them. Halogen also has a multi-rater and a third-party rater function. This is quite nice for larger organizations. A multi-rater function gives managers the ability to combine/average out the ratings from multiple managers. The third-parter rater gives the manager the ability to forward the appraisal to another manager entirely.

Cons:

Halogen is not intuitive. It's unlike any other software I've come across, so the back end might be confusing if you try and learn it on your own with no training. For example, administrators might be confused by the fact that there are two locations sets of user information; one called the 'user center' and the other set inside each 'appraisal process'. The user center information holds user demographic information while the appraisal process set contains user performance information.

Kathy A.
Partner in
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Halogen Software - The Solution for Talent Management

5 12 years ago

Comments: I guess you can tell that I am a very satisifed customer. It's rare to feel like a vendor relationship really serves as part of your team, but the relationship with Halogen Software strengthens with time. I am confident that their team will remain on the cutting edge of Talent Management, providing us with innovative solutions and exceptional customer service.

Pros:

We originally purchased a tool, but Halogen E-Appraisal has become a significant part of our culture. The product is fully customizable to meet the ever changing needs of our firm. It has provided consistency and accountability throughout our organization. Halogen's team listens to their clients, making our success their primary goal. Their customer support is superb and we continue to be amazed with the quality of each enhancement they roll out. Originally viewed as an expense, our first year of implementation resulted in efficiencies of nearly 400 hours when measured against our prior paper process. We now accomplish a higher quality of talent management with less time spent on administering the process. Our employees view the previously dreaded appraisal process as an "investment" in their career and individual personal development plans ensure that each and every member of our team will receive the training and development necessary to accomplish their career goals.

Cons:

As a new user in 2004, there were limitations in the product based on the methodology our firm used for performance management. Since that time, the product has met and surpassed my expectations, causing our leadership to stretch ourselves in this area. We have more clear metrics and competencies for each role within the firm and the reporting tools allow us to see progress at all times. We also needed the ability to have multiple roles for each employee and the recent addition of the "coach" will accomplish our objectives in this area. Our firm has historically utilized a full 360 process and originally Halogen did not support the ability to conduct such a process anomymously. We recently completed our annual process, using Halogen's multi-rater tool for the first time and we were extremely pleased with the ease of use and end result of the process. I am sure there will be other issues as we continue to evolve, but we are completely satisfied with Halogen.

Leeann T.
Manager, Learning & Development in
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Ease of use, functions, and support

4 12 years ago

Comments: I have been used as a referral and have spoken to or emailed comments (answered questions) to 10 or more credit unions both in canada and te USA. I like the product and I am pleased to answer questions based on my good experience with Halogen.

Pros:

The system is smart and easy to use both for the end user and the administrators The functions are intiuitive, fast and simple. The features provide most of what we need from ease of creating groups, to uploading data, to reports. The service (support desk) is amazing - one of the best vendors I have ever dealt with: knowledgeable, helpful and efficient - calls are answered quickly and the two times I choose to leave a call back number the call back was within an acceptable period of time. When we upgraded (we host our site) the Business Systems manager commented on the amazing support he received 'we could only hope that we provide this kind of service to our members'. The installation consultant was organized, knowledgeable and asked questions to ensure she understood our needs. The trainer was knowledgeable and very accommodating to our needs.

Cons:

We are having difficulty with one division's acceptance of the form and system. Prior to this system they used a Word doc and want to keep the look and feel of a word doc. They want to keep the feature of inputting the objectives, then using the same form for the Interim review & comments and then use the same form for the Final review & comments. They see what was input prior, and make any necessary edits/additions to objectives easily. The one problem we are facing is that we have a process for the beginning of the year - Objective Setting Process. That process has a start and end date of about 3 months. When we hire or someone changes position they need new objectives. We set up a process for those people, however we have learned that when populating data from one process to another (such as from the objective setting process to a review process data can only be pulled from one process, and we have two processes. And some want more than 3000 characters per text box.

Cori A.
Recruiter in
Banking, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Changed Performance Management Forever!

4 5 years ago

Comments: Our company was looking to completely change our date performance management process. No more yearly reviews, but monthly conversations between managers and employees, and quarterly performance appraisals using Cultural, Leadership, and Technical competencies. Saba was the system that we found to help us accomplish our goals. The system has been wonderful since implementation. All of the learning tools that we use are housed in Saba. It also interfaces with our HRIS System, Kronos Workforce Management, to have up-to-date employee information (reporting structure, etc.), as well as photos - which has been really helpful. The Org Charts that Saba has created for us are beautiful, and help managers to easily track employee movement. Working in the financial industry, many of our employees require various certifications, and Saba allows us to track their progress, expiration dates, and recertification credits. The Virtual Classrooms are a fantastic tool that allows us to complete training at our satellite campuses all over the US, and the Social Collaboration aspect helps our company remain inclusive.

Pros:

- Detailed Analytics reporting - Ease of use - Social Collaboration (learners can chat with each other, post discussions, hold virtual meetings) - Gamification - Custom Badges have been really popular at our company - employees WANT to learn to earn badges

Cons:

When implementing Saba, we had been clear about the functionality we needed from the first meeting. Everything that we needed had been discussed and included in pricing quotes. Once we received the final contract, there was a fairly large discrepancy, as a feature we needed had not been included in the price quote. This delayed implementation, but was eventually resolved through our account manager. Overall, we have been extremely pleased with this product.

Krishnamurthy P.
Krishnamurthy P.
Assistant Consultant in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very helpful for learners as well as managers

5 2 years ago

Comments: The usability of this software is very amazing, be it from the learner's point of view or manager's point of view

Pros:

- I like the user interface which is so friendly, I can track my mandatory courses and the courses assigned to me in home page - Also it lets me know the courses whose due dates are nearing and I need to retake the courses - As a manager I can create a course completion report query for employees and schedule it to be sent as an email

Cons:

I cannot think about any drawbacks of this tool. It is an amazing Learning management tool. It would have been great if I was able to connect my excel to Saba database.