15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

Bonterra Development + Digital Reviews

About Bonterra Development + Digital

Bonterra Development + Digital is a user-friendly, unified CRM built to optimize donor engagement and help you raise more money.

Learn more about Bonterra Development + Digital

Pros:

Integration was easy and the product is generally not difficult to use. Especially now that they've added drag -and-drop functionality for the emails.

Cons:

In order to do a mass ID and purge, you have to pay an additional fee.

Bonterra Development + Digital ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Bonterra Development + Digital has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 116 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Bonterra Development + Digital before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (116)

Jo
Jo
Interim Vice President of Development in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Diving in to a new partnership!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We've been quite pleased to date with all of our interactions and when problems or deadlines have moved - the EA team has worked with us to ensure we meed our organizational goals.

Pros:

Our organization had been with a Blackbaud product for many years and were challenged in ease of use and functionality. We were excited to find all of the assets as part of EveryAction that would allow us to engage with our donors, advocates, pet passionate people and pet parents in a very different way. As of now - we are smack in the middle of our data conversion. It is not without some pain points but that is absolutely expected in any conversion. But, I've been impressed with the quality of customer service, availability and commitment of the EA team to getting it right. As of now - I'd absolutely suggest exploring their tools and their team! We've been most happy!

Cons:

We are not deep into usage to be able to honestly answer this questions. We do know we one of the negatives in the selection process was the inability to embed video in outbound emails. But we understand many clients are requesting this option and are working hard to roll out that tool soon!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Civic & Social Organization, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Must Have Platform

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Overall it is an excellent and essential functional tool that our organization could not operate without on a daily basis. It provides numerous options and we have integrated it into every piece of our membership management and listserv outreach.

Pros:

It is a very well setup platform for internal and external use when it comes to recruitment, membership management, event building, phone banking, and the email outbox scheduled and response systems.

Cons:

Occasionally some of the more nuanced features do not work. For example the social media integration function does not work at all. Likewise there can be some nuance that gets tricky when uploading information from social media back into the database.

Bonterra Response

7 months ago

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback! We are so pleased to know that it works so well for your team. The comments about the social media interface is useful feedback and will be forwarded to our product management team. Thank you again for the review!

Jeremiah
Development Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Not for small nonprofits

2.0 10 months ago

Comments: I have used this platform for over 5 years while working at a small nonprofit of 7 staff. Building lists for communications seems to work fine for my colleagues and me, but retrieving donor data that is useful and relevant is either awkward or impossible with this platform. Yesterday I actually did simple algebra on pen and paper to get the relevant comparisons I needed to provide a board member with requested data. As the only fundraiser at my organization, I have limited time. I tried to find how to get a 3-year donor report recently and found I could not get that information in a way that was useful. This should be a simple report that is easily applied to all donors. Instead, the best one can do is get a PDF of gross change over the past two years plus the current year. It is possible that I could get more of what I want given time, but small-shop fundraisers don't have two weeks to be constantly calling customer service and experimenting with the DMS. Given what I know about the information my board members currently want, I would never pick this platform. If you are a fundraising staff of one, beware.

Pros:

This platform is reasonably priced and customer service is usually prompt.

Cons:

Difficulty retrieving data requested by board members, staff, and consultants.

Bonterra Response

8 months ago

Jeremiah, thank you for reviewing us and voicing your experience. We appreciate your kind words about our pricing and customer service. As for the challenges you face in retrieving data, we are genuinely sorry to hear this. Your input is invaluable, and we'll be sure to pass your feedback along to our product team. Your insights help us enhance our services and strive for continuous improvement.

Liz
Client Services in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bonterra System

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Aids in keeping track of client services provided and completed.

Cons:

Haven't been using it much yet because we are still new to it.

Aaron
Development Director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great comprehensive product

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

EveryAction is a one-stop shop for managing your development operation across individual donors, online giving, email solicitation, and grants management.

Cons:

Setup and learning the powerful tools can be overwhelming at first, but with time spent using the application and in EveryAction's library of help articles and recorded videos, you can quickly become an expert user.

LauraDenise
Database Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Unite Oregon's Review

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: The data migration went smoothly and the staff was a pleasure to work with. The help support team is always very responsive and helpful and ready to teach our admins how to better use the tools available.

Pros:

The online forms, especially the advocacy forms and how those allow our staff to find an updated list of elected officials to add as targets.

Cons:

The surveys functionality does not allow for open-ended survey questions, which our staff needs because we rely heavily on qualitative data. It would be very helpful to be able to create and then analyze within EveryAction open-ended survey questions.

Bonterra Response

7 months ago

Hi LauraDenise, thank you for your review. We're glad our advocacy forms and data migration process met your needs, and it's great to hear about your positive experiences with our support team. We appreciate your feedback on the surveys functionality and the importance of open-ended questions for qualitative data. We're actively working to enhance our features to better serve your requirements. We deeply appreciate your trust in Bonterra Development + Digital and are committed to supporting your vital community work.

Emily
Program Manager in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

EveryAction's features increase our response rate to user surveys and other email campaigns

4.0 5 months ago

Pros:

EveryAction has given our organization a polished and professional look to our outreach and communication. My team uses EveryAction weekly for email campaigns to send newsletters, surveys and other communication to targeted groups. It integrates with our project management system seamlessly by assigning each new applicant that comes through our system, a unique code that then creates an email list based on that applicant's profile. We have noticed a big increase in user responses to our forms and surveys by using EveryAction.

Cons:

I wish EveryAction had the ability to apply logic to questions when building forms. Because the forms do not, we've had to use other form builders like google forms or survey monkey.

Bonterra Response

5 months ago

Hey Emily, we're over the moon to hear that our software has helped you enhance your professionalism and efficacy. Seamless integration and increasing response rates on forms are HUGE wins! We appreciate your feedback on applying logic in your forms - I will make sure it gets into the right hands. Thanks for making our day with your awesome review!

Kelly
Membership Director in US
Environmental Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bonterra Development + Digital

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

Bonterra Development + Digital is a high-value product that is also user-friendly and intuitive. Embracing its functionalities has helped us improve productivity and increase revenue for the organization.

Cons:

There are certain limits to the capabilities of Digital. We've found that wanting to customize pages or functionalities to meet our needs is often not doable or is very time-consuming and expensive.

Wanda
volunteer in US
Civic & Social Organization, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Experience with Bonterra

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: Provides good function and has lots of features. However, learning it is difficult and HELP is lacking. Positioning graphics so that you get consistent spacing is difficult. There is ZERO help explaining how to prepare and position images, so it's all trial-by-error. Editing screens don't scroll completely. OTOH, it does a great job on reformatting for mobile.

Pros:

Allows us to send out newsletters and alerts to members, store our member information. Also works VERY well to let us send out alerts people can click on and generate an email to their representative.

Cons:

Very obtuse and hard to learn for a volunteer organization. "help" included in the product is minimal and uses terminology without explaining it, which makes it hard to learn/teach.

Joe
Philanthropy Advisor in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Wonderful!

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

Easy to use. Web-based - Not hard to integrate The onboarding/donor transfer team took care of most of the trouble for switching

Cons:

This is a tech-heavy CRM compared to it's competitors. There is a learning curve, but once you get the hang of it there is no desire to go back to older software.

Bonterra Response

7 months ago

Thank you for sharing your experience using Bonterra Development + Digital, Joe! Our Product team is working on the user interface which hopefully will address your comments about the learning curve. Your feedback will be beneficial as they work on this and will be forwarded to them. Thank you so much!

Ralph
Director of Online Engagement in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Intuitive UX makes this CRM one of the best

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

EveryAction has put a lot of thought into the layout and making it easy for users to do everything from creating emails to producing reports. The new drag and drop email feature is a game changer.

Cons:

The committee structure which allows organization to create subaccounts can be a little clunky and integrations with Salesforce has gotten better but was not easy to implement.

Gail
Gail
Administrative Asst / Online Store Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Opinions of a new user

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It will alleviate other processes used in the past and provide all our records and information in one centralized location

Cons:

The process and time it took for our old database and CRM platforms to be converted into EveryAction's lingo and platform

Eric
Director, Digital Platforms in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use at first, and immense power and flexibility when you get into it. Also great performance

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It's a powerful engagement platform
The ActionTag online form system works great out of the box, and is fairly easy to customize if you want to fine-tune your user interfaces and flows
User management is made really easy with some powerful tools like quick role comparison and impersonation
It's blue

Pros:

The performance! Views load fast. Reports update fast. Contacts and user records save automatically for 80% of the attributes you update. And the "Create a List" interface is so performant that I use it just to answer idle questions about the constitution of our database (which is not small). I've used Salesforce a fair amount with a similar sized database; often running reports, you would enter in all the parameters, run it, and then go make a sandwich. Five minutes later, maybe it had run. I never even THINK about how long something will take to run anymore. It's great.

Cons:

Growing pains. EveryAction already does a lot, and their product team is expanding what it offers at a fine clip. As a result, features are often released with bugs and/or oversights that probably would have been caught in a more conservatively evolving platform. In a way, this is kind of a sneak Pro, because as long as you take new features with a few grains of salt, you benefit from a pretty agile development schedule. And most importantly, the bugs/oversights have always been functional; security, in my experience, has never been compromised in favor of progress.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Political Organization, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

EveryAction's acquisition has gone bad

2.0 7 months ago

Pros:

The core functionality of EveryAction remained the same after the acquisition. The UI is attractive, easy enough to use and figure most things out even if you have not previously used the product. It's also used in so many organizations across the space so it isn't a chore to train others on.

Cons:

EveryAction was owned by some great folks a few years ago, and they put their hearts into the product. Now after being purchased by private equity, they've gone dramatically down hill. The support quality has decreased, along with development growth as most of their long term technical folks were terminated. It's scary to see such a big expense in the nonprofit space being operated by a skeleton crew.

Dani
Member Services Associate in US
Civic & Social Organization, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great User Experience for Admins and Constituents

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall, it is a very clean and user-friendly database for both the admins and constituents. The only downside is that it was built for political organizations who canvass or phone bank, but they are working on making it more friendly and easier for non-profit organizations who do not fit that category.

Pros:

Very easy to use and figure out system for the administrators and for the outside constituents. They have a robust reporting and infographics feature that helps you keep up on top of your goals and progress monetarily or with responses to forms/emails. The forms are very easy to build and use, with a clean look. The software has a lot of built in features which are great if your organization is politically active: makes lots of phone calls, uses a lot of volunteers, does a lot of canvassing. Additionally, the platform would be beneficial for a non-profit who wants to track their donations/fundraising and emailing easily in a system. The price is good for us since it is based on the number of contacts in your database, not the number of users.

Cons:

As a membership organization who hosts a lot of events for our members, the systems are somewhat in place to meet our needs, but we need to do a lot of manual labor or pay extra fees to get the systems to work to fit all our needs. That being said, as the platform is seeking a broader audience of non-profits, they are starting to embed and automate the tasks we are currently doing manually or paying extra for.

Peterson
Administrative & Volunteer Manager in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Our web developer recommended EveryAction to us. We are a patient advocacy organization.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Quite a few, but off the top of my head:
Modernized, nice looking communications.
Increased engagement with volunteers.
Superior analytics.

Pros:

EveryAction has modernized our communications in many ways. The most important improvement for us a nationwide advocacy organization has been the uniquely easy way that EAction helps us track and analyze our volunteer engagement. We are most excited about the event management and recruitment potential of EveryAction, and the possibility of unifying and bringing most of our digital communications under one tool.

Cons:

Depending on your working and learning style,, you will either like the fact that EAction seems to constantly evaluate and/or add new/improved features, or you will probably feel unsettled by the changes. Either way, you will want to spend more time upfront watching the video tutorials or at least have a plan to ask for more training in order to understand the basic features, which remain largely unchanged. You may also want to be more proactive with seeking tech support.

Catherine
Director of Development & Communications in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful Platform

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: They are always quick to resolve any issues. And, they are constantly hosting trainings and finding ways for you to make use of your software. Not like other companies where the reps disappear.

Pros:

I really like that they have very deep records you can keep on a donor. I also love that they are constantly adding features and working to improve their software.

Cons:

I don't love the email - I wish there was more customization and reporting available. More similar to a constant contact.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great membership/donation management product

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We've had a good experience using EveryAction. We don't use it to its fullest, and there are some add-ons that we've not purchased/ used that could help us further. They continue to add and update features to make the product easier to use.

Pros:

Integration was easy and the product is generally not difficult to use. Especially now that they've added drag -and-drop functionality for the emails. So much easier. Great way to keep track of who is donating and target our emails appropriately.

Cons:

Some things are really clunky to use and the help info isn't always current or comprehensive. However, the emails to support are always answered quickly and usually resolved simply.

Heather
Director of State Development in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

EveryAction is the only database that I recommend for solid fundraising practices

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I have used NGP & EveryAction during just about every iteration of my career--for all clients when I was president of my fundraising firm, and now with our state affiliates at LCV. From a fundraising perspective, it doesn't get better than EveryAction. It allows digital fundraising and advocacy to happen effectively in the same place as major donor fundraising, tracks actions, events, etc. Fundraisers can manage call time, set next move tasks, and log all fundraising activities in a smooth and efficient way that helps build for long-term and enduring relationships with the organization.

Cons:

Over the years there have been bugs, issues with duplicates or other technical issues, but the EveryAction team go out of their way to make sure they troubleshoot and solve these issues.

Sarah
Interim Director of Development in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I have used several CRMs and EveryAction is the most powerful and easiest to use, by far.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

There are so many features of EveryAction that are exceptional. My favorite feature is the list builder. You can easily create a list of constituents and then run a report to access whatever data you need, all in seconds. Next, EveryAction has so many available fields - it is extremely flexible and easily accommodates your needs. Third, the support at EveryAction is fantastic - they are constantly improving the product and adding features my team suggests. Finally, I have never used a CRM that so easily allows for import and export of data.

Cons:

There is a learning curve when it comes to direct mail plans and reports. However, there are very helpful tutorials on the EveryAction website to facilitate this.

nancy
controller in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This software has been great for us...much better than the program we were using before.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

flexibility of reports, ease of entry of data, identifying donor information good. household info good...

Cons:

ability to use certain fields, frustrations with tech support, line is busy frequently would like to be able to schedule an appointment for help. Upgrade was very difficult and information from support not as helpful as it should have been.

Zach
Development officer in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

EveryAction presents great value

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very positive, would highly recommend.

Pros:

The well rounded data tracking of EveryAction presents clear donor management benefits.

Cons:

While there are numerous templates for donations and emails, they can be outdated.

Hannah
Executive Assistant in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Not Intuitive

2.0 2 years ago

Pros:

EveryAction is unique because it combines donor management, volunteer management, and a CRM into one tool.

Cons:

The software is very difficult to navigate and the training doesn't prepare users to successfully utilize it. We didn't have a dedicated account manager, and the only support we received was through email with a response time of over 2 weeks.

Bonterra Response

2 years ago

Thank you for your open and honest feedback - we value our customer's opinions and take them seriously. Please reach out to [email protected] so we can help remedy the situation - they are awaiting your outreach!

Samantha
Membership Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Customer Support, Very Solid Tools

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It was such an improvement over our previous system!

Pros:

I like how easily I can get in touch with EA's support. I also like how solid the various tools are - very little bugginess, which is a huge upgrade from what we used before.

Cons:

The reporting can get a little confusing. Certain data is available in certain types of reports and not in others.

Michelle
Chief of Staff in US
Civic & Social Organization, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and see results quickly

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I love how everything is integrated and cuts across multiple departments - our Development, Digital, and Organizing teams can all work together in a much more streamlined way.

Cons:

Trying to integrate with other systems can be difficult, but luckily so what of we need to do is already in EveryAction that we don't need a lot of 3rd-party tools.