Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.7/5
  • Ease of Use
    4.6/5
  • Customer Service
    4.3/5

About PowerPoint

Industry leading digital presentation platform with many different design themes. Typically bundled with Microsoft Office.

Learn more about PowerPoint

Showing 16,423 reviews of 16,425

Charles S.
Garphic Designer
Marketing & Advertising, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2019

"The number one presentation software package"

Comments: I've created innumerable presentations for clients big and small. In my many years of using the product and sending presentations to people all around the globe, I have never once had someone tell me they could not open a file or report any problems with their presentation. It takes some practice to truly master, but once you've spent quality time working with the software you can do some good stuff.

Pros: PowerPoint is a straightforward tool for making and showing presentations with an interface that is very much "what-you-see-is-what-you-get." It is also the dominant presentation software, meaning that you will probably never find a client or venue that will have problems with any presentation you created in PowerPoint. It is also rather versatile, allowing users to do far more that slide-based presentations. Users can create online slideshows, clickable infographics, and embed original graphics and videos.

Cons: Like all Microsoft products, PowerPoint has it's eccentricities. It could be more user-friendly, which is where some of the competing presentation apps excel. It is absolutely not good for creating original art or illustrations, even though many users seem to think so. If you want original graphics then you should be creating them in some other app (like Illustrator, Photoshop, etc.) and then importing them into PowerPoint.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2019
Dafne C.
Teacher at university
Education Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/07/2020

"The best way to introduce or share information, or present a topic"

Comments: Power Point is the ideal software if you required to share information, present a business idea, or anything anywhere in an easy and stylish way. We love using powerpoint.

Pros: I have been use powerpoint when I was a student and now in my professional life is an essential tool. It has changed in many ways but all of them has been in order to improve. Now you can use it anywhere and it works in all your devices, tablets , computer, or your phone, even if you don't have the software on therm you can get access through your hotmail or outlook accountant. Microsoft has improved the experience of users by helping them to select a design according with the ideas or topic that you will present, it provides style and design that is really helpful for getting the attention from your audience.

Cons: Sometimes the videos that you include into the slides doesn't work, specially if they are coming from YouTube, maybe it dependes of the version of the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/07/2020
Verified Reviewer
Managing Director and Founder
Graphic Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2019

"Used Often and Incorrectly"

Comments: Whenever someone sends me a PPT, I sort of groan. I may open the file and export it to a PDF to get a smaller file OR the PPT will be just a 1-pager from someone who is trying to show me a layout or concept of something. Personally, it would be faster if they drew it on a piece of paper and took a picture with their phone and send it as an image than to go through the trouble of using PPT for that. There are PLENTY of expert PPT users/designers who know how to either create a properly formatted template to use or know how to assemble a professional looking deck. These are always easier to work with but in the end, the files are way to large, 100% of the time. If the app was more intuitive OR there were better resources on how to use PPT properly for those who don't have time or can't afford to hire a designer to assemble their deck.

Pros: It's the most widely used and available software (meaning so many people have it so it's likely you'll be albe to send/receive a file and open it. Using the Master slides feature which is where you can set and "fix" your logo in place to appear on each slide, have a variety of slide formats/layouts to choose from, and even set a typography stylesheet/style set.

Cons: First and foremost, the finished file sizes are always ridiculously large. This is a problem because so many people always try to email them and I find they either bounce back because they are too large to email, or I'll be out and if the PPT attachment does get thorugh, it's still so large and sort of clogs up my email and whatever is behind it. Secondly, I know PPT is meant to be a presentation software and intended for "screen presentations" but because of this, what happens is that no matter what image is imported in (like a logo or a photo), it is automatically converted to a lower resolution image. This means if you try to print the presentation, any imported graphics will look 'meh' compared to the text. Third, and this isn't really the fault of Microsoft or PowerPoint, but I regularly see PPT decks that look like something the person's kid put together. Most often, this is due to the fact that the user doesn't have a full understanding how to use PPT, and this results in slides looking inconsistent from the next. Alignments are off, a variety of fonts get used, and it just looks like a draft instead of a polished "presentation". Fourth and lastly, it does not play so nice with Macs. It seems Microsoft went out of it's way to create a whole Office for Mac variety but didn't seem to do any full work on making sure it was fully compatible and played nice. It regularly loads slow, doesn't show things correctly, or just crashes (the latter is the most common).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Tuition Teacher
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2020

"If you want to make Presentations then Powerpoint has got you covered!"

Comments: I've had a very positive experience with Powerpoint and would recommend it to almost anyone. Great software that has many features and is very easy to use.

Pros: PowerPoint being part of Microsoft's vast range of Products offers a vast number of features and resources to make your presentation. Having a very clean and intuitive design to the software helps you design your presentation in a simple card format. This layout helps you plan your presentation and build on it with visual tools to help change font size's, colour, layout, shapes and even allows you to add various images onto your slides. Furthermore you can also change slide animations, add sound cue's, add 3d videos and gif's to your slides to fully customise your presentation.

Cons: In terms of Cons there are a few cons such as how sometimes this software isn't as optimized and can feel slow on some computers when you try and either add too many images or 3d file formats into your presentation. While the slide format is nice sometimes however, you want to do more than just create a simple slide structure. While you can make some interesting presentations over time you wish you can create something that is completely different to powerpoints overall structure and this is where you might pursue another product to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2020
Matthew H.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2020

"Who hasn't used this by now?"

Comments: Its an easy to use and beginner friendly program that can help business' small and large share information in ways that are less dense and more legible than memos or longer essay format documents. Legibility and ease of accessing certain sections of information give PPT a head up when disseminating complicated information to multiple people all at once.

Pros: It give you everything you need to present data to a group, in an easily digestible way. Essentially cue cards that your audience can read along with. If you have the knowledge and the time you can make full blown amazing presentations in the program without having to know that much about the mechanics behind those animations or how anything behind the scenes works. PPT gives people without much technological prowess the ability to easily produce results that look attractive and well put together.

Cons: It's structure is somewhat rigid and slide shows aren't perfect. Once you load up a slideshow many people start to tune out right then and there. Files also aren't accessible from the cloud unless you have and outside service for file hosting or sharing. You have to carry some kind of physical copy or have another way to access the file if you aren't on a mobile platform for your presentation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2020
Sana K.
DPO
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/06/2020

"Excellent the best out there!"

Comments: Positive excellent product, lots of features, industry stable which makes it reliable to send outside your company, ease to use and deploy

Pros: I love Microsoft Word and its equivalent PowerPoint. Its particularly useful for lawyers like myself and it has expanded its features making it competitive with other new PPT products and cloud based solutions. Its also universal used across industries so it easy to rely on and send material across the company as well as outside.

Cons: Its expensive that is the only really problem. Microsoft allows its products to be used on Cloud based as well and has updated its features so there is nothing I do not like about this software other than price could be lower (that being said it comes with Word and Excel so we really one cannot complain too much about the price)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/06/2020
Kush M.
Graduate Student
E-Learning, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/04/2020

"Synonym to Presentation"

Comments: It's a powerful tool, which can create highly customized presentations for all occasions.

Pros: Even if I make my presentations online to give them a better look, PowerPoint is the teacher.
I use it to create simple and clean presentations in a given time frame. It's easy and quick.

Cons: Some functions are needed but very hard to find sometimes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/04/2020
Aaron H.
Administrator
Education Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2020

"Great for creating presentations"

Comments: I am able to create and present PowerPoint presentations to our staff and share pertinent information.

Pros: PowerPoint is an application that is supported on the Microsoft Office platform. Once one becomes proficient in PowerPoint, it is easy to setup and create presentations.

Cons: PowerPoint is a powerful program that allows users to create presentations that can be shared. The con that I have with PowerPoint is that sharing presentations is somewhat difficult.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2020
Louis W.
CEO
Religious Institutions, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2020

"Presenter's World of Software"

Comments: Absolutely loved it! The presentations are great to work with, I love the modes, models and templates that are available for selection. The powerpoint tool is a great tool for engagement with a various type of audiences.

Pros: An incredible tool for presenters in every industry and field.

Cons: Nees more templates for downloaded purposes without internet required.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2020
Vaibhav C.
Programmer
Program Development, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/04/2020

"One of the best for creating business presentation"

Comments: Overall it's one of the best software to make your presentations the best. You can use it to create presentations for school, college or even business levels. It's worthy giving it a try.

Pros: The best thing about this software is that it is very easy to use. It comes with plenty of features that makes you ready for creating beautiful presentations.

Cons: Sometimes you may find certain features a bit difficult. Moreover if more designs were included, it would be pretty good .
One more feature that you would miss are the built-in templates.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/04/2020
Deanna F.
author, speaker, coach
Information Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2020

"PPTX! Does great overheads and SO much more!"

Comments: I love PowerPoint! As mentioned, it's my go-to for actual presentations. But I use it for so many different types of design work, too, and it has made those projects so much easier to create. Unlike online creative design programs, anything you create is always available to you because they are saved on your computer. You never have to worry about losing your work or not being able to access it if the online platform ever goes away. I highly recommend it!

Pros: This is my go-to software for overheads when I am doing a presentation (which I do a lot). It is very user-friendly for creating the slides. The functions (fonts, etc) are very similar to using Word. And, when you are doing the actual presentation, you have use of things like the B key function to blank out the screen if you need it. And, in Presentation mode, you can see the slide that will be next. BUT... What I LOVE about PowerPoint is what else you can do with it! I use it for graphic design of posters and Facebook images and other types of designs I need. You can adjust size, colour and layouts very easily. You can get gridlines for lining up images and sizes that match up and so much more. And, you can changed the sizes of the slides to any dimension. I've created business cards as well as speaker one sheets. With the ability to create mulitiple slides, I can create one design and then simply copy it in the thumbnails on the side to preserve the first design and then I can make changes to the copy to see what something else might look like (a different colour or image or whatever). Right now I'm using it to catalogue items with each slide being a different collection of items. I can then export this as a PDF to create the multi-page document. This would be next to impossible in something like Word because I am using images and in PPTX they stay where I put them! Not so always in Word.

Cons: There's not much I don't like. One thing I would like is better tables because of some of the design work I do. The program comes with interesting table style ideas but I'd really like to have just a plain table like you can create in Word or Excel and with the same functionality. I haven't seen how to get that yet. Maybe it's there? That said, there are some neat design elements built in and they've been helpful for flow charts and such. But other than including a easy-to-access very plain table, I cannot think of anything else I'd change.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2020
Melissa W.
Marketing Assistant
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/06/2020

"Ideal Option for Presentations, Easy Option for Quick Video"

Comments: Overall, Powerpoint is an awesome tool especially if you are using the latest version. It really makes creating an easy and fun experience for both new and experienced users. I use Powerpoint and would recommend it to anyone interested in quality presentations and simple video creation. I have used Powerpoint for years and though there have been other tools on the market - Powerpoint has always remained my go-to software.

Pros: Powerpoint is a great tool for putting together a simple to a professional presentation. The features are user-friendly and the options are quite expansive. With the available tools in Powerpoint, you can simply create a presentation that looks well designed because Powerpoint has templates and design suggestions that you can take advantage of. So you don't have to be a designer to create something fairly decent. You can also go the elaborate route by using the transition features and animations to create unique and engaging presentations - and videos! The ability to create videos is a really nice option. For those who may not have access to video editing software, Powerpoint has the ability to export files as a video. It's not the best option if you are interested in creating a feature-rich video but if you need to create something quick and simple its a great choice that involves no learning curve aside from what you already know in Powerpoint.

Cons: Powerpoint is a great tool for presentations, simple videos but it not that great for image creation if you don't know a work-around. When downloading images in Powerpoint, the image quality of the downloaded file is not great at all. It becomes very pixeled. This can be quite frustrating if you know your way around Powerpoint and struggle to use or don't have access to other image editors. It is a problem that can be fixed but it takes a couple of steps that most users will not easily find. A Google search will lead to the hidden steps to resolving this problem so all is not lost if you image creation is what you're after.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/06/2020
Anthony R.
Senior Analyst
Utilities, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/03/2020

"Powerpoint - The Best Presentation Software On the Market"

Comments: My overall experience with Powerpoint has been overwhelmingly positive. I've been using the software for years and never had any issues with my presentations. Having used it from everything to school projects, business presentations, and training new employees, I can testify to how truly versatile this product is and essential to creating professional presentations. Don't settle for other presentation software, because in my experience none are as simple to use and feature rich as Microsoft's Powerpoint.

Pros: Powerpoint is an intuitive and easy to use solution for creating any type of presentation. With a wide array of tools and features, the user is able to make presentations as simple or complex as desired. No frills projects can be made with minimal input and effort. More complex projects can utilize features such as slide animations in the form of transitions, bouncing text, sounds, moving images, and more. The best part about the software is how highly customizable the presentations are which means you are only limited by your own creativity. There are plenty of free presentation themes available that will give your presentation a sleek and professional appearance. You can also create a custom theme or purchase others if the free selection doesn't meet your preferences. The software gives you the option to record your voice and do virtual presentations if you are not able to present in real time which is a nice feature. Additionally, users can create charts, graphs, and smart art, which can help convey data in a visual format that is most suitable to your needs. Most importantly, presenting with the software is a breeze. Transitioning through slides can be done manually on the keyboard or through a wireless remote. This process is seamless and generally speedy depending on how many graphics and animations that need to load. Because of its sheer versatility, ease of use, and variety of customization options, there is no better presentation software than Microsoft Powerpoint.

Cons: I have no true functionality complaints about the software. However, I do think there is one feature that can be slightly improved. When exceeding a certain amount of text on a slide, Powerpoint will automatically resize the font so that the text will fit neatly onto the slide. At some point, the text will become too small to be readable during a presentation. Instead of continuing to resize the text so that it will fit onto the slide, Powerpoint should give the user a warning that the text will become too small to be legible while presenting. That way the user has an idea of when too much text has been put onto the slide and would be better off saving that information for a new slide. Perhaps after reaching a certain font size.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/03/2020
Shaun D.
Organizational Development Manager
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/02/2020

"Amazing and powerful tool although can feel a little long in the tooth."

Comments: Overall Microsoft PowerPoint has been a very useful tool in showcasing my work internally and is something that I will continue to use and recommend.

Pros: PowerPoint makes it simple for virtually anyone to be up their game when presenting internally within their organization or to a customer. The tool requires very little learning to get started and you can extract most functionality without delving too deep. There are however some features which can be very powerful (timed slides, transitions/animations, SmartArt etc) that if used correctly can separate a simple presentation to a highly impactful one. Microsoft also offers free PowerPoint for Windows training with videos and tip sheets on their site.

Cons: Over the years Microsoft has added tons of features to PowerPoint and it has become a strong tool in the suite. Unfortunately though this continuous adding of features has made it clunky and eventually Microsoft will need a complete UI redesign to be able to make all the features properly accessible. The fact that they also don't have animations within table contents is surprising and unfortunate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/02/2020
Kristen B.
Owner
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/02/2020

"PowerPoint is the Gold Standard for Presentation Software - Recommended!"

Comments: PowerPoint is designed for giving presentations. Back in the day we'd give these presentations in a room via a projector, but now we give our presentations online through screen-sharing services like GoToMeeting. PowerPoint is great because it still allows us to give that same presentation, with our slides, animations, graphics, videos, media, charts, reports, and so on, through our computer screen. I can pre-record my presentation as part of the PowerPoint, or speak live. I have a lot of options and PowerPoint provides even more through its software. Those familiar with Microsoft will have no problem with the PowerPoint interface. And those new to Microsoft will get the hang of it quickly, because Microsoft designs their products to be intuitive.

Pros: If you're in business, you know PowerPoint. Everyone knows PowerPoint. It's essential for any business, because we all use it. I know that if I create a presentation in PowerPoint, it will run on computers 99.9% of the places I go because everyone uses it. It's easy to use, and Microsoft has made it practically intuitive with drag-and-drop functionality. Most of us have been using PowerPoint for decades as it is, but the fact that it's become easier to use and more flexible makes it essential for any business.

Cons: Like many Microsoft products, a small business owner like myself does not have any need for many of the high-level functions of this software. Also, the cost is a factor for those who are on a shoe string budget, especially given that there are free options out there if you're willing to sacrifice some of the bells and whistles that PowerPont offers, as well as the ability to save files in Microsoft's proprietary file extension (that would allow you to open your saved file on other computers that have PowerPoint).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/02/2020
Obvious P.
Bookkeeper
Farming, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 08/01/2020

"The suitable software for presentation"

Comments: I am a bookkeeper and PowerPoint is the program I utilize habitually, whether I'm going to conferences or have a week after week assembly, PowerPoint is my go-to introduction computer program. PowerPoint in case not the most, excellent is one of the bests for introductions. Microsoft has conveyed over the a long time and keeps conveying. I have utilized most of the Office items for numerous a long time and I can say that PowerPoint is the leading Office computer program. For a long time, showing before other individuals appeared overwhelming to me. Be that as it may, after getting utilized to PowerPoint I feel exceptionally confident because I know PowerPoint has the capacity for planning a proficient introduction. In the event that you employ other Office program, you ought to know that the integration of PowerPoint with other Office items such as Microsoft Word is consistent.

Pros: Microsoft offers the most excellent efficient softwares or apps within the trade. PowerPoint is one of their most prevalent applications, and pretty much the go-to introduction computer program for a part of individuals within the industry and in instruction. That's generally because PowerPoint may be a exceptionally capable and useful introduction computer program. It comes with a lot of highlights to guarantee you merely have the correct devices for making a jaw-dropping introduction. One can select from thousands of layouts right within the app otherwise you have the flexibility to form your claim one of a kind format, which I liked over the pre-built formats. Having been a MSc Finance and Banking student and a bookkeeper , I have utilized PowerPoint on a week after week basis, and have made hundreds of introductions all through the a long time. The popularity of this app makes it a parcel more transferable. One of the critical highlights that have been included to PowerPoint as of late is the symbols. I utilize them broadly and they make presentations simple to understand.

Cons: Since my work with the computer program, I didn't have any issues that caused me to loathe the computer program. I found it exceptionally valuable, simple to utilize and imaginative. And through time the item flabbergasts me with modern and modern highlights which make my work looks superior.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 08/01/2020
Rebecca M.
Advisor
Market Research, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2020

"More than a presentation software"

Comments: At least 90% of our research reports are built out in PowerPoint. We use it all day, every day. With some employees using Apple Macs and others on Windows computers, we appreciate how PowerPoint allows for seamless file sharing between the two operating systems. Some of our clients use Apple's Keynote presentation application and it drives us crazy because PowerPoint is just so much more robust. The features feel simple while still allowing for complex formatting and design. Microsoft seems to always be updating it with additional features, too, such as the icon library (no more searching the internet for free icons!). Overall, we have little negative perceptions of PowerPoint. Whether were presenting a traditional slide deck, or reviewing a 11x17 inch project management chart, it never fails to impress clients.

Pros: My favorite thing about PowerPoint is the multitude of document types you can create. I used to think of it as solely a presentation software, but after 3 years of daily use, I now open PowerPoint to make flyers for events, handouts for meetings, project timelines, and even to make digital graphics for our online focus groups (instead of Photoshop!). It's the simplicity of PowerPoint that makes it my go-to application for creating all these different types of documents.

Cons: One thing about PowerPoint that frustrates me is the inability to make your own keyboard shortcuts for changing the font and other formatting settings. In Microsoft Word, I have assigned certain shortcuts to quickly switch between different font types and colors, and I've never understood why this feature (which honestly saves so much time) is not available in the other Office suite products like PowerPoint.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2020
Ayesh P.
Engineering Student
Civil Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2019

"Microsoft Powerpoint For Engineering Student"

Comments: This is very good software and I am still goes with this until I found a good alternative with good user base and compatibility with other word processing softwares.I recommend this to every one who use Microsoft operating system and it will be good choice and goid investment .

Pros: As a engineering student we have to done lot of assingment ,researches and make presentations to those work every week.For making presentation my first choice is Microsoft Powerpoint.There is non other software which can help me to making presentations than Microsoft Powerpoint.This is comes with Ms Office packe there for when buying the package Ms Powerpoint comes with it and it can use with other office software which comes with Ms Office package.That is my favorite option in this software because I can easily add any graph create in Ms Excel or any document create in Ms Word to my presentation which create in Ms powerpoint without any changing.Just simply copy and paste .Thats why I love this software very much because its a part of Ms office package and all can work together.Many people are using this software therefore every pc have been installed this software.So I can run my presentation of any of these pc in the presentation room.That is very he and good life saver.I would not to be consider the presentation running software which at the presentation room pc when I am going to create my presentation.

Cons: My favorite this is this software is that I can run my presentation in every pc because this software can be found in every pc in the world.But when the version change to pc to pc some changes are happen to my presentation when I open it on those differnt type of version in Powerpoint.It is too painfull to re create my presentation when it open in differnt version of Powerpoint without the version it created.Because this error I face lot of difficulties when I going to present my presentation infront of my audience due to run it on different versions than it created version. That is the main drawback which I saw in this software.Also this software hase some cost to buy but there are many good alternatives with lot of new usefull options which can use in free.But the reson which I still this software is its huge user base.I think they will give good answer to that problem soon.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2019
Ashkan B.
Research Assistant
Civil Engineering, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019

"Best Presentation Software"

Comments: I am a research assistant and PowerPoint is the software I use frequently, whether I’m attending conferences or have a weekly meeting, PowerPoint is my go-to presentation software. PowerPoint if not the best, is one of the bests for presentations. Microsoft has delivered over the years and keeps delivering. I have used most of the Office products for many years and I can say that PowerPoint is the best Office software. For a long time, presenting in front of other people seemed daunting to me. However, after getting used to PowerPoint I feel very confident because I know PowerPoint has the ability for preparing a professional presentation. If you use other Office software, you should know that the integration of PowerPoint with other Office products such as Microsoft Word is seamless.

Pros: Microsoft offers the best productivity apps in the business. PowerPoint is one of their most popular applications, and pretty much the go-to presentation software for a lot of people in the industry and in education. That is mostly because PowerPoint is a very powerful and useful presentation software. It comes with a lot of features to assure you that you have the right tools for making a jaw-dropping presentation. You can choose from thousands of templates right in the app or you have the freedom to make your own unique template, which I have preferred over the pre-built templates. Having been a student and a research assistant, I have used PowerPoint on a weekly basis, and have made hundreds of presentations throughout the years. The popularity of this software makes it a lot more transferable. I have never had any issues with presenting my files on a different computer. One of the important features that have been added to PowerPoint recently is the icons. I use them extensively and they make my presentations easy to understand and it helps with the flow of the presentations as well. In a nutshell, the most important feature of PowerPoint is its user-friendly interface. I believe that is the reason most people use PowerPoint.

Cons: PowerPoint is the most popular presentation software; however, the updates are not frequent. I believe this software needs to be updated more frequently, and new features should be added daily. Additionally, sharing presentations with other collaborators is far from being complete, although Microsoft has tried to add this feature to the Office products, it is not easy to use by no means. I wish Microsoft solved these issues, then PowerPoint would be great.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019
Verified Reviewer
Educator; trainer
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2019

"Industry Standard in presentation tools"

Comments: I'm pleased with the program, especially in light of the advanced features and familiarity it offers. I would recommend to beginners and advanced users.

Pros: Even though the field is crowded today, PowerPoint still remains at the top of presentation and slide deck creation tools! Here's what I like most:
- No other platform or program offers as many advanced features as PowerPoint. What you are capable of doing with this Microsoft program may be mimiced or imitated by other platforms, but at the end of the day, no other platform is capable of all of the heavy lifting when compared to PowerPoint. It is a robust program.
- Even though, PP is loaded with features, it's also user-friendly. Most of us grew up in a day when Microsoft products reigned supreme, as a result, we intuitively know or feel comfortable with the interface.
- Due to the advanced features, PP allows creators to produce a more engaging, visually impressive presentation.
- It's affordable.
- PP links or integrates with so many other programs or platforms. Something as simple as creating handouts from PP is so simple - a process that is not as true for competitors.
- It's almost the industry standard. It doesn't matter what field/sector you discuss, PP is common knowledge, understood, and used by all (education, business, private, etc.).
- You can use it virtually anywhere, as long as you have a device of course. No connection is needed.
- Individual slides can be customized to your heart's delight. Competitors tend to offer themes, which are necessarily applied to the whole deck. Not so with PP.
- PowerPoint is versatile and can be used for many purposes.

Cons: I have no concerns or complaints about PowerPoint. Even though many competitors are in the field, I still think PowerPoint has carved out a significant space and will last for years to come.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing Specialist & Copywriter
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/12/2019

"Great idea, but badly outdated."

Comments: I love the ease of us in PowerPoint once you get the hang of it. I hate the little glitches it has when you export or save things. Something that they did, that is a benefit, is adding Microsoft Bing to search (mostly) royalty free images. it would be super awesome, if they had a plug-in for flicker and other royalty free images search sites or like Pixabay. I love the idea of PowerPoint, but it feels like it's a forgotten project by Microsoft. Only updated on rare occasions. I would even pay extra, for bonus features if they ended up or something. I do a lot of training, and I like Microsoft PowerPoint because I can create quick videos, and I am familiar with the software layout. If Microsoft developers upgraded the sound and editing features, as well as added some cooler graphics that don't look like they're from the 90s intros and outros, this could be a really good product to compete with current marketplace services. the benefit of PowerPoint is that it is all in one software package, first other software services, have way better graphics or effects, but take longer to piece together. I like PowerPoint, I really hope they improve it soon, it feels like a slow moving boat, next to all the Ferraris and jets out there.

Pros: Being able to export pp to video files. I do a lot of training, and create videos, PowerPoint makes it easier to create the base and export the video. Then edit the video in magic movie studio, to beef up the sound and add effects. It would be extremely helpful if I could add sound effects on the video, say when I click on a picture or something, and have it sync up correctly when I am recording audio. But as of right now it doesn't blend well and the mixer feels like something from the 90s, it's hilarious how tacky it is. Microsoft is good when they care about something, but it feels like PowerPoint is the bastard child they keep around out of pitt, but don't pay much attention to it, other than feeding it a meal every now and then.

Cons: Glitchy, very glitchy. Poor output processing, if you accidentally save, it will cancel your entire export and not bother asking you if that's what you want or to cancel the save. Love many features, but it feels so old and static. They could offer way cooler intros, outs, and side effects, but they are still stuck in the 1997 to 2003 graphics era. Cheesy effects. I love creating tutorial videos with PP, please give more options for audio sound effects, splicing, and editing. The system now is very 1997ish. So basic!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/12/2019
Radoslav B.
Database Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2019

"Power Point - Power of creation Presentations"

Comments: I have been using it for about 5 years in school for my reports, 4 years as a student for my project presentations and about 2 years in my working career. I found it useful for every part of our life, so pretty recommend the app. I have been using also the office 365 version which makes it more powerful, and also pretty recommend using it. Everyone who needs to have beautiful presentations created fastly and with professionalism, needs to have this product.

Pros: I think the software is very cool and powerful for your personal and business presentation because of:
1. It has a lot of features that you can use to create your presentation - you have layouts with designs, you can add your custom ones too. There are pretty animations that beautify everything. You can add music, video, control it in every way you want and many more.
2. Everything happens very intuitively - you don't need to waste time wondering how to do some operation on your presentation - you just need to trust your intuition and almost everything is there for you. And the final result looks very professional.
3. You do not need to be a designer to have beautiful presentations, because of the cool visions that PowerPoint supports.
4. There is a presenter View which I pretty like - you can watch on your screen the presentation how you want it - with your personal notes and timing, and to project it on another screen in the way the public needs to view it.
5. You can choose to buy it with office 365 - which makes it even more powerful. One great feature for me is that multiple people can work on one file simultaneously which helps in team working a lot.
6. And finally, I think the software can help every person - from small home projects, through student and school purposes, to big business projects.

Cons: Since my work with the software, I didn't have any issues that caused me to dislike the software. I found it very useful, easy to use and creative. And through time the product amazes me with new and new features which make my work looks better.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2019
Supun S.
Student
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2019

"Microsoft PowerPoint for a great presentation"

Comments: Microsoft PowerPoint is the most popular software that uses to make presentations worldwide. Since this software is developed under a long period of time, only minor issues can be identified with the software. In the other hand, this software is developed by Microsoft Company which is a largest software company in the world. Therefore you can use this software without any fear about its features. Microsoft PowerPoint is one of best software that can use to make presentations as our needs. You can make any kind of presentation using Microsoft PowerPoint that suits for any occasion and any age group. I recommend this software for anyone because we do not need a prior knowledge about the software to use it.

Pros: Simplicity is the major advantage of the software from my view. User interface of the software is greatly designed for the ease of use. Just few clicks needed to add an animation, change a theme, add a slide transition etc. Because of this simplicity, beginners also can make a good presentation using Microsoft PowerPoint. Other main advantage is the animations and slide transitions included in the package. Big amount of animations, templates and slide transitions are comes with the software and we can use them as our need. Using that features we can make a presentation that suits to small children or a presentation that suits for a professional meeting. There is an automatic recovery feature is available in the software that helped me in many time. It saves our presentations automatically while making the presentation. If the power goes out or computer goes off for any reason while making the presentation, we can restore the presentation though we did not save it. Since I am using this software from my childhood, I feel great about the software.

Cons: Though I am using this software for a long time, I did not found any serious issues yet. Microsoft fixes minor issues also with the new versions of software. Price of the software is a considerable disadvantage because there are many free and open source software developed to make presentations in these days. It is good if Microsoft add more animations, slide transitions and templates to PowerPoint. This would help us to make more creative presentations. User interface of older versions of the software does not feel comfortable. Therefore we have to use newer versions to make presentations easily. Auto recovery feature can be improved more to recover all the presentation because now it saves only a part of the presentation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2019
Eri H.
Digital Strategist
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2019

"PowerPoint Review"

Comments: My experience is unique, all this time I have been a loyal user in using PowerPoint more than 10 years since the first time Windows Operating System was being introduced with its Microsoft Office. I am always amazed with the growth of its potential capabilities from time to time. I helped my former bosses, colleagues and relatives in using PowerPoint to develop slide presentations. All my previous offices’ work and my current business needs have been tremendous saved by PowerPoint existence and amazing functionalities, ranging from creating slide presentations, making PDF files, including flyers in high resolution images, and animations as well as incredible videos.

Pros: I’ve been an avid PowerPoint user for more than a decade. As Microsoft call it as PowerPoint, it has all the Power which functions straight to the Point. Simple and easy to use, yet powerful for all purposes, either for educational, business, daily personal tasks, as well as for volunteering work.. It’s more than just making slide presentations for my previous offices’ work, and my business needs. From PowerPoint file, I could do magic by converting it into PDF file, high quality images and stunning animations including superb videos. The multi functionalities has absolutely impacted towards my effort and time efficiency for all my needs.

Cons: Not many people that I know of, are quite familiar with the powerful functions of PowerPoint. Mostly they use it for creating simple or boring slide presentations. It’s too bad that it seems only very few people are having the patience to tweak more into it. Also not many institutions where I live are offering PowerPoint courses. Of course we can learn it by ourselves using YouTube or other online tutorials, but again, not many people are having the ability to learn, tweak, and going through trials and errors by themselves. I wish the manufacturer to produce more online tutorials which is easy to follow, build communities using online forums or social media, and offer short courses for public through their outlets of Microsoft store in each country.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2019
Colin M.
Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/11/2019

"PowerPoint - it's not just about Presentations"

Comments: PowerPoint is a fantastic piece of software - if you think of it just for presentions, you are missing some great features that could be saving you time and money.

Pros: I use PowerPoint every day - and hardly ever for presentations. It's almost automatic to subconsciously prefix 'PowerPoint' with 'Death By', so Microsoft's presentation product has fallen out of favour in recent years as fashions turn to animation, video and interactive dashboards for presenting ideas. While the bulletpoint PowerPoint presentation may not be as prevalent as it once was, those who think of PowerPoint as just a presentation tool are missing out on a great productivity tool for the information worker - and it is already included in your 365 subscription. I rarely use PowerPoint for presentations - although sometimes it is the right tool for the job - but it probably replaces half a dozen tools or utlilities that I would otherwise have to buy, learn and manage. Want to capture ideas as you work? What's better than PowerPoint as a place to dump screen captures, text clippings, images and web links? Wireframing web pages or software projects? Can you think of a tool as flexible as PowerPoint for handling graphics, icons, screen clippings and aligning and grouping objects? PowerPoint might not be PhotoShop, but you might be surprised at what you can do with images these days. Have a subscription to a stock photo service? Why not use PowerPoints online image search - use the creative commons filter for public content. Need documentation? Create PDFs with anchors to make your documentation secure and smart. Video? It does that too - and very well.

Cons: I want to view image sizes in pixels. How hard can it be? I understand why PowerPoint does what it does, but I'm often using it as a holding space for graphics that will be used elsewhere.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/11/2019