Like it a lot, but consider your goals

Reviewed on 13/01/2019
Verified Reviewer
Teacher and Consultant
Education Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I'm pleased with the program given the way I use it. It achieves the goal for me, which is for quick and easy student creation projects.

Pros: I've primarily used this platform as a student creation tool. I'm not in marketing or sales, so I cannot speak from that angle, but I do enjoy Haiku Deck as a web-based classroom platform. It's a fairly simple, user-friendly, clean platform, so I find that students learn to use and navigate rather quickly. They don't get "lost in the weeds" as with other programs that have tons of features and customizations. The product (slide deck) created is typically very well designed as well. I like that it also has a wide variety of images that are included for free. No need to pay or upload anything, uncless you want (in which case you can, since uploading is an option). Another great feature is that it handles charts and graphs quite well to be such a simple platform. I recommend giving it a try as an educator - students can create brilliant, well designed posters seamlessly and quickly. Another classroom idea is using Haiku Deck for flash cards, lab safety rules, classroom procedures, vocabulary walls, etc.

Cons: As stated in the title, I like Haiku Deck, but you need to know your end-goal or purpose. If you need to create extensive slideshows with hyperlinks, videos, specific images, large amounts of information, then this might not be the platform for you. Some would consider Haiku Deck to be limited in features - it doesn't do a lot of heavy lifting or advanced options. There are also limitations on how much you can do with a free account, so this will not work if you want to create a lot for free. Last, there are just some things you cannot change - if you don't like a particular format, there's little you can do besides pick another preloaded option (e.g. few customizations).

Simple presentation tool with a professional look

Reviewed on 09/08/2017
Nicholas A.
District Staff Developer
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It makes for a great quick way for students to show some understanding but doesn't afford a lot of maneuverability. I liked using it as an exit ticket with students- Pecha Kucha style.

Pros: It's simple. It's straightforward. Haiku Deck makes it easy for people to put together a professional looking presentation that isn't loaded with text and images. Its simplicity is what makes it a good addition to your tech toolbox. This is great for teaching when you want to gauge students understanding of a topic quickly and don't want them over-inundating their presentations with videos, mass text, etc. I like the professional images that are included or being able to search within their database. I also like some of the added features: being able to share across multiple platforms and social media, as well as the option to allow others to reuse your presentation/template.

Cons: The free version doesn't really get you much other than building 1 deck. And a lot of features etc are pay for. So you can't really get a good feel for the product and all it can do with 1 deck (presentation). The ability to add videos/youtube is also only available with the paid version as well as the ability to add audio which you can get with Google Slides built in or even a program like Pear Deck/Nearpod.

Fantastic presentation tool that makes you do professional slides in a very simple way.

Reviewed on 01/07/2018
Julio césar P.
Teacher English Foreign Language
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Excellent features for doing engaging presentations, very simple to use. For teachers or professionals aiming to produce professional-looking presentations.

Pros: This app is extremely easy to use. It is ideal for any teacher, business man or professional in general, interested in doing engaging presentation for a sophisticated audience. In a way, its slick interface and innovative display succeeds in breaking the mold in terms of presentation making. Haiku Deck will allow you to select interesting and engaging pictures and short sentences for expressing your ideas. As a teachers, I find it very useful for doing simple presentations in a short period of time. Therefore, I don't need to invest a lot of money doing presentations on pp or other more complex to use softwares.

Cons: Nothing negative to say about this app,I really think it delivers what it promises, the available fonts are adequate, as well as the features and/or options.

Vendor Response

by Giant Thinkwell on 09/07/2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Haiku Deck, Julio, and for your kind words. Please let us know if there's ever anything we can do to help you make the most of your subscription.

Beautiful

Reviewed on 15/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
Senior Game Designer, Instructional Designer
Photography, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: At the end of the day, if they fixed that bug and things work fine, I might return; ease-of-experience is worth everything to me (because I work 22 hours a day and need to save my strength for productive hassles rather than logistical ones). No hard feelings and would def recommend to anyone who could afford to pay the sub price without wincing.

Pros: Easy, beautiful, powerful, simple, elegant. In both interface and final product. Easy to make a quick presentation on phone or iPad even.

Cons: Had a problem with the audio function and wrote to the company but never heard back. I don't have the time to chase a fix or reply, so I just ended my subscription and moved to another app. One thing I really don't like is the thing where free accounts are public, aka everyone can see my deck if I don't pay. Also, the product is priced higher than comparable apps, and I never found out how they justified charging twice or even thrice the subscription price of literally almost IDENTICAL apps. Of course, every company can charge what it wants and if someone thinks it's too much, he doesn't have to pay or use that product, but I'm genuinely curious as to whether it could have features I never heard of (and missed out on! Hmph.).

I've used this program as a classroom teacher and instructional technology coach.

Reviewed on 08/02/2018
Shane P.
Instructional Technology Facilitator
Education Management
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: HaikuDeck is a great, reliable, and user-friendly slide deck creating program for teachers and students alike. Simple and clean slide decks are created with minimal effort due to the user-friendly interface and ease of access to resources (images, charts, etc.). Personally, I enjoy using this product for student creations. Students can create vocabulary cards for personal study or well-designed posters for projects. Although I used it primarily in science classes, I think it's a versatile tool that can be used across content areas, as well as in the business spectrum for marketing, branding, etc. highly recommend!

Cons: I would not say this is a complaint, but Haiku Deck does limit what you are capable of doing. You do not start with a blank slide and limitless potential. You cannot edit to your heart's desire, so you are limited to some extent. However, this decision, I think is justified because they desire for users to create clean, simple slide decks. In order to do so, they limit graphic design opportunities.

Best product for dynamic presentation design!

Reviewed on 19/02/2019
Sarah G.
Training Specialist
Entertainment, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We create high impact training slide decks with this program, and have eliminated all other traditional programs for this one! I work in entertainment and e-learning and it has to be cutting edge design wise - and this program is perfect for it!

Pros: This is perfect for modern, and clean looking slide decks. The images, overlays, fonts and transparent/depth options make your decks look like they came from a paid designer. Excellent if you are looking to keep the viewer engaged. It leaves a high impact impression. I like that I can put my design vision into a slide deck instead of being limited by what most programs offer in terms of design. You can create the feel you want!

Cons: I love this product - the design is so sharp. But sometimes alignment can be tricky to get together, but the more you play with it the better you get at it.

Support? What support?

Reviewed on 31/03/2019
Nancy j H.
Management consultant
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I am not sure why I am unable to access my PRO features, despite the fact that I paid for an annual subscription, because I get no response (as in zero) from every support avenue I could locate. I think the problem may result from my computer crash last year. I purchased a new one and I believe my account will not activate on the new IP. But how am I to know or fix if I cannot make contact with support?

Pros: The idea, the concept, is great. Images are powerful conveyors of the message.

Cons: I have tried multiple times and ways to reach support and have received no response. My account page said that my credit card would be charged the annual fee in a few days but I could not get a response to my support question, so I canceled.

Great PPT Alternative

Reviewed on 26/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Associate Residency Director
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Excellent graphics to use in presentations, easy format, great customer service

Pros: Awesome graphics; great customer support; great webinars; good conversion to PPT if you want to use a previous lecture format; great educational discount

Cons: Nothing. Haiku deck has become a great alternative (along with Prezi) to PowerPoint in the lecture/presentation software space

Vendor Response

by Giant Thinkwell on 21/05/2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Haiku Deck... Your encouragement and enthusiasm means the world to us. Please let us know if we can ever be of help to you in making the most of the app.

Exceeded my expectations

Reviewed on 10/05/2018
Sean W.
Co-Owner
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Haiku Deck has been very easy to use and allows me to make presentations much more easily. The editing options are varied more than some of the more well known softwares such as Microsoft or Apple. The available styles stand out more as well which is quite ideal.

Cons: I haven't run into any negative experience thus far with this software. It's worked exactly as expected, if not better.

Vendor Response

by Giant Thinkwell on 21/05/2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Haiku Deck, Sean. We appreciate your business and are ready if there's ever anything we can do to help you make the most of your subscription.

An amazing tool for the arsenal!

Reviewed on 16/04/2018
Joshua H.
Teacher
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: As a teacher I need an edge when it comes to direct instruction. Haiku deck allows me to turn the tables and allow students to present the info. They love using this tool!

Cons: The learning curve can be steep for some of my younger kids, but overall the interface is easy and effective!