A 2D Animation Software with an user interface that makes sense

Reviewed on 29/07/2019
Ayon S.
Film Maker
Animation, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: This is an animation software that makes sense. CTA makes sense in everything it does. One will find the tools exactly where they are supposed to be and things work exactly the way one expects them to work. This may sound obvious but after trying out several animation softwares, these look like a very rare situation. Cartoon Animator (previously CrazyTalk Animator) is a software that provides almost everything one needs to create anything from short cartoon ad to full length animation movies, that too with an interface (which translates to the learning curve) that makes sense.

Pros: CrazyTalk Animator (now Cartoon Animator 4) is one of the best 2D animation softwares one can find in the market. What I like the most about CTA is that their makers, Reallusion has managed to create an user interface and workflow that makes sense. Yes, this is a big thing when it comes to animation softwares. Everything is so intuitive to learn and easy to understand. One can start making fully customisable animation within hours . Although CTA comes with a huge library of pre-made characters, animation movements, etc. but what is absolutely awesome is that its so easy to create your own custom content and thus you can make your very own, custom animation movie. Plus, CTA has incorporated some fantastic new features like 3D Head creation, Motion Capture technologies (which is again really easy to learn, Motion Retargeting, Smart Inverse Kinematics, Keyframe animation, Intuitive bone rigging systems, and many more. Plus one can but more contents from Reallusion's Content store and Marketplace.

Cons: Well, CTA (Cartoon Animator) doesn't have features for drawing contents within the software itself. You will need some external drawing programs to create the sprites and figures, only then you can import them to CTA to complete the remaining process of custom content creation. It would be great if Reallusion provides drawing tools right into the software.

The Best 2-D Animation Program Available

Reviewed on 15/06/2017
Dominique G.
Marketing Creator
Security & Investigations, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: One huge benefit I get from using this program is the ability to easily create visualization for social media and presentations for clients.

Pros: The best thing about the software is that you don't have to know anything about traditional animation to be able to use the program. I do not know how to draw, yet I still consider myself an animator. The program overall is easy to learn and to use. I am a marketing professional who uses CTA to create marketing videos for my company. People at my job who do not know the process think it takes a long while to produce the kinds of videos I make. However that could not be further from the truth. The videos I create are simple thanks to the software and fun to make. They add a nice visual to any social media campaign or presentation to clients. In the past, I have even made videos with clients logos in them or made their CEO a character in the video. Most companies love this because they feel the video was tailored towards them. I would highly recommend CTA for business or for personal use.

Cons: I feel there aren't enough characters that come with the program. What I want is the software to give me a vast option of customization (appearance and clothes). CTA does allow you to customize your character, however it is limited in my opinion. I want full ability to customize everything from the facial features to what color shirt the character is wearing.

Possibilities without end.

Reviewed on 20/02/2018
Berndt R.
pensioner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Improve home videos.

Pros: This facial animation software is great for providing your own videos with additional gimmicks. The purchase price is a bit high for private users who only want to create small gimmicks, but the possibilities that one has through this software are awesome .So the figures in the program are quite funny, but with the possibility to insert your own pictures, the possibilities are so varied that you can spend a lot of time with them to breathe life into the pictures. You can if you want, for example bring his pet to talk or sing, which always makes for laughs, or even teach him tenzen. There are no limits to creativity here! But if you do not want to make this effort, you can buy a lot of templates on the homepage and also download free templates from time to time. A little bonus material is already there. Each figure can be edited individually such as the head or just the nose change and thus you can create your own avatar. If you then import, for example his own voice, the figure automatically moves her mouth to it. You can spend days with this software!

Cons: Unfortunately, the price for the functional version limited standard version is already high. The Pro version is for the average consumer who just wants to brighten his home videos a bit, for my feeling clearly too expensive.

A cool cartoon animation tool

Reviewed on 26/06/2019
Verified Reviewer
Chief Executive Officer
Research, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It is good software, because of the high learning curve it is bit difficult to for someone to make quick videos. Once you make yourself comfortable with the tool, you can create amazing videos using the tool.

Pros: This is a very good animation software at a very reasonable price. You can create your own characters, properties and scenes. The possibilities are endless you can make the characters talking within no time. With some time spending on it to learn you can create amazing videos with this software.

Cons: Very high learning curve and poor tutorials and some options missing in the pro version which makes absolutely no sense. Customer services don't have a live chat which makes it difficult when you try to contact them for a small help you have to wait to days for their reply.

CTA and soon to be Cartoon Animator

Reviewed on 13/12/2018
Mike R.
Chief of Design
Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall, I am happy about buying the software and even securing myself a copy of the not-so-soon to be released Cartoon Animator 4. There is a lot of potential for this software and it is just getting started to cut out its own niche in the animation marketplace.

Pros: What I liked most about the software is how they managed to build a solid animation tool that does not break the bank. They recently announced rebranding the software to a more palatable Brand name so I guess from this point forward, a lot of animators will be enticed to try the software. I liked the community and the contents marketplace which is BOOMING!

Cons: The program takes a bit of learning before you can make some serious animation movies. Taking it from using keyframes in video editors such as Hitfilm and node based Da Vinci Resolve, the interface is really overwhelming at the start without watching the tutorial videos.

Very adaptable 2D animation tool

Reviewed on 26/04/2019
Margaret M.
CEO
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: For any educational or awareness use, the ability to animate inaminate objects and to give a voice to faces, adds massively to audience focus and attention.

Pros: Can create own characters, props, scenes etc.

Cons: Steep learning curve, and poor tutorials.

My first 2d animation software.

Reviewed on 30/10/2018
Debjit B.
Freelancer
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: As a non-animator persion I have limited option to create video content. Either use readymade layout or use some whiteboard for presentation. But crazy talk changes the way of my presentation. With very little effort I can now give life to my imagination. Love the product.

Pros: Created an animated 2d video within a week, without any prior knowledge of any previous animation. You can buy your own character and import images and make them animated characters.
It is really interesting to see still image talking within a few clicks without any pro graphic designers help.
It getting constant update which is awesome.

Cons: I have to spend a lot time and experiment with the option to get a perfect shot. Support can improve. For a hobby, it is a bit expensive. Update to new version cost lot.

Customer service non existent

Reviewed on 26/05/2018
Anna E.
Instructional Designer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
2/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: High learning curve but lots of features. Customer service is awful and instructional videos are poorly produced.

Cons: Accidentally purchased the wrong software. Followed correct procedures to return. Got email received confirmation. No refund...ever. Buyer beware, if there is a problem they simply won't address it. They don't care about customer service..

Fun fairly easy, and great results.

Reviewed on 04/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
Lead Functional Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I have tried several animation suites.
CrazyTalk was one of my favorite 2D animation applications.
It is fairly easy to use, and doesn't have a huge learning curve.
Comes with a lot of "ready to use" templates.
Many online resources availale.

Cons: The only con is there are no drawing tools included, so you need to draw design elsewhere, and animate here.

Animation easy enough for a beginner

Reviewed on 15/09/2019
Joseph A.
Client Relations Manager
Security & Investigations, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I liked that the software was very easy for me to figure out on my own without too much help.

Cons: I dislike the fact that there aren't too many tutorials or helpful tips for creating custom animations. Also the proprietary format for the models/animation make it difficult to make changes in a third party software.

Amazing new features

Reviewed on 04/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Art Director
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: New 3D features can help animate character in different angles without having to re-draw any bofy parts. The motion capture feature is very cool.

Cons: Shadow adds a very big difference in animation, and it we would like to animate other type characters than bipeds.