15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

United Kingdom Local product

Sage Accounting Reviews

4.2 (347) Write a Review! United Kingdom Local product

About Sage Accounting

Sage Business Cloud Accounting is a simple yet powerful online accounting solution designed for small business owners.

Learn more about Sage Accounting

Pros:

Nothing, hard to use, does not integrate with other programs.

Cons:

In the end I had to make the decision to let it go or loose my productivity.

Sage Accounting ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

7.6/10

Sage Accounting has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5 stars based on 347 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Sage Accounting before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (347)

Stan
Stan
Owner in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy and Accessible

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Not sure - nothing springs to mind as we engage

Pros:

Ease of use Not sure - nothing springs to mind as we engage

Cons:

Not sure - nothing springs to mind as we engage

Sheldon
Owner in South Africa
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage Online Accounting

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: The software is good and reliable. Very few errors have happened to the software, since we have moved to the cloud. So Good.

Pros:

You can log in from anywhere. Take on is easy. Invoicing is simple to use. Allocating receipts and payments straight from the important bank statements makes processing easy

Cons:

The stock system does not intergrate well between the stock holdings and values and the balance sheet. Extra modules are required for this basic function and this does not always solve the problem. This results in clients needing to continuously reconcile stock to balance the Inventory Valuation to the Inventory Ledger.The project management systems need to be improved so individual and multiple projects can be quickly monitored in an income statement.

Janet
Accounting in Canada
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The sales department will upsell you on features you do not need

2.0 last month New

Comments: The customer service is terrible. They do not return your call. They also tell untruths. I called them out on it and told them I was a CPA so to "save" their fibs.

Pros:

It's good, but no better than the other softwares on the market. They all do essentially the same.

Cons:

The price. They upsell you on features you do not need.

Michael
Administrator in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Accounting in small Charity

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Very good but as described above there is always room for improvement

Pros:

It’s simple and efficient to use. It was also easy to implement and transfer data

Cons:

There are some features which could be improved eg when email invoice out customer the invoice shows as being attached but you have to open the email to find any supporting documentation caused much confusion with customers Another example it would be helpful if documents ie contracts could be attached to customers and suppliers

Kevin
Director - Architect in UK
Architecture & Planning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage Accounting

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Works well being an online, cloud based product - like being able to have multiple users (all of the directors) access accounts reports and information from wherever they logon as opposed to having to pay for multiple user accounts or all use a single machine in the office.

Cons:

Lack of budget reporting is frustrating as is not being able to fully interrogate double entry journal records.

Rebekah
Accounts Administrator in UK
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Brilliant product

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: Really good, does what it says on the tin (so to speak!), perfect for our use case.

Pros:

Sage Accounting is very easy to use, it has a lot of useful features that make it stand out ahead of similar software

Cons:

There isn't much that I don't like, but maybe some more customisation to the interface would be nice, to make things cleared to see when needed or to remove bits I don't want to see.

JOLANDA
Director in South Africa
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage accounting review

4.0 last month New

Comments: All good except Bank feeds on certain banks not working

Pros:

Easy to use and to explain to clients jhow to use

Cons:

Bank feeds that do not work on certain banks

Elizabeth
ACCOUNTS AND BUYING in UK
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple to navigate

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: Generally easy to use, customer support is always very good.

Pros:

Generally a very user friendly programme with excellent customer support.

Cons:

No batch invoicing so it is much more time consuming when entering multiple invoices for the same supplier.

Jodi
Controller in US
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I love Sage Software for all my accounting needs.

5.0 last week New

Comments: I am very happy with the software. The reports I generate are next level.

Pros:

I have been using the software for 9 years and it becomes second nature to me. It is precise and easy.

Cons:

Perhaps the steps I need to take to reverse a check, but it is not that big of an issue.

Thomas
Thomas
Managing Director in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for small and medium businesses

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Always useful and quick to resolve any issues I may have.

Pros:

Allows you to set up accounts at ease with easy to review financial reports allowing users to understand where their business stands at any point in time.

Cons:

Once you have filed your VAT returns you cannot go back and update/edit the previous entry

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage Business Cloud Accounting

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Sage Business Cloud Accounting is easy to set up and use. I loved that it easily integrated with our existing business. With internet access, the software is accessible from anywhere and is available on mobile devices. It makes bank reconciliation and invoicing easy.

Pros:

Installation and implementation are easy. I like that the features are easy to use even for non-accounting persons. It enables real time sharing of files with clients and colleagues which saves on time and eliminates the need to direct email invoices. This makes debtor management easy and less costly. Accessibility from a mobile device is a huge plus when one is on the move. The software is also affordable and has a free trial. Sage has good customer support.

Cons:

Since the software can only be accessed online, it is difficult to work with when internet speeds are slow or when there is no connection at all. Sometimes bank sync feed is slow and the handling of foreign currency bank transactions could do with some improvements.

Andre
Director in South Africa
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage is a very easy and powerfule accounting tool

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall the experience is good. They can definitely work on their email support.

Pros:

The ease of the setup and use of the software. It was written so that anyone can use it. Very simple, yet poewerful.

Cons:

Some of the features that were advertised when pitched to us aren't available. The customer and supplier age analysis reports should have totals.

Victoria
Business Owner And Senior Bookkeeper in UK
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Why Sage Business Cloud Accounting Is the Best Solution For Independent Bookkeepers

5.0 last year

Comments: Sage Cloud Based Accounting - runs not only our own business, its client structure and management thereof, it forms a key central hub from where we can deploy the various other Sage functions we use for our clients be that accounting functions, CIS, Payroll, year end accounts, VAT etc. Put in concise words - one log on - one hub - everything contained within it. It liberally is a one stop solution for a bookkeeping or accounting practice of any size.

Pros:

Sage provides a one stop cloud based solution with the power to tackle the most complex clients and the ease of use to mean that using it is not a chore - its well laid out, graphically pleasing and the menus have a logical and intuitive structure - it is easy to gain proficiency in its use and deployment and its advanced functionality is attainable without too much head scratching. Customer service is world class - and support features such as Sage University and Sage Champions are second to none - all in all its a mid-price point software package that does it all as well as anyone and often a great deal better backed than any of the competition, and it is backed up by the best aftermarket support package, customer service structure in the marketplace - with Sage you are never alone - they back you 100% in supporting you and your business and that alone is priceless in this day and age. Put simply - Sage is pivotal to our success and without them we could not do what we do.

Cons:

No - I say no because Sage are good enough to listen to improvement suggestions from end users, log them and incorporate the key ones in their roadmap - again the transparency of Sage and the inclusivity means that any teething problems are documented and supported until they are untimely resolved.

Paul
Managing Director in UK
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A solid accounts package. Many useful features allowing simple accounting for small businesses.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It is relatively intuitive for people with only a basic knowledge of business accounting. It allows easy manipulation of accounting data and you are able to provide periodical reports which means you always know the state of your companies finances. It can be accessed from anywhere and at any time and allows you to restrict certain users to particular areas. You are able to give your accountant a direct log in to your accounts which makes annual tax accounting very quick and simple. Sage One can be tied to your bank accounts so that all items that pass through your accounts can be automatically uploaded into sage saving lots of time on entering data. VAT filing and reports can be done instantly and sent directly to HMRC. Can also be used directly with Sage Payroll meaning all information from payroll is automatically added to Sage One accounts.

Cons:

If you're internet connection is weak this can slow things down a bit though on the whole it is a very stable and trustworthy platform. The only thing I find a little bit weak is the inability to create direct backups of your accounts either your computer desktop or external drives. The only method of backing up the information is to print reports of all ledgers, invoices, receipts and audit trail. This means you will always have the information but in the event of a catastrophic failure it would be highly time consuming to re-input all the details. There would be no obvious method of doing this.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Awesome Account Software for all your needs

5.0 last year

Comments: Sage Business cloud accounting has been a huge relief for my finance department making their records traceable.

Pros:

The cloud deployment makes it a perfect solution

Cons:

Adoption of multi factor authentication before users can login

Bettina
MD in South Africa
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Shocking support and behaviour from their new online shop division

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: We had been one of their first online store users when SAGE started with their online store offer. Then the support and customer service was outstanding. Sadly they outsourced their online shop to another company and we needed to move our existing online shop to a new platform. One would think that "SAGE" would facilitate this move for free, as the old platform was discontinued. Well that was not so, we ended up paying a large sum of money for the move. The service level of the new "SAGE" company was horrific, the treatment we received was shocking, everything took weeks and months to finalise. We ended up doing most of the work ourselves and then received a bill for their general set up package and for re-directing the pages to the new site. Unbelievable and shocking! We are also using their accounting software that we like, if we find another way of integrating the accounting part easily with another online shop provider, we will move. They do not deserve our business as they clearly don't appreciate loyal and long standing customers.

Pros:

The online store platform integrates easily with sage cloud accounting. Nevertheless, the customer service is shocking, shocking, shocking!

Cons:

the online store provider have no regard for longstanding and loyal customer - shocking and horrific customer service!

Paul
owner in Canada
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

owner

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My accountant can open a copy and quickly finish the year and tax preparation saving me time and money.

Pros:

I have used it for a very long time and it works very easily for me. It has evolved but never change so much as to make it difficult to keep using using. Sage has much more than I need but is still competitive with price and easy to use what I need.

Cons:

I never got the hang of bank reconciliation to work faster than manually but is me and I do not have a great deal of entries.

Michelle
Michelle
Professional Accountant (SA) in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage Business Cloud Accounting

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Sage Business Cloud Accounting is easy to use, features are easy to access. Reporting for several different ranges of time-table very handy. No installation, no backup...very nice product to use!

Pros:

Sage Business Cloud Accounting has all the features one would need from Accounting software. Easy to implement, do the setup, and train new Customers on how to use it. The add-on modules adds value to the software. The Accountant's easy access to assist Clients is a wonderful feature!

Cons:

One improvement I would like to see: When adding a new Item from inside the Invoice screen, the new Item screen should include all features (such as selecting the Purchase account). Currently you have to exit the Invoice, create the new Item, and then continue with your Invoice

Martin
Chartered Accountant in UK
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have the full confidence in this product

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Excellent - they started a bit behind functionality wise from other products, and are now moving ahead of them, and I like the committment to constant development and the transparancy of their roadmap.

Pros:

It is intuitive, and my non-accountant clients can usually navigate their way around it themselves, and only occassionally require minimal support. My clients who have switch from other software have said that they wouldn't go back.

Cons:

The marketing for this product is not as flashy as competitors, and so sometimes it can be a hard sell to clients who want the one with the big ad campaign. As with most cloud products it is constantly evolving and I am not always aware of the new features which come out.

Johan
Management in South Africa
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very slow system when items is above a 1000. We are on 100meg lines and Sage Accounting is terrible.

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: It's just a basic accounting software.

Pros:

The software is easy to use. But it it can be 10 times better if the right coders and designers is employed. Price, it is not the cheapest in the market but again African companies like their money and labour is expensive in South Africa. The system is slow as said when when you have more than a 1000 entries or stock items. Export function lacks functionality as only basic stuff can be exported. Compared to other software in the world....There is much better software in the market!

Cons:

Speed, the software is very slow for an online system. It lacks functionality. The price per user is expensive. The software also doesn't have a lot of 3rd party integrations. When it comes to e-commerce it integrates with a few shopping carts but the integration is very basic.

Terry
Terry
Photographer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Photography
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A very simple online accounting system

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: The ability to connect my bank accounts is great and a real time saver.

Pros:

The fact that this is online and can be accessed from any device is a real pleasure. It means as a sole trader that I can enter receipts while I'm on the go or at home when I have a spare few minutes. I know sage was late to the party for online accounting systems but they have managed to make a simple system and one that starts cheaper than the competitors. The second main feature for me was the ability to automatically connect to my bank accounts and match my transactions as this saves no end of time and is all included in the monthly price. They also have a feature which allows you download your transaction in a CSV file as well, if you wanted to move them to another system.

Cons:

It's not as customisable as the desktop version was but once you get over that hurdle and change your way of thinking and acting then you realise they had a reason for making it so simple.

Caroline
Director in UK
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Appalling Customer Service

2.0 6 years ago

Comments: I phoned and chatted online with Sage One (Sage Business Cloud?) customer service technical support 8 days ago over an issue and have also emailed them every working day since and they just keep telling me that they have logged the issue and it has been passed to their Development Team. In the meantime I can't send invoices. What's the point in offering 24/7 customer support if they just log the issue and make you wait over a week for a fix?

Pros:

Good interaction with payroll and Pension software, banking etc. Easy to use. Can use from any pc.

Cons:

Long list of minor but annoying issues, like it does not accommodate UK net monthly account customers/suppliers, the default dates on functions only show the current month. The only way to avoid the contact name appearing on the invoice address is to put a full stop in the contact name box (so the first line of every invoice is a full stop). Product list doesn't section so you can't add a percentage to one customer or one type of product. Appalling customer service for technical problems.

Melanie
Partner in South Africa
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SAGE BUSINESS CLOUD ACCOUNTING

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Definitely the way for the future just love to work on this platform. All new clients advised to use Sage Business Cloud Accounting. The package can grow with the company from start up.

Pros:

The fact that is cloud base and accessible from anywhere as long as you have internet access. There are apps available to download onto mobile devices. The product is user friendly with guidance on how to use features. Download bank statements and map the expenses to save lots of time in the future.

Cons:

It is sometimes slow depending on internet speed and take a while to download bank statements.

Barry
Accountant in UK
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

From Sage Instant to Business Cloud

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Used everyday and very useful for my business and obvioulsy for my cleints too.

Pros:

Yes I have to admit it the cloud option is very useful, not having to keep track of versions and installing etc. Very useful to share data with clients.

Cons:

Still some features i would like and have become used to in Sage 50, like Gross to Net and Copying lines above but sure they will come.

Sage Response

2 years ago

Thanks for the feedback Barry, We're pleased you're loving the functionality of cloud and always being on the most up to date version of your product. Very best wishes Sage

William
CEO in Canada
Printing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

good

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: it's good it works, but very hard to install in network

Pros:

The fact that you cannot go modify stuff by the backdoor

Cons:

support could be better, it's not easy to reach