About MeisterTask

MeisterTask is a web-based task and project management tool that is perfect for agile project management.

Learn more about MeisterTask

Pros:

We've never needed more than the free tier. Love the integration with my email (Spark and Gmail​) and Dropbox.

Cons:

My biggest worry is updating comments in the web version.

MeisterTask ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.2/10

MeisterTask has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 999 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used MeisterTask before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (999)

Mridul A.
Mridul A.
Structural Design Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ideal for our whole team for Task Management

5 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

My whole team uses the software for daily task management and project management. It's easy to use, fast and accessible to all our devices. We are using this software on daily basis.

Cons:

A new task is added at the bottom to a tab using mobile while the PC app shows a plus (+) sign between tasks to choose the location of tasks.

Danny D.
PM in Austria
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fresh and nice Look - just up to date

5 6 months ago

Comments: Quite simply, it is now possible to get a comprehensive overview of ongoing projects, all of which is still very clear and up-to-date. It's also great that there is an app that works really great.

Pros:

We use the software internally to organize several departments and track their progress. At the beginning the employees were a bit overwhelmed, but they got used to it really quickly. Meanwhile, everyone is convinced of MeisterTask and cannot imagine working without it.

Cons:

Meanwhile I have to admit that we lack nothing. In addition, the software is constantly being expanded and there are always new features.

Alternatives Considered: SeaTable

Reasons for Switching to MeisterTask: Especially because there is a good app. many use MeisterTask on the go, so it was important to us that there was a well-functioning app. We also liked MeisterTask from the start.

Meister Response

6 months ago

Hi Danny, thanks so much for reaching out! Wow, we're thrilled to hear how much you and your team have enjoyed using MeisterTask! :D Be sure to follow us on Twitter at @MeisterTask to stay up to date on new features and updates coming soon! Thanks again, The Meister Team

Bronson D.
Site Reliability Engineer in US
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Meistertask got me a promotion

4 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

Easy Kanban features, smooth integration between platforms, great UI

Cons:

Would love having a multiview option for the same tasks (multiple boards where columns can be mapped to different fields), better task labeling (it is terrible to have to enter one individual task to create a new label)

Alternatives Considered: Todoist, Asana, Notion and Workana Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to MeisterTask: Better looking, easier to use, UI is less crowded

Meister Response

2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for reaching out, Bronson - we're thrilled to hear about your promotion! Congratulations! We're also happy to hear you found MeisterTask's UI to be both intuitive and beautiful - this is one of our most primary goals :D I've forwarded your feature request to our product team - be sure to follow us on Twitter at @MeisterTask as we implement new features and updates! Best, The Meister Team

Federico A.
Federico A.
Management in Uruguay
Verified LinkedIn User
Investment Banking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very nive product in the free version but only three projects allowed!

3 6 months ago

Comments: Very good projects, easy to use and their organization is great.

Pros:

Great user interface, beautiful colors and excellent organization.

Cons:

Unfortunately, the free version only allows three projects, in Trello there are unlimited projects.

Alternatives Considered: Workzone and Taiga

Reasons for Choosing MeisterTask: Better and nicer user interface

Switched From: Trello Gamification

Reasons for Switching to MeisterTask: Because its paid version had all the indicators we needed.

Meister Response

6 months ago

Hi Federico, thanks very much for reaching out! We're glad that you found MeisterTask to be both intuitive and beautiful, but sorry sorry to hear you were disappointed in the free version's limitations. Unfortunately, it is expensive to maintain our apps and websites, so we do have to charge for certain features. Be sure to check out our affordable tiered subscription services at MeisterTask.com/pricing to learn more about an option that best suits your team's needs. Best, The Meister Team

Verified Reviewer
COO in Nicaragua
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This is definitely one of the most feature packed task management tools I've seen

5 last month New

Pros:

MeisterTask is good, very good, it has a lot of great features that will definitely help you become more productive in your projects.

Cons:

Pricing could be better, more languages availability as well.

Alternatives Considered: Plutio

Switched From: Asana

Maarten C.
Owner in South Africa
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great job

5 9 months ago

Comments: Super happy with the product

Pros:

Simplicity in design. Easy for clients to understand and saves time.

Cons:

Nothing to dislike at the time being. Perhaps add a API system so we can integrate into it if needed? Cant think of anything else.

Meister Response

9 months ago

Hi Maarten, thanks so much for your feedback! Ensuring that MeisterTask is both beautifully designed and intuitive to use is one of our highest priorities, so we're thrilled to hear that that has been your experience :D I've forwarded your request regarding an integrated API system to our product team. If you have any other feedback or suggestions, don't hesitate to reach out to us on Twitter at @MeisterTask or via our support staff at [email protected] Cheers! -Andrew

Mutegeki R.
Mutegeki R.
Research Assistant in South Korea
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Improved project planning and management

5 3 years ago

Comments: Before Meister Task, having a centralized Project management system that allowed us to keep track of projects, assign tasks and reporting on progress was a nightmare. We find it a lot easier these days because of MT.

Pros:

The software platforms are seamlessly integrated and I have access to my tasks on the go.

Cons:

I haven't yet found any issues with this software but as soon as I do, I'll definitely bring them up to the dev team. However, providing for the ability to add project level resources (files and attachments) would be nice. Absence of email updates on pending tasks (not calender based) could also be useful.

Alternatives Considered: TeamGantt

Reasons for Choosing MeisterTask: I found the Meister Task software a lot easier to integrate, no clutter, straightforward, etc

Switched From: TeamGantt

Pamela C.
Pamela C.
President, CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Alternative Dispute Resolution, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

With MeisterTask my right hand knows what my left hand is doing

5 2 months ago New

Comments: It's an everyday use for me to help me keep track of what I and my team are doing.

Pros:

That I'm sharing it with my team and we all know what has been done or what hasn't been done. It's a great to-do list for me and I can put all aspects of the project on MeisterTask

Cons:

That I can ignore it too easily. I get lost in email and then forget I have work to do and it's all lined out on MeisterTask.

Meister Response

2 months ago

Hi Pamela - Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review! Great to hear that MeisterTask has improved collaboration in your business and streamlined your information flow. Feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] if you have any questions, and don't forget to follow us on Twitter at @MeisterTask for upcoming feature updates! :D Best, The Meister Team

Verified Reviewer
Marketing professional in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best free project management

5 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

I love the way it looks and easy to use and understand each sections. I used a lot of project management softwares and the most annoying thing was the lack of simplicity. there are always too many icons and texts everywhere. But Meistertask was not like those softwares, it's colorful, simple and understandable for my clients.

Cons:

My clients always forget to swipe left and right in the mobile app. it's not a hidden feature but not that easy to remember either.

Meister Response

5 days ago

Thanks so much for your review! We couldn't be happier to hear that MeisterTask has been intuitive and easy to learn for you and your clients - this is one of our most primary goals! Please don't hesitate to reach out to us with any additional questions or feedback at [email protected] Happy Tasking! - The Meister Team

Marion lili P.
Analista in Guatemala
Food Production, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Review

5 3 days ago New

Pros:

I like the easily integration with my inbox.

Cons:

I just use it for work and so far it is works very good.

Ernest A.
Ernest A.
CEO in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best out there

5 5 months ago

Comments: My overall experience has been great. You guys have been beautiful. I have used you and been with you guys for a very long time. It feels just like yesterday. The least that I can do is take a little moment out of my time to give you guys a good word and a good reviews. If you are looking for a mind-dump ... that is what the heart of Kanban tools are for. Meister-Task is for you. It goes into the intermediate level of task dependencies. If you are looking for the next level of a network relationship diagram ... just hang on a moment. There is MindMeister ... but last time I checked, you have to work from MindMeister into MeisterTask - but I dont think they can inter-relate and synchronise with themselves. I don't know, things may have changed from my time. But this app is beautiful, sleek and amazing. Please support them and take good advantage of their services. They're amazing. And one last thing, they integrate in many places so beautifully such as Microsoft Teams. I'm blessed

Pros:

- Collaborating with people - Time tracking - Lots of Projects

Cons:

- I have not seen an ability to video the network map of task dependencies - I have not seen an ability to calculate critical path analysis - I have not seen the ability to do financial project management, so that I know the cost of how much a project would be costing me. This might be outside the scope MeisterTask and under a new umbrella of "Accounting" (eg Xero or Quickbooks) but Microsoft Project Online does this and to me, this is why MeisterTask will always to in 2nd place to Microsoft Project Online

Meister Response

5 months ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such an extensive review, Ernest! Our team really appreciated reading your kind words, and our product team is very interested to hear from a long-time user who can provide such valuable and incisive feedback for our future roadmaps. We couldn't be more thrilled to hear that you found MeisterTask to be both intuitive, powerful and beautiful; these are three of our most primary goals as a team. We feel "blessed" ourselves to have such a loyal and involved community of users like you. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly at [email protected] or on Twitter at @MeisterTask with any other comments or feedback. We'd love to hear from you! Best, Andrew @ Meister

Suzillah A.
Suzillah A.
Information Technology Assistant in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Logistics & Supply Chain, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and manage

5 7 months ago

Pros:

MeisterTask is the perfect software that will making the task management seem easy to track and to manage. The process to track and follow your task progress is very simple and it can shared with your other team member so they can be involved on the process.

Cons:

There are no option to export or import you task to other task management software. It would be very helpful if they can offer an integration with other software that will synchronized the information on both software. An option to label a task for its prioritize also should be added to the software.

Meister Response

7 months ago

Hi Suzillah, thanks so much for yor review! Great to hear that you've found MeisterTask to be both efficient and intuitive :D In MeisterTask, you can export and import your projects from CSV files, JSON files, or directly from Trello or Asana. You can find out more here: https://support.meistertask.com/hc/en-us/articles/4403323243538 Also, be sure to check out MeisterTask's integrations here: https://www.meistertask.com/pages/integrations Thanks so much for your feedback! If you have any other questions or comments, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at [email protected] Thanks! The Meister Team

Lauren A.
Business Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I LOVE this software

5 last year

Comments: I don't often say I love a software, but I love MeisterTask. As I passed over some important tasks to another person, I found she was not as organized as I was, and it was costing us a lot of lost revenue as she failed to follow up on time-sensitive claim rejections and other issues. Furthermore, due to the way our main systems work, I had a hard time keeping my own eyes on the issues before it was too late. By implementing MeisterTask, we both have insight into the issues that have come back from insurances, I'm able to better hold her accountable, and tasks are getting done. I love the Kanban board, having the ability to personalize it, write notes, have overarching tasks with subtasks, and more.

Pros:

Visualization, due dates, reminders. It's user-friendly, and has a modern interface. The ability to customize various aspects was great. I like the dashboard that tells you what's due today, this week, or later. As a manager, I liked being able to set up multiple projects in one place.

Cons:

I wish the product had a "due date" and "follow up dates", so it was more obvious what was being worked. It took me a few to realize I could edit a comment, which was really helpful. I wish it required a due date with an option or checkbox for no due date, as opposed to defaulting to no due date. --All minor things.

Alternatives Considered: monday.com, ClickUp and Asana

Reasons for Switching to MeisterTask: I liked the ease of use - very user friendly. I liked that I could have multiple projects and assign users but have insight into all. We didn't need a heavy project management tool like other companies might, but most project management softwares are geared towards that. The price is also unbeatable.

Revel A.
Linguistic Consultant in Spain
E-Learning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Serves my purposes

4 last year

Comments: I use Meistertask in two different jobs. One, with a team, to move individual participation in a larger project through a specific process. The other is to keep tickets on tasks with complex and repetitive "do lists" in order to move those tickets through a larger process involving registration and licensing of machinery. In both cases I am generally satisfied with the flexibility of Meistertask towards my needs and project management style.

Pros:

It's not got a heady learning curve. It's pleasant to look at. New team members catch on at once.

Cons:

Comments should be dated rather than "two days ago" for accuracy. Data export needs to be more agile. Task timing needs a label feature (identification of each time frame timed)

Meister Response

last year

Hi Revel, Thank you for your review! When you hover over comments in the Activity and Comment section, the date and time when they were posted will be displayed. Point taken though, we may want to display it right away instead of "x days ago" - i'll forward your suggestion to our developers, as well as your further ideas. We appreciate the feedback :) Best, Your MeisterTeam

Verified Reviewer
Coordinator in Serbia
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great task manager that can be interconnected with mind maps

4 2 years ago

Comments: As explained above, I used it to manage the tasks on different projects with the team of eight people in total and complement a board task manager with mind maps to make the project planning and tracking more visual. It allowed me as a manager to keep track on the things that were going on although I was often on the road for days and since it has a really great visual interface it was easy to spot potential problems (over-allocation to some person, possible delays etc.) before they actually happen and act proactivelly

Pros:

The best thing about this software is that interconnects with MindMeister mind mapping software perfectly, out of the box. This means that you can define your project in a mind map (which is in itself really useful and visually clear) and then just make an item a task with deadline, priority, person assigned and it automatically appears in Trello-like interface with buckets so you can move from one collumn to the others (Open, Next, In progress, Completed, etc.). In comparison to similar apps, the feature that I really appreciate is the activity log that you can see with one click on the right side which gives you log of what happened recently as it happened - for example your colleague completed a task or created a new one, commented on a task, etc. which is great if you are a manager of a team and want to quickly see what has been going on . Another highly appreciated feature is that by clicking on the team member's avatar you instantly filter only the tasks assigned to that person, so you really have a quick, visual way to track progress of different projects. Finally, each task allows you to track time, so you can do it from the app itself, without needing a separate app for time tracking.

Cons:

Personally, I really enjoyed using the app, but two colleagues on my team did not like it since they felt that some of the features are too much (and that as a manager I could track more things than they would normally want) and preferred a simplicity of Trello that we used before this. That said, if you use paid version, you have a lot of options that you can utilize, which can be distracting for some people on your team, while if you use the free basic version, options such as agenda, seting the duration of tasks etc. will be missed.

Alexandra N.
Deputy Head of Radiochemistry Lab in Germany
Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Enables a great overview & isn't too complicated

4 2 years ago

Pros:

It looks really nice and allows us to have a much better overview over the multitude of tasks we need to keep track of. Also, my non-tech-colleagues can use it easily as well. We use the "kanban board" in a slightly different way - using columns for different task groups like "quality management" or "orders" and subdivide it into the tasks that need to be finished. Being able to see how much of a task is done and who is currently working on it is also very nice.

Cons:

We purchased an upgrade, but when we weren't on time for the payment it was confusing to get back to the basic version. Because that was so intransparent we're currently using the basic version although we've payed for the upgrade. Also, that bar you use to scroll - especially at the bottom of the screen to side-scroll is tiny - we often use Meistertask on a 13" screen, so if you could enlarge that, it would be great. Assigning multiple people to one task would also be a nice improvement. And do you have more colors?

Alternatives Considered: Trello

Reasons for Choosing MeisterTask: Cause using an Excel Spreed sheet for Task Management is not efficient...

Switched From: Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to MeisterTask: - Data Protection - the server must be in Germany, or our company will not allow its use - Data protection - no tracking of employees - easy to use

Danielle S.
n/a in US
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Great for tracking Weekly and Daily Big Three Tasks (Big Rocks, other tasks, etc.)

5 2 years ago

Comments: I originally downloaded the application to attempt to tackle some #StayatHome projects. These are personal projects as I am unemployed. I find that the visual layout on the web-version is compelling and I enjoy using it. The reminders on my phone are limited, no snooze feature if you're stuck on another task, but overall decent anyway. I would and have recommended this product and will likely do so again.

Pros:

I love the overall layout and design look of the software. I use the web-based version and the Android version. I like that I can get a good picture of what my day looks like - what I've planned to do, and what I may be missing from my tasks that needs to be done. It is a great companion to my Full Focus Planner, a Franklin planning system, and a general task list.

Cons:

I wish the free version had more projects - something like 4 to 6 would be great. My budget may allow me to purchase the full (I think Pro) version. I am using this for just myself right now, but can see how a business could make use of it. Like most To-do apps, a decent snooze feature is lacking. Sometimes I am in the middle of working on a task and need a few more minutes to finish up - snoozing an upcoming item is always helpful.

John H.
Development & Communications in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool for implementing GTD

5 3 years ago

Comments: Overall the functionality that this tool offers even at the basic level is really amazing. I highly recommend it for personal work-flow management as well as for tracking shared projects. It's not ideal for highly complex and broad projects where you need to organize based on timeline and be able to quickly scroll through hundreds of tasks—If that is your need, I'd look for a more robust PM software. But personally, at this point I'm thinking it's almost the perfect tool for implementing the Getting Things Done methodology and managing personal and work life flow.

Pros:

My favorite function is the quick-entry, task checklist on the mobile app. I use this as my digital "in-tray" to capture any and all thoughts, ideas, recommendations that come across my mind or radar. I love that you can then convert those straight to existing projects. The flexibility is great, and the layers of function are wonderful, ie the checklists within project tasks, and the ability to attach docs out of your google drive to hold project support material right there within the task.

Cons:

The integrations are somewhat lacking and glitchy—so far requiring the use of Zapier—with a confusing setup process (even for someone who is somewhat familiar with Zapier). I wish there was a way to more easily set reminders as opposed to just task due dates. The most annoying thing is probably that when you do convert tasks in the checklist to project tasks, they will not uncommonly end up in a completely different project. This is problematic. It's an odd glitch, but I hope that it is something the development team can remedy and seems likely so.

Alternatives Considered: OmniFocus

Benjamin D.
Benjamin D.
General councillor in Netherlands
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

A perfect balance between utility, useability and design

5 3 years ago

Comments: I am collecting the workflows of all of my different personal and professional projects into different boards and then into one intgrated dashboard. The ultimate friendship between power and simplicity. And then it also looks very beautiful! I really can't work with apps on a daily basis of they do not look nice, so I am very happy to have found this powerful, flexible, and intuitive software that also takes the cake when it comes to aesthetics!

Pros:

MeisterTask strikes, for me, the perfect balance between the different aspects of a task system. It has all the functionalities that I have been looking for, for my project workflow system. I can create multiple kanban (Trello-like) boards for my different projects, yet see all of my due tasks from all of the different boards on one single dashboard. This way I can keep all of my different tasks and workflows organized, yet consult only one place to decide on my next activity. It also functions in a very intuitive way, and looks just beautiful. I especially love the option to have a daily changing photo on the home screen.

Cons:

So far there is nothing at all I dislike about this software, which is a huge surprise for me. I have been looking for "the perfect" project workflow system for myself, and MeisterTask might be the one I have been looking for for so many months. There is only one smal technical improvement that I would suggest to the creators, which is the option to automatically assign newly created tasks to myself, so that I don't need to perform that as a routine action.

Verified Reviewer
Film producer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Motion Pictures & Film, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Workflow Is Perfect for Us

5 3 years ago

Comments: After we set it up, it took a bit of learning (just a few hours) to fully realize all the aspects of it and to make it fit our company, but that's the case with any new software. We liked how when we asked "OK, we need to do this particular thing, can it do it?" and after reading the clear help files we found out right away either (a) how to do it, or (b) it couldn't do that particular thing. That second thing sounds like a negative, but it's not -- clarity is important because then we can alter our workflow and adjust without spending ages trying to kludge something. And this sounds silly, but we REALLY lke marking a task completed and then dragging it over to the green column!

Pros:

It's very easy to use. We tried 6 project manager/todo apps over a 3-day period, and MeisterTask was a real oasis in that exploration. The mood in the office got immediately lighter when we realized how easy it was. Running a business is hard enough -- we don't want to struggle with the software, too.

Cons:

We wish you could set up daily repeating tasks. Or tasks that repeat every few days. The shortest time interval is a week, which is too long for us.

Alternatives Considered: Omnify, Asana, monday.com and Trello

Reasons for Choosing MeisterTask: We needed more Project management since ToDo lists are very easy to do in a million other apps.

Switched From: Todoist

Reasons for Switching to MeisterTask: See above review. Also -- it needed to work on the web and on iOS and Android.

William C.
Sales Engineer in US
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great for Personal Use

4 3 years ago

Comments: I am currently using the free version for personal task management. I use it to manage my employed work, a couple of small side businesses, and my personal life. It's perfect for that and way better than standard to-do lists because the Kanban format helps you stay focused on whats really important. I'm really happy with this software and would pay a small perpetual license for it, if I was forced to. However, I would not pay a monthly fee for it, because that licensing model for personal use would be too expensive over time vs. other 'free' solutions on the market.

Pros:

Very handy, full-featured Kanban tool with built-in to do list. Easy to move projects to tasks, tasks to projects, tasks to different lists or even other boards. I find tags to be really helpful... I often tag items as 'Important' and/or 'Urgent'. This software does what it's supposed to do very well, actually. Have not yet run into anything I would consider a bug, and seems to sync pretty well between my devices (Andriod phone, second laptop) at this point.

Cons:

There are some features I would like to see added. In order of importance to me: 1a) Ability to re-order todo list items in the My Tasks View 1b) Ability to resize the project screen sizes and list widths. Overall, the application display is just too big and wide for my tastes. I prefer consolidated screen sizes to condense as much info as possible into a single view and for my tastes, there is a lot of white space which creates significant left-to-right scrolling when using my laptop. 2) Would like to be able to set a default user for assignments. Those are the big near-term improvements for me, some other larger-scale features of interest would be.... Card Grouping like Leanit would be a great feature to have in a future release. Another feature I would like to see in the future would be integrated Gantt chart capabilities. I have this fantasy dream about a personal productivity software tool that integrates Kanban with card grouping, To-do lists, Gantt, MindMapping, and a lightweight financial projection module over time... all integrated together. I'm sure that would be a Herculean development effort, but one can dream!!

Scott F.
Director of IT in US
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Get Stuff Done!

5 3 years ago

Comments: I was really bad at managing my own time and tasks. I'm a small business owner AND a subcontractor not only for several companies directly, but also am available for hire as an IT consultant, so I have TONS of ways that tasks can come at me, and from many different people. I needed a way to organize this all, in one place, plus makes notes and attach files to tasks, and make things "more" than just a list. I played with several different platforms out there, but MeisterTask's layout, multiple application platforms and abilities spoke to me the loudest. At this point I am on-point AND on-task, and no longer forget to do things. In-fact, I often get compliments on how attentive I am to client needs! This is all thanks to MeisterTask.

Pros:

It's free, obviously that has to be the first HUGE pro. Sure, the free version has limits, and paid versions expand that, but for MOST people the free version works flawlessly. Another huge pro for me is that they have APPS for every system, not just mobile devices, or widgets for web browsers, but they have an actual program for Windows and for Mac too. So rather than tie up another browser window, I can have an actual program that I can have open and tracking my activities. I love the team collaboration features, which comes in REALLY handy for me connecting employers as a subcontractor. Another HUGE plus for me is integration with other apps, like GMail for one, allowing me to create tasks from emails and more.

Cons:

There is a fairly large gap in pricing and abilities between their different versions and plateaus, which is annoying to me. I also find the fact that they limit checklists in tasks as part of their free/paid features pretty petty.

Adam C.
Adam C.
Data Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Museums & Institutions, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great, Affordable Project Board for Teams

4 3 years ago

Comments: It's an easy-to-use tool for your entire team. The horizontal layout makes it easy to click and drag projects/tasks from one development stage to another (one board to another), trigger email alerts, and create checklists. That makes task organization easy for a team. We have around a dozen staff using MeisterTask, and they all love it.

Pros:

It's an incredible value for the features. We only need to pay monthly for our administrator account, and all our staff users are free. They don't get to create projects or add/change actions, but their day-to-day use of MeisterTask is free (e.g., creating and completing tasks/tickets, moving tasks around, adding checklists, etc.). I also love the integrations with other services like Zapier, which we use to allow creation of tasks via sending emails, and the MeisterTask plugin for Gmail, which lets you create tasks directly from your Inbox. This adds tons of value for our staff, who again are free users.

Cons:

I personally don't like task management that is laid out horizontally on boards (e.g., Trello). The board layout lacks a visual hierarchy that I prefer and see in other free/cheap task management products like ClickUp. Also, while you can upload and attach files to each task, you can't immediately download from the task. You have to wait while MeisterTask fetches them from wherever they are stored in the cloud. There's a short delay, and you need to refresh your browser page to see the notification that contains your download link. That's a slight annoyance.

Michael A.
Student in Germany
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Overall great app with only three areas of improvement

5 3 years ago

Comments: It helps me organize my daily tasks and not forget about tasks which I do not have a scheduled date for yet.

Pros:

What I like most about MeisterTask is its Graphical User Interface which is very appealing. It makes using the program very easy and enjoyable. Also, it is not clogged up with information so you always have a good idea at first glance regarding what you need to do and what you have already done.

Cons:

There are 3 things that I whish MeisterTask had: 1. Enhanced notification settings: The only thing that I found a bit frustrating when using Meistertask in a group project is that notifications are limited to the people asigned to a project or watching it. What would be helpful if there was an option where you could set notifications in a way that the entire group gets informed about all the activity. For example, we used one board as a notification board. So when there was information that the team leader wanted to give out to the entire group (so noone specifically) than he/she would post it there. Problem was, nobody was notified by meistertask about. That was one of the reasons why people in my group stopped using meistertask. So I strongly recommend that you enhance the notification settings. So that there are options where you can opt to be informed about everything that is happening on meister task. 2. Calendar: It would be great if there was a calendar which shows when you have scheduled your tasks. So if you set a deadline for a task that calendar should display it. That would just help with visualizing when certain tasks are due. Because now Im using another app as a calendar. Would be great if I could use meistertask for both. 3. Gantt Chart: Along with the point abovde a gantt chart would be nice too. So if there was an option to not only set a deadline but also a duration for a task. That can then be displayed in a gantt chart. That would be awesome.

Alternatives Considered: awork and Trello

Reasons for Switching to MeisterTask: Awork was a very close competitor but meistertask can be installed on my computer as a desktop app so advantage meistertask

Marcus H.
Customer and Communications Strategist in US
Education Management, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Maximizes Your Time, Minimizes the Learning Curve

5 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, the experience is wonderful. It relives stress rather than adding the stress of learning a new tool. I highly recommend it.

Pros:

Unlike other project management platforms, Meistertask is not only affordable, but it allows you to do more with their basic features which only amplify with one of the paid versions. Meistertask is not only a great tool to help speed up workflow, it is also highly intuitive. Even if you haven't used the platform before, you most likely will be up and running within 30 minutes. It's drag and drop interface is incredibly fast, east, and straight forward making it ideal for beginner and advanced users.

Cons:

The only issue that I have with the software is the lack of list view for the project workflow. I also would like to see calendar view of the current projects and not just in reporting view.

Alternatives Considered: Planning Center and Asana

Reasons for Choosing MeisterTask: Affordability, capabilities, and ease of use for casual computer users.

Switched From: Wrike

Reasons for Switching to MeisterTask: It beautifully combined the core features I needed into one place.