A great option for on-site ICT service desk management

Reviewed on 23/07/2019
Verified Reviewer
ICT Systems Coordinator
Music, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall we are very happy with Jira Service Desk; it has allowed us to provide a higher level of support to users than our previous service desk, and non-profit pricing was very beneficial for us. The software is usable in its default setup but we have found that there is still plenty of customisation that can be done if needed to suit more complex requirements.

Pros: I find the UI of Jira Service Desk very clean and modern compared to other service desks software on the market. Included with the service desk is a customisable user-facing portal for users to raise tickets in, which proved very popular with staff when raising tickets alongside traditional email tickets. Due to the way Jira splits service desks into different projects, we were able to create service desks for other departments in the organisation which helped improve productivity and workflow. There are some very useful and well-designed default reports included for ticket statistics (which can be used to keep management happy!). We found the default setup of Jira Service Desk fit our needs very well, but it is very easy to customise ticket workflows and other features to suit more complex needs.

Cons: For a service desk technician using Jira Service Desk the back-end UI for managing tickets can be a little overwhelming, however this can be fixed by editing the default workflows for tickets to hide not required information and details. The administration settings are somewhat unintuitively set out for system administrators, but once you get to grips with the layout it becomes easy enough to find what you need from the settings page. We found the instructions on the Atlassian website for setting up an external redirect with a custom URL in IIS a little sparse on detail, but a quick trip to the Atlassian forums cleared up any queries we had with the process.

JSD has a lot to offer, but requires a lot to learn

Reviewed on 21/08/2018
Jack P.
Software Support Specialist
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: JSD offers a lot for any company needing to maintain a service desk to manage the support requests it handles from its clients/customers. Because it is a Jira (Atalassian) product, it is most likely utilized along with other Jira tools, and plays quite well with those. Due to this integration aspect, thought, the layers of security necessitated within user settings requires a considerable amount of learning/training, which is not easily attained without paying for it from Atalassian. And, while I understand, respect (and even applaud) the market-oriented principle of this, it does seem a bit intentional that there are no reliable helps available outside of Atlassian (for example, any tutorials you will find on YouTube for assisting with certain user configs, settings, steps, etc. are applicable to much older versions of the software, and to a great extent, are not applicable to the current version). This would not be a negative aspect if Jira did a much better job at keeping their own internal (free) help docs, etc. up to date, so as to apply to the current version, as well. Instead, if one wants highly dependable "helps" it appears the best way to achieve that is to pay Atlassian for their training courses (at prices that are obviously calibrated toward larger companies/corporations. And blindly undertaking such would seem risky if judged by the extent to which their free user tools are kept up to date. This is not, to my knowledge, the common experience with most apps.

Pros: - Lots of tools in one place
- Integrates well with other apps (especially other Atlassian products)
- UI is clean and user friendly (customizable to a sensible extent)
- Contains useful metrics that are easy to configure and gain reports from
- Has multiple layers of user settings available for custom configuration to correlate to preferred levels of access among agents, customers, etc.

Cons: - Email bounce in frequently fails (bugs?)
- Depth of Jira admin user knowledge required for strong mastery of this app; time consuming to acquire a reliable user knowledge (which is necessary to utilize the app with the least bit of efficiency)
- Help docs, support mechanism unreliable/outdated (needs to be fresh and current to be applicable to present version of app)
- Confusing settings requirements for some user modifications needs (esp. where mapping/editing workflow schemes are concerned)
- Completely inadequate amount of general helps/tutorials available outside of Atlassian (YouTube, Google search, etc. for example) which seems a bit suppressed by design. Atlassian offers extensive training, but at a premium cost.
- Costly for the overall effectiveness it provides, after factoring these negatives along with the user time required to really learn the application.

Highly customizable and integrates well with the Atlassian ecosystem

Reviewed on 23/08/2017
Justin alex P.
Technology Consultant
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Customization, integrations, workflows, SLAs

Pros: Newbies to JIRA Service Desk can get a service desk project up and running in less than 30 minutes. If your organization is already using JIRA for issue tracking, then having a help desk with Service Desk is a no brainer. It allows you to integrate software teams and IT teams better within the same ecosystem. The benefit of JIRA Service Desk, when compared with other help desk tools, is the customizability of your workflow. You can set up a workflow to be simple (with Open > In Progress > Closed statuses) or complex (with other statuses like On Hold or Waiting for Customer). SLAs are highly configurable, with the power of JIRA's JQL functionality. So one can conjure up a query to fit their SLA needs. With the addition of custom fields, a Service Desk administrator can create fields to capture important information to streamline the help desk process. Having Confluence also provides more benefits in which you can integrate an existing knowledge base space to a help desk project and self-serve your customers. Finally, being in the Atlassian ecosystem enables you to add additional functionality and enhancements with the use of Apps. There are close to 1500 apps available for JIRA, and many are constantly updated by the app developers.

Cons: Administering JIRA Service Desk (and JIRA in general) can be daunting for a new user. With a number of customizations that one can do in a JIRA application, there will come a time where there can be a performance impact on the environment if the application is not governed well. The Customer Portal (customer facing interface) is spartan in terms of customization. You can only customize so much, but it is limited in terms of branding it to suit your company's design specs.

Best on premise

Reviewed on 19/11/2019
Andrea C.
ICT Solutions
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We use on premise version. Software administration can be burdensome for a small staff, updates and monitoring can require quite a lot of time. Price raised two times since first purchase. Apart from this, the tool has enabled us to precisely structure the service desk, reducing by 70% the number of phone calls and emails to better filled forms on the customer portal and the use of a chat addon.

Pros: - High Control
- Wide choices of features
- Confluence Integration
- Very rich suite of addons on premise version...

Cons: - ...which requires extra costs
- Some features are too basic and pretty much requires addons
- Learning Curve for admin requires effort

Best ticket system

Reviewed on 07/09/2019
Robert K.
Producer, Media Production Group
Media Production, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The business problem Jira service desk solves is allowing anyone to put in a request from a service department from one portal & be able to access that portal anywhere in the world and not just on our internal network.

Pros: Jira Service desk works great. We use it in a media company in all of the service departments to track requests from Media ingest, to graphic requests, to crew requests. Our producers can easily log in from anywhere and fill out customized forms for the type of service they are looking for. The department gets the request in seconds and can start fulfilling it right away. In a fast pace news world, this allows us to get what is needed for broadcast air done fast while keeping track of all the work we have to do.

Cons: There are some features that you would think would come right out of the box with jira service desk that doesn't. The only way to get them is to buy a plug-in from their market place. Some features that we would like to see is having the requester see who is assigned the order & allow them to request updates to their requests.

Unlike others, doesn't need complex configuration

Reviewed on 29/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Project Manager/Scrum Master
Market Research, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: With the help of Service Desk we get feedback from users about the bugs they find in the product. As the result, we fix them really fast. By adding fields that users need to add while submitting bug, we decrease time that is needed to reproduce bug or clarify the issue. Also, we can communicate with user directly if needed.
At the same time user can always get back and see status of ticket they submitted.
Also, it says a lot when you see Atlassian using its own product and using it really well.

Pros: When you use this application as an addition to JIRA, it is a great tandem. I adviced my company to use Service Desk when we were discussing how to receive bugs and ad-hoc requests. We are using this application fro several years and we do not think about changing it.

Cons: The only bad point that I can mention about Service Desk is its price. A lot of clients I worked with complained about it. They manage really carefully the number of users that are Agents (users you actually pay for), and get really upset if they were not carefull enough and their bill was higher then they expected.

Dig Deep Before Buying

Reviewed on 23/10/2018
Erik B.
VP, Product Development and Engineering
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It has solved some of our immediate business needs out-of-the-box or with moderate configuration effort. But as a full solution it is missing a handful of simple, but crucial, features. It definitely "feels" like a second version. It needs a third.

Pros: JSD is relatively intuitive and easy to learn without needing tons of documentation. Initial pricing is attractive. A decent plugin community fills some gaps, but be expected to pay on top of the initial JSD pricing.

Cons: Many "obvious" features are either missing or do not work as expected. For example: in many cases, once an internal user is added to an issue, they no longer receive notification about internal comments. This is completely unintuitive, unexpected, and has caused many people frustration: https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JSDSERVER-3410 Another example: Email traffic about an issue is *always* public. Do not allow your staff to reply to JSD's emails as customers will also get emailed a copy! https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JSDCLOUD-3499 The worst part is, despite there being a few years' of discussion, and new comments added monthly by newly-affected JSD customers, Atlassian has no comments on the issues. In some cases a plugin (more $) can help, but in some cases even the plugin manufacturers can't help as JSD doesn't expose enough info in their plugin API.

Excellent for big projects.

Reviewed on 12/03/2018
Gerson C.
Software developer
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: A very compelta application, useful for small and large teams, but more thought for the big ones, allows you to have a complete follow-up of your project, apply agile methodologies and correct errors and have a record of them, it is excellent, use it and you will like it!!

Pros: Jira has very useful tools for managing projects, in my opinion you exploit its advantages when they are big teams, its main advantage is the follow-up to the development and progress of the projects, the errors that arise during the development process and the management operational, it helps you see more, to improve development times and correct errors for your next project, also has free trials so you can enjoy its benefits.

Cons: The truth is that it is a very complete program, but I think your biggest benefit is when you are big projects, if you are a small team I think other tools will be better suited, besides the price is a bit high.

Powerful but confusing ticket manager

Reviewed on 28/06/2019
Peter W.
Web Developer
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Once we got our heads around the rather clunky and busy UI we've realized just how useful JIRA is.
It's now the Universities ticket manager of choice and is used by every member of support staff.
No other ticket manager (that we've found) comes close to the features offered by JIRA.

Pros: JIRA offers a huge amount of features, from simple support tickets to project workflow planning.
Our method of project management (agile) works brilliantly with this, we're able to assign work in 'Sprints' that match our real working week.
The ability to link JIRA with other 3rd party applications is excellent, we've integrated it with our content management system and QA / testing software.
The wide use of JIRA makes communicating with other organisations much easier, most support companies are at least registered here.

Cons: The pricing is rather expensive, its not too much of a problem for a large institution such as ours, but for smaller businesses this may be too much.
The user-interface and general layouts really aren't intuitive, for a new user it takes a while to get their head around the various features and processes. It took a few weeks for even the more experienced developers to get used to it.

JIRA Service desk is integral to our customer support, even though extensibility is a problem

Reviewed on 21/09/2017
Jonathan C.
Senior Software Engineer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I think my favorite feature is the internal comments. It's simple, but really helps to have a side conversation with your peers about an issue before commenting to the customer.

Cons: I'm also an Atlassian plugin developer, and the JIRA Service Desk Java API is pretty awful to work with compared to the APIs for JIRA Core and JIRA Software. That makes extending JIRA Service Desk way harder. I also don't quite like the stripped-down UI offered to customers through the customer portal. As a regular JIRA user, I resent missing features, like being unable to edit my own comments or being unable to see a preview of any rich text that I might add (such as *bolded* or _italicized_ words). I have also heard from my peers that SLA calculations are really tricky to get right, and often behave in ways you wouldn't expect.

From the Trusted Atlassian

Reviewed on 08/04/2019
Josemaria G.
Vice Director for External Affairs
E-Learning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: In a crowded space for helpdesk apps, Jira Service Desk stood out because of the company that backs it up, its family of related apps and, the current integrations with existing third-party apps out there. Jira SD is well worth trying out.

Pros: From the same company of my favorite and trusted apps like Trello and Jira... We then gave Jira Service Desk a try. The user interface has a modern look and feel and is intuitive enough even for a novice user or admin. It has a pretty standard set of tools to run your usual IT Helpdesk and Support roles straight out of the box (Incident management, Problem, Change, SLA management, etc.). In fact, you can set up your helpdesk well within an hour (of course not counting the per company nitty-gritty). Default setup works, but it's also super customizable based on your company needs. The Dashboard has all the at-a-glance metrics, statistics and graphs to keep you up to speed with the overall status. Again, coming from Atlassian, it has a ton of possibilities in terms of integration with other apps. I feel the constant stream of dev improvements and updates.

Cons: Even though I mentioned that the third party apps can be easily integrable, we find the documentation for creating one's own integration apps a bit lacking. Also, the creation of tickets can be more streamlined or simplified (perhaps with the minimum number of fields and button clicks) to make it easier or faster to create and then further details can follow.

Marketing Team Uses JIRA Service Desk to Handle All Requests for Marketing

Reviewed on 23/08/2017
Bill C.
Director of Marketing
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Our marketing team knows exactly the status of any request of our team. And so do the requesters.

Pros: JIRA Service Desk is a great way to enable everyone at our company to request things from Marketing with tailored forms for each type of request .... for example, business cards, collateral for events, changes to our website, updating sales enablement content, go-to-market support, schwag requests, etc. No more emailing stuff. Employees just fill out a form and can keep up with the status of their request. Our Marketing team just goes through each queue a few times a week and delivers a transparent and trackable service. We know the status of everything....especially the requests that are behind....waaay behind. Which is great.

Cons: It takes some expertise to set it up to suite a team's particular need. Most teams will need some JIRA/JIRA Service Desk expertise from someone to set it up. Once that happen, using it is easy.

Jira, Great Tool For Software Development, Task Estimations And Agile Implementation.

Reviewed on 29/03/2019
Christian R.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Our team uses JIRA Software to manage Weekly sprints with Clients using the Agile Solution methodology and it satisfies our expectations. Tasks and deadlines are set in a way that we can work organized and efficient. It was easy to set up and customize for our purposes. We deliver our tasks at the expected time thanks to the work distribution.

Pros: Jira looks design exactly for Agile methodology implementation. You can plan sprint runs for projects and as you know "To complete something you should set a Date for it". The board is very clear and easy to interact with. All tasks are saved in the backlog and considered while sprint planning so it's easy to distribute the tasks through a team.

Cons: When you start a sprint tickets cannot be moved freely until you enter the ticket and set manually "Begin to Development

Accelerate Processes with Approval / Reject

Reviewed on 17/06/2019
Verified Reviewer
Software test enginner
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Some requests must be approved by a manager before they can be worked on and completed before they are involved in the business process or before moving on to the next stage. For example; the administrator can approve the withdrawal request, the IT officer can approve the closure of this user's accounts, and the process can proceed within the approval-rejection stages. The Approval-Reject feature allows the authorized persons in your organization to grant the necessary permission for the job to be performed or to proceed to the next step. Jira Service Desk provides us with this feature without the need to become an agent user. The person must be one of the users of Jira Service Desk, Jira Software, or Jira Core.

Cons: The Jira Service desk module needs to get better. ok it works but lacks a number of simple features. for example, you can link a customer request to an internal issue, but the customer cannot see it. the other problem is that the interface is very calm. Very little interface customization option.

A no brainier for non profits

Reviewed on 24/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Head of ICT
Music, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: In the short time I've been using Jira Service Desk I've been impressed with the scope and capability and think that with the right amount of time invested into getting this setup properly it will do a fantastic job

Pros: I've been trying loads of service desk solutions recently and while i'm still not 100% convinced on which one to settle with, Jira Service Desk is pretty high up on the list. Firstly, they offer a on premise version as well as (the more easy to setup) cloud solution. This is great for those that prefer to host their own solutions. Secondly, this on premise version is also free for non profits which makes Jira Service desk a much more viable solution than some of the other options available. The integration with confluence allows you to build out a deep self service portal, which in theory will reduce tickets. Again, this was easier to setup in the cloud version, but is also free for non profits. It seems to tick all the boxes for an ITIL service desk, which is great.

Cons: It is missing some core features which other solutions provide out of the box, most noticeably asset tracking. While this can be accomplished via plugins, it would be nice if it just existed within the core application.

Mostly excellent.

Reviewed on 23/08/2017
Lacey C.
Technology Consultant
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: JIRA Service Desk is a customer-first application. The integration with the Confluence knowledge base is excellent and the tool as a whole provides a streamlined, dead simple customer experience. Launching your first project only takes about a week--very speedy return on investment! There are tons of add-ons in the Atlassian ecosystem that help extend functionality if there's something the tool won't do out-of-the-box. Atlassian support has been responsive and helpful every time I've had to reach out to them.

Cons: JIRA Service Desk is not an all-encompassing solution for all things help desk or customer support. Language support for the customer portal is OK, but basically non-existent if you're using a linked Confluence knowledge base. There are many add-ons in the ecosystem that help extend functionality--but each one increases the complexity and maintenance overhead.

Up and running in no time

Reviewed on 21/09/2017
Henrik B.
Business Developer
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Less pinging back an forth with customers to get all the information you need to help them. Easy to use form fields and form instructions make sure customers always fill out the right information from the start.
No decisions made in endless email threads that then get lost. Communication is in context and visible to everyone involved.

Pros: Supports agile implementation since it its real easy to get started and adjust as you go.
Escalation is seamless since it is inside JIRA where our developers work.
Great user experience! Clean user interface and well thought trough features.
Easy to integrate and extend with the most complete API on the market.

Cons: No dynamic forms, i.e. you can show or hide fields depending on the answer given in another field (but can be solved through add-on).

Love the tool! it is newer product with evolving capabilities.

Reviewed on 14/08/2017
Christian R.
Sr. Product Managers
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Teams can manage their own service desk:
- Can manage own fields
- Can manage own workflows
- Can Manage and Create own services

Pros: Individual teams can setup their own customer portals and service offerings without having special permissions. Our Teams are moving from our current Service desks products to Atlassian organically based on their experience (no company mandate)

Cons: There is no built in knowledge base to the product, you need to use Atlassian's confluence. additionally, Knowledge bases are linked 1 to 1 to a service desk project for how our organization works. The base product is limited and need to use 3rd party plugins from the atlassian marketplace to provide capabilities that are standard with most other products.

Jira Service Desk Review

Reviewed on 05/11/2018
Christa C.
Technical Support
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It is an excellent ticketing system, easy to use, and track incidents.

Pros: I used this software when I worked on a technical support help desk. I liked that the dashboard functionality and the ability to customize your view. There is a variety of widgets that are supported that assist with efficiency.

Cons: Our company worked with a separate company that also utilized this product. We created separate incidents in both systems if their assistance was needed. We noted each ticket with the relationship to the other's Jira system. While working in two systems was a con in regards to ease of use, this is not a fault of the software itself as there are obvious security issues in linking two companies together.

A Great App With Some Annoying Flaws

Reviewed on 11/08/2017
Cooper H.
IT Helpdesk Technician
Marketing & Advertising, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall, Jira Service Desk provides a well rounded package for anyone looking to build a customer portal for helpdesk-type teams. It's an excellent choice if your company is already using Jira Software or Jira Business because the use workflow and editing workflow are very familiar and are one in the same for many things (e.g. Workflows & Screens)

Pros: - Adds helpful features that Jira Software doesn't support
- Clean customer portal that allows for easy(ish) ticket creation
- Integrates with Confluence to provide helpful articles to customers
- Customizable time tracking SLAs with support for custom calenders and start/pause/stop automation

Cons: - The editing workflow is confusing and spread out
- Lacks some common features that Jira Software had included for years (e.g removing email signatures from email-submitted tickets and comments)
- Requires expensive add on to group multiple projects into one queue

Visibility made easy :-)

Reviewed on 08/09/2017
Paskal G.
Customer Integration Lead
Logistics & Supply Chain, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Handling of issues
Visibility of issues
Service Desk reporting
Change Request management and identifying the priorities in developments

Pros: Level of functionality available and the level of detail is fantastic and easily configured. I managed to completely configure on my own with the use of the articles in the kb and minimal support from Atlassian.

Cons: Difficult to completely personalize for my company completely as i am on cloud version. As an example it is not possible to have email sender not have atlassian in the email address or to make the look and feel 100% as i want it to be. Can also get a little overwhelming with the amount of add-ons to get the functionality you want for the price you want.

We have been using the Jira service desk for a couple of years - easy to get setup and started with

Reviewed on 16/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
Co Founder / Project Management
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The Jira Support Desk provides relatively straightforward integration with other Atlassian tools such as Bitbucket, Confluence and Tempo - we are ably to scope our support effort, track the resources expended and provide timely insight.

Pros: The best part of the package is the ease of implementation, particularly the hosted subscription - no worries about hardware, security or backups!

Cons: For the subscription implementation, there are occasionally changes made by the vendor for maintenance or security reasons without clear advance notification or a complete understanding of the impacts. As with any SaaS solution, vendor changes can be disruptive - even sometimes deprecating used features.

Jira Service Desk is great for internal OR external teams.

Reviewed on 30/04/2019
Kevin C.
Project Manager
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall, I would highly recommend Jira Service desk for two use cases: (1) when teams are working with outside customers; (2) when teams are working internally, but with users that are averse to diving into Atlassian's ecosystem.

Pros: - Submitting a ticket is done through a form with a great UI.
- Setting up submission forms is relatively easy and highly customizable
- Ticket management can be customized, ensuring producers only see relevant information
- As a producer, you'll have the option to share information internally or externally with the customer
- SLAs are built into each request type
- As with all things Jira, the reporting is fairly robust

Cons: - One of the biggest downsides of Service Desk is that it does not yet support a kanban board. To that end, ticket management is done through a queue system.
- Some essential automation is limited within the JQL - automation that is consistent in a Jira software project.

Service Desk, a great intake tool for Jira

Reviewed on 05/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
Helpdesk Support Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We needed a way to take in user issues and then sort them into the teams that need to handle them. Service desk provides a great interface for our current issue tracking system, so it was a no-brainer.

Pros: We use this software as a front-facing user portal to submit bugs, hardware issues, service requests, etc. I find that it performs this task admirably.

Cons: The system for queueing things is clunky until you figure out it's features, then it's a little slow. I would love the ability to define custom actions on the issue page to remove multiple click issue transitions, like 'transfer to x project'

Industry benchmark tools but prepare well before you begin

Reviewed on 03/03/2019
Tim R.
Special Projects Officer
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: This is a love and hate affair. Service Desk is extraordinary software and its capabilities broad. But it's not for the faint of heart. If we could start over we'd pause to learn, then plan, and plan very carefully. This is a project, not something you setup in your afternoon following a lunch break. And with any project, its success is measured in its planning. But learn Service Desk before planning because with the knowledge of what it's truly capable of, you'll be able to build a very powerful service desk solution. My only gripe is that it's not intuitive. We work amongst high level developers who also fumble their way around Service Desk, taking way too long to find what they need. There are workarounds such as bookmarking key screens, but without this approach you easily become lost in the deep levels of available screens and admin areas. Navigation is too complex.

Pros: Service Desk's strengths are also its Achilles heel if you don't plan carefully. It's tremendously complex but powerful.

Cons: Configuring Service Desk is by no means a simple feat. This is complex software that requires careful planning. I would strongly suggest you approach Service Desk this way: study the documentation first, write/draw a plan of what you need to achieve and how you need it to look (back and front) and perform. Planning is crucial to avoiding chasing your tail in the days/weeks that follow initial project build.