Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About N-central

The N-able N-central® remote monitoring and management platform is designed to make managing complex IT networks simple.

Learn more about N-central

Showing 36 reviews

Verified Reviewer
System Engineer/Account Manager
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2018

"Best RMM Tool for MSP's!"

Comments: Getting Solarwinds N-central setup can take some time if you want more than just out of the box. I recommend learning about all the features and functionality before engineering your N-central setup. Overall, another great product from Solarwinds!

Pros: We switched over to Solarwinds N-central several year ago now and could not be happier. The web interface is filled with tons of features. It has helped us streamline our managed services processes. Their custom automation manager allows for us to create custom monitors and custom auto-heal actions for our monitors. The patch management feature is far superior compared to any other platform I have used. They are partnered with BitDefender offering an integrated AV solution providing a true complete RMM solution. Their remote connect tool called MSP Connect has been the best and smoothest tool I have used for remote access. The possibilities are endless with how you can configure and setup N-central.

Cons: I have no complaints about Solarwinds N-central!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2018
Joshua G.
Director
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2019

"A solid RMM tool that represents a great value option"

Comments: NCentral slots well into its place as our RMM and allows us to manage and monitor most of what we need for customers.

Pros: Having come from one of the more expensive competitors in the RMM space, not only was I sold on NCentral's features and automation capabilities, but the pricing for perpetual licencing was quite attractive.

Cons: Custom reporting requires expertise and may not be accessible to everyone. We also do need to use additional tools outside NCentral to get a full picture of Networks.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
Chief Operating Officer, and HIPAA Privacy Officer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018

"After using it for 3 years, N-Able was a frustrating experience"

Comments: Easier control of our client's PCs, and easy management of thousands of devices. Increased efficiency in the office.

Pros: N-Able/N-Central gives you the ability to remote control devices and perform scripts and tasks without disrupting the end user. Additionally, you can deploy antivirus, schedule installations for off-hours, and many other useful tools.

Cons: They claim Mac monitoring support, yet it isn't updated to stay compatible with newer Mac OS's. Also, scripts on Macs were unreliable, and many features that applied to PCs are missing. Not just a couple, but most. It seems like you can only do SMTP monitoring on the mac, at least in the version I used which was 9.5. Also, the support was really poor. It took days to get to resolution on critical alerts or monitoring issues. Also, I want to warn any potential buyer that when N_able performs agent updates, it's possible to lose all of the connectivity of your agents. This happened to us, and it took 3 days for support to help us with it. We had a backup, thankfully, and eventually they pushed out a hotfix to allow that update to work. I also had the on-premise server, but we had no way to log into the server or monitor it in any way. It was a Linux server. But, it was our server - we owned it. The risk of failure seemed much too large for a system built on an OS that we don't know very well. Finally, the sales tactics are incredibly strong. Every time you talk to your account manager, which feels like it's weekly, you get pushed into watching a demo, and they don't really leave you alone.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018
Francois B.
DBA
Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018

"Better front-end then back-end"

Comments: Used on a daily basis for monitoring, very useful.

Pros: Great tool for network monitoring, good at what it's built for.

Cons: The back-end structure is horrible, adding indexes barely helps because new tables are added on a per-day basis instead of being merged all together with a date field for filtering (Looks like a bad case of textfile port to SQL, ridiculous and not so great for performance).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2018
Jonathan M.
I.T. Manager
Farming, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/11/2018

"Very powerful device management system."

Comments: Overall we are very happy with this solution.

Pros: This solution does everything we need and more. We haven't even made it too deep into its feature and already are glad we purchased.

Cons: It is very time consuming to get it working the way you want but once you do it is great.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/11/2018
Danny P.
Sr Technical Lead
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/03/2016

"Need a RMM for managed services? This is the tool to use"

Comments: Nable (now backed by solarwinds) understands the manage it services business. They understand the business side as well as the technical side. As a user who came from 2 other platforms, we think we found a home.
Asset management, AV, patch management has greatly improved, and they are only dumping more research and development into the product. in 2015, they grew and support did suffer, but they have made a tremendous effort in improving it.
They listen to their partners and do the best to accommodate everything they can. I would recommend this product to other MSPs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/03/2016
Verified Reviewer
Manager Service Desk
Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2018

"SolarWinds Monitors Your Stuff"

Pros: I like the easily setup ability to monitor systems and send alerts when things go awry.

Cons: There are some features missing that other product offer like calling or texting you when there is an alert.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
Systems Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2019

"It works well most of the time, however..."

Comments: SolarWinds is turning into a VERY large company. This is great as they get the cash flow to perform R&D and bring some interesting products and tools to the table, HOWEVER, this means they are reaching the point where one hand is not talking to another, products are becoming "designed by committee" and other issues that can be resolved with improved internal communication.

Pros: Working for an MSP this is a very feature-rich product for remote control, remote monitoring, deploying and monitoring Anti-Virus, and some backup features (However I DO NOT recommenced the ArcServe-based product.)

Cons: -Support has been very hit or miss and lately they have fallen into the "Miss" category
-We had an issue where monitored services of a device were disappearing. After opening a ticket with SolarWinds support they informed me that the software cannot properly track how/why these services were disappearing from devices. This lead to at least 2 events where monitored hard drives were not longer being monitored, we were not made aware of it, the drives filled up, and services crashed
-Product names keep being changed and we are not immediately made aware of it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2019
George A.
Lead technician
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2019

"N-central is very useful for managing a large amount of Customer PCs"

Comments: For the most part N-central helps me greatly in managing, backing up, and remotely logging into client PCs. if a few little kinks were ironed out of the system and previously mentioned patch management issue were resolved I would have no complaints at all. The on-boarding and setup process could possibly be made a little simpler with a default setup / template but that may be something that other users would not want depending on their configuration.

Pros: N-central makes it easy to deploy a "probe" to one server on a domain and then with the correct credintials deploy the client to all of the rest of the domain connected PCs automatically(scary virus like automatically).

Cons: I hate that every time I get all of the patches approved and working in the n-central patch management it seems i come back a week-month later and they have made an update that breaks the patch management and i am getting warnings that patches are not installing. If the patch management had default patch all / patch important things only profiles that worked 100% of the time i would be very satisfied with N-Central.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2019
Rob R.
CTO
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2020

"Great platform, but not good for smaller MSPs"

Comments: From a technical standpoint, this platform can't be beat. From a business standpoint, they are a nightmare. Whether or not it is a good fit for you will depend upon your business model and how you structure your contracts and billing.

Pros: It does everything you can think of. Probably the premiere RMM solution on the market.

Cons: The pricing and licensing model is terrible. Every added option has a cost. This makes it very difficult to cost price for taking on new customers. If you dynamically bill your clients, you will get a lot of calls about the volatility in billing due to Solarwinds billing you for so many options. It was way better when they were just N-Able and not owned by Solarwinds.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2020
Chris M.
Chris M.
IT Consultant/Senior Desktop Support/Windows Server Administrator/Network Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/01/2019

"N-Central is a great tool in a bad package"

Comments: Love that I can drop a probe on a clients network and scan and find all devices in that network. The remote agent is great, allows me to remote into any device easily if it has the agent on it. Monitoring is fine, but no real dashboards, and it is about 10 to 20 minutes behind. If you are watching the dashboard and see a device is offline, you are already 20 minutes late. It's not the prettiest, but it does a good job.

Pros: Remote agent feature is great. Software inventory and license monitoring is great. Once you learn it, it works great.

Cons: Dashboard for monitoring is not real time. Steep learning curve. Very counter-intuitive on instructions. Figuring out thresholds for alerting can be difficult.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/01/2019
Richard C.
Managing Consultant
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2017

"Product is feature-rich, but documentation and support are both very poor."

Pros: The product has a ton of features, and contains hooks into a number of other products. To borrow from Gartner's magic quadrant, the vision for the product is excellent (but the execution is highly flawed).

Cons: 1. Documentation is poor.
2. Support is poor.
3. Product is not remotely intuitive.
4. Many features are poorly implemented.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2017
Darell B.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2021

"N Central good tool for Remote Monitoring"

Comments: Almost any network bottleneck or unpatched, computer system or server can be monitored and fixed along with knowing what devices are connected or have been connected to your network which is crucial for any network audit

Pros: Very good organizational structure to keep your systems patched and secure. Straight foreword software to remote into your customers network or systems to keep an eye on security and optimal running network and systems for your organizations.

Cons: Billing Feature is hard to pay monthly to use Service, seems they could come up with better system so you could pay on time you have to go through support and they transfer you to billing and long wait time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2021
Verified Reviewer
Network Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2018

"N-central makes it easy to manage your IT environment"

Pros: It does great showing the status of your servers and network devices.

Cons: It can be noisy with alert email and adding SNMP OID can be a chore.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2018
Ger M.
Systems Engineer
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/05/2018

"Support team give incorrect advise when upgrading causing an issue. Worst support ever!"

Comments: monitoring

Pros: when it works it does the job. agent communicate ok, prob does rest of work. 90% of the values in thresholds are correct

Cons: Support pushed us into an upgrade, we followed full documentation and also confirmed functionality with them, then after failure they admitted that what they told us was incorrect and worst of all didn't help resolve. 2 weeks later and still not resolved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
eCommerce Account Manager
Pharmaceuticals, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2019

"Not as Great as i would have hoped."

Pros: Many Feature in one place. Lots of Data collected from your machines.

Cons: anti virus console is limited.
remote control is not great.
reporting is slow.
very busy interface and not that simple.
i find its a glorified version of spiceworks.

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds MSP on 21/10/2019

Thanks for the feedback - those are core areas of the N-central product that we are constantly improving.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2019
Kristen R.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/11/2016

"Great Managed Services Software"

Comments: N-Central is a great managed services tool to monitor devices when they go down, push down patching, remote into devices and run reports. Since system is web-based it is a great way for an IT person to work remotely without being logged into a VPN client of some sort.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/11/2016
Devon F.
Devon F.
IT Technician
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2018

"IT engineer review"

Comments: Has helped me immensly as an IT engineer and allowed me to maintain and improve my environment

Pros: Great control of an entire network. easy RDP tools and detailed stats. Great customised reports.big fan of the product as a whole and many functions to use within an IT industry

Cons: difficult to implement at first. the support is good but i would like a more interactive support like calling in as the IM is abit tedious. the patch management needs to be simplified abit more. license compliance report is extremely confusing. Just an overall easier UI. Would be nice if you could integrate live graph monitoring to drill down into devices and IPs over a firewall etc. essentially you do have the NPM but that needs to be intergrated in nCentral then i would procure it. thus we can have a monitoring team and throw it on the screen. right now the alerts from SNMP is great but is difficult to drill into and shut down rogue devices etc

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2018
Elias P.
Centralized Services Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/04/2021

"Powerful RMM Tool, Reporting Can Be Improved"

Comments: Overall, we have been very happy with the product. It does require some investment in configuration, but that investment allows for a very powerful product. I have been extremely impressed with N-Central management's willingness to help ensure our deployment is successful.

Pros: N-Central is very powerful and customizable. Configuration is very granular and allows experienced administrators to configure almost limitless monitoring. N-Central staff has gone above and beyond what was expected to make sure our deployment is successful.

Cons: Reporting could be improved. The reporting interface is very basic and requires a separate Microsoft Windows SQL server to use. From speaking with contacts at N-Central, this system is planned to be replaced in the very near future.

Alternatives Considered: ConnectWise Automate

Reasons for Choosing N-central: After being sold to a venture capital firm, Kaseya support had been lacking. Additionally, the product improvements began to suffer at that time.

Switched From: Kaseya VSA

Reasons for Switching to N-central: N-Central proved to be a much more customizable product than Automate. Our previous experience with ConnectWise support led to skepticism about the level of support that would be provided.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/04/2021
Verified Reviewer
Director of Operations Managed Services
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2019

"Good Product"

Comments: Overall I would recommend the product as it has been very beneficial for our company. To get the full use of the product, you'll need to dedicate a resource to managing the platform so that they can learn the various ins/outs of the product.

Pros: It's a good product once you get through the learning curve. The product admins are eager to make the product more effective and efficient at helping you manage your client's networks.

Cons: Support is frustrating to deal with at the initial levels. If you can get past the L1 technicians in your support case, it is usually pretty good but it will take some work to get the case escalated. Product development is pretty slow as it often takes several releases that are 'coming' to make it into the product. And then the first iteration of the new feature usually isn't fully developed and will take another release or two to be fully functional.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2019
Al B.
Owner
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2016

"Coming from a break fix one man show consulting business model, N-able was a game changer"

Comments: As a novice to the MSP world N-able gave me the tools to make a successful start. We have been using the system for a year and just renewed our licensing tripling our original license levels. I could have used some help on the business side marketing these new services to my existing client base which might have made the transition happen more quickly and smoothly. I found the on-boarding schedule of 5 1hr. sessions helpful in exposing me to the extent of N-Central's capabilities. Support has been probably the weakest attribute of this organization and we hope that N-able follows through on their promise to improve this part of their business. I recommended any consultant or organization still doing break fix to look at this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2016
Jerry H.
Client Services Manager
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2016

"N-Central is the core application to our service delivery."

Comments: We have used N-Able's N-Central product for over 10 years and it has become the central application in our service delivery and support model. As we have continued to grow in clients and supported network devices, N-Able has continued to improve and add features to N-Central.
Over the years we have evaluated other RMM tools, but have found that N-Central is a competitive product and in most cases is setting the standard for RMM tools. Now since N-Able is part of SolarWinds, N-Central has remained a valuable tool that has seen some very cool enhancements.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2016
Michael C.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/06/2021

"A convoluted , complicated platform"

Comments: $10,000 up front, high monthly maintenance fees
Terrible tech support.

Pros: Nothing really, it frustrated me , until we found Datto , amazing company

Cons: never really used it , couldn't get it to work properly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/06/2021
Karl B.
Owner
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2016

"Lack of support"

Comments: I have used this product for over a year. Not what I had hoped it to be. We just moved from the cloud option to on premise, and over 2 weeks and we still can't get the report manager installed and working. It takes 6-8hrs before they get back with us. Looking for other RMM now to replace N-Central.
Karl Backs

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Simon M.
System Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/03/2019

"Great product, but some limitations"

Comments: I have used many RMM tools over the years, and found that N-Central is a great product, but it has some limitations in that the remote control happens through a cloud service and not directly to the server, and configuring monitors to monitor logs doesnt work as expected or is not available.
Support is great and responsive and the staff know the product well.

Pros: Nice interface with LOTS of features. Fast remote access with lots of control options.

Cons: Sometimes the Take Control access intermittently doesnt work for no reason. Event logs and log parsing is difficult to configure and doesnt quite work as expected.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/03/2019