15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About eXo Platform

eXo platform is a digital workplace solution that helps your teams collaborate on their daily activities.

Learn more about eXo Platform

Pros:

Great integration, loving the open source and overall integration.

Cons:

In the beginning, when we start working on Exo Platform, it service is quite slow. Another issue is that when one wants to extract data from data base, it is not that much flexible.

eXo Platform ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

eXo Platform has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 118 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used eXo Platform before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (118)

Òscar
Òscar
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Your open source enterprise social network

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: This great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some Features: 1. Microblogging and Activity Streams
Activity Stream displays text messages or multimedia content posted by employees , customers, suppliers. It is where you'll find all your company's activity.
2. Document Management
Take advantage of version history, rollbacks, votes, comments and more. It lets you store files in a private and secure environment, in other business systems like SharePoint, or in other cloud storage solutions, such as Google Drive or CMIS repositories.
3. Knowledge Management
Wikis, Forums, Calendar, Answers & FAQ
4.- Profile Management
It's possible to manage and organize all the contacts in your organization in a single directory, together with information on their professional profile.
5.- Groups
Create your own collaboration spaces complete with dashboards, discussion forums, wikis, calendars, and documents. Allow any user to create a collaborative space and invite other users to join with different permissions according to roles
6.- Search
eXo includes an ElasticSearch based search tool segmented according to the sections and contents in your intranet, indexing other contents published by other systems, making it a federated search tool for your organization's entire knowledge base.
7. Add-ons Marketplace
Apart from its native features, you can also integrate eXo with other business applications, productivity tools like BonitaBPM, JasperReports Server, etc.
8.- Mobile
Native iOS and Android app.
The Cons:

Pros:

eXo is an Enterprise Social Network that will improve productivity across the board in all members of the company. It's very feature rich so if you want your organization's knowledge, private, secure and organized then you have to try it!

Cons:

We not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification).

Junior
Junior
Senior System Analyst
Verified LinkedIn User
, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Everything you need for building a social network niche in on place

4.0 10 years ago

Comments: I have been worked on a personal project where I intend to create a niche of social network. I looked for frameworks available on the market that could provide a complete infrastructure to run out my business and I found it at eXo. EXO plataform provides all basic features for developing a niche of social network, such as authentication, active streams and others features you can imagine for a social network. Particulary, one of the reasons I have decided by using of eXo is because it is written in Java, basically ( JSP - you can extend to JSF, Juzu ...) and works over portlets, i.e., you can built modules and apply them over your portal. If you are looking for a framework for build a social network I strongly recomends you at least do a trial with eXo before going deep into your project.

Pros:

- Documentation; - Active community, I've got answers for all questions I've done at eXo forum; - Customizable portal; - You don't need touch any line of code to launch a social network;

Cons:

- Server is too slow during start up, I believe that is due to the amount the packages that it have to load; - No so flexible for extracting data from database. EXO uses JCR (Java Common Repository), i.e., you will need to use an API to extract data

eXo Response

10 years ago

Thank you for the detailed review! Your feedback is very much appreciated. Let us know on eXo Community when you project is live and make sure to connect with us if you have further questions but it looks like you are already an active forum user :)

Inemesit
Contributor in Nigeria
Writing & Editing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Incredible

3.0 last month New

Comments: I love the fact that exo is so transparent and they provide opportunity for earning

Pros:

Exo Platform is so organized and their task is understandable.

Cons:

I don't like the the fact that i have to be logging to exo through meeds. I think having a direct link will help.

Michael Saviour
Michael Saviour
Contributor in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

eXo a platform to identify with

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

The eXo Platform has revolutionized remote collaboration by providing real-time tools like video conferencing and instant messaging, ensuring connectivity and productivity, regardless of geographical locations.

Cons:

I must said its hard to tell because eXo is know for accuracy.

Essienubong
Essienubong
Contributor in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Networking, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Exceeding Expectations

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

eXo Platform shattered the mold of traditional digital workplaces. It's an all-in-one solution offering a robust intranet, seamless collaboration tools, and a secure document sharing environment. eXo Platform is a versatile and user-friendly platform that grows with our needs.

Cons:

We needed a digital workplace that was powerful yet user-friendly. eXo Platform delivered! This comprehensive solution goes beyond the basics, providing a robust intranet, collaborative tools, and secure document sharing. The seamless integration with eXo platform ensures a smooth transition for our team. eXo Platform is a versatile and adaptable choice for any organization seeking a user-friendly digital workplace.

Dyon
Manager in Nigeria
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easily accessible and User friendly

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: exo platform have educate me in various aspect of life

Pros:

The most thing i really admired in exo is the article writing

Cons:

Video making is what have come across as the least thing

owoeye
Financial stability in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

This app is great for people doing online business

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

They are so cool and I love there futures

Cons:

Improve the loading network and dashboard menu

Abasiikpuhe
Abasiikpuhe
Researcher in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Writing & Editing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Satisfying and superb!

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Joining the eXo Platform has been a great panacea. I feel safe saving my business documents with them.
I have also gained knowledge from chatting with professionals on the platform.

Pros:

eXo Platform is a definition of excellent organization and coordination.

Cons:

Currently, there is nothing I dislike about eXo platform.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Swift and easy usability

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

It's an amazing platform which I have fallen in love with, the engagement is top notch.

Cons:

It's quite awesome for me for now as I experience no difficulty or discomfort yet.

Kenneth
Resident Enginer in Nigeria
Civil Engineering, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Platform Intergerity

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

The interface and the protocol. User friendly

Cons:

There is an opportunity to grow in the community network and decentralized platform

Paolo
developer in Italy
Information Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My pros and cons for e

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I've been working with eXo platform for over a year and a half.
I've been discovering its features, its qualities and the points to be improved in order to create a custom portal with customizations.
Mostly, I consider it as a very good social platform, with a lot of ready-to-use modules and features, like chat, documents, notifications, web calls. Everything is made up in order to be scaled and configured in different environments and techniques.
I enjoyed eXo very much, as I enjoyed its special and very kind team, with whom I still talk on Skype or other instant messages services. Even, the latest updates, version 5, are bringing a lot of features and bug fixing!

Pros:

A lot of features, easy to customize and improve. very good social platform, with a lot of ready-to-use modules and features, like chat, documents, notifications, web calls. Everything is made up in order to be scaled and configured in different environments and techniques. very kind team Even, the latest updates, version 5, are bringing a lot of features and bug fixing!

Cons:

maybe all the deploying part could be improved, looking for example to other new tools that spend only few seconds in order to deploy or redeploy (modules) the whole app. multitenanting, at least for my experience

hani
project management in Iran
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

social enterprise system

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I've been working with eXo platform for 6 months. we use this platform as a social collaboration place for an Industrial Association.
we use community edition for free with a lot of ready-to-use  features (like profile, forum,work spaces, wiki, document mng.)
 
documentation is useful feature for us. its a Knowledge Management system (KMS) that provide content mng., advance search, tagging and full-txt search. it enables content sharing through our community.
spaces provide a virtual place for team work. this application allows you Collaborate on a topic or project with other users. you could have private Document Management , wiki or forum in each space.
eXo has a great administration pane that let you manage users and define group and permission. creating customized pages and site is easy for admin. 
as an JAVA opensource platform you could customize every thing. we did a lot of changes in profile and run some of our services on it.
translating eXo was a great and new experience for me. Crowdin Platform is used for managing eXo translations, so you could submit and develop new translation by help of others. Finally the support team is great!

Pros:

it's a java based opensource with great ready to use feature that could be use as a social enterprise system

Cons:

it takes a lot of time for our developers to customize some of it features. but finally we did it...

Oscar
CEO in Spain
Information Technology & Services
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Your open source enterprise social network

5.0 8 years ago

Pros:

Open Source software and a good knowledge management system are mandatory nowadays. eXo is a social collaboration platform packed with a lot of features for organizations wanting to add a social dimension to their existing information system or build a social intranet.

Cons:

eXo Platform creates real business value as it enables faster communication and better decision making across our whole organisation but it's difficult to engage employees without help.

Habib
Developer in France
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good experience

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Fairly quick roll out, takes only a few days to work out the interface and be able to do what one would want to do. Reliable and fairly quick support on tribe.

Cons:

it is just a tool, you make of it what you want. could backfire if the team using it is not serious. I've seen similar software turn into memes-gifs platform at work for employees.

Jean
Director of Operations
Information Technology & Services
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Replacing many with a single solution

4.0 8 years ago

Pros:

The software allows me to replace many solutions with a single integrated nice platform. I like the openness of the vendor is one of the biggest positive point for the choice I've made.

Cons:

So far the product has been perfect for my needs, and we're able to replace not only the social network platform, but file archival and search mechanisms.

Hideki
Senior Specialist, Business Development in Japan
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Comprehensive tool!

4.0 8 years ago

Pros:

Comprehensive functionality for the enterprise social tool.

Cons:

eXo is a company with creativity and very friendly.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Broad features

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: eXo offers a great number of features out of the box. The user interface is well designed. It's easy to know what tasks are available under each section. Learning the system and interface is simple process. The "Tribe Pulse" section does an excellent job displaying popular content and other analytic data. This is perfect for checking up on the adoption rate of your intranet.

eXo Response

9 years ago

Thank you for the detailed review! Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Russ
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Amazing

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: I am a huge fan of eXo Platform. The software is the easiest to install and use, from the install/admin side, as well as fluid from the user's perspective. Many of my staff where this has been implemented have an aversion to computers, but they were able to pick up interacting with eXo easily. I would recommend this to anyone who manages an intranet or needs a collaboration suite.

Aron Berman
Aron Berman
EBS Associate Consultant in Indonesia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Exo Platform is very Great and Usefull

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: Exo platform is a great appliacation. With all of the collaboration features and easy to install and configure. This application is very helpful for collaboration jobs in small until big company. This application is also very helpful for educational institution.

Michal
Michal
IT Manager in UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Fantastic platform, intranet and professional social media under one roof

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: Pros:
This is a very easy to use platform.
You can try it around in the environment called EXO Tribe - good for a test drive.
Flexible deployment.
Document Management
Knowledge Management
Cons:
Haven't found yet so far.

Daniel
Intern
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

The best so far

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: I have been using for company issues, and it has improved greatly our hability to solve problems and comunication!

Pros:

Simple use, simple integration and beautiful looking.

Dietmar
Head of Infrastructure in Germany
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

eXo Platform social business media

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: eXo is a combination of chat, wiki, document store and other powerful solutions.
All in one wonderful platform. Helps you to keep in touch with your team and collegues,
regardless where they are located.

Varun
Varun
Student in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Impressive!

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: There's a free version of eXo which comes with all the features. Couple that with a very supportive community and you get the best deal ever!
Pros: extensive free version
Cons: none!

Somnath
IT in India
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Good Job....Exo

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: EXo platform provides lot of features like events and meetings with reminder functionality, chatting with video confrencing, sharing information and sharing of documents

Ambarish
Ambarish
India
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

What a greate learning platform

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: A full-featured collaborative / document / social networking suite. Awesome support from their teams.

eXo Response

10 years ago

Thank you for the great feedback Ambarish! :)