15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About BankPoint

BankPoint is a next-generation bank management system designed for banks and lenders that manage large commercial loan portfolios.

Learn more about BankPoint

Pros:

The team at BankPoint is responsive and helpful. While working with them, their knowledge base has helped us refine our processes.

Cons:

The URL for a loan detail page uses an internal numbering system, not the loan number itself, which is annoying for creating external links.

BankPoint ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

BankPoint has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 17 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (17)

Sort by

Have you used BankPoint before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (17)

Robin
VP in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

BankPoint review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: A+

Pros:

We had a fantastic experience working with BankPoint. Customer service and responsiveness was exceptional, especially with regard to customizing or adapting features of the application to better align with our functional needs. BankPoint was very attentive to the need for system integration in development. The greatest advantage was probably the developers' knowledge of needs from a financial services end user perspective, unlike many technology suppliers who work from the software to the application. Overall a great partner and highly recommended.

Cons:

Implementation process with respect to mapping to the core was time-consuming but this is true of all applications. The support we received from the vendor through this process and after was stellar.

Andrew
Director of Credit Admin in US
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A Great Software with Amazing Employees

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: BankPoint was a crucial part of our process for PPP loans. It has cut down our reliance on spreadsheets to handle workflow and pipeline reporting. Additionally, in going through a core conversion, BankPoint was critical to our success for getting month end reporting right. They were also able to map to both cores' imaging software simultaneously for a seamless view of what we had in the file before our images were moved from FISERV Director to Jack Henry Synergy.

Pros:

BankPoint helps control the chaos with workflow, mapping to core(s), and working with other software. The software is intuitive and easy to set up. The team at BankPoint is responsive and helpful. While working with them, their knowledge base has helped us refine our processes. We see BankPoint as a strategic partner rather than just another vendor.

Cons:

I have difficulty in finding anything we don’t like about BankPoint. When you bring up any features that are missing or could be improved, BankPoint is quick to respond and are receptive to ideas about the software. When they receive a request, they quickly 1) show us how we could accomplish the task through a capability that already exists in the system or 2) find out if changes are feasible. BankPoint will not solve for every want, but they value your opinion and take it into account when developing the software further.

BankPoint Response

4 years ago

Hi Andrew, Thank you for the great feedback! We are very happy to have you and your team as customers and partners. We value your input and appreciate your ideas about the software. We hope to continue this partnership for many years to come.

Christopher
VP Credit in US
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I use ARCS daily for the pipeline, and also for the loan portfolio to avoid using Jack Henry.

1.0 7 years ago

Comments: I don't have to use Silverlake.

Pros:

ARCS can actually export loan data, unlike our core system, which is very helpful. The pipeline is also a useful tool for managing workflow at the bank.

Cons:

Overall, the site is painfully slow and the design is incredibly dated, lacking a number of easy UI improvements common in modern web application design that would make it far more usable and readable. The data export features are for some reason limited as to what fields can be exported, the data is often output in unusable formatting in Excel (especially the Pipeline), and the export takes far too long, likely because of inefficient programming and/or database design. The Pipeline has a number of restrictions that should be customizable, such as the ability to change the loan amount (or other details) after it goes to review/approved status. It should also be easier to link multiple booked loans to a pipeline loan (i.e. for loan pools). The Reports page is basically unusable and impossible to find anything of value, and changing the effective dates and filters of a report is a painfully slow and tedious process. Inability to export historical data for a loan in bulk (i.e. daily balances) is annoying, and something easy that should be in place already. There should be an Excel add-in for the ribbon that allows for using a formula in Excel (i.e. =ARCS(...)) to pull data from the ARCS database if you enter a loan number, date, and data field. The URL for a loan detail page uses an internal numbering system, not the loan number itself, which is annoying for creating external links. Extracts lack full customization, such as reordering data fields.

BankPoint Response

7 years ago

Chris - we always appreciate healthy, constructive criticism and feedback, but wow, that was a stinger! You did make some good suggestions in there that we think we can incorporate into the product: make the reports more "exportable"; batch association of pipeline loans to actual loans; ability to export historical balances for a loan. Look for some of those improvements in upcoming releases. We're sorry to hear about the general slowness, but a little surprised too, since our metrics show 95% of your response times coming in under a second. Perhaps the slowness you're seeing is in the reporting area, where we lose a little bit of visibility, but we'll investigate either way. Thanks for the feedback, and remember that you can reach out to us by phone or email with suggestions or criticism any time.

Debbie
VP, Product Manager Treasury Management in US
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

BankPoint, the easiest part of On-boarding!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My department uses BankPoint for the Document Preparation piece we call DocExpress. I would prefer to work with BankPoint over all the other vendors I support. When I say they are responsive, I mean same day in most cases. If we have any problems, they are fixed in a matter of minutes, not hours or days.
The staff has always been pleasant and respective. We have a great working relationship.

Pros:

The ability to design the product around our procedures. We did not have to "take what you get" but rather, BankPoint took our ideas and delivered them in the product. As we have added a very detailed product to our product line, we have found that BankPoint is most flexible and efficient in brainstorming on how to best on-board the product. The BankPoint staff is always available and responsive to our questions and urgent needs.

Cons:

Sometimes the tasks built into the process can be so simple or repetitive that I am concerned that users will just check them off without thinking whether they actually did the task.

BankPoint Response

4 years ago

Hi Debbie, Thank you for the kind words! It was a pleasure to work with you to bring DocExpress to life. It was a great addition to BankPoint, and we are happy to hear our goal to help your team with their daily activities was also achieved. Please feel free to reach out to discuss ways to enhance the task tracking feature.

Bill
SVP of Loan Operations in US
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Long time valuable management tool from a long term partner.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Portfolio management, better imaging user interface, pipeline management, risk rating management, and loan portfolio data reporting

Pros:

Reliable information based on creditably validated data sources. Multiple system views from one source. Strong workflow to support our policies, procedures, and processes. Quick integration to multiple document imaging sources

Cons:

Extracts could be expanded to include a broader data set than is currently available Credit line data (global and sub account information) would be helpful.

Jonathan
Director in US
Banking
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

An incredible, easy to use system that has vast capabilities

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We switched to ARCS from a competing product. I cannot say enough about how transformational ARCS has been for our banking team. Now our loan pipeline, loan operations, document management, deposit pipeline and deposit operations are in a single system. We also now have sophisticated reports that make communicating with regulators straight forward. The best part about ARCS is it's about as easy to use as possible. It's like the iPad of banking software, our users can figure it out with almost no training! The result is happy employees and a more productive bank. ARCS is fully integrated with our Jack Henry Silverlake system. The integration was done in a single day. I know they also support the other major cores. VSI's support has been second to none. They delivered 100% on our engagement and 100% on time.

Pros:

Powerful, easy to use, very flexible.

Cons:

None.

Jo Lynn
Senior Vice President in US
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A True Partner

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We call BankPoint "the best vendor ever". They are all knowledgeable, friendly, efficient and responsive. We could not ask for a better partner.

Pros:

The people who work at BankPoint are truly exceptional and a rare breed in a vendor. They are knowledgeable, flexible, efficient, organized and responsive. The customer views and ease of reporting have been extremely beneficial.

Cons:

The software was not as configurable as we had thought originally but BankPoint staff have been great to help us understand their built-in processes as well as modify their software to meet our needs.

Janice
EVP Director of Loan Operations in US
Banking, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

EVP Loan Operations

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Excellent

Pros:

The simplicity of the system makes it very user friendly

Cons:

We have not had any bad issues. We have received great and quick service.

BankPoint Response

4 years ago

Hi Janice, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you find the system user friendly and are pleased with our customer service.

Kevin
SVP, Strategic Planning in US
Banking, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The whole VSI team is focused on delivering an exceptional experience.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The product combines information from several servicing systems and delivers it to the end user through an elegant user interface. Customer support is terrific.

Cons:

ARCS allows for easy report building. It is not meant to replace the core processing systems. I have no complaints.

Brunilda
EVP Director of Deposit Ops in US
Banking, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Titan Bank review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great experience overall. Quick turnaround and exceptional knowledgeable staff.

Pros:

The product is extremely easy to use - user friendly.

Cons:

No cons. I need to spend some time on developing the deposits side.

BankPoint Response

4 years ago

Hi Bruna, Thank you for your feedback. It is wonderful to hear you are having a great experience with BankPoint. Our team is here for you if you have any questions about the deposits side.

Brandi
Asset Review Manager, AVP in US
Banking, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great. Easy group to work with, they offer a good product with great support.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Improved and automated processes.

Pros:

Ease of use and continued improvements to functionality. VSI continues to look for ways to improve their product, leveraging on the experience and knowledge of its own staff as well as its banking customers who have direct industry knowledge. They have a great commitment to "getting it right" and they work diligently to provide the best product they can.

Cons:

Very little to not like. VSI continues to work to improve the features and functions of the product. Currently lacks a few common features; however, those features are in the process of being added to the system.

Jay
Sr Financial Analyst in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ARCS has provided a reliable and flexible solution for gaining insight into our loan portfolio.

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

ARCS has provided a reliable and flexible solution for gaining insight into our loan portfolio across the organization. My bank has acquired multiple other institutions and loan portfolios and ARCS has allowed us to consolidate and view the entire combined portfolio in one place rather than having to access multiple systems for data.

Cons:

I would like a little more ability for the user to construct custom reports on the fly, with access to virtually all of the data fields contained within ARCS.

Raju
Record to Report Manager in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

ARCS is a great reconciliation product. It has lot of features like providing auto reconciliation

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Auto reconciliation, drill down to R12, Transaction matching, dashboard reporting, ability to load files by Admin

Cons:

It is not offering ICS Integrations from R12 to ARCS, native connections from R12 to Cloud DM, Cloud DM security is missing

Robin
VP Credit Risk Officer in US
Banking, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very user friendly system with adaptability. VSI is extremely responsive to needs and issues.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The system is very user friendly and intuitive for getting staff up to speed on its use quickly and easily.

Cons:

There is little to object to as any issues that arise are quickly and easily addressed. Reporting could be more flexible.

Gail
EVP/COO in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Asset Review, REO Management and Consolidated Portfolio Tracking 5 star!

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: ARCS is a workhorse in an otherwise feather weight product availabilty market. It is a true add on tool to any core system. It manages asset review programs, REO products (including AP integration), general loan inquiry, concentration monitoring and portfolio risk ratings. It's flexibility in reporting and information "at your fingertips" is outstanding. If your bank operates more than one core system - the integration is seamless. I have been working with the developer VSI for about 6 years and their customer service and product knowledge are second to none. If they had 6 stars in this area, I would give it to them. Request a demo today - you will be very glad you did.

Tara
EVP - Loan Operations in US
Banking, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic software, very user friendly

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It's extremely user friendly and provides a lot of information all in one place. The ease of document management and tracking is extremely valuable.

Cons:

There are a few functionality issues being resolved - date tracking, batch processing, etc. But so far, so good.

Terry
CFO in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Portfolio Concentration and Risk / Credit Mangement / Loan Review System / REO Management

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: We have been an ARCS user for many years. What started out as a concentration management tool has developed into a core software used for multiple purposes. The software is great but the real value is the consulting expertise the VSI team brings to the table. Their understanding of banking and technology has been an integral part of our strategic planning.