15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Avaza

Integrated software for professional services businesses with modules for project management, timesheets, expenses & invoicing.

Learn more about Avaza

Pros:

The ease of use once you get to know to program.

Cons:

I wanted to use on a recent flight, but without purchasing wifi, I was unable to. I don't like giving airlines any more $ for wifi.

Avaza ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

Avaza has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 421 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Avaza before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (421)

Juliana
Juliana
Co-Founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great to have everything from task management to invoicing in one place

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Avaza deserves a shout out for their customer service. You can reach them via chat, and you usually get a reply within a few minutes. They have the best service of any vendor I've ever worked with.

Pros:

The task management system is robust and easy to learn, so onboarding new people is simple. And for us, a big benefit was going straight from project to invoice. No more importing or exporting information and doubling up on data entry tasks.

Cons:

Scheduling recurring tasks is currently a little clumsy. You cannot set a task for "First Monday" of the month, for example. However, I'm told they have improved scheduling for recurring tasks in the works by their customer service.

Denise
Denise
Marketing Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Work smart with this great PM software

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: There are both hard-working teams and smart ones. In this case, the latter is more accurate; Avaza is an excellent tool for any group working on numerous projects together, especially those with a high volume of interrelated tasks. Time tracking for teams, individual work hours, and even smaller tasks and subtasks are all included.

Pros:

Avaza is mostly utilized by our company for PM and tasks. By removing mundane, time-consuming tasks, it frees up a significant amount of our time each week. Our actions are closely tracked and evaluated by Avaza. The process aids in locating bottlenecks and other trouble spots. Avaza is vital to the smooth functioning of our Admin, BD, and TS departments.

Cons:

Although the quoting mechanism is solid, it lacks the adaptability necessary for our purposes. We'd love it if large projects could be broken up into stages. It would be nice if screenshots of attached images could be shown in the chat window.

Alexander
Procurement Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My Smooth Experience With Avaza

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

It has amazing billing and invoicing features It is a great solution for task and also project management It makes time tracking easy

Cons:

Avaza delivers on its promises. No dislikes.

Avaza Software Response

4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your smooth experience with Avaza! We're thrilled to hear that our billing, invoicing, task and project management features, and time-tracking capabilities have been beneficial to you. Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

Sarah
owner in US
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Functional but not a perfect fit

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I liked the clean structure of Avaza, and the budget features. It's a good option for a business who doesn't rely heavily on project management to drive their productivity. Their customer service was very helpful though when I was letting them know we were going in another direction and they genuinely seemed to want to know what was driving our decision.

Cons:

We run a marketing/PR based business, and we were looking for a one-stop-shop project management and back office system. While we knew that was a long shot, we tried Avaza for several months and even gave them a second go when our current system wasn't doing everything we needed as well. I would have liked to see Avaza have different dashboard customization views so we could tailor the system to be more project centered instead of a financial view upon logging in. Since we use a different billing and accounting software, this data on our dashboard would remain blank and the dashboard wouldn't even be utilized. Also by the time we added all of our employees and contractors to have timesheet accessibility, we would have been paying a lot more in extra monthly fees than we were looking to spend. It just started really adding up for us when other software companies offer these options within their pricing tiers.

Avaza Software Response

4 years ago

Hi Sarah, thanks for your feedback. Avaza rolled out a fully customizable account dashboard some time back. User can add and remove dashboard widgets as they wish. We plan to add to the widget library over time. As for pricing, we believe Avaza is one of the most price competitive product in the market.

Maddie
Maddie
Game Developer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

We use Avaza to track client billable time

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: The intelligent product has been the primary data management and business orchestration platform. My staff is able to keep better tabs on financial data and chances for investment thanks to the computerized system.

Pros:

My team is able to cooperate more efficiently on projects because to Avaza's trustworthy tools. The network's secure chat features have helped businesses develop closer ties with their clients. When people are working together, they are able to accomplish more and have less problems with task management.

Cons:

There are no unfavorable aspects that could disrupt processes. With reliable Avaza services, everything has been proceeding as planned. There appears to be a variety of ways we can collect the data needed to foresee customer service workloads.

Andre
President in Canada
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best App for my business I deployed in the last 20 years

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: This is the only app I have that I'm using daily and I see real value every time I use it.

Pros:

Simple to deploy, integrate in my processes and in my day-to-day business management

Cons:

Still haven't found a real downside. Cloning 100% of the project, tasks and project configuration would be great, but it forces me to think about any potential differences in my projects.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Makes Running a Business Painfree

5.0 last year

Comments: Amazing. Makes life so much easier. Avaza + Quickbooks combo is pretty much all you need to get a successful service business off the ground and keep it organized.

Pros:

Track projects and invoice all in one place. Integrates with Quickbooks Online. Always adding new features / improving.

Cons:

Little selection for payment gateway integrations.

Hanno
Hanno
Founder in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The most comprehensive free Project Management Tool I know

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I wanted to plan the founding process of my new agency and AVAZA helped me a lot with it.

Pros:

It's richness on features. Gantt-Charts, easy import and export of data, integrated time tracking.

Cons:

It's not as fast and beautiful as other tools.

Aziz
Instagram Marketing Expert in Tunisia
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The perfect solution for managing freelance projects

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I would say that one of the best features Avaza offers is the project management feature. It was really easy to use and had allowed me to visualize the progress that was being made in each project.

Cons:

Avaza is such a great software and it included way more than what I was expecting. But I think it would be better if the developers provided more frequent updates for the mobile app.

Aron
Aron
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Major Fan

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: So far no software could beat this.

Pros:

Everything - Gantt charts, Seamless invoicing & Full project and task management. Also great team management capabilities.

Cons:

Wish there was a chrome extension along to easily clock time without visiting the tab.

Debra
Executive Producer/Process Management Consultant in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Tried over a dozen resource management tools and chose Avaza

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: The more I use Avaza, the more I like it and the more I can see us using additional features.
It's been positive and we're glad to have chosen Avaza over the many other options out there.

Pros:

We are a 10 person creative agency and were looking software to help us manage our schedules and resources. We wanted a clear, intuitive interface that would allow in-app communication and file sharing, color-coding to distinguish clients, a calendar view by team member or project view, a tracking of hours against total project budgets. The customer support is fast and friendly.

Cons:

Setting up projects and tasks takes a bit of time, but there are robust reporting options that are worth the input time. I also wish that when, on the team calendar view, you dragged a task from (for example) four days to three days that the total hours would stay the same but be spread over a new date range rather than the driver being the number of days with hours/day locked.

Juan
CEO in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Loving it (understanding that needs some improvements)

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: It has been great! better than other software companies. I hope they get to work in our request to improve the software

Pros:

Easy to use and create projects. white label client portal. Like the interaction that my clients have with the software. Great customer service!

Cons:

You cannot assign general tasks per client only by specific project. You cannot have recurrent projects and you have to generate a new project every month (time consuming) (it is important to mention that there are recurrent tasks but this doesn't impact the budget). the system does not have CRM, most of competitors have a sort of CRM

Miguel
Owner in US
Graphic Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Delivering Client Projects Is Easy With Avaza

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Avaza is not overly complex, so it cannot accommodate really heavy projects with large teams or complexities. It does, though, provide amazing results for teams with a more direct approach to project delivery. I was able to implement its use in a software development firm that specialized in cloud applications. Specializing in Microsoft's online SharePoint environments, Avaza was the tool of choice to manage projects dealing with migrations and customization of such sites. It did include large projects and small ones, and managed time tracking for billing, as these were on an hourly basis. The features were just right. But because there was no custom coding and developing for which unit testing or QA department involvement, Avaza worked extremely well for them.

Pros:

Avaza has all the core functionality that lets any business successfully manage and deliver client projects. It is not just for development projects. It can be used in a wide array of industries because of this basic general core of features. For starters, Avaza manages contacts and distinguishes them between clients (external contacts) and team members. It uses this to connect projects to its clients and the resources that will be working on these projects. The roles for the contacts are manage in the contacts section as well, allowing the admin to connect just the right resources and the features they need. Adding projects is fairly simple, as well. Create a new project and allocate the client to it. That is it. Then add the necessary tasks for the project, allocating team members from the contact list. You can even group into sections that can represent milestones, features, epics, or any description that fits your project or organizational business needs. Project views can also be customized. You can view projects in a Kanban styled board, as a Gantt chart or even as a list. Team members track time against the tasks until completion and the process is quite simple and straightforward. Avaza also provides team scheduling and provides forecasting capabilities across one or more projects. You can also manage timesheets, expenses and recurring expenses for all the projects in Avaza. Avaza offers the capabilities of providing your clients with quotes or estimates for projects, as well as managing invoicing, recurring invoices, credit notes and payments. And you can track all the work via an extensive library of reports.

Cons:

Avaza is not a feature rich product for large enterprises or large projects with large teams, as these must track defects, reworks, testing and a host of other tasks that often have dependencies upon others. This is something Avaza does not manage and trying to track this level of effort is not something that can be done. So, this is definitely for smaller organizations or teams with basic projects.

Nathan
Owner in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Awesome Value Robust Features

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall it is a GREAT value for the money, they are spot on with value/$. While I miss some of the enterprise level features that SmartSheets and their competitors offer, I find the variety and quick to implement features of AVAZA to be outstanding!

Pros:

The price point on this software is PERFECT for small startups, the support is included without heavy add on cost and the support is VERY GOOD, quick and EASY to understand!. Architecturally the layout is very nice, the user interface is easy to navigate and the color schema is pleasant. Working in the tool is mostly straightforward and easy to figure out without watching a ton of self help videos.

Cons:

The reporting tool could use a minor update to the user interface so things are a little easier to use, The collaboration features could also use an update to have some sort of chat like function making collaboration easier. Zapier connection is nice but seems to be picky, one of my zaps to create Avaza tasks works for everyone on the team except one person. Kind of weird but not critical.

Avaza Software Response

3 years ago

Hi Nathan, we are excited to inform you that we have launched the Avaza chat module. The new module enables Direct, Group, Channel and Task chat from a single user interface. A truly unified inbox for all your discussions. The mobile app with push notifications keeps you up to date with all your discussions. You can learn more by following this link https://www.avaza.com/chat I hope you enjoy the new chat module and we look forward to receiving your feedback.

Gemma
Gemma Thirsk in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Avaza has changed my business and alongside that... life!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: The best thing about Avaza is it solves so many problems in one easy to use program that can be accessed from anywhere. Couple this with a Dropbox account and you can access everything you could possibly need from anywhere with an internet connection. They even have a handy app version for your phone and iPad. Currently my whole sales and design process from start to finish runs from Avaza - estimate, management, invoice, payment and follow ups. My life is easier and I am more productive.

Pros:

Project management has become a dream. It is so simple and easy to create and schedule tasks. I can work at a fixed rate or with timesheets easily. Clients can view beautiful estimates and invoices in PDF format or online. The 'pay online' feature is great as it makes it so much easier to get paid - which means less time chasing up invoices!

Cons:

I wish Avaza was easier to use in the first instance. After spending some time getting my head round it I have realised it is perfect for what I need but in the beginning I was missing out on some really useful tools as I didn't know about them or didn't know how to use them. Although it is worth mentioning that Avaza's support team are extremely friendly and helpful whenever you have a question. Stick with it, ask the questions and you won't look back.

Avaza Software Response

4 years ago

Thanks, Gemma for your review and shoutout to the support team. We are continually improving the onboarding experience with an improved Get Start page, better onboarding emails and more.

Justinas
managing partner in Lithuania
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Avaza works great for law firms

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have moved to Avaza from the model were we used much more expensive PM software and our own billing software. Super happy about having everyting in one place

Pros:

We were struggling to find a PM software that would have decent billing capabilites. In Avaza billing functionality is on par with dedicated billing services, furthermore it is fully adoptable to any language (i.e. we issue avaza invoices in lithuanian language)

Cons:

Time input could be easier, on the other hand, as vast majority of our projects are billed by fixed fee arrangements, the reason maybe be that we just didn't use it that much.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best all-in-one solution for project management and automated billing

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Avaza is the best business management solution that helps us optimize our results with its automation features.Very useful

Pros:

Avaza has allowed us to streamline our operations, resources and manage different projects more efficiently. It also provides us with very good analytical functionality for creating reports that benefit our business.

Cons:

The current interface is very well optimized by the avaza team for me I have no problem for the moment with the application

Tim
Executive Chairman in US
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My Review of Avaza - What it Is Amazing

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

I have used Avaza and it makes task management and time tracking easy It comes with some great remote work support features and some amazing collaboration features

Cons:

It has handled well and no need to discredit its capabilities.

Rahul
Risk management in India
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I had really great experience using Avaza.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, Avaza is a decent project management tool, but there are a few things that could be improved.

Pros:

There are many things to love about Avaza, but for me the best part is the ability to easily collaborate on projects with team members. With Avaza, we can easily assign tasks, manage projects, and keep everything organized in one place. This makes it easy to stay on top of our work and get things done efficiently.

Cons:

I didn't love the way Avaza handled notifications. I found myself getting a lot of email notifications that I couldn't easily control.

Quintus
Quintus
Founder & Managing Director in New Zealand
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Avaza is absolutely amazing

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: The software is really amazing in that I have used it for so much more than what I initially anticipated. I now use it for recurring invoices too and managing support contracts. It is so easy to use overall

Pros:

The huge list of functionality and ease of use. Great set of standard reports. The software replaces a few other tools - project management, financial, timesheets, tracking expenses, reporting

Cons:

I feel the project scheduling part of the software can be enhanced and the Gantt Chart view. That does not mean that it is not useful - it just does not work easily when the plan changes or for advanced scheduling

Avaza Software Response

4 years ago

Hi Quintus, We are glad to let you know that we have added significant new improvements to our Resource Scheduling module including scheduling by total hours, sorting by availability and a lot more. Please check it out and feel free to reach out to our friendly support team with any further feedback on [email protected] or via direct chat from within the app or our website.

Anja
Director in South Africa
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Avaza is the best

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have had a great experience with them so far! Really responsive, easy to use and very beautiful!

Pros:

Their customer service is exceptional. They really go above and beyond to fulfil requests

Cons:

I would like to be able to use more features when paying the highest package. I feel there are still many things that I can use in the software, but lack the funds to do so, which is forcing me to go to other apps to reach my goals

Stijn
Chief Technology Officer in Belgium
Industrial Automation, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Collaborative Project tool

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Avaza helped us to overcome our geographic distribution. Vydraulics is an organization that is spread over several countries using different project management tools. Being easy to use and cloud based, we could integrate Avaza very easy in our organisation.

Pros:

The cloud based software is very easy to setup and learn to team members. It's easy to get an overview of the project using lists, gantt or kanban views. Tasks are easy to plan and follow up. Furthermore the timesheets are well integrated into the software. The collaboration with internal and external (customers/suppliers) people is well designed and easy to manage.

Cons:

It is not so easy to track a project purely on time parameters. Sometimes it requires complex project reporting to get time based (lead times, estimated versus tracked time) parameters the way you want to have them. The reporting is however very extensive, so you will find your answer. If not, you can always get help from the Avaza support.

David
President in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very well featured, value for money project manager.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: First class in every way.

Pros:

I liked its overall feature set, it is value pricing and the fact that I can bring clients in on a project with no extra cost. I can drop a screenshot straight into the task fields which is a huge money and time saver for me an us. One other thing to know is that they have support chat in admin and often you get an instant response which is amazing customer service. I am so pleased I made the decision to work with Avaza.

Cons:

Really not much that I don't like. I wish I could set automatic reminders for overdue tasks but at least I can go in and run reports.

Scott
CEO in US
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Strong platform

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I had given up the search to find a platform that combined project management and timekeeping. Avaza offers that combo with much more robust features and flexibility than I had expected.

Pros:

After two years of searching for a timekeeping platform to compliment our production management platform we happened upon Avaza. It compares fairly well with Asana and ClickUp, especially considering the lower price point. But what it may lack in super fancy project management features it more than makes up for in the timekeeping functions. We are still newbies to Avaza, but so far we really like what we see.

Cons:

We have found *most* of the reports we have needed and found them to be quite helpful. That said, a few more dashboard widgets and more reporting functionality would be nice.

Amy
Consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great features and pricing for small startups

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are a small, new company with a lot of work to coordinate. We are constantly providing clients with updates on projects and reviewing timelines for deliverables in order to keep ourselves on track. This software allows us to be efficient with our time by seeing where projects are with one quick glance. This also allows either of us to determine if/when we can take on additional work. It has been remarkably helpful to us in a short amount of time.

Pros:

This program has all the functions a small business or non-profit needs to get started with managing a variety of projects and tasks. As consultants, we need the ease of invoicing, tracking hours, and uploading contracts for our clients coupled with a single place to manage the tasks of complex project management. It was very user friendly and easy to get started. I especially liked the variety of visual formats, as I like lists and my partner likes Gantt charts. You rarely get all these features in a free version of this kind of software, but even the paid versions are not very expensive.

Cons:

I had a little trouble changing the administrator from one user to another. Also, the storage space is not that much, but you can always link to an outside cloud file using the notes section.